ENGLISH WINDMILLS; A PHOTOGRAPHIC REGISTER, PART TWO: GLOUCESTERSHIRE TO OXFORDSHIRE
KEY

Adams
J W R Adams, Windmills In Kent (Kent County Council Planning Department 1955)

AEM
Article on windmills in journal Architecture East Midlands (1973)

Alderton and Booker
David Alderton and John Booker, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of East Anglia (Batsford 1980)

Allen Clarke (WL)
J Allen Clarke, Windmill Land (J M Dent 1916, reprinted 1932, 1933 and by George Kelsall 1986)

Apling
Harry Apling, Norfolk Corn Windmills (Norfolk Windmills Trust 1984)

Arnold & Ambleton
J Arnold & J Amberton, Old Sandwich (Meresborough Books 1983)

Ashmore
O Ashmore, The Industrial Archaeology of North-West England (Manchester University Press 1982)

Baker & Wailes
Paul Baker & Rex Wailes, The Windmills of Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire, Part 1: Post Mills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 33 1960-61), and Part 2: Tower Mills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 34 1961-2)

Batten
M I Batten, English Windmills Vol 1 (Architectural Press 1930)

BCL
Birmingham Central Library, Chamberlain Square, Birmingham B3 3HQ

BCRALSS
Buckinghamshire County Library (full title Buckinghamshire County Records and Local Studies Service, County Hall, Aylesbury, Bucks)

BDHS
Beaconsfield and District Historical Society, c/o 96 Gregories Road, Beaconsfield, Bucks, HP9 1HL

Beedell
Suzanne Beedell, Windmills (David and Charles 1975)

Be.M
Bexhill Museum, Egerton Road, Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex TN39 3HL

Bennett & Elton
R Bennett & J Elton, History of Corn Milling vol 2: Watermills and Windmills (Simpkin 1899, reprinted EP Publishing 1973)

Beswick
M Beswick, Cornmills In and Around Warbleton (Warbleton and District History Group 1997)

Blythman
The compiler

BM
Bedfordshire Magazine

Branch Johnson
W Branch Johnson, The Industrial Archaeology of Hertfordshire (Augustus Kelley 1970)

BRL
Brighton Reference Library, Brighton and Hove Libraries, Vantage Point, New England Street Brighton BN1 4GW

Brom.CL
Bromley Central Library, High Street Bromley BR1 1EX

Brunnarius
Martin Brunnarius, The Windmills of Sussex (Phillimore 1979)

BSM
Bishop’s Stortford Museum, now amalgamated with Rhodes Museum, Commonwealth Centre, South Road, Bishop’s Stortford, Herts

Buchanan
C A Buchanan, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of Central Southern England (Batsford 1980)

BRO
Buckinghamshire Record Office, as BCRALSS

Buckland
Stephen Buckland, Lee’s Patent Windmill 1744-1747 (SPAB 1987)

Bunn
Rhoda Bunn, Holt and District: A Portrait In Old Picture Postcards (SB Publications 1990)

Cannell
D M Cannell, George Green, Miller and Mathematician, 1793-1841 (City of Nottingham 1988)

Carley
John Carley, The Story of Meopham Mill (Meopham Publications Committee, 2nd edition, undated)

Carpenter
E Carpenter, Old Romney Marsh In Camera (Birlings Ltd., n.d.)

Carpenter 2
E Carpenter, Romney Marsh In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1994)

CCL
Room B104, Cambridge Central Library, Castle Court, Shire Hall, Cambridge CB3 0AP. The photos are not all in one place though all are listed in a card index. Some are in books and magazines etc and some are in a folder of photos taken by the Cambridgeshire Antiquarian Society. The same mill may be represented in two different parts of the collection and the register may not specify which. The collection includes a scrapbook of photos and press cuttings on windmills in the Isle of Ely by J Dunn.

Ches. RO
Cheshire Record Office, Duke Street, Chester CH1 1RL

CKS
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent
CL
Canterbury Library, High Street, Canterbury, Kent CT1 2JF

Clements
Margate In Old Photographs, collected by Richard Clements (Alan Sutton 1992)

Col.l
Colchester Library, Trinity Square, Colchester CO1 1JB (many photographs held at Colchester Museum, Museum Resource Centre, 14 Ryegate Road, Colchester CO1 YG)

Cole
Charsfield And Surrounding District In Pictures, produced by Peggy Cole (The Five Castles Press Ltd, n.d. but post-1997)

Coles Finch
W Coles Finch, Watermills And Windmills (C W Daniel 1933, reprinted Cassell 1976)

Cook
Thesis on rise and decline of windmills by T Cook, early 1990s, unpublished (copy deposited with SPAB Mills Section)

Coomber
G H W Coomber, Bygone Mills in the Horsham Area (Horsham Museum Society 1996)

Coulthard & Watts
A J Coulthard and M Watts, The Windmills of Somerset and the Men Who Worked Them (Research Publishing Company 1978)

Crane
M A Crane, Wingham, Adisham and Littlebourne In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1993)

CRO
Cambridgeshire Record Office, Shire Hall, Cambridge CB3 0AP. Collection is mainly lantern slides.

Croft
Eric Croft, Lincolnshire Windmills In Old Picture Postcards, Reflections of a Bygone Age (1996)

Cross
Dennis Cross, Diss And District: A Portrait In Old Picture Postcards (SB Publications 1991)

Cross 2
Dennis Cross, Memories of Diss and Its Surrounding Villages: An Old Picture Postcard Album (Dennis Cross 1994)

DALHS
Dudley Archives and Local History Service, Mount Pleasant Street, Coseley, Dudley WV14 9JR

Davies
Ken Davies, Windmill Trails of the Fylde (Scott Willen Publications 1985)

Dawes
H T Dawes, The Windmills And Millers Of Brighton (Sussex Industrial History (Journal of the Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society) no 18 1988)

DL
Deal Library, Broad Street, Deal CT14 6ER

DM
Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22

Dolman (WIS)
Peter Dolman, Windmills In Suffolk (Suffolk Mills Group 1978)

Dolman (LW)
Peter Dolman, Lincolnshire Windmills (Lincolnshire County Council 1986)

Donnan
History of Eriswell by William H Donnan, 1956. Appears to have been published privately; copy in Suffolk Record Office, Ipswich Branch

Douch
H L Douch, Cornish Windmills (Oscar Blackford 1964)

ECC (DEW)
Essex County Council, Discover Essex Windmills (ECC 1980)

EDP
Eastern Daily Press

EEN
Eastern Evening News

EKMG
East Kent Mills Group

Elliott
J Steele Elliott, The Windmills of Bedfordshire Past and Present (Bedfordshire Historical Society Publications vol 14 1931)

ElliottB
Aspects of Doncaster: Discovering Local History, ed. by Brian Elliott (Wharncliffe Publishing 1997)

Ellis
Monica Ellis (Ed.), Water and Windmills In Hampshire And The Isle of Wight (Southampton University Industrial Archaeology Group 1978)

ERO
Essex Record Office, Wharf Road, Chelmsford, Essex

ERO (FC)
Essex Record Office (Farries Collection)

ERYC
East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Church Street, Goole, DN14 5BG

ESRO
East Sussex Record Office, The Maltings, Castle Precinct, Lewes BN7 1YT

Farries
K G Farries, Essex Windmills, Millers And Millwrights (5 volumes, Charles Skilton 1981 (vol 1), 1982 (vol 2), 1984 (vol 3), 1985 (vol 4), 1988 (vol 5))

Farries and Mason
K G Farries & M T Mason, Windmills In Surrey And London (Charles Skilton 1966)

FL
Folkestone Library, Grace Hill, Folkestone CT20 1HD

Flint
Brian Flint, Suffolk Windmills (Boydell Press 1979)

Foreman
Wilfred Foreman, Oxfordshire Mills (Phillimore 1983)

Freese
Stanley Freese, Windmills And Millwrighting (David & Charles 1971, first published Cambridge University Press 1957)

GCL
Gateshead Central Library, Prince Consort Road, Gateshead NE8 4LN

A Gifford
Alan Gifford, Derbyshire Windmills (Midland Wind- and Watermills Group 1995)

P Gifford
P R Gifford, The Maize, The Wheat and the Rye: A Nostalgic Look at Essex Windmills (Essex County Library 1979)

GL
Gravesend Library, Windmill Street, Gravesend, Kent

GLHL
Greenwich Local History Library, Woodlands, 390 Mycenae Road, London SE3 7SE

GMM
Green’s Mill Museum, Windmill Lane, Sneinton, Nottingham NG2 4QB. Collection consists of photos and slides

Goodger & Spooner
R Goodger and A Spooner, The Archive Photograph Series: Chatteris (Chalford Publishing 1997)

Gray
L G Gray, From Wind To Power (Braemal Printing Co 1986)

Gregory
Roy Gregory, East Yorkshire Windmills (Charles Skilton 1985)

Gregory & Wright
F Gregory & S Wright, Nutley Windmill, A Short History and Guide (Uckfield & District Preservation Society, n.d.)

GYL
Great Yarmouth Library, Tollhouse Street, Great Yarmouth NR30 2SH

HADLHG
Haverhill and District Local History Group, c/o 11 Chainery Pieces, Haverhill, Sufolk CB9 8BG

HALS
Hertford Archives and Local Studies, County Hall, Hertford SG13 8EJ

Harding 1
Dorking and District in Old Photographs, published by Keith Harding (Sutton Publishing 1993)

Harding 2
Keith Harding, Britain in Old Photographs: Dorking Revisited (Sutton Publishing 1997)

Harrison TW, ABFB
H C Harrison, The Windmill, A Book For Bos (H C Harrison 1947)

Haselfoot
A J Haselfoot, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of South-East England (Batsford 1978)

Hasm
Hastings Museum, Johns Place, Cambridge Road, Hastings, East Sussex TN34 1EJ

Hemming
Peter Hemming, Windmills In Sussex (C W Daniel 936)

Henry
D Henry & A Traylen, Windmills and Watermills of Rutland (Spiegl Press 1986)

HESS
H E S Simmons Collection of notes on English Windmills, Science Museum Library, South Kensington

Hills
Revd Richard Hills, Power From The Wind (Cambridge University Press 1994)

Hiscock & Grierson
Robert Hiscock and Douglas W Grierson, Around Gravesham In Old Photographs (the authors, n.d.)

HLAAG
Huddersfield Library and Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU

HM
Hitchin Museum, Paynes Park, Hitchin SG5 1EQ

Hopkins/R T Hopkins
R Thurston Hopkins, Old Watermills and Windmills (Philip Allan 1929, reprinted 1976)

Hopkins (W)
R Thurston Hopkins, Windmills (Charles Clarke 1931)

Horn. M
Hornsea Museum, Burn’s Farm, 11 Newbegin, Hornsea HU18 1AB

Howes
Hugh Howes, Bedfordshire Mills (Bedfordshire County Planning Department 1983)

HRL
Hastings Reference Library, 13 Claremont, Hastings TN34 1HF

Hughes
J Hughes, Cumberland Windmills (Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian Society Transactions vol 72 1972 p112-141)

Huy.L
Huyton Library, Civic Way, Huyton, Knowsley L3 9GD


HWL
High Wycombe Library, Queen Victoria Road, High Wycombe, Bucks

Janaway
John Janaway, Surrey: A Photographic Record 1850-1920 (Countryside Books 1984)

Job
Barry Job, Staffordshire Windmills, Midland Wind- and Watermills Group 1985

Johnson
C J Johnson, The Holberrow Green Windmill: An Attempt at the Interpretation of Visible Evidence (Industrial Archaeology vol 1 no 1 autumn 1976 p73-80)

Kelly
Nick Kelly, South Winds (“Old Glory” magazine, October and November 1993)

Kelly (MRG)
Nick Kelly, Windmills of the Isle of Man (Proceedings of the 12th Mills Research Conference 1995)

KLL
Kings Lynn Library, London Road, Kings Lynn PE30 SE2

KLM
Kings Lynn Museum, Old Market Street, King’s Lynn PE30 5DQ

LCC (LSL)
Leeds City Council (Local Studies Library), Central Library, Municipal Buildings, Calverley Street, Leeds LS1 3AB

Leveritt & Elsden
Norman Leveritt and Michael J Elsden, Aspects of Spalding (Chameleon International Ltd 1989)

LHAS
Litcham Historical and Amenity Society, c/o Village Museum, “Fourways”, Litcham, Norfolk PE32 2NZ

LM
Littlehampton Museum, The Manor House, Church Street, Littlehampton BN17 5EP

Long
George Long, The Mills of Man (Herbert Joseph 1931)

LRO
Liverpool Record Office, Central Library, William Brown Street, Liverpool L3 8EW

Major
J K Major, The Mills of the Isle of Wight (Charles Skilton 1970)

Major 2
J K Major, An Inventory of Windmills in Durham and Northumberland (Industrial Archaeology vol 4 no 4 November 1967)

Major and Watts
J K Major & M Watts, Victorian Windmills and Watermills From Old Photographs (Batsford 1977)

Malster
Robert Malster, Lowestoft, East Coast Port (Terence Dalton Ltd 1982)

McDermott (SWOWS)
R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills of West Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McDermott (SWOES)
R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills of East Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McKenna
J McKenna, Windmills of Birmingham and the Black Country (K A F Brewin Books 1986)

MHM
Moyse Hall Museum, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, c/o Museums Service, The Manor House Museum, Honey Hill, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk IP33 1HF

Miller
The Archive Photographs Series: Cranleigh, compiled by Michael Miller (Chalford Publishing Co 1995)

Mills
C J Mills, Windmills of Thanet (Thanet District Council Community Programme 1986)

Minchinton
W E Minchinton, Windmills In Devon (University of Devon and Exeter Archaeology Group 1977)

ML
Minet Library, 52 Knatchbull Road, London SE5 9QY

MLL
Museum of Lincolnshire Life, Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LY

MM
Maidstone Museum and Art Gallery, St Faith’s Street, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1LH

MMRHLC
Macclesfield Museums Research Library, Heritage Centre, Roe Street, Macclesfield, Cheshire 6UT SK11

Moon
Nigel Moon, Windmills of Leicestershire and Rutland (Sycamore Press 1981)

Moore
Cyril Moore, Hertfordshire Windmills and Windmillers (Winsup Publishing 1999)

MOTHOS (UC)
Museum of the History of Science, Broad Street, Oxford (Underhill Collection). Photocopies of the Collection are held by Oxford Central Library and the SPAB Mills Section, and it is duplicated at the Bodleian Library, also in Broad Street

MWSLD
Metropolitan Borough of Wigan Leisure Services Department, Market Suite, The Galleries, Wigan WN1 1PX

MWM
Much Wenlock Museum, High Street, Much Wenlock Shropshire TF13 6HR

NCL
Norwich Central Library (Reference Library and Norfolk Studies), Gildengate House, Anglia Square, Upper Green Lane, Norwich NR3 1AX (temporary site in 1999)

NCL (RW)
Norwich Central Library, collection of photos inherited from Rex Wailes

Neave
Saxmundham, Leiston and Aldeburgh Remembered In Old Postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave (Image Publications 1990)

Neave 2
A Second Look at Saxmundham and Area Remembered In Old Postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave (publisher?)

NewCL
Newcastle City Library, Princess Square, Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE99 1DX

NM
Newhaven Museum, Garden Paradise, Avis Way, Newhaven, East Sussex

NMR
National Monuments Record, Royal Commission on Historic Monuments, Kemble Drive, Swindon

NMR (WC)
National Monuments Record (Wailes Collection). Consists mostly of slides, but a few photographs in articles (eg Yelling, Cambs)

No.M
Norris Museum, The Broadway, St Ives PE27 5BX

Nott.CL
Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

NRLM
Norfolk Rural Life Museum, Beech House, Gressenhall, Dereham, Norfolk, NR20 4DR

NWT
Norfolk Windmills Trust, County Hall, Martineau Lane, Norwich

NWT (ROWAWIN)
The Restoration of Windmills and Windpumps In Norfolk (Norfolk Windmills Trust 1977)

O’Brien
Pat O’Brien, Around Bebington (Chalford Publishing Co 1995)

OCL
Oxford Central Library, Westgate, Oxford OX1 1DJ

OLSL
Oldham Local Studies Library, 84 Union Street, Oldham OL1 1DN

OMS
Old Mansfield Society, c/o Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

Perkins
D R J Perkins, Ramsgate and Thanet In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1989)

Phelps
Southwold to Aldeburgh In Old Photographs, compiled by Humphrey Phelps (Alan Sutton 1991)

Pinney
R C Pinney, Sussex Windmills And Their Restoration: A 1970s Perspective (pamphlet published 1999 by Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society)

PM
Pontefract Museum, 5 Salter Row, Pontefract, West Yorkshire, WF8 1BA

RCL
Rotherham Central Library and Arts Centre, Walker Place, Rotherham S65 1JH

Rose
Romford Library, St Edward’s Way, Romford RM1 3AR

RW (LW)
Rex Wailes, Lincolnshire Windmills (TNS, reprinted Friends of Heckington Windmill 1991)

RW (NW1) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part 1: Corn Mills (TNS vol 26 1947-49)

RW (NW2) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part : Drainage and Pumping Windmills including those of Suffolk (TNS vol 30 1955-7)

RW (SWF)
Rex Wailes, Some Windmill Fallacies (TNS vol 32 1961)

RW (USIW)
Rex Wailes, Upright Shafts In Windmills (TNS vol 30 1955-7)

RW (WIC)
Rex Wailes, The Windmills of Cambridgeshire including those of the Isle of Ely, the Soke of Peterborough and Hunts (TNS vol 27 1949-51, p97-119)

RW (WIK)
Rex Wailes and John Russell, Windmills In Kent (TNS vol 29 1953-5)

RW (BWAW)
Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Brake Wheels And Wallowers (TNS vol 26 1947-9)

RW (BAASHIW)
Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Bell Alarms and Sack Hoists in Windmills(TNS vol 45 1972-3)

RWS
Roland W Smith (mill researcher)

SCL
Sheffield Central Library, Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 1XZ

SCM
Sussex County Magazine

SH (MBC, CELSD)
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council, Community, Education and Leisure Services Department, The Gamble Building, Victoria Square, St Helens, Merseyside WA10 1DY

SHC
Surrey History Centre, Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey

SML (SC)
Science Museum Library (Simmons Collection), South Kensington, London

S & S (WIW)
W A Seaby & A C Smith, Windmills In Warwickshire (Warwickshire Museum 1977)

S & S (WIS)
W A Seaby & A C Smith, Windmills In Staffordshire (Stafford County Museum Service 1980)

S & S (WISHAW)
A C Smith & W A Seaby, Windmills In Shropshire, Hereford & Worcester (Stevenage Museum 1984)

Shann
G W Shann, Windmills In The Neighbourhood of Rugby: those which remain or have recently stood within a 25-mile radius (annual report of Rugby School Natural History Society 1937)

Shaw
T Shaw, Windmills of Nottinghamshire (Nottinghamshire County Council 1995)

Shillingford
A E P Shillingford, England’s Vanishing Windmills (Godfrey Cave Associates 1979)

Short
M Short, Windmills In Lambeth: An Historical Survey (London Borough of Lambeth 1971)

SIH no 18 1988
See Dawes

SMA
Suffolk Mills Archive c/o SMS (see below), Mills Archive Trust, Reading, or The Secretary, 42 High Road West, Felixstowe, Suffolk

A C Smith (WIBAO)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1976)

A C Smith (WIH)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Hertfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1974, revised edition 1986)

A C Smith (WIHAP)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Huntingdon and Peterborough (Stevenage Museum Publications 1977)

A C Smith (DWOTNM)
Arthur C Smith, Drainage Windmills Of The Norfolk Marshes (Stevenage Museum 1979 (DWNM1), revised edition 1990 (DWNM2)

A C Smith (WISAGL)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Surrey and Greater London
(Stevenage Museum 1980)

A C Smith (WIS)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Sussex (Stevenage Museum 1980)

A C Smith (CWON)
Arthur C Smith Corn Windmills In Norfolk (Stevenage Museum 1982)

A C Smith (WIB)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Bedfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1975)

A C Smith (WIC)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Cambrideshire (Stevenage Museum 1975)

A Smith
Aldeburgh In Photographs, from Dick Smith’s collection, compiled by Andrew Smith (Aldeburgh Publishing 1996)

D W Smith
Donald W Smith, English Windmills vol 2 (Architectural Press 1932)

SML (SC)
Science Museum Library (Simmons Collection)

SMS
SPAB Mills Section, 37 Spital Square, London E1 6DY

SMS (HC)
SPAB Mills Section (Hoather Collection)

Snelling
Joan Snelling, Ludham: A Norfolk Village 1800-1900 (E Mumby 1999)

SOTBC (ECLS)
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council (Education, Leisure and Cultural Services), Wynyard House, Town Centre, Billingham TS23 2LN

SRO/I
Suffolk Record Office (Ipswich Branch), Gatacre Road, Ipswich IP1 2LQ

SRO/I (LC)
Suffolk Record Office Ipswich Branch, Lummis Collection

SRO/L
Suffolk Record Office (Lowestoft Branch), Central Library Clapham Road South, Lowestoft NR23 1DR

SRO/BSE
Suffolk Record Office (Bury St Edmunds Branch), 77 Raingate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AR

SRRC
Shropshire Records and Research Centre, Castle Gates, Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ

Stainwright
Trevor Stainwright, Windmills of Northamptonshire and the Soke of Peterborough (W D Wharton 1992)

Stevens
R Stevens, Cambridgeshire Windmills and Watermills (Cambridgeshire Windmill and Watermill Society 1985)

Stevens (SWSIFAE)
L Stevens, Some Windmill Sites In Friston and Eastbourne (reprinted from Sussex Archaeological Collections vol 120, 1982)

Swain
Sittingbourne In Old Photographs, collected by Eric Swain (Alan Sutton 1989)

SWL
Saffron Walden Library, 2 King Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1ES

SWM
Saffron Walden Museum, Museum Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1JL

TC
Turner Collection, held at Beechcroft Art Gallery, Southend-on-Sea, c/o Southend Museums Service Central Museum, Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea, SS2 6EW

Tebbutt
C F Tebbutt, Huntingdonshire Windmills (Mason and Dorman 1942, reprinted from Transactions of the Cambs and Hunts Archaeological Society vol 5 433 and vol 6 p29, 63, 96 and 103)

THMAG
Towner Hall Museum and Art Gallery, High Street, Old Town, Eastbourne BN20 8BB

THOC (OHADSLHG)
The Holmans of Canterbury (Oaten Hill and District Society Local History Group 1992)

TIMS
Transactions of the International Molinological Society

TM
Thurrock Museum, Thameside Complex, Orsett Road, Grays, Essex

TOMS
The Old Mansfield Society, Mansfield In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1993)

Triggs
Anthony Triggs, The Windmills of Hampshire (Milestone Publications 1982)

TRL
Trowbridge Reference Library, Bythesea Road, Trowbridge Wiltshire BA14 8BS

Turpin (WIE)
B J & J M Turpin, Windmills In Essex (Windmill Publications 1977)

Turpin (WIK)
B J & J M Turpin, Windmills In Kent (Windmill Publications 1979)

UOK (DC)
University of Kent(Davies Collection), Templeman Library, UOK

UOK (MC)
University of Kent (Muggeridge Collection), Templeman Library, UOK

UOM (JRL)
University of Manchester (John Rylands Library). This is the Abraham Mitford Collection, also held at the Mills Archive, Reading

Unwin
Philip Unwin, South Norfolk Windmills, article in unidenti-fied magazine (copy at Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22)

VHM
Valence House Museum, Becontree Avenue, Dagenham, Essex

Vince
John Vince, Discovering Windmills (Shire Books 1968, 1969, 1973, 1977, 1981, 1984, 1987, 1993)

Vince (WIBATC)
John Vince, Windmills In Buckinghamshire and the Chilterns (Format Publishing 1976)

Vince (MAM)
John Vince, Mills And Millwrighting (Shire Books c1979)

Viner
John Viner, Lost Windmills of Faversham (The Faversham Society 1982)

WAWM, MWWG
Wind and Watermills, Journal of Midland Wind- and Watermills Group

W & W S
Wind- and Watermill Section (previous name of SPAB Mills Section)

Wailes (TEW)
Rex Wailes, The English Windmill (Routledge & Kegan Paul 1954, reprinted 1971)

Wailes (WIE)
Rex Wailes, Windmills In England (The Architectural Press 1947)

Wailes (DSW)
Rex Wailes, The Drive To The Stones In Windmills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society (hereafter TNS) vol 3 1957-9)

Wailes (EW)
Rex Wailes, Essex Windmills (TNS vol 31 1957-9)

Wailes, ASBOWAW
Rex Wailes, A Source Book of Windmills and Watermills (Ward Lock 1979)

WALS
Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies, 42-50 Snow Hill, Wolverhampton WV2 4AG

Walsall MBC
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council, Essex Street, Walsall WS2 7AS

Warner
Malcolm Warner, Long Crendon In Camera (Quotes Ltd 1990)

Warner, T
Tim Warner, Around Newark In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1991)

Watts (CM)
Martin Watts, Corn Milling (Shire Publications Ltd 1983)

Watts (SW)
Martin Watts, Somerset Windmills (Agraphicus 1975)

Watts (WW)
Martin Watts, Wiltshire Windmills (Wiltshire Library and Museum Service 1980)

WCL
Warrington Central Library, Museum Street, Warrington, Cheshire, WA1 1JB

WCM
Warwickshire County Museum, Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SA OR The Butts, Warwick, CV34 4SS

West
Jenny West, The Windmills Of Kent (Charles Skilton 1972 (2nd edition 1979))

WG
Wellholme Galleries, Wellholme Road, Grimsby DN32 9LP. There is a Notts file and a Foreign (i.e. not in Lincs) file. Some mills are in the catalogue but not the files, and vice versa.

Whit.M
Whitby Museum, Pannett Park, Whitby, Yorkshire YO21 1RE

Whitney
Michael Whitney, Haddenham In Camera (Quotes Ltd)

A Whitworth
Alan Whitworth, Yorkshire Windmills (M T D Rigg 1992)

A Whitworth2
Alan Whitworth, Tyke Towers: Yorkshire Windmills (Landy Publishing 2002)

D Whitworth
Douglas Whitworth, Nottinghamshire Memories (Sutton Publishing 1999)

Williams and Crompton
Hazel Williams and John Crompton, The Windmills Of Wirral (Journal of the North-Western Society of Industrial Archaeology 1974)

WFM
Wisbech and Fenland Museum, Museum Square, Wisbech, Cambs

WMM
West Mersea Museum, c/o 7 Estuary Park Road, West Mersea, Essex CO5 8BZ

WM
Wycombe Museum, Priory Avenue, High Wycombe, Bucks HP11 6PX

WRL
Worthing Reference Library, Richmond Road, Worthing, Sussex

WRO
Warwickshire Record Office, Priory Park, Cape Road, Warwick CV34 4JS

YCA
York City Archives, Art Gallery Building, Exhibition Square, York Yo1 7EW

Young
Derek Young (author or publisher?), Picture From The Past no.3, 1985


GLOUCESTERSHIRE

BRIMPSFIELD, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) derelict with remains of cap and two sails (photocopy)

BRISTOL, Clifton, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) preserved tower, 1994

FALFIELD, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) the tower as house converted with conical roof, 1994 (middle distance)

FRAMPTON COTTERELL, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) shell of tower standing to full height (b) shell of tower reduced in height

ODDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) partially collapsed shell of tower, October 1960 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) ruined tower, June 1939

TIDENHAM, tower mill; (1) TIMS Transactions 5th Symposium 1977 (a) shell of tower

WARMLEY, possible tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) capless tower




HAMPSHIRE

BURSLEDON, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) interior view showing part of machinery (b) removal of windshaft from derelict mill prior to restoration (c) new cap under construction (d) tower with temporary flat roof in place, 1981 (e) w/o (2) Ellis (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict, March 1932, with windshaft, cap frame and remains of the structure built around the cap after the mill ceased work (b) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 1967 (c-f) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 1969 (g-i) internal views, 1969 (4) leaflet on sale at mill in May 2001 (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (b) w/o (c) restored to w/o, 1990s (d) miller and his family gathered at base of tower, late C19/early C20 (5) Pamela Moore, A Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, Southampton University Industrial Archaeology Group 1984 (a) under restoration, with new cap in place and scaffolding around tower (6) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (7) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame with railing around it, June 1946

CHALTON, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) the derelict mill in the 1930s, with cap, fan cradle and part of one stock (b) derelict with no cap and half of one stock, with site being cleared prior to house conversion (c) interior of tower before start of conversion work, showing upright shaft (d) cap frame, windshaft etc being removed by crane (e) conversion in progress, with new cap in place (f) fitting of dummy sails (g) view of top of tower with windshaft, cap frame etc, prior to conversion (a) as house converted with new cap and dummy sails, early 1980s (2) Blythman (a) derelict, 1971 (3) NMR (a) disused and in good repair, with cap and both stocks in place, c1900-07 (b) derelict with cap and one complete stock, Jan 1935 (c-e) derelict with cap and one complete stock, c1944 (f-h) derelict with no cap and half of one stock, October 1975 (4) UOK (DWM) (a) derelict, March 1940 (5) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict with half of one stock, fan cradle and collapsing cap (6) de Little 2 (a) derelict, condition same as in 1971 (7) A Bryan, Francis Frith's Windmills and Watermills: Photographic Memories, Frith Books 2000 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and half of one stock, c1965 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with one stock, December 1933 (c) derelict with one stock, July 1935 (d-e) derelict with one stock, March 1940 (f-g) derelict with one stock, June 1946 (h) derelict with one stock, March 1940: seen from rear with stock not visible (i) rear view of cap showing fanstage and winding worm, March 1940 (j) derelict, with stock still on but part of cap gone exposing brakewheel, June 1946 (k) lower part of upright shaft with footstep bearing and compass arms of great spur wheel (l) brake-wheel, windshaft, sack hoist and upright shaft (m) detail of collapsed cap, fanstage, fan cradle, worm gear and rack

DENMEAD, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a-b) w/o (c) with sails and fan missing (2) NMR (a-b) w/o, c1900-07 (3) UOK (MC) (a) the steps which led to the mill, June 1934 (b) site of mill, June 1934

FAWLEY, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) w/o

GOSPORT, Peel Common, tower mill (1) Triggs (a) w/o (b) with cap but no sails

GRATELEY, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) castellated tower, early C20
(2) NMR (a-b) castellated tower (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) castellated tower, April 1935 (c) castellated tower, February 1936

HAMBLEDON, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) ruined tower, c1920 (b) ruined tower, 1930s (2) NMR (a) ruined tower, July 1932 (b-c) ruined tower, March 1940 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) ruined tower, September 1932 (c-d) ruined tower, March 1940 (e-f) ruined tower, 1947

LANGSTONE, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1895 (b) derelict in the 1920s, with some remains of cap frame (c-d) gearing being removed from derelict tower, 1930s (e) house conversion nearing completion (f) house-conversion completed (2) NMR (a) derelict tower with cap frame, June 1934 (b-c) the converted tower, June 1939 (d-e) the converted tower, 1954 (3) Ellis (a) tower with cap frame (b) house-converted tower (4) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame, June 1934

NORTH HAYLING, tower mill: (1) Triggs (a) w/o

OWSLEBURY, tower mill (corn mill); (1) Triggs (a) w/o

OWSLEBURY, tower mill (windpump); (1) Triggs (a) construction nearing completion, with cap, fan and annular sail in place; water pipes in foreground awaiting sinking (b) tower only, 1920s (c) w/o, with small Spanish-type sails in place of annular sail (2) UOK (DWM) (a) tower only, March 1937

PORTCHESTER, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) stump of tower (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, October 1931 (3) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, September 1932 (b) stump of tower, October 1935

PORTSMOUTH, Dock Mill, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) disused but complete, c1905 (2) Triggs (a) w/o (b-c) disused but complete, post-1905 (3) Ellis (a) disused with sail frames

WATERLOOVILLE, smock mill; (1) Triggs (a) base of mill after fire, 1906

WEST MEON, Marlands Mill, tower mill; (1) Triggs (a) stump of tower

WESTON, smock mill; (1) Triggs (a) w/o, early C20 (b) in course of demolition

HEREFORD AND WORCESTER

ALVECHURCH, Weatheroak Hill, tower mill; (1) Seaby & Smith (WISHAW) (a) shell of tower, June 1977 (2) NMR (a-b) tower with cap frame, March 1944 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame, September 1933 (b-c) tower with cap frame, May 1936

BLAKEMERE (MOCCAS), tower mill; (1) Seaby & Smith (WISHAW) (a) converted tower, June 1983 (2) NMR (a) the house-converted tower, 1957 (3) Hereford Library, Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9AU

HOLBERROW GREEN, tower mill; (1) Johnson (a) derelict with no cap and 2 sails (b) ruined shell of tower, seen from the west (c) ruined shell of tower, seen from the north (c) interior of tower showing sockets for floor beams (2) Seaby & Smith (WISHAW) (a) derelict shell of tower, June 1977 (b) house converted tower, June 1983 (3) NMR (a) derelict shell of tower, June 1938 (b) ditto, May 1944 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) ruined shell of tower, with wreckage in doorway

INKBERROW, Stonepits tower mill; (1) Seaby & Smith (WISHAW) (a) house converted tower, June 1977 (2) NMR (a) the converted tower, June 1944 (3) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted tower, May 1936

LEINTHALL STARKES, new smock mill; (1) de Little 2 (a) the completed mill, 1990s

STOKE PRIOR, Avoncroft Museum Of Buildings, post mill - see TANWORTH IN ARDEN, Warwickshire

STOURPORT-ON-SEVERN, Areley Kings, tower mill; (1) Seaby & Smith (WISHAW) (a-b) house converted tower, June 1983 (2) T J S Baylis, "Stourport On Severn In Old Picture Postcards", printed by Grafisch Bedriff de Steigerpoort, Zaltbommel, Netherlands, 1983 (a-c) with sails (3) Blythman (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails (4) Kiddermin-ster Library, see introduction



HERTFORDSHIRE

ALBURY, Patmore Heath, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) w/o, probably late C19 (2) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (b) w/o, mid-distance (3) Hertfordshire Countryside 1970 Vol 24 no 129 p20 (a) w/o apart from one missing sail, 1919 (4) Moore (a) w/o (rather hazy)

ANSTEY, Snow End, smock mill; (1) SWM (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1915 (2) SWL (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1915 (3) "Hertfordshire's Past", October 2002 (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1910

ANSTEY, Lincoln Hill, post mill; (1) "Hertfordshire's Past", October 2002 (a) derelict with 3 sails visible, c1910

ARKLEY, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) preserved with 2 sails (2) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) preserved with 2 sails, June 1933 (b) preserved with 4 sails, October 1985 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-c) derelict with cap, 2 sails and fan, 1928 (4) Hertfordshire Countryside 1952 vol 7 no 27 p112 (a) w/o, 1890 (5) Hertfordshire Countryside 1969 Vol 24 no 125 p17 (a) derelict with 2 sails, September 1913 (b) preserved with 2 sails, 1955 (6) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 21 no 88 1966) p186-7 (a) preserved with 2 sails (7) Moore (a) as preserved with 4 sails (8) HALS (a) derelict with 2 sails, cap and fan (appears to be retouched) (9) Hertfordshire Countryside Summer 1946 (a) preserved with 2 common sails (10) A C Smith (WISAGL) (a) as preserved, May 1971 (11) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved, c1968 (12) UOK (MC) (a-d) preserved with 2 sails, October 1941 (13) NMR (in London file) (a-b) preserved with two sails, June 1932 (c) preser-ved with two sails, January 1935 (d) preserved with two sails, newspaper cutting

BARKWAY, post mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) converted base, June 1928 (2) "Hertfordshire's Past", October 2002 (a) derelict with 3 sails visible, c1895 (b) the article also mentions two photographs dated c1903, whose ownership is not stated (3) UOK (MC) (a) base, July 1936

BISHOPS STORTFORD, post mill; (1) Bishops Stortford Museum (a) w/o, body partly obscured by house (2) Moore (a) w/o, as BSM

BISHOPS STORTFORD, tower mill; (1) Bishops Stortford Museum (a) w/o
(2) Moore (a) w/o, as BSM

BRENT PELHAM, smock mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) with no sails or cap and conical roof, October 1973 (b) ditto September 1984 (2) Moore (a) sheeted-over smock tower with conical roof, 1986
(3) Hertfordshire Countryside 1973 vol 29 no 185 p34 (a) sheeted-over smock tower with conical roof

BUSHEY HEATH, smock mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) disused but with sails, c1905 (2) NMR (a) w/o except for missing fan, c1904 (3) HALS (cutting from Watford Observer 30th October 1970) (a) w/o, with fan (b) w/o apart from missing fan (c) derelict with 4 sails and no fan, c1904 (4) The Archive Photograph Series: Bushey, compiled by Bryen Wood, Chalford Publishing 1997 (a) derelict with sails but no fan c1905 (5) Bushey Museum and Art Gallery, Rudolph Road Bushey WD2 (a-i) w/o except for missing fan, 1900s (6) Hertfordshire Countryside 1973 vol 28 no 169 p21 (a) disused c1904

CHARLTON, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) base with thatched roof, July 1926 (b) ruined base, June 1976 (2) HM (a) w/o, middle distance, c1890 (3) Moore (a) w/o, middle distance (b) sur-viving base (3) Hertfordshire Countryside 1975 vol 29 no 189 (a) w/o, poor view mid-distance 1890-93

COLNEY HEATH, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) tower without sails or original cap, September 1934 (b) ditto April 1972 (c) ditto October 1985 (2) NMR (a) tower used as store, 1934 (b) ditto, 1966 (3) Moore (a) tower used as store (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower with concrete cap, October 1954

CROMER, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with no sails
(2) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) w/o, c1920 (b-c) disused, June 1926
(d) disused, May 1926 (e) as restored, March 1972 (f) as restored, March 1972 (g) view of fantail and ladder, March 1972 (h) ditto March 1974 (i) under restoration, October 1979 (j) detail of new window and boarding, December 1979 (k) fitting steel plate to side girt, under restoration c1979 (l) under restoration, January 1980 (m) completing final boarding, February 1980 (n) completed buck, 1980 (3) NMR (a-b) derelict with no sails, April 1933 derelict with no sails, April 1935 (d-e) derelict with no sails (f-g) view of steps and wheels, April 1933 (h) derelict with 4 sails (a-b) after repairs, but with sails missing, September 1946 (4) Hertfordshire Countryside (date of issue not noted) (a) 1926, as A C Smith (b) repaired with no sails, c1952 (5) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 13 no 49 (1958) p49-50 (a) derelict with no sails, 1958 (6) Hertford-shire Countryside vol 21 no 86 (1966) p18-19 (a) derelict with no sails (7) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 21 no 88 (1966) p186-7 (a) derelict with no sails (8) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 22 no 101 (1967) p19 (a) under repair (9) HALS (a) as preserved but looking in need of a coat of paint, 1979 (b) rear view of mill body, ladder and dummy fan, 25th March 1989 (c) as preserved (from Hertfordshire Countryside vol 31 no 26 June 1976 p19) (d) as preserved, 1960s or 70s (e) as preserved, c1970 (f-g) as preserved, 1970s (h) as preserved, 1978 (10) Hertfordshire Countryside Autumn 1946 (a) disused with 4 sails and no fan (11) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 22 no 109 (1968) p39 photo - what condition is mill in? (12) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (13) W Branch Johnson (a) under restoration, 1968, with body and roundhouse repaired but no sails yet (14) Moore (a) disused with fan missing (b) view of spout floor (c) sack hoist (15) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with no sails, June 1932 (c-f) with body repaired, July 1940 (g) detail of ladder and fan supports, June 1932 (h-j) detail of fan gearing, July 1940 (k-m) derelict again, no sails, July 1961 (16) WG (a) as preserved, 1974 (17) Hertfordshire Countryside 1971 vol 25 no 142 (a) during restoration (b) after restoration (18) Hertfordshire Countryside 1971 vol 25 no 146 p17-18 (a) as H Meyer 1926

CROXLEY GREEN, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with cap roof framing, windshaft and fan cradle (2) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) derelict with cap frame, September 1933 (b-c) house converted tower with conical roof, August 1977 (3) Hertfordshire Countryside, vol 7 no 28 (1953), p151 (a) derelict with cap frame (4) A and C Jacques, "Rickmansworth: A Pictorial History", Phillimore 1996 (a) derelict with no sails but cap intact, 1920 (5) Moore (a) as D W Smith (b) the house-converted tower (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame, June 1934

GOFFS OAK, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) disused with sails, c1906 (b-c) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, June 1935
(2) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, April 1933 (3) Peter Rook, "Cheshunt's Past In Pictures", The Rockingham Press 1994 (a) disused with sails but no fan, 1902 (4) Moore (a) disused with sails, as Smith (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, April 1933

GRAVELEY, smock mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) w/o, 1870s (2) Moore (a) w/o

GREAT HORMEAD, post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) post and smock mill in w/o (2) D W Smith (a) post mill and smock mill in w/o (3) Freese (WAM) (a) view of crosstree and quarterbar (4) Hertfordshire Countryside (a) in very derelict state with most of body gone, tower of smock mill also shown (5) de Little 2 (a) view of joint between crosstree and quarterbar (b) trestle of post mill, with wreckage of smock mill nearby (6) NMR (a) becoming derelict, c1930? (also shows smock mill) (b) derelict with 4 sails, March 1932 (c) becoming derelict, March 1932 (also shows smock mill) d) partially collapsed, April 1937 (7) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (also shows smock mill) (8) HALS (a) w/o (also shows smock mill) (b) w/o (also shows smock mill), 1922 (c) derelict with 4 sails (9) The Hormeads And Hare Street Millennium Book, Aardvark Publishing 1999 (a) w/o, 1913 (also shows smock mill) (10) Hertfordshire Countryside Summer 1946 (a) w/o (also shows smock mill) (11) Wailes (WIE) (a) derelict with four sails (12) Moore (a) w/o c1910 (also shows smock mill) (b) derelict with sails, c1928 (also shows smock mill) (13) A C Smith (WIH) (a) surviving trestle, April 1970 (14) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, 1926 (also shows smock mill) (d) post and trestle, April 1970 (e) post on ground, September 1977 (f) post and pier, March 1982 (15) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1931 (also shows smock mill) (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, June 1931 (e) derelict with 4 sails (lowermost resting on ground due to collapse of breast beam), July 1936 (f) detail of roundhouse and boarding of lower buck, July 1936 (g-i) with roof, sails, windshaft and most of body gone, July 1940 (j) with roof, windshaft, sails and most of body gone, July 1940 (also shows smock mill) (k) lower part of post with horns and crosstrees, July 1940 (l-m) winch on tailpole, July 1940 (n-o) with rood, sails, windshaft and most of body gone, June 1941 (p-q) detail of framing, June 1941 (r) post, quarterbars, collar and sheers, June 1941 (s) with only trestle, sheers, post and crowntree remaining, July 1950 (t) detail of centre post, collar and crowntree, July 1950

GREAT HORMEAD, smock mill; (1) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (2) roofed-over tower, c1950? with post mill in extreme decay in foreground (3) de Little (a) spur wheel, upright shaft and bevel gear among wreckage (is this post or smock mill?) (4) NMR (a) becoming derelict (?) c1930? also shows post mill (b) roofed-over tower, March 1932 (c) roofed-over tower, March 1932: also shows post mill (d) derelict, Sept 1947 (5) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (also shows post mill) (6) HALS (a) w/o (also shows post mill) (b) w/o (also shows post mill), 1922
(7) The Hormeads And Hare Street Millennium Book, Aardvark Publish-ing 1999 (a) w/o, 1913 (also shows post mill) (b) roofed-over smock tower (8) Hertfordshire Countryside Summer 1946 (a) w/o (also shows post mill) (9) Moore (a) w/o, c1910 (also shows post mill) (b) w/o, c1928 (also shows post mill) (10) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) millstone on ground (b-d) w/o 1926 (photos also show post mill) (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower with flat roof, June 1931 (also shows post mill) (c-d) derelict with flat roof, July 1936 (e) derelict with flat roof, June 1941 (f) bolter, June 1941 (g) derelict with flat roof, July 1950 (h) wreckage on ground, August 1955 (i) great spur wheel among wreckage, August 1955 (j) derelict with flat roof, July 1940 (also shows post mill)

GREAT OFFLEY, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) derelict with cap and sails, early C20 (b) stump of tower, September 1926
(c) stump of tower, July 1970 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, 1934 (3) HM (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) derelict with four sails, middle distance (4) A M Hillyard, Images Of Old Offley, the author 1993 (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) Moore (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1910 (b) stump of tower, 1926 (c) stump of tower, July 1970 (6) A C Smith (WIH) (a) stump of tower (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) castellated stump, August 1936 (c-d) castellated stump, April 1956

HITCHIN, Windmill Hill (what type?); Hitchin Museum appears to have a photo showing the mill indistinctly as a distant feature

KINGS WALDEN, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) tower with cap and derelict fanstage, July 1926 (b) ditto 1936 (c) tower with cap frame only, July 1977 (d) ditto April 1984 (e) interior view of near-empty tower looking up at cap frame, April 1984 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and fan frame, 1930s (?) (b) tower with cap frame, 1966 (3) Moore (a) derelict with cap frame and some roof spars and remains of fanstage, 1936 (b) under restoration, 1998, with new cap fitted and scaffolding around tower (4) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 21 no 88 (1966) p186-7 (a) derelict with cap spars (5) Hertfordshire Countryside Autumn 1946 (a) derelict with cap spars and fanstage as Smith (6) A C Smith (WIH) (a) tower with cap frame (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with remains of cap roof and fanstage, August 1936 (c) old millstones lying at base of tower, August 1936

LITTLE HADHAM, smock mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) D W Smith (a) w/o (3) NMR (a-b) with cap but no sails, March 1932 (c) derelict with cap but no sails, 1966 (4) W Branch Johnson (a) derelict with cap but no sails (5) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) w/o, August 1927 (b) derelict with part of cap but no sails, October 1971 (c) ruined base after fire, September 1984 (d) cap frame and windshaft on ground, September 1984 (6) SPAB Annual Report 1980-81 (a) derelict with part of cap but no sails and showing signs of holding repairs, c1980 (7) Blythman (a) distant view of mill after holding repairs, with flat roof over smock, April 1980 (8) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (9) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 22 no 103 (1967) p52 (a) derelict with no sails (10) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 11 no 41, summer 1956 (a) derelict with no sails (11) Hertfordshire Countryside Summer 1946 (a) w/o as Smith 2 (12) Moore (a) w/o, 1927 (as A C Smith 1986) (13) A C Smith (WIH) (a) derelict with part of cap but no sails, 1971 (14) UOK (MC) (a) derelict without sails, July 1936 (b-c) derelict without sails, July 1940 (d) former miller Mr Edwards standing at base of mill holding part of an old sail with spring attached, July 1940 (e) neck of windshaft, July 1940 (f) great spur wheel, July 1940 (g-h) derelict without sails, July 1954 (i-j) derelict with no sails, July 1961

MUCH HADHAM, post mill (succeeded by tower mill); (1) Moore (a) w/o, c1890

MUCH HADHAM, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) with sails and fan missing but cap, fan frame and broken cross in place (2) Moore (a) derelict with cap, c1900 (3) UOK (MC) (a) circle of bricks marking site of mill, July 1940 (b) site of mill, July 1940

REED, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH, 1986) (a) tower with no sails and conical roof, September 1937 (b) ditto, October 1969 (c) tower undergoing house conversion, October 1977 (d) after house conver-sion, March 1982 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, March 1964 (b) capless tower, 1966-7 (3) "Hertfordshire's Past" October 2002 (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1910 (4) Moore (a) tower with conical roof, c1940 (5) A C Smith (WIH) (a) tower with conical roof (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower with conical roof, October 1954

ROYSTON, post mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) w/o (2) Moore (a) w/o
NOTE: There is some doubt as to the mill's identity; judging from its style it is more likely to be Midlands or Lincolnshire

SAWBRIDGEWORTH, post mill; (1) Bishops Stortford Museum (a) w/o, c1870 (2) Moore (a) as (1)

STANDON, smock mill; (1) Moore says there is a photo of the mill in private ownership; a copy was loaned to him but was not reproduced in his book

STANSTEAD ABBOTTS, smock mill; (1) HALS (a) w/o, middle distance, with lower part of mill hidden by other buildings (poor view) (2) Moore (a) as (1)

STEVENAGE, Corey's Mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) mill mound, September 1979 (2) HM (a-b) mill mound

TRING, Gammel Wharf, tower mill; (1) Moore (a) w/o, c1900 (2) Moore mentions a photograph in private ownership besides that he was allowed to copy in his book (3) WM (a) w/o (b) w/o, as Moore (c) in act of falling (d) wreckage on ground (4) D & J Hay, Tring and District in Old Picture Postcards, European Library 1983 (a) w/o (5) M Bass and J Fowler, Tring in Old Picture Postcards vol 2, European Library 1993 (a) w/o (b) workmen knocking out bricks from bottom of tower during demolition (c) under demolition: fan, windshaft, brakewheel and cross still on but not cap roof or sails. Workman standing on top (d) under demolition: in same condition as (c), but falling (6) HALS (a) w/o, as Moore (b) w/o, 1893 (7) M Bass and J Fowler, Around Tring, Chalford Publishing 1976 (a) w/o, c1900 (8) B Woodhouse, Tring: A Pictorial History, Phillimore 1976 (a) w/o, mid-distance, with lower part of tower obscured by buildings

TRING, Goldfield Mill, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a-b) tower with cap but no sails, July 1935 (c) ditto May 1971 (d) tower with no sails but new cap in place, May 1979 (2) NMR (a) tower with cap, June 1934 (b-c) tower with cap, 1963 (c) tower with cap, 1966-7 (3) Hertfordshire Countryside, May 1981 (a) w/o (4) Moore (a) w/o, c1900 (5) Hay, as Gammel Wharf (a) w/o (6) HALS (a) w/o, 1904 (7) M Bass and J Fowler, Around Tring, Chalford Publishing 1996 (a) w/o (8) Woodhouse (see Gammel Wharf) (a) w/o (9) A C Smith (WIH) as preserved with cap, May 1947 (10) Hertfordshire Countryside 1971 vol 26 no 148 (a) w/o, c1904 (11) Hertfordshire Countryside 1971 vol 25 no 146 (a) preserved with cap, c1970

WESTON, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails
(2) A C Smith (WIH 1986) (a) w/o, c1920 (b) derelict with cap and 4 sails, May 1926 (c) ditto August 1928 (d-e) capless tower, April 1977 (f) ditto July 1950 (g) date and inscription above door (h) removal of millstone from tower, April 1977 (3) NMR (a) with cap and windshaft still on, April 1933 (b) tower only, September 1946 (c) tower only, 1966 (4) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 6 no 22 (1951), p72 (a) capless tower (5) Hertfordshire Countryside vol 22 no 109 (1968) p18 (a) with derelict sails, as D W Smith (6) Moore (a) w/o, c1928 (7) A C Smith (WIH) (a) capless tower (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, April 1933 (b-d) derelict with cap, February 1942

NOTE: In Hertfordshire Countryside 1973 vol 28 no 165 p32-6 is an article by Arthur C Smith on the county's windmills using the photographs from his book

ISLE OF MAN

BALDMOR BEG (? writing on photo not clear here), tower mill (farm mill); (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) tower with cap frame and stage supports, date unknown

BALDROMMA, tower mill (threshing mill); (1) Kelly (MRG) (a) house-converted tower

BALLACORAGE, tower mill (threshing mill); (1) Kelly (MRG) (a) house-converted tower

BALLAWHANE, tower mill (threshing mill); (1) Kelly (MRG) (a) capless tower, 1993

BELLAUGH, Corma Rona (? writing on photo not clear here), tower mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) tower only, May 1958

CASTLETOWN, tower mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a-b) tower only, May 1958 (2) Kelly (MRG) (a) capless tower, 1993

RAMSEY, tower mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a-b) tower only, May 1958 (2) Kelly (MRG) (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1993

SOUTH BARRULE, Slate Quarries, tower mill; (1) Kelly (MRG) (a) capless tower, 1993



ISLE OF WIGHT

ALDERMOOR, Upton mill, tower mill; (1) Major (a) w/o, 1915 (2) Triggs (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, August 1931 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, with lower part of mill obscured by houses

BEMBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails visible (2) Triggs (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails visible (b) as preserved (3) NMR (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, June 1935 (c) derelict with 4 sails, 1937 (d) as preserved, 1948 (e-i) derelict with 2 sails, 1953 (f) derelict with 2 sails, June 1958 (4) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o, late C19/early C20 (5) Major (a-c) as restored (d) one pair of stones with furniture (e) view of sails (f) footstep bearing of upright shaft (g) secondary upright shaft and drive to governors (h) friction drive to sack hoist windlass (6) Reynolds (a) as preserved (b) close-up of winding worm and wheel (c) brakewheel and windshaft (d) one pair of stones with crane (e) great spur wheel and countershaft (7) Vince 1993 (a) preserved (8) Ellis (a) disused with one sail slightly damaged (8) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved, c2000 (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails damaged, August 1931

FRESHWATER, tower mill; (1) Major (a) derelict with remains of four sails (partially retouched), 1869 (2) Major & Watts (a) derelict, 1869 (as Major) (3) Triggs (a) derelict, 1869 (as Major)

KENT

ACRISE, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails (2) CKS (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails

ADISHAM, Bekesbourne, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, pre-1933 (b) ditto, May 1932 (c) ditto, June 1933 (d) millstone and other sparse remains, August 1934 (4) Crane (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (b) stones and rubble of found-ations, August 1934

ALDINGTON, smock mill (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (3) de Little 2 (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) surviving base, August 1934 (5) CKS (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1900 (e) surviving base, 1981 (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving base, August 1934

APPLEDORE HEATH, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 2 sails (also shows smock mill) (2) CKS (a) w/o with 2 sails (also shows smock mill)

APPLEDORE HEATH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with cap (also shows post mill) (b) datestone in base (2) NMR (a-c) surviv-ing base, August 1934 (d) surviving base, 1963 (e) surviving base, showing datestone, 1963 (f-g) surviving base, 1969 (3) CKS (a) disused with no sails (also shows post mill)

ASH, post mill; (1) Batten (a) w/o (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(3) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (b) spring sail adjustment (4) de Little
(a) horns of main post, seen after mill's collapse (b) joint between crowntree and side girt, seen after mill's collapse
(c) the pintle of the post entering the crowntree, seen after mill's collapse (d) wreckage after collapse (5) de Little 2 (a) view of tenon joining quarterbar to post (b) wooden stone nut
(6) NMR (a) w/o, May 1932 (b) w/o, April 1934 (c-d) w/o, May 1934 (e) w/o, August 1935 (f) w/o, Sept 1936 (g-h) w/o, 1952 (?!must be wrong) (i) w/o, pre-1949 (7) CKS (a) w/o, with house (b-c) w/o, c1910 (d) w/o, c1920 (e-f) w/o, c1930 (g) w/o, 1934 (8) Gray (a-b) w/o (9) Arnold and Amberton (a) w/o (b) w/o (sails and upper part of body visible only, with former retouched) (10) CL (a-b) w/o (11) Adams (a) derelict with 4 sails (12) MM (a-b) w/o, April 1939 (13) UOK (MC) (a) tailpole, talthur and steps, April 1934 (b) w/o, August 1935 (c) roundhouse, lower buck and part of sail, August 1935 (e) wheel on tailpole, August 1935 (f) breast stones, hopper and stone furniture, March 1940 (g) brakewheel and sack hoist, March 1940 (h) sieve and bolter, March 1940 (i) bedstone and stone nut, March 1940 (j) governor, March 1940 (k-l) ratchet on shuttered sail, March 1940 (m) tailwheel, tailstone, quant and stone nut, March 1940 (n) w/o, April 1940 (o) tailpole and steps, April 1940 (p) bolter drive, April 1940 (q) spring of striking gear, April 1940

ASHFORD, smock mill (later moved to Badlesmere); (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o 1872, as CF

BADLESMERE, Boundgate Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(b) derelict with cap (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, May 1932 (b) ditto August 1932 (c-d) ditto April 1934 (e) ditto May 1934 (3) CKS (a) derelict as CF (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, April 1934 (b) derelict with cap, August 1935

BARHAM, Breach Downs, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with stocks (2) Coles Finch (a) as UOK (3) CKS (a) derelict as CF (4) MM (a) w/o, April 1939

BARHAM, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) as preserved
(2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) Shillingford (a) w/o (b) on fire, 1970, with windshaft and sails crashing to the ground (4) Batten (a) w/o (5) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) w/o, showing rocking lever for striking gear (6) THOC OHADSLHG (a) w/o (7) NMR (a-b) w/o, May 1932 (c-d) w/o, May 1934 (e) w/o, pre-1949 (f-h) w/o with 2 sails, 1952 (i-j) w/o, 1965 (k-l) detail of sails (8) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1920 (d) w/o, 1962 (e-f) after fire in 1970, with part of burnt-out smock still standing (9) CL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, retouched (from The Times 18th April 1938) (10) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (11) Reynolds (a) close-up of spider and triangles (12) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o (13) Vince 1968 (a) w/o (14) Adams (a) w/o (15) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, March 1934 (c) dismantled stones on stone floor, February 1940 (d) wallower, February 1940 (e) sackhoist trap, February 1940 (f) lever of striking gear, February 1940 (g-h) w/o, March 1940 (i) detail of base and stage, March 1940 (j-k) w/o, May 1956

BENENDEN, Beacon Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with cap, 1930s (2) West (a) derelict with cap, early 1970s (b) w/o (in 2nd edition) (3) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with cap, 1964 (b+) various photos of mill in w/o or disused with cap (4) Turpin (WIK) (a) derelict, with most of cap gone, late 1970s (5) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o, with wooden poll end (wrongly captioned Biddenden) (6) Blythman (a) derelict with cap, 1970 (b) derelict with no sails and most of cap gone, 1979 (c) with cap frame, fan cradle windshaft and brakewheel removed and smock roofed over and weatherproofed, 1985 (7) SMS (a) derelict with sails and most of cap gone (b) close-up of exposed brakewheel (8) NMR (a) w/o, with wooden windshaft, early C20 (b) ditto, distant view, 1929 (c) disused with cap, Feb 1932 (d-e) ditto, April 1934 (9) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) w/o, c1900 (c-d) w/o, with wooden windshaft (e) disused with cap, as CF (f) derelict with cap, 1962 (g) derelict with cap, September 1962 (h) derelict with cap, as West (10) UOK (MC) (a) disused and becoming derelict with no sails, March 1934

BETHERSDEN, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(b) w/o with 2 sails (2) CKS (a) w/o with 4 sails as CF (b) w/o with 2 sails as CF

BETHERSDEN, White Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) disused (c) wreckage after fall (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with 2 sails (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, Feb 1932 (b) derelict with 2 sails, July 1932 (c-d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935 (4) CKS (a-b) w/o, apparently retouched (c) w/o, c1900 (d-e) w/o, c1910 (f-g) derelict with 2 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, March 1934 (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935

BETHERSDEN, smock sawmill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, not captioned but known to be Bethersden from other research

BETSHAM, near Gravesend, tower (or smock?) mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump of tower or smock mill with thatched conical roof, April 1940

BIDBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with original cap but no sweeps, 1940 (c) ditto, c1940 (d) with dummy cap, 1964 (e) the preserved tower, 1970 (f) internal view showing spur wheel, stone nut and tentering gear (2) West (a) w/o, early C20 (b) the roofed-over tower, early 1970s (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with original cap but no sweeps (4) NMR (a) derelict with cap, March 1932 (b-c) derelict with cap, May 1940 (d-e) tower preserved with dummy cap, 1956 (5) CKS (a) w/o, as West (b) w/o as CF (c) derelict with cap, as CF (d) flat-roofed tower, as West (e) tower with dummy cap (f-h) views of internal machinery (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap but no sails, August 1936

BIDDENDEN, Paul Sharpe's Mill, post mill; (1) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o
(2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) CKS (a) w/o as CF

BIDDENDEN, Cherry Clack mill, later moved to Punnett's Town in Sussex, see under latter location

BIDDENDEN, Town Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a+) w/o (various views and dates) (b+) derelict with stocks and broken sails (various views and dates) (c) derelict (distant view) (d+) base and wreckage of body after collapse (various views and dates) (e) base with wreckage inside, 1954 (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (3) Shillingford (a) w/o (b) derelict (4) NMR (a) w/o (b) derelict, Feb 1932 (c-e) derelict, April 1934 (f) derelict, June 1935 (g-h) derelict, May 1940 (i) derelict, 1941 (j) derelict, May 1946 (k) base and wreckage, Aug 1946 (5) CKS (a-c) w/o as CF (d) w/o, mid-distance, c1910(?) (e) derelict as CF (f) derelict with 3 and a half stocks and bits of sails (6) CL (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with four sails, newspaper cutting (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, July 1932 (b) derelict with 4 sails, April 1934 (c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1935 (d) base with some wreckage of smock on top and on ground nearby, May 1956

BLEAN, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (c) surviving base, 1936
(2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) surviving base, 1936 (4) CKS (a) w/o as CF (5) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o, apart from some missing shutters (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving base, April 1940

BLUEBELL HILL, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with one sail broken off short (2) CKS (a) derelict as CF (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, April 1940

BOUGHTON STREET, Miles' Mill, smock mill (1) UOK (DC) (a+) w/o (various views) (b) disused with cap, 1935 (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with cap (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, Aug 1932 (b) disused with cap, Aug 1935 (4) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) disused with cap as CF (5) Viner (a) surviving base (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1935 (b-c) disused with cap, April 1940 (d) one pair of stones with stone furniture, February 1940 (e) brakewheel, February 1940

BOUGHTON-UNDER-BLEAN, smock mill (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, various views (b+) capless smock, various views (c) distant view of both this and mill and Boughton Street working (2) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) capless smock (4) NMR (a) w/o (b) capless smock, Aug 1932 (c) ditto, Aug 1935 (5) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) capless smock as CF) (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless smock, August 1935 (b-c) capless smock, April 1940

BREDGAR, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with cap (2) CKS (a) derelict as CF

BREDHURST, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with cap (2) CKS (a) derelict as CF

BRENZETT, post mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) disused (c) in act of being pulled over (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with stocks and 2 sails (3) NMR (a) disused, as Coles Finch (4) CKS (a) w/o (b-c) disused with stocks and 2 sails, c1910? (d-e) in course of demolition (f) wreckage on ground after demolition (5) FL (a) w/o (6) Carpenter 2 (a) w/o, 1905 (b) in act of being pulled over, 1925

BRIDGE, smock mill; (1) Wailes (WIK) (a) great spur wheel and footstep bearing of upright shaft (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap and one stock (3) NMR (a) w/o (b) disused with sails, Jan 1933(?) (c) derelict with one stock, May 1932 (d) after repairs, with stock etc sawn off, June 1932 (4) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (5) UOK (MC) (a) after repairs with stock etc sawn off, March 1934 (b-c) after repairs (stock stump not visible), December 1939

BROADSTAIRS, Clarendon Road, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (2) M D Mirams, "Old Broadstairs", Meresborough Books 1986 (a) w/o, 1909 (caption says mill had ceased actual work two years previous-ly)

BROOK, Spelder's Hill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (2) NMR
(a) w/o, C19

CANTERBURY, St Martin's Hill, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused but complete except for fantail (b) derelict with sails
(c) as house converted, retaining cap and stocks (2) NMR (a) house-converted with cap and stocks, May 1932 (b) ditto, Aug 1935 (c-f) ditto, 1958 (g-j) ditto, 1961 (3) CKS (a) derelict with 4 sails, as CF (b) house-converted as CF (c) house-converted, as West (d) house-converted with cap and stocks (e) w/o apart from fan, as CF (4) Derek Butler, "Canterbury In Old Photographs" (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) "Canterbury, A Pictorial History", I Green, Phillimore 1988 (a) house-converted but with restored cap and fan and stocks removed (6) Gray (a) w/o, 1874 (b) house-converted with cap and stocks, 1986 (7) CL (a) house-converted with stocks and cap (8) West (a) house-converted with cap and stocks (9) Turpin (WIK) (a) house-converted with cap and stocks (10) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted with cap and stocks, August 1932 (b) house-converted with stocks, August 1935

CHALLOCK, smock mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails (Note: the photo is not in the same album as the rest of the Kent section of the collection)

CHARING, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) disused with sails, 1912, in middle distance (b) preserved with cap (cutting from Kent Express, 1961, exact date of issue not noted) (c-d) preserved with cap (2) Blythman (a-b) undergoing restoration as living accommodation, with cap and fantail in place but new sails not yet fitted, 1993 (3) Coles Finch (a) preserved with cap (4) Shillingford (a) preserved with cap (5) NMR (a) preserved with cap, May 1932 (6) CKS (a-c) w/o, middle distance (d) preserved with cap, as CF (e) preserved with cap, as West (7) West (a) preserved with cap, body tarred (8) Charing and District Local History Society, c/o Cradwells, Pluckley Road, Charing, Ashford, Kent (a) w/o (b) preserved with cap (9) UOK (MC) (a) preserved with cap, August 1934

CHATHAM, Star Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a+) w/o, various distant views (b) w/o, as Coles Finch (c) apparently in w/o, but 2 sails only (d) disused with 2 sails, 1925 (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (3) Coles Finch (a-b) w/o

CHATHAM, Upberry Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF

CHATHAM, Mainwaring's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (retouched) (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF

CHATHAM, Chalk Pit Hill Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, 1878

CHATHAM, Ordnance Place, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) base used as shop (2) UOK (MC) (a) base, April 1940

CHILLENDEN, post mill; (1) de Little (a) as preserved (2) NMR
(a-b) w/o (c) w/o, May 1932 (d-e) w/o, June 1933 (f) view of steps, tailpole, talthur and wheel, May 1936 (g) w/o, June 1936 (h) view of steps, tailpole and wheel (i-o) derelict with three sails (p) view of substructure and lower buck (q) view of body and trestle with tailpole, ladder and wheel (3) Wailes (WIK) (a) spout floor with post, crowntree and wire machine (b) windshaft, brakewheel, sack hoist, bell alarm (c) w/o (4) Coles Finch (a) w/o (5) Batten (a) w/o (6) Hills (a) as preserved, April 1991 (7) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) as preserved, 1962 (d) preserved, as West (8) CL (a-b) w/o (9) Reynolds (a) w/o (b) ladder, tailpole and lower part of rear body (c) brakewheel, wallower and windshaft (d) brake staff and catch (e) bedstones (e) windshaft, brakewheel and sack hoist (10) Hopkins (a-b) w/o (11) West (a) as preserved (12) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) as preserved (c) as preserved: detail of springs and shutters (d) as preserved: lower part of body, ladder, tailpole and "cartwheel" (13) Gregory and Wright (a) as preserved (14) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) preserved, but with one sail frame missing (15) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter October 1986 (a) as preserved (16) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved (17) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (18) Adams (a) apparently in good repair, but with one sail missing and tailpole broken (19) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1932 (c) trestle and lower buck, August 1932 (d-h) w/o, August 1934 (i) tailpole and wheel, August 1934 (j) w/o, December 1939 (k) brakewheel, windshaft and sack hoist, December 1939 (l) trestle, December 1939 (m) bolter, December 1939 (n) tailpole and wheel, December 1939 (o) sack hoist, December 1939 (p-q) w/o, April 1940 (r) ratchet on sweep, April 1940 (s) one pair of stones, April 1940 (t) brake, April 1940 (u) brakewheel, April 1940 (v) wheel on tailpole, April 1940

CHISLEHURST, smock mill; (1) Brom.CL (a-b) derelict with cap and stocks (c-d) wreckage after demolition, 1876

CHISLET, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) spur wheel and auxiliary drive (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) smock tower preserved with dummy cap (3) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (various views) (b) as preserved without cap or sails (4) NMR (a) smock tower preserved with dummy cap, May 1932 (5) CKS (a) w/o, as West (b) w/o, as CF (c) preserved smock tower with dummy cap, as CF (d) ditto, as West (6) West (a) w/o, early C20 (b) preserved smock tower with dummy cap (7) Turpin (WIK) (a) preserved smock tower with dummy cap (8) UOK (MC) (a) smock tower preserved with dummy cap, August 1934 (b-c) smock tower preserved with dummy cap, April 1940 (d) "hounds" (an item of machinery like a hopper), April 1940

COBHAM, Darnley's Mill, smock mill; (1) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter, July 1994 (a) w/o (2) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (3) UOK (DC) (a) house-converted base (4) CKS (a) disused, as CF (5) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o, c1900 (6) Carley (a) disused with sails (7) GL (a) w/o, c1900 (8) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted base, April 1940

CRANBROOK, Union Mill, smock mill; (1) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (b) John Russell pulling on striking chain (c) part of sail and wooden jacks used for repairs to sails (2) Vince 1968 (a) w/o (3) Freese (a) w/o (4) Coles Finch (a) w/o (5) Hopkins (a) w/o (6) Batten (a) w/o (7) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) w/o (8) Hills (a) as preserved, May 1990 (9) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (b) w/o, May 1940 (c+) further views not available for inspection at time of compiler's visit (10) NMR (WC) (a+) important collection of colour slides showing restoration of mill in the 1950s (11) de Little 2 (a) detail of sails, 1990s (12) CKS (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, as West (e) w/o, 1978 (f) preserved with shutters and fan missing (g-j) internal views, 1978 (k) detail of sail (13) Dunn (see Folkestone Millfield) (a) w/o, c1905 (b) w/o, 1906 (14) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (b) newly dressed peak bedstone (15) Reynolds (a-b) w/o (c) view of cap, fantail, striking wheel and guide pole, and chainwheel (16) Vince 1993 (a) w/o, mid-late C20 (17) West (a) w/o (b) John Russell lifting runner stone for dressing (c) Mr Hicks stone dressing in the mill (18) Haselfoot (a) w/o (19) Vince 1973 (a) w/o (20) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (21) Adams (a) w/o (b) w/o, aerial view (22) MM (a) w/o, October 1929 (23) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1931 (b) w/o, August 1934 (c-d) w/o, August 1935 (e) base and stage, August 1935 (24) in the base of the mill is displayed a copy photograph of the mill with the original wide stage from which the common sails with which it was originally fitted were reefed

CRANBROOK COMMON, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with 4
sails (2) CKS (a) derelict with 4 sails, as CF

DARTFORD, The Brent, smock mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o, 1880-90 (2) Geoff Porteous, "The Book Of Dartford", Barracuda 1979 (a) w/o (3) T A Bushell, "Imperial Chislehurst", Baron 1997 (3rd edition) (a) w/o, 1860 (wrongly captioned Chislehurst mill) (4) Brom.CL (a) w/o, c1860

DEAL, Upper Deal, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (2) NMR (a) derelict with sails (3) CKS (a) as CF (4) DL (a) w/o

DEAL, North End Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (2) CKS (a) as CF (3) "The Book Of Deal and Walmer", Ivan Green, Barracuda 1983 (a) w/o (4) DL (a) w/o, c1897

DEAL, Sandown Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (2) CKS (a) as CF

DEAL, Wellington mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with cap (2) CKS (a) as CF

DODDINGTON, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with stocks and one sail, May 1932 (c-d) with cap and sails removed, August 1934 (2) Coles Finch (a) disused with stocks and one sail frame (3) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, distant view (b-c) derelict with stocks and remains of one sail (c) with cap and sails removed (4) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (5) CKS (a) as CF (6) Swain (a) w/o, 1903-4 (b) w/o, distant view, c1910 (7) UOK (MC) (a) with cap and sails removed, August 1934 (b-c) foundations after demolition, April 1940

DOVER, Buckland Mill, smock mill; (1) Dover Museum, Market Square, Dover, Kent (a) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o (cutting from Dover Express 29.10.1954) (3) Bob Hollingsbee, "Dover In Old Picture Postcards," The European Library 1989 (a) w/o

DOWNE, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) the house-converted tower (2) Brom.CL (a) the house-converted tower

DYMCHURCH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused(?) with three sails (poor reproduction, partially retouched) (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, distant view (3) CKS (a) as CF

EAST LANGDON, Martin Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(b) house-converted, with original cap but sails shortened
(2) Batten (a) as Coles Finch (b) (3) Dover Museum, as Dover Buckland Mill (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (c) derelict with 4 broken sails (4) NMR (a) as house-converted with shortened sails, May 1932 (b) ditto, June 1933 (c) ditto, Sept 1936 (d) ditto, 1947 (5) CKS (a) house-converted with four shortened sails but no fan (6) CL (a) derelict with 4 sails (7) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted with shortened sails, June 1933 (b) house-converted with shortened sails, March 1940 (8) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o

EASTRY, Upper Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) w/o, in middle distance (Lower Mill in foreground) (b) disused with cap (2) West (a) derelict with cap (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, May 1932 (b) ditto, Aug 1935 (c) ditto, Sept 1936 (d) derelict with cap, 1952 (e) derelict with cap, 1971 (f-l) internal views (4) Blythman (a) derelict with cap, 1970 (5) CKS (a) disused with cap, as CF (b) derelict with cap, as West (c-d) derelict with cap, 1960s (6) DL (a) w/o, in middle distance (Lower Mill in foreground) (7) Turpin (WIK) (a) preserved without sails (8) Batten (a) w/o, in background (Lower Mill in foreground) (9) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1932 (b) disused with cap, August 1934 (c) disused with cap, August 1935

EASTRY, Lower Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) Batten
(a) w/o (both the Coles Finch and Batten photos also show Upper Mill) (3) DL (a) w/o (Upper Mill in background) (b) w/o

EDENBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with cap (2) West (a) capless tower (3) NMR (a) capless tower, May 1941 (b-e) capless tower, 1962 (4) CKS (a) derelict with cap, as CF (b-c) derelict with cap (d) tower only, as West (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1932 (b-c) derelict with cap, August 1936

EGERTON, Stone Hill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, distant view
(d) wreckage after fall (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) ruined smock tower after 1919 gale, with cap, sails and much of framing of tower missing (3) CKS (a-c) w/o (d) ruined smock tower after fall, as CF (e-h) wreckage after storm (or after subsequent demolition of mill?) (4) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base

ELHAM, Cullens Hill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (cutting from Folkestone Herald 18/6/1932) (b) w/o (cutting from Kentish Gazette 12/1/1975) (c) w/o but some shutters missing from sails (d) distant view, with part of one stock visible only, early 1920s (e) undated postcard, possibly retouched (f+) other views not yet noted down (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o, as CF (4) Mary Smith (compiler), "A Century Of Elham Photographs", n.d. (copy in Folkestone Library) (a) w/o, 1884 (b) derelict with cap, 1919

ELMSTED, Bodsham Green, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) roofed-over stump of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a) stump, August 1935

ERITH, Northumberland Heath, post mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1953 (2) CKS (a) surviving roundhouse

FAVERSHAM, Copton, tower windpump; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(2) West (a) the tower with cap and sails gone and supporting a water tank, c1972 (3) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (b) tower with water tank
(4) E R Swain, "Faversham In Old Photos", Alan Sutton 1989 (a) w/o
(5) Viner (a) disused with sails, c1920 (6) UOK (MC) (a) tower with water tank

FOLKESTONE, Dawson's Mill, Millfield, later Black Mill Bethersden, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (4) "Folkestone, A Pictorial History", Charles Whitney, Phillimore 1986 (a) w/o (5) "Britain In Old Photographs:Kent", C Dunn, Sutton Publishing Ltd 1996 (a) w/o

FOLKESTONE, Cheriton, Ashley Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (retouched) (b) capless smock (c) base with new structure built over it (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (3) UOK (MC) (a) base, March 1940

FRINDSBURY, House Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with stocks (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (3) C Thorndycroft (Ed.), "Frindsbury, A Historical Review", 1975 (a) w/o (caption refers to it as "Bill Street Road Mill")

FRINDSBURY, Prospect Hill smock mill (1); (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (3) CKS (a) the 2 mills together as CF (4) Thorndycroft as per House Mill (a) w/o

FRINDSBURY, Prospect Hill smock mill (2); (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (3) CKS (a) The 2 mills together as CF (4) Thorndycroft as per House Mill (a) w/o

FRINDSBURY UOK MC has a photograph of the foundations of one of the mills, April 1940

FRITTENDEN, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with no sails and windshaft removed (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with sails and windshaft gone, 1931 (c-d) derelict with sails and roof gone (e) main post on ground, 1960 (3) Batten (a) derelict with sails (4) NMR (a) derelict with sails and part of upper breast removed, February 1932 (b-e) ditto, April 1934 (f) derelict with sails and roof gone, April 1938 (5) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict with no sails as CF (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails or windshaft, July 1932 (b) derelict with no sails or windshaft, August 1932 (c) derelict with no sails or windshaft, April 1934 (d-e) derelict with no sails or windshaft, August 1934 (f) detail of roundhouse, August 1934 (g) very derelict with roof and part of breast gone, February 1940

GILLINGHAM, Stedman's Mill (1), smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o, as CF

GILLINGHAM, Stedman's Mill (2), smock mill; (1) CKS (a) in middle distance, apparently in w/o, with 2 sails

GILLINGHAM, Friday's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o, as CF

GOUDHURST, smock mill (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (retouched) (2) CKS (a) w/o

GRAVESEND, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with no sails
(2) UOK (DC) (a) in extreme decay with sails and roof gone, 1862 (?) (from Kent Messenger centenary edition, 1959) (3) CKS (a-c) with sails still on, but the observatory structure in place around mill, c1901? (d) derelict with no sails but observatory structure in place (e) derelict with no sails, as CF (f-g) skeleton of body (h) child standing on what looks like the main post of the mill after its demolition (4) "Gravesend In Old Photographs", collected by Robert Hiscock, Alan Sutton 1988 (a) with sails on but obser-vatory structure in place around mill, c1890, distant view (b) derelict with no sails but galleries of observatory structure still in place, although falling to pieces, 1894 (5) GL (a) with sails and observatory structure (b) with sails and observatory structure, c1890 (c) with sails and observatory structure, c1890, mid-distance
(d) in extreme decay with sails and roof gone

GREAT CHART, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (distant view, retouched) (b) disused with cap (c) surviving base, 1935 (2) Coles Finch (a) disused with cap (3) NMR (a) surviving base, July 1932 (b) surviving base, August 1935 (4) CKS (a) disused with cap, as CF (b-e) surviving base (5) Great Chart History Society (a) w/o, middle distance (b) surviving base, 1930s (c+) several views showing mill with four out of six sails (6) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, August 1935 (7) Shillingford (a) disused with cap

GUILTON, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with stocks (3) NMR (a) surviving base, June 1936 (4) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, August 1934 (b) surviving base, August 1935

GUSTON, Swingate Mill, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) West (a) w/o, pre-1940 (b) capless tower (3) Batten (a) w/o (4) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, 1906 (b) w/o, 1906 (retouched) (c) w/o (d) w/o, distant view (e) derelict with 2 sails (Kent Messenger 27.5.55) (5) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, May 1932 (c-e) w/o, June 1933 (f-g) w/o, Sept 1936 (h-i) derelict with 2 sails, 1954 (6) CKS (a) w/o as West (b) capless tower (c) capless tower, as West (7) Dover Express 15.10.1998 (a) house-converted tower with replica cap (8) Turpin (WIK) (a) capless tower (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1935 (b-c) w/o, March 1940 (10) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o

HARBLEDOWN, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with shortened sails (c) under demolition (2) THOC (OHADSLHG) (a-b) demolition of mill and subsequent wreckage, 1913 (3) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (b) being demolished, as CF

HAWKHURST, Four Throws, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) with cap and sails tilting forward after tailwinding (2) CKS (a-c) as CF

HAWKINGE, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict, with stock and one sail but most of cap roof gone, c1960 (2) Coles Finch (a) derelict with stock and one sail (3) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, 1921 (b) derelict, 1934 (c) derelict, 1930s (d) derelict, 1930s or after (e-l) views of wreckage, 1963 (m) ruins of base, 1970 (4) NMR (a-b) derelict, June 1933 (5) CKS (a) derelict, as CF (b) derelict with windshaft, one stock and fragments of one sail, October 1962 (6) "A Pictorial Study Of Hawkinge Parish", R Humphreys, Meresborough Books 1987 (a) disused with 4 sails (1 sail and fan damaged) (b) derelict with one stock and fragments of sail, and much of cap boarding gone, 1947 (7) MM (wrongly filed under Uphill; error notified to museum) (a-b) derelict with stock and one sail, April 1939 (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stock and one sail (latter not visible in photo), June 1933 (b-d) derelict with stock and one sail, March 1940 (e) great spur wheel, March 1940

HEADCORN, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (2) Penelope Rivers, "Tales Of Victorian Headcorn", Meresborough Books 1985 (a) w/o (3) Headcorn Local History Society, "Headcorn: A Pictorial History", Meresborough Books 1987 (a) w/o

HEADCORN, White Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) w/o (distant view, retouched) (2) Freese (a) w/o (3) Batten (a) w/o (4) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (5) UOK (DC) (a) demolition, 1952: smock tower, with windshaft and brakewheel still on, in act of falling (b+) various other views not yet noted down, including many of mill in w/o (6) NMR (a) w/o, 1929 (b) w/o, Feb 1932 (c-f) w/o, Aug 1932 (g-h) w/o, May 1932 (i-k) w/o, April 1934 (l) disused with sails, April 1939 (m-p) ditto, June 1938 (q) w/o, pre-1949 (r) derelict with sails, 1942 (7) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (b-d) w/o (e) w/o, distant view (f) w/o, middle distance, partly retouched, as CF (8) Headcorn Local History Society, as Black Mill (a) w/o, 1910 (distant view) (b) w/o, 1914 (lower part of smock hidden by house) (c) w/o, 1929 (d) w/o, c1935 (e) w/o, 1937 (floodlit for coronation of George VI) (f) derelict with 3 sails, 1952 (9) Hopkins (a) w/o (10) MM (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view 1918 (c) w/o, distant view c1920 (11) UOK (MC) (a-c) w/o, June 1932 (d-f) w/o, August 1934 (g-h) disused with sails, February 1940 (i) disused with sails, March 1940 (under Guston) (j) brakewheel and wallower, February 1940 (k) great spur wheel and stone nuts, February 1940 (l) part of tentering gear with bridge tree and governor attachment

HERNE, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) w/o (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) preserved with 2 sails (4) Kent Messenger 21.11.58 (a) w/o (5) THOC OHADSLHG (a) w/o (6) NMR (a) disused with stocks and 2 sails (b) with stocks and 2 shuttered sails, May 1932 (c) w/o, July 1936 (d-h) as preserved, 1955 (7) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, early C20 (d) w/o, as CF (e-f) preserved with 4 sails, 1972 (8) West (a) preserved with 4 sails (9) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (uncaptioned) (10) Wailes (WIE) (a) close-up of cap, sails, fan, striking wheel and guide pole (11) Reynolds (a) part of base and stage (b) great spur wheel (c) great spur wheel and stone nut (12) West (a) preserved with sail frames (13) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) close-up of striking wheel, chain and guide pole (b) one of Kent's last working sweeps on the ground beside the mill after being removed from it in 1973 (14) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (15) Adams (a) preserved with 4 sails (16) UOK (MC) (a) w/o but with 2 sails down to stock, August 1934 (b-c) w/o, August 1935 (d-g) w/o, January 1940 (h) w/o, April 1940 (i) governors, January 1940 (j) worm gear, January 1940 (k) brake wheel, January 1940 (l) great spur wheel and stone nut, January 1940 (m) fan gearing, April 1940 (n) "hounds", April 1940

HERNE BAY, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (3) H Gough, "A Picture Book Of Old Herne Bay", Meresborough Books 1983 (a) w/o

HIGHAM, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o, as CF (3) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o, c1915 (4) Ian Craig (Ed.), "A Mosaic History Of Higham", 1974 (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) base and stump of smock, April 1940

HIGH HALDEN, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-c) w/o (d) surviving roundhouse, Feb 1932 (e) surviving roundhouse, Aug 1935 (3) CKS (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1900 (g) w/o, as CF (h) site of mill (4) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving round-house, August 1935

HILDENBOROUGH, Watt's Cross, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) preserved with 4 sails (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) as preserved (3) de Little (a) derelict, with cap roof and much boarding gone, one stock left (b) in course of demolition, 1961 (4) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (5) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) derelict with 4 sails, probably 1950s (6) de Little 2 (a) compass arm great spur wheel (7) NMR (a) w/o (b-c) as preserved, February 1932 (d-e) as preserved, May 1940 (f) as preserved, 1942 (g-i) derelict, 1957 (8) UOK (MC) (a-c) as preserved, August 1936 (d) base and stage, August 1936

HOATH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) as CF

HOO, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with cap and fantail (2) CKS (a) derelict with no sails as CF

HYTHE, Stade Street, smock mill(1); (1) CKS (a) w/o, middle distance, with 2 sails (2) FL (a) w/o, with 2 sails, middle distance (3) D Forbes, "Hythe Haven", Shearwater Press 1982 (a) w/o, 4 sails (4) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, 4 sails, as Forbes (b-d) w/o with 4 sails (retouched) (e) w/o with 2 sails, as CKS and FL (f) w/o (also shows Stade Street 2)

HYTHE, Stade Street smock mill(2); (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (also shows Stade Street(1))

IWADE, hollow-post windpump; (1) West (a) derelict but complete (2) CKS (a) as West

KENNINGTON, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) derelict with cap (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap (3) Shillingford (a) derelict with cap (4) NMR (a) with boarding repaired, June 1933 (b) ditto, August 1935 (5) Blythman (a) surviving base, various views including one of datestone (6) CKS (a-g) w/o (h) w/o, as CF (i-k) disused with cap (l-m) derelict with cap, as CF (7) MM (a) w/o, c1900 (8) UOK (MC) (a) with boarding repaired, March 1934 (b) with boarding repaired, August 1935 (c) with boarding repaired, January 1940

KESTON, post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) brake wheel, wallower and upright shaft, 1910 (b) part of meal floor with spouts, probably same date as (a) (2) Coles Finch (a) disused with 4 broken sails (3) Turpin (WIK) (a) as preserved, 1970s, with stocks and one broken sail (4) Blythman (a) as preserved, 1987, with stocks (rear view; not clear if last sail still on) (5) Batten (a) disused with 4 broken sails (6) UOK (DC) (a) as preserved, 1960s (7) CKS (a) derelict, as CF (b) derelict with damaged sails, middle-distance (c) preserved, as West (8) Edward Williams, "Keston Parish: A Photograph Album Of The Past", the author 1984 (a) middle distance, apparently in good repair (but does not seem to be in working order), c1900? (b) derelict with 4 sails, 1910 (roundhouse and lower part of body obscured by vegetation) (c-e) derelict with 4 sails, early C20 (f) derelict with 4 sails, c1914 (g) under repair, 1914, surrounded by scaffolding but with damaged sails still on (9) CL (a-b) as preserved with stocks and broken sails (9) West (a) preserved with stocks and part of one sail (10) Brom.CL (a) derelict with four sail frames (b-c) preserved with stocks and one damaged sail, 1966 (d) ditto, 1967 (e) ditto, 1960s/early 1970s (f) preserved with 3 stocks visible, mid-late C20? mid-distance, quality poor (g) view of stone floor with brakewheel, upright shaft, wallower and two pairs of stones, 1966 (h) view inside roundhouse looking up at post and quarterbars (i) view of spout floor showing post, stone nuts and quants (j-k) distant view with 4 damaged sails (only 3 visible), early C20 (l) derelict with 4 damaged sails, early C20 (m-n) preserved with fragments of 4 sails, early C20 (o-q) derelict with four sails, early C20 (r) surrounded by scaffolding for repairs, early C20 (from Keston Parish Album no 77) (s) derelict with 4 sails, early C20, mid-distance (t) preserved with stocks and one damaged sail, May 1952 (u) preserved with 4 damaged sails, c1927 (retouched postcard) (v-x) derelict with 3 stocks and one damaged sail, late c20 (y) under repair, July 1983: remains of last sail removed, scaffolding up, weatherboarding in course of renewal (z) restoration in progress as above, 1983 (aa) repairs nearing completion, 1983: view of reboarded front of mill showing stocks, clamps and striking gear (ab) derelict with 4 sails, c1910 (ac) derelict with 4 sails (retouched postcard), early C20 (ad) preserved but becoming derelict, with stocks and one damaged sail, 1978 (ae) as preserved with stocks, 1986 (11) Adams (a) preserved with stocks and fragments of one sail (12) UOK (MC) (a-b) as preserved with damaged sails, April 1932 (13) NMR (a-j) disused with stocks and damaged sails (k) disused with stocks and damaged sails, early C20 (l) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft

KINGSNORTH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o
(3) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o, as CF (4) UOK (MC) (a) the house-converted base, August 1935

KINGSTON, Reed Mill, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) capless tower (2) Shillingford (a) capless tower (3) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (as Coles Finch) (b+) capless tower (various views) (4) Kentish Gazette 24/12/1958 (a) capless tower (5) NMR (a) capless tower, May 1932 (b) capless tower, May 1934 (6) CKS (a) capless tower (7) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, May 1934 (b) capless tower, March 1940

KIPPINGS CROSS, Keys Green, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(b) capless tower (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b+) capless tower, various views (3) NMR (a) capless tower, April 1934 (b) ditto, Aug 1934 (c) capless tower, July 1938 (4) CKS (a) the truncated tower (5) "Bygone Kent" August 1983 p464-5 (a) w/o (as Coles Finch) (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, April 1934 (b) capless tower, August 1934

KNOCKHOLT, tower mill; (1) D W Smithers, "A History Of Knockholt In The County Of Kent", Dragonfly Press 1991 (a) w/o

LAMBERHURST, smock saw mill; (1) "Bygone Kent", August 1983, p464-5 (a-b) w/o, middle distance, c1890

LEIGH, Stocks Green, smock mill (formerly at Bexhill, Sussex); (1) de Little (a) view of top of tower with curb and rollers (2) NMR (a) w/o, March 1932 (b-c) disused with sails, May 1940 (d-e) ditto, 1942 (f-j) derelict with windshaft brakewheel and one sail, but most of cap roof gone, 1957 (in two views sail is not visible) (3) Batten (a) w/o (4) Coles Finch (a) w/o (5) Shillingford (a) being repainted (6) MM (a) disused with sails, fan appears damaged, c1935 (?) (filed under Hildenborough, error notified to museum) (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1932 (b-d) disused with sails, August 1936

LENHAM HEATH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o (b) surviving base, April 1939 (c) surviving base, August 1934 (3) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (b-c) surviving base, with stage removed and conical roof fitted (4) Jean Cockett and Amy Myers, "Lenham and Boughton Malherbe In Old Photographs", Meresborough Books 1991 (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base and stage, August 1934 (b-c) surviving base and stage, April 1940

LOWER STOKE, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (fan and most shutters missing)

LYDD, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o, as CF (3) Carpenter 2 (a) w/o, as Coles Finch

LYDD, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) mill on fire, 1927
(2) UOK (DC) (a+) w/o, various views (b) disused with sails (c) ruined base after fire (3) CKS (a-b) w/o (4) Carpenter 2 (a) w/o (b) on fire, as CF

LYMINGE, White Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) w/o, retouched (also shows Old Black Mill) (c) disused with sails down to stocks (2) FL (a) w/o, middle distance (3) UOK (DC) (a+) w/o, various views

LYMINGE, Old Black Mill, smock mill (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (also shows White Mill)

LYMPNE, smock mill (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (very poor photo)

LYNSTED, Champion's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with cap (b) summer house erected on shortened smock, visible above trees (rest of mill hidden) (2) UOK (DC) (a) surviving base, 1959 (b) ditto, 1960 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving base, April 1940

MARGATE, Draper's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a-b) w/o, 1905 (both photos also show Little Draper's Mill) (c) with no sails, when working by steam (2) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) w/o with 4 sails, 1970s (c-d) detail of cap, sails and fantail, 1970s (3) The Holmans of Canterbury, OHADSLHG (a) w/o, late C19-early C20 (4) de Little 2 (a) before restoration in 1960 (5) NMR (a) view of base, May 1933 (b-c) derelict with cap, 1964 (6) CKS (a) the 3 mills together as CF (b) w/o, c1900 (c) w/o, c1900 (also shows Little Draper's) (d) w/o, c1910 (also shows Little Draper's) (e) w/o pre-1927, as West (f) with sail frames only, c1922 (also shows Little Draper's) (g) w/o (also shows Little Draper's) (h) disused with cap, c1930 (i) derelict with cap, 1966 (j) preserved with sails still to be fitted, as West (k-m) w/o, 1975 (l) w/o, from the air, 1976 (m-n) w/o, 1977 (o) internal view (p) stone dressing tools (7) "The Archive Photographs Series: The North Thanet Coast", compiled by Alan Kay, Chalford Press 1994 (a) w/o 1900 (also shows Little Drapers' Mill) (8) Mills (a) derelict with cap (b) as restored (9) Clements (a-b) w/o (second photo also shows Little Drapers' Mill) (10) West (a) w/o, pre-1927 (b) restoration complete except for sails (11) Draper's Mill guide, undated (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, C19, also showing Little Draper's Mill and the Pumper (d) derelict with cap, 1966 (e) volunteers clearing debris from inside the base, 1966 (f) under repair, 1968, with scaffolding around smock and some weatherboarding removed (g) exposed framing of meal floor, 1968 (h) weatherboarding of smock renewed and cap in course of reconstruction (i) nearing completion, with first two sail frames just fitted, 1972 (j) shutters being fitted to the first two sweeps, 1972 (k) the last two sweeps in course of fitting, 1975 (12) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (b) disused with cap, December 1939 (13) Blythman (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, 1972

MARGATE, Little Draper's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) surviving base (2) CKS (a) the 3 mills together as CF (b) w/o (also shows Draper's) (c) w/o, c1900 (also shows Little Draper's) (d) w/o, c1910 (also shows Draper's) (e) without sails, c1922 (also shows Draper's) (3) Kay, as Draper's Mill (a) w/o, 1900 (also shows Draper's Mill) (4) Clements (a) w/o (also shows Drapers' Mill) (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, August 1934

MARGATE, tower mill, "The Pumper"; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o, with 4 sails (originally had 5) (b) castellated tower only (2) CKS (a) the 3 mills together as CF

MEOPHAM, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (2) West (a) as preserved, with no shutters or working fan (3) NMR (a) w/o with 2 sails, June 1932 (b) with shutters removed from 2 surviving sails, Sept 1934 (c) with shutters removed from the 2 surviving sails, June 1936 (d) with shutters removed from 2 surviving sails, plus blades of fan missing, 1942 (e-f) as preserved, 1962 (g-i) internal views (4) CKS (a) w/o (b) with 2 sails, mid-C20 (c) as preserved, 1960s or 70s, with no shutters or working fan (d) preserved, as West (5) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o, 1905 (b-c) w/o, c1910 (6) Turpin (WIK) (a-c) preserved with some shutters in sails, 1970s (7) Haselfoot (a) preserved with some shutters in sails, late 1970s (8) Carley (a) as preserved, 1960s or 1970s (b) during restoration, with scaffolding up and one sail being removed or fitted (9) GL (a) w/o, early C20 (b) as preserved, c1966 (c) as preserved, 1960s or 70s (middle distance, seen across green) (d) new sails being fitted, c1978 (10) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, June 1932 (b) w/o with 2 sails, September 1934 (c-e) disused with 2 sail frames, February 1943 (f-g) disused with 2 sail frames, April 1950

MILTON REGIS, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with 2 sails broken off short (2) Batten (a) derelict with 2 sails broken off short (3) NMR (a-b) derelict, May 1932 (b) after repairs, May 1936, with boarding of cap and smock tidied up and remains of sail frames removed leaving only stocks (c) after tidying-up repairs, August 1934 (d) derelict again, 1942 (4) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (c) derelict, 1932 (d-i) derelict, c1932 (j) derelict, 1948 (k) derelict with part of cap gone, 1952 (l) derelict with part of cap gone exposing brakewheel, 1954 (m) wreckage after demolition (5) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) derelict as CF (c) derelict, c1950? (d) derelict with 4 sails (6) "The Archive Photograph Series: Sittingbourne", by Ken and Ann Fosbraey (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1905 (c) with cap and stocks, mid-C20 (7) Alan Cordell, Bill Lee and Margaret Lee, "Sittingbourne", Phillimore 1989 (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (8) Swain (a) w/o, c1890 (9) UOK (MC) (a) repaired with cap and sawn-off stocks, August 1934 (b-c) repaired with cap and sawn-off stocks, April 1940

MINSTER (Thanet), smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o

NEWCHURCH, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, Sept 1936 (3) UOK (DC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (c) ditto, c1910 (d) stump of tower, 1936 (4) FL (a) w/o as CF (5) Carpenter 2 (see New Romney) (a) w/o as Coles Finch (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump of tower, April 1940

NEWINGTON, near Ramsgate, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with no shutters in sails, May 1932 (b) with windshaft and cap frame (c) ditto, Aug 1934 (2) Shillingford (a) complete with sails (no shutters) and fan, when worked by steam (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o (4) Gray (a) disused with 4 sails and damaged fan (5) Perkins (a) w/o, c1895 (b) as preserved, with shutters missing (captioned Grange Road, Ramsgate) (6) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (b) disused with four sails (artificially coloured) (c-d) becoming derelict with 4 sails (7) UOK (MC) (a) with windshaft and cap frame, August 1934

NEW ROMNEY, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o
(3) CKS (a-b) w/o as CF (c-e) w/o (4) Carpenter (a) w/o, 1901 (5) Carpenter 2 (a) w/o (6) UOK (DC) (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, newspaper cutting (g) w/o, retouched (h) w/o, middle distance, retouched (7) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o

NONINGTON, Seed Mill (smock mill?); (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o

NONINGTON, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) smock with cap and sails removed (2) Beedell (a) wire machine (3) de Little 2 (a) compass arm great spur wheel (4) NMR (a) with cap and sails rem-oved, May 1932 (b) ditto, June 1936 (5) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (with part of seed mill in background) (b) w/o (c-g) smock tower only (h) smock tower only, 1961 (from East Kent Mercury 1/12/1966) (i) smock tower only, 1961 (j-k) internal views, 1959 (l) mill on fire, May 1965 (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) smock tower only, August 1934 (c) smock tower only, April 1940

NORTHBOURNE, Old Mill, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) w/o with 2 sails
(2) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (3) NMR
(a) w/o with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails (c) w/o with 2 sails, May 1932 (d) w/o with 2 sails, June 1933 (e) w/o with 2 sails, May 1934 (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1952 (4) de Little 2 (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1930s (5) CL (a) w/o with 2 sails, mid-C20 (b) w/o with 2 sails, 1939 (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, August 1932 (b) w/o with 2 sails, June 1933 (c) w/o with 2 sails, May 1934 (d-e) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (f) w/o with 2 sails, August 1935 (g) w/o with 2 sails, December 1939 (h) miller J Court in doorway, August 1935 (i) stones, December 1939 (j) sack hoist, December 1939

NORTHBOURNE, New Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (2) West (a) w/o, 1913 (b) derelict with windshaft and cap frame (3) Turpin (WIK) (a) with windshaft and cap frame, but smock tower apparently repaired (4) de Little 2 (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1930s (5) NMR (a) w/o, May 1932 (b) w/o, Aug 1935 (c) w/o, Sept 1936 (6) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o as West (c-d) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, was in "unidentified" section of tray; I have now identified it for the Centre (e) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, as West (7) CL (a) w/o with 2 sails, mid-C20 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, August 1932 (c) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (d) w/o with 2 sails, August 1935 (e) w/o with 2 sails, December 1939

NORTHFLEET, Boorman's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o, mid-distance (poor view)

NORTHFLEET, Fiveash Mill, smock mill; (1) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o, c1880 (2) Christoph Ball, "Northfleet In Old Picture Post-cards", European Library 1987 (a) w/o

NORTHWOOD, near Ramsgate, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) disused with cap (later date than Coles Finch (b) - damage to cap evident in the latter photo has evidently been repaired) (2) Coles Finch (a) with shutters missing but otherwise complete (b) derelict with cap (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, May 1932 (4) Gray (a) with cap frame (or it may be a flat roof placed over tower), just before demolition in 1961; new houses being built nearby (5) UOK (DC) (a) disused with sails (b-c) derelict with cap (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934 (b-c) derelict with cap, December 1939 (d) governors and tentering gear, December 1939

OARE, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with 3 sails
(2) Batten (a) derelict with 3 sails (one hidden by tower) (3) West (a) house-converted tower with hideous dummy cap (4) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and at least one sail, 1963 (5) de Little 2 (a) derelict (as SPAB) (6) NMR (a) derelict with 3 sails (only 2 visible), May 1932 (b) ditto, 1950 (c) ditto, 1955 (7) CKS (a) derelict with 3 sails, as CF (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, and broken stocks (c) house-converted, as West (8) Turpin (WIK) (a) as house-converted (9) Viner (a) the house-converted tower (10) UOK (DC) (a-c) derelict with 3 sails (not all visible) (d) derelict with 3 sails, distant view (e-g) Faversham News 2nd August 1963: house conversion under way, with dummy cap being lifted on by crane (h-i) the converted tower with dummy cap in place (j-k) windshaft, brakewheel spider and other machinery and timbers lying on ground (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict, with cap and 2 sails visible, August 1934 (c) derelict with 3 sails, February 1940 (d) winding gear in cap, February 1940

OARE, smock windpump; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with 4 sails and cap (2) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with 4 sails and cap (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails and cap, February 1940

OSPRINGE, Water Lane smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with stocks (2) CKS (a-e) w/o (f) w/o as CF (g) disused with stocks, as CF (h) w/o (presumably; cap and sails cut off by photo) (3) Viner (a) w/o, c1905 (b) c1910, with shutters missing from sails (b) disused with stocks, c1915 (d) under demolition, c1915: cap roof, sails, windshaft, brakewheel and some boarding removed (e) under demolition, c1915: all of cap removed (f) under demolition, c1915: boarding mostly removed from smock (4) UOK (DC) (a-c) disused with sails (d) disused with stocks

PETHAM, Chequers' Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o

PLUCKLEY, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (distant view)
(b) w/o (c) derelict with 2 sails (2) Batten (a) derelict with 2 sails (one hidden by body of mill) (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, May 1932 (b) ditto, May 1933 (c) ditto, June 1934 (d) base remaining after fire, May 1940 (4) CKS (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, distant view (e) apparently in w/o, but 2 sails and stage missing, c1920 (f) derelict with 2 sails (g) derelict as Coles Finch (h-j) base and wreckage after fire (5) MM (a-c) derelict with 2 sails, pre-1934 (6) UOK (DC) (a) Ashford Times 18th November 1972: derelict with 2 sails, early 1939 (b-f) derelict with 2 sails (g) Kentish Express, 25th April 1939: the mill on fire, with most of smock tower already destroyed and the remainder in act of collapsing (h) the surviving base (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1932 (b) derelict with 2 sails, April 1934 (c) derelict with 2 sails, May 1934 (d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935 (e-f) surviving base, February 1940 (g) canister of windshaft on ground, February 1940

PLUMSTEAD, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WISAGL) (a-b) preserved tower (2) Coles Finch (a) preserved tower (3) GLHL (a-d) preserved tower (e) preserved tower, c1925 (f) preserved tower, c1905 (g) preserved tower, c1910 (4) D W Smith (a) preserved tower (5) UOK (DC) (a) preserved tower, mostly hidden by inn building, July 1972 (6) NMR (a-b) capless tower (c) capless tower (mostly hidden by inn building)

PRESTON (Nr Faversham) smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o
(b) disused with cap (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, May 1932 (3) CKS (a-b) w/o, as CF (4) Viner (a) w/o, c1900 (badly reproduced) (b) w/o, 1900 (5) UOK (DC) (a-c) disused with cap (d-g) w/o (h) w/o, middle distance (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (b) disused with cap, February 1940 (c) truck wheel and part of brakewheel, February 1940

PRESTON (Nr Wingham), Solly's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch
(a) w/o

PRESTON (Nr Wingham), Dunn's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch
(a) w/o (b) derelict with cap (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, May 1932 (b) with windshaft and cap frame, Sept 1936 (c) with windshaft and cap frame (3) UOK (DC) (a-e) derelict with cap (f-g) with windshaft and cap frame still on, September 1953 (h) with windshaft and cap frame, 1956 (c) surviving base, August/September 1964 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) with cap frame and windshaft, August 1934 (c) with cap frame and windshaft, April 1940

RAMSGATE, Grange Road, smock mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o
(2) Coles Finch (a) disused with 4 sails (b) surviving base (3) NMR (a) surviving base (4) CKS (a-b) disused with sails, as CF (5) Gray (a-c) disused with sails (6) Mills (a) w/o (7) Turpin (WIK) (a) disused with sails (8) UOK (DC) (a) disused with sails (b-c) derelict with cap (windshaft apparently gone too) (9) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, August 1934

RAMSGATE, Hereson Mill, smock mill; (1) photo reported to exist, but source not sure where

RIPPLE, Ringwould Mill, smock mill; (1) Wailes (WIK) (a) stone nut and tentering gear (b) compass arm great spur wheel (2) NMR (a-b) w/o with 2 sails (c) ditto, May 1932 (h) ditto, 1933 (i) derelict with 2 sails, 1947 (j-k) derelict, with one sail and part of another, 1952 (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 4 sails, distant view (c) w/o with 2 sails (4) Batten (a) w/o with 2 sails (5) Shillingford (a) w/o with 2 sails (6) West (a) w/o (b) smock with TV aerials (7) de Little 2 (a) smock with TV aerials, early 1960s (8) Dover Museum, as Dover Buckland (a) w/o with 2 sails (9) CL (a) w/o with 2 sails, mid-C20 (10) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, as West, from Dover Express 22nd January 1988 (b) w/o, as West (e) w/o, middle distance, with lower part obscured by houses (f-g) w/o with 4 sails (h-l) w/o with 2 sails (m) smock tower surrounded by scaffolding during conversion to TV station, from Kentish Mercury 17th February 1956 (n) smock with TV aerials, 1960 (o) smock with TV aerials, 1961 (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (c) w/o with 2 sails, April 1940 (d) brakewheel (wrongly captioned great spur wheel), April 1940 (e) hounds and hopper, April 1940 (f) great spur wheel, April 1940 (g) stone nut with rack and pinion for throwing it out of gear, April 1940 (h) detail of sweep, April 1940 (12) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o

ROCHESTER, Boys' Mill, Star Hill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch
(a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (3) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (4) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o

ROCHESTER, Delce Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) w/o (distant view, seen above housing) (2) Batten (a) w/o (3) Shilling-ford (a) w/o (same view as CF) (4) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, Aug 1932 (d) w/o, 1942 (5) CKS (a) w/o as CF (6) CL (a) w/o as CF (7) UOK (DC) (a-c) w/o as CF (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, April 1940

RODMERSHAM GREEN, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with stocks (2) "Industrial Archaeology", Vol 7 No 1 Feb 1970 (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1968 (c-d) tower in course of demolition, Sept 1969 (3) NMR (a) derelict with stocks, May 1932 (4) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o, as CF (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks, August 1934 (b) derelict with windshaft, cap frame, brakewheel and part of one stock, April 1940

ROLVENDEN, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with 2 sails and roundhouse (b) derelict with 2 sails and roundhouse missing (2) Batten (a) derelict with 2 sails and roundhouse missing (b) view of exposed trestle (3) West (a) as preserved (4) de Little (a) stone nut (b) as preserved (5) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails and no roundhouse (b) derelict with 2 sails and no roundhouse, 1929 (c) derelict with 2 sails and no roundhouse, February 1932 (a-b) derelict with 2 sails and no roundhouse, April 1934 (c) view of exposed trestle, April 1934 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails and temporary wooden roundhouse, August 1935 (6) CKS (a) disused with 2 sails, as CF (b) derelict with 2 sails, as Batten (c) derelict with 2 sails and wooden roundhouse still on (d-g) derelict with 2 sails (h) preserved, as West (i) preserved, September 1962 (j) as preserved (k) as preserved, middle distance (7) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) as preserved (8) UOK (DC) (a) close-up of exposed trestle, April 1934 (b) derelict with 2 sails and wooden roundhouse, August 1935 (c-d) disused with 2 sails and roundhouse still on (not wooden replacement) (e-k) derelict with 2 sails and exposed trestle (l) newspaper cutting, 17th Sept 1956: mill in course of repair with sails, roof and most of weatherboarding off (m-n) Kentish Express 21st September 1956: in skeleton condition for repairs (o) Kentish Express 21st November 1956: new sails already on, new roundhouse built, framing still largely exposed but some weatherboards fitted (p) in skeleton condition for repairs (q) under restoration: man sawing a timber beside the exposed trestle (r) newly restored, with boarding not yet painted (newspaper cutting 8th March 1957) (s) as preserved, 1950s (t-u) as preserved, middle distance, 1965? (v) Kentish Express 20th December 1974: preserved with sails missing (w) Kentish Express 20th June 1975: new sails being fitted (x-z) as preserved (aa) Kentish Express 13th Sept 1984; under repair, with sails down to stocks and scaffolding up (ab+) DC also has various newspaper and magazine cuttings (9) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails and no roundhouse, August 1931 (b) derelict with 2 sails and wooden roundhouse (c) derelict with 2 sails, March 1934 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails, August 1934 (f) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935 (g) derelict with 2 sails, August 1936

RUCKINGE, post mill; (1) CKS (a) w/o (2) Coles Finch (a) no sails, in middle distance, rather poor view (3) The Archive Photograph Series: Hythe, by Joy Melville and Angela Lewis-Johnson, Chalford Publishing Co 1995 (a) w/o (4) "Bygone Hythe", Charles E Whitney, Phillimore 1989 (a) w/o (5) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o

ST MARGARET'S BAY, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, May 1932 (b) w/o, Sept 1936 (c) w/o, June 1938 (2) THOC OHADSLHG (a) as preserved (3) West (a) as preserved (4) Hopkins (a) the smock tower under construction, 1929 (b) w/o, c1929 (5) Coles Finch (a) w/o (6) Turpin (WIK) (a) as preserved (6) UOK (DC) with sail frames, March 1940 (7) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Conference, March 2000 (a) smock tower under construction (reproduced from Hopkins)

SANDHURST, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with 4 out of 5 sails (2) Hopkins (a) derelict with 4 out of 5 sails (3) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o (4) Major & Watts (a) w/o (5) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (6) Batten (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 out of 5 sails (7) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with one sail missing, February 1932 (d) derelict with one sail missing, 1933 (e) ditto, March 1934 (f) ditto, June 1936 (8) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) surviving base (9) L Waghorn (compiler), "Hawkhurst Memories", the author 1982 (a) w/o, 1892 (10) Hasm (a) w/o, 1906 postcard, middle-distance (b) w/o (11) UOK (DC) (a-e) w/o (f-g) w/o, middle distance (h-m) derelict with 4 sails (n) derelict with 4 sails, middle distance (o) derelict with 2 sails visible, newspaper cutting 12th March 1949 (p) surviving base, 1964 (q) surviving base, 1979 (12) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, August 1930 (b) derelict with 4 sails, August 1931 (c) derelict with 4 sails, March 1934 (d-e) derelict with 4 sails, August 1939 (f) surviving base, August 1952

SANDWICH, White Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with one sail and 1 and a half stocks (2) Batten (a) disused with one stock visible, surviving sail hidden by body of mill (3) Vince (1977) (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) disused with 1 and a half stocks, one sail and no fan, May 1932 (b) ditto, Sept 1936 (c-e) disused with one stock, body tarred and cap white, c1964 (5) Beedell (a) disused with one stock (not captioned) (b) under repair, mid-1970s, with four new sail frames in position, front of smock still tarred black (6) Hills (a) detail of sails, April 1991 (7) de Little 2 (a) before restoration in c1960 (8) CKS (a) w/o 4 sails (but this probably not White Mill (b) preserved with 2 sails, as West (c) disused with one and a half stocks and 1 sail 9.6.1931 (d) disused with 2 sails, 1/9/62 (e) looking up at rear of cap, 1962 (9) West (a) preserved with one pair of sails (10) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) w/o (11) Vince 1984 (a) as restored to w/o (12) UOK (DC) (a-c) w/o, early-mid C20 (d) w/o apart from 2 sails down to stock, early-mid C20 (e) derelict in grubby white with one stock, March 1957 (f) all patched up in black and white with one stock, August/Sept 1964 (g) as preserved, early 1970s (East Kent Mercury 28th March 1973) (13) UOK (MC) (a) in grubby white with three and a half stocks, April 1934 (b) ditto, August 1935 (c) stone floor, March 1940 (d) wallower, March 1940

SANDWICH, Town or Mill Wall Mill, smock mill; (1) CKS (under White Mill) (a-b) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, middle distance (3) Arnold & Amberton (a) w/o, mid-distance (4) photographs exist in the Sandwich Guildhall Museum (not yet visited)

SARRE, smock mill; (1) Wind- and Watermill Section Newsletter, July 1992 (a) after restoration to w/o, 1992 (2) "Old Glory" magazine, July 1993 (a) w/o (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) without sails and surrounded by scaffolding for repairs (4) NMR (a) disused with cap, May 1932 (b) ditto, Sept 1936 (5) Hills (a) view of section of framing, April 1991 (6) THOC OHADSLHG (a) w/o (in background), 1920; subject of photo is millwright Tom Holman and his father (7) de Little 2 (a) disused in 1960 with dummy cap (b) w/o, 1990s (8) CKS (a) w/o as CF (c) under repair as CF (d) w/o as West (e-f) derelict with dummy cap, 1972 (g-h) derelict with dummy cap, 1978 (i) derelict with dummy cap, as West (9) Mills (a) derelict with dummy cap, early 1980s? (10) Perkins (a) w/o, c1900 (11) West (a) w/o, 1908 (b) derelict with dummy cap (12) Turpin (WIK) (a) derelict with dummy cap (13) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (14) Blythman (a) w/o, postcard (15) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, retouched (c-d) w/o but with shutters missing (e) w/o but with shutters missing, poor quality photo (f-g) disused with cap, mid-C20 (h) derelict with original cap, before fitting of corrugated iron roof, 1958 (i) derelict with original cap, middle distance (j) preserved with dummy cap, 1961 (k) derelict with dummy cap, 1970s or 80s (16) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with dummy cap, April 1934 (b) derelict with dummy cap, August 1934

SELLING, Shottenden, Perry Wood post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with stocks and at least 2 sails (2) CKS (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) derelict with stocks and at least 2 sails (3) Viner (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1905 (c) w/o, c1905: the Adult School Rambling Club sitting on the steps (d) derelict with 4 sails, c1911 (e) derelict with 4 sails, c1912 (4) UOK (DC) (a-g) derelict with 4 sails (h) trestle and lower part of body

SELLINGE, Stone Hill Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (middle distance, rather indistinct)

SHEERNESS, Great Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) surviving base (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving base, April 1940

SHEERNESS, Marine Town, tower mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) stump of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, April 1940

SHEPHERDSWELL, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with cap (2) A Newell (compiler), "Shepherdswell And Coldred: Photographs And Postcards Of The Village, 1860-1989" (a) w/o (3) Dover Library, Maison Dieu House, Biggin Street, Dover CT6 1DW (a) w/o (4) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (c) disused with cap

SHORNE, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) as observatory without sails or windshaft (2) Batten (a) as observatory without sails or windshaft (3) NMR (a) as observatory without sails or windshaft (b) ditto, August 1932 (4) Hiscock and Grierson (a) w/o (distant view), c1870 (b) as observatory, with platform on roof, mid-distance, c1910 (5) A C Allen, "Shorne: The History Of A Kentish Village", Meresborough Books 1987 (a) w/o, c1880 (date possibly wrong, see Coles Finch) (b) as observatory, with platform on roof (c) as observatory without sails or windshaft (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) as observatory without sails or windshaft, April 1940

SISSINGHURST, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) derelict with cap
(2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, Feb 1932 (b-d) ditto, n.d. (e) ditto, May 1932 (f-g) ditto, April 1934 (h) ditto, Aug 1935 (i) ditto, May 1940 (j) view of internal gearing, May 1940 (4) MM (a) derelict with cap, November 1937 (filed under Cranbrook, error notified to museum) (5) UOK (DC) (a-c) w/o (d-e) derelict with cap (f) derelict with cap, April 1931 (g) derelict with cap, 1934 (h) derelict with cap, 1935 (i) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, May 1954 (date wrong) (j) machinery and wreckage on ground after demolition, from Kent express 30th November 1951 (k) wreckage and machinery on ground (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, July 1932 (b) derelict with cap, April 1934 (c) derelict with cap, August 1935

SMARDEN, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, August 1932 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, April 1938 (e-f) derelict with 4 sails, May 1940 (g) derelict with cap, sails, windshaft and brake-wheel removed, August 1946 (2) Shillingford (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) Coles Finch (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (4) Batten (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) CKS (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with 4 sails (d) derelict with 4 sails, 1934 (e) the derelict capless smock, 1956 (6) Jenni Rodger, "Smarden: A Pictorial History", Meresborough Books 1982, reprinted 1989: (a) derelict with 4 sails, as CF (7) Charing and District Local History Society, address as Charing (a-b) w/o (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, July 1932 (b) derelict with 4 sails, April 1934 (c) worm drive on ground, April 1934 (d) derelict with 4 sails, August 1935 (e-f) derelict with 4 sails, February 1940

SMARDEN, Smarden Bell, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (2) NMR (a) w/o, n.d (filed under Sandhurst) (b) disused with sails, n.d. (c-d) derelict with sails, April 1934 (e) derelict with sails, April 1936 (f) derelict with sails, May 1940 (g) derelict with sails, 1941 (3) Batten (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) de Little (a) trestle and wreckage (5) Shillingford (a) derelict with 4 sails (6) Country Life 9.4.1953 (a) very derelict with four sails (7) CKS (a-b) w/o (c-g) disused with 4 sails (h) derelict with 4 sails, as Batten (i-j) derelict with 4 sails, as the 2 photos in Coles Finch (k) derelict with 4 sails (l-m) derel-ict with 4 sails, c1950 (n) derelict, c1950 (sails not visible in photo) (o-p) ruined roundhouse and wreckage after collapse (q) windshaft, brakewheel and other wreckage after collapse (8) Rodger, as smock mill (a) w/o, late 1880s (b) collapsed body and ladder on top of roundhouse (c) windshaft and brakewheel on ground after collapse (9) MM (a) derelict with four sails, 1920s or 30s (10) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, April 1932 (b) derelict with 4 sails, July 1932 (c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1932 (d) derelict with 4 sails, February 1940

STANFORD, tower mill; (1) West (a) disused with 4 sails but no fan, pre-1950 (b) disused with no sails and corrugated iron roof in place of original cap (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (3) Batten (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, May 1932 (c) w/o, March 1934 (d-e) w/o, June 1938 (f) disused with sails, 1952 (g-i) disused with no sails and corrugated iron roof in place of original cap, 1968 (j-k) view of base and part of stage, 1968 (5) de Little 2 (a) as worked by engine, with cap and shortened sails, 1960 (6) CKS (a) w/o (b) w/o as CF (c) disused as West (d) with dummy cap and no sails, c1960 (7) FL (a) w/o, 1937 (8) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1934

STANFORD, Westenhanger; in the NMR there is a rather blurred photo of a smock mill in w/o with 2 sails, purporting to be at Westenhan-ger, but I have no other evidence for a mill at this place so am inclined to be suspicious

STAPLE, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (3) Dover Museum (a) w/o

STAPLEHURST, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with cap
(b) mill on fire, Coronation Day (June 22nd) 1911 (c) surviving base (2) NMR (a) surviving base, April 1934

STELLING MINNIS, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) in good condition (working by steam at this time) but with sails broken (2) de Little (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft (3) Wailes (WIK) (a) interior of cap with brakewheel (4) Turpin (WIK) (a) w/o, late 1970s (b) w/o, late 1970s; close-up of cap and sails (5) Vince 1977 (a) w/o, with 4 sails, mid-late 1970s (6) Freese (a) great spur wheel (7) NMR (a) with sails down to stocks and damaged fan, May 1932 (b) ditto, plus stage removed, March 1934 (c-f) w/o, August 1935 (g) w/o, with 2 sails, 1965 (h-k) internal views (8) THOC OHADSLHG (a) w/o (9) CKS (a-d) w/o (e) w/o with 2 sails (f) w/o with 2 sails, 1935 (g) w/o with 2 sails, as West (h-n) internal views, including one of the Ruston Hornsby oil engine (10) CL (a) complete but with no sail frames, stocks only (b) w/o (11) Guide to mill produced by EKMG 1977 (a) w/o 1970s (b) w/o pre-WW2 (c) Vincent Pargeter fitting new sweeps in 1974 (d) new sweeps being removed or fitted, late C19 or early C20 (NOTE: the first 3 photos are also in 1979 edition) (12) EKMG Stelling Minnis guide, 1979 edition (a-b) removal of old sweeps by Vincent Pargeter, 1974 (c) Mr A Davison in doorway of mill (13) West (a) w/o with 2 sails, early 1970s (14) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) looking up from ground at spider and triangles of the two surviving patent sweeps (15) Coles Finch (a) w/o with four complete sails (b-c) when engine-driven, with four broken sails (one photo is a frontispiece captioned "Springtime by Stelling Minnis Mill") (16) UOK (MC) (a) disused with sails down to stocks, March 1934 (b) w/o, August 1935 (c-e) w/o, March 1940 (f) engine belt drive, March 1940 (f) stone nut engaged, March 1940 (g) stone nut disengaged, March 1940 (h) detail of sweep, March 1940 (i) tablet inside mill commemorating restoration, March 1940 (17) UOK (DC) various newspaper cuttings plus (a-d) w/o, mid-C20 (e) w/o, September 1984 (f-g) w/o, July 1976 (h-j) w/o, early C20 (k-l) w/o with 2 sails, early-mid C20 (i) w/o, mid- to late C20 (j) w/o with 2 sails, mid- to late C20 (m) w/o with four sails, 1970s (postcard sent 1978) (n-o) w/o, early to mid-C20 (p) with shortened sails when engine-driven, early to mid-C20 (r) w/o apart from some fan blades missing, mid-late C20 (s) with sails down to shortened stocks, no fan, and stage also miss-ing, May 1934 (t) w/o with two sails, August 1960 (u) w/o with two sails, 1950s/60s (v-w) w/o, mid-C20

STODMARSH, hollow-post windpump; (1) Blythman (a) derelict and leaning, 1994 (2) de Little (a) derelict, c1970 (3) West (a) derelict, c1972 (4) CKS (a) derelict, as West

STROOD, Killick's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with stocks (2) CKS (a) as CF (3) UOK (DC) (a) as CF

STROOD, Field's Mill, smock mill; (1) Avril Bloomfield, "Strood: A Pictorial History", Meresborough Books 1977 (a) w/o (but looks like Stone Hill Egerton - check)

SUTTON VALENCE, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with stocks (2) Batten (a) disused with stocks (3) NMR (a) disused with stocks (b) ditto, August 1932 (c) disused with stocks, stage gone, April 1938 (d) derelict with stocks, stage gone, 1942 (4) CKS (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with stocks, as Batten (d-e) derelict with stocks, as CF (f-g) derelict with stocks (h-i) machinery on ground during dismantling of mill (which according to note on one of other photos took place in 1945) (j) surviving base (5) MM (a) w/o, May 1901 (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with stocks, March 1940 (7) UOK (DC) (a-i) w/o (j) w/o, c1875 (k) w/o, distant view (l) derelict with stocks, July 1931 (l) derelict with stocks, April 1938 (m) derelict with stocks, from Kentish Gazette 12th October 1945 (n) derelict with stocks (n) base as part of house, September 1970

SWINGFIELD, Selstead Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, as Coles Finch

SWINGFIELD, Old Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) base and wreckage after mill blown down in 1884

SWINGFIELD, New Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) THOC (OHADSLHG) (a) w/o

TENTERDEN, Leigh Green smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) NMR
(a-d) w/o (3) CKS (a) w/o (4) "Tenterden", A Guilmant, Phillimore 1991 (a) w/o (b-c) ruins of mill during and after fire, 1913

TENTERDEN, Ashbourne Mill, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) in course of demolition (2) Guilmant as Leigh Green (a) in process of falling, 1912 (3) "Tenterden In Times Past", R S Spelling, 1991 (a) w/o, 1897 (b) in course of falling, Dec 1912 (c-d) wreckage after demolition (4) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (c) wreckage after demolition (d) in process of falling (e) windshaft, brake- and tailwheels on ground after demolition

THROWLEY, Clare's Forstal, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) disused with sails (2) Viner (a) w/o (? - poor view), in distance with upper part of mill showing above roofs of houses

ULCOMBE, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) derelict with sails (b) demolition: mill falling

UPCHURCH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) B Mackay Miller, "A Picture Book Of Old Rainham", Meresborough Books 1982 (a) w/o, distant view (3) B Mackay Miller, "More Pictures Of Old Rainham", Meresborough Books 1983 (a) w/o, c1900 (Note: in both the Miller books the mill is treated as if belonging to Rainham) (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, as Coles Finch (in Rochester file) (5) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, distant view

UPHILL, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a-b) w/o (one photo is under "?Folkestone, Old Mill") (c) derelict with 2 sails (d) wreckage after demolition, c1931 (2) Humphreys (see Hawkinge) (a) w/o (b) new sail in course of fitting, 1906 (c) w/o, 1912 (d) smock tower in course of demolition, 1931 (3) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (c) new sail in course of fitting (d) w/o, mid-distance, background feature (captioned Hawkinge) (e) w/o, middle distance (f-g) derelict with two sails

WALTHAM, Cloke's Mill, smock mill; (1) Batten (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) Coles Finch (a) derelict with 2 sails (b) wreckage after collapse, c1931 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1932 (?) (b) base only (4) Shillingford (a) derelict with 2 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, March 1934 (6) UOK (DC) (a-b) derelict with two sails (c) wreckage after collapse

WALTHAM, Dilnot's Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a-b) w/o (c) base after collapse (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, March 1934

WAREHORNE, post mill; (1) CKS (a-b) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1896

WEST HOUGHAM, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o with 4 sails
(b) w/o with 2 sails (2) UOK (DC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, late 1950s (3) NMR (a) w/o, May 1932 (b-d) w/o, June 1933 (4) CKS (a) w/o, 4 sails, as CF (b) w/o, 2 sails, as CF (5) Dover Museum, as Dover Buckland (a) w/o with 4 sails (was wrongly captioned under Martin Mill: this has now been notified to the Museum) (6) Dover Library, as Shepherdswell) (a) w/o with 2 sails (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, June 1933 (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, March 1940

WEST KINGSDOWN, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) CKS (a) w/o as CF (b) disused with stocks (b) w/o as CF (3) SL (a) w/o, with smock mill as CF

WEST KINGSDOWN, smock mill; (1) Wailes (DSW) (a) great spur wheel and stone nut (2) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) w/o (also showing post mill) (3) Batten (a) disused with sails (4) UOK (DWM) (a) in good condition, but sail frames and fan missing, March 1937 (5) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, early C20 (b+) as preserved, 1930s (various views) (c) derelict (Times 19.11.1947) (d) derelict, 1949 (e) derelict, Kent Messenger 21.11.58 (f) derelict (Kent Messenger 27.2.1959) (g-h) under repair Times 12/4/60 (i) under repair Kentish Express 15.4.1960 (j) as preserved, 1965 (k) brakewheel, 1964 (l) spur wheel and stone nut, 1964 (m) as preserved (from Kent Life 1967) (6) Hills (a) wallower and sack hoist, May 1990 (7) de Little 2 (a) shortly after renovation in 1960 (8) NMR (a) w/o, pre-1928 (b) disused with sails, June 1932 (9) CKS (a) w/o, also shows post mill (b) w/o with post mill as CF (c) under repair, as West (d) preserved, as West (10) SL (a) with post mill as CF (b) w/o, late C19/early C20 (11) Wailes, WIE (a) w/o (12) West (a) as preserved (b) under restoration, with cap stripped of its boarding and new stock being fitted (13) Turpin (WIK) (a) as preserved, with sail frames removed for repairs (14) Adams (a) derelict with stocks (15) UOK (MC) (a-d) preserved with stocks, February 1943 (e-f) preserved with stocks, April 1950

WESTWELL, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o

WHITFIELD, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) in w/o apart from one missing sail (and fan?) (b) w/o with all 4 sails (2) Dover Museum, as Dover Buckland (a-c) w/o (d) w/o apart from missing sail (and fan?) (3) UOK (DC) (a-d) w/o (e-f) w/o apart from missing fan (g-j) disused with fan and one sail missing

WHITSTABLE, Feakins' Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (retouched?) (2) "Portrait Of A Seaside Town", see below (a) as Coles Finch (3) Rose (a-b) as Coles Finch, c1870-80 (c) with no sails, c1905, and nearby chimney in act of falling (4) UOK (DC) (a-b) w/o (retouched?) as Coles Finch

WHITSTABLE, Black mill, Borstall Hill, smock mill; (1) de Little
(a) compass arm great spur wheel (2) Coles Finch (a-b) house-converted with stocks and cap (3) Rose (a) preserved with stocks, c1920 (b) preserved with stocks, middle distance, from postcard postmarked 1932 (c) part of brakewheel exposed during renovation work, 1984 (d) with one stock, surrounded by scaffolding during repairs, 1984 (4) Batten (a) house-converted with stocks (5) NMR (a) house-converted with stocks (6) "Portrait Of A Seaside Town: Historic Photographs Of Whitstable From The Douglas West Collec-tion", Emprint Publications 1984, 1985, 1987 (a) w/o, when painted white (b) w/o, when painted white (part of mill cut off by photo) (c) preserved with cap and stocks, early-mid C20 (7) CL (a) house-converted with stocks and cap (8) West (a) house-converted with broken stocks (9) Turpin (WIK) (a) house-converted with one stock (10) MM (a) house-converted with stocks, early C20 (b) house-converted with stocks, middle distance, early C20 (c-d) postcard showing mill house-converted with one stock, late 1970s/early 1980s (11) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted with stocks, August 1934 (b-c) house-converted with stocks, April 1940 (12) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, early C20 (could be Feakins') (b-c) house-converted with stocks, distant view, artificially coloured postcard early C20 (d) house-converted with stocks, early-mid C20 (e-f) house-converted with stocks, mid-distance, postmarked 1937 (g-i) house-converted with stocks, mid-C20 (j) house-converted with broken stocks, postmarked 1956 (k) house-converted with stocks, mid-distance, mid-late C20 (l-m) house-converted with broken stocks, mid-C20 (n) house-converted with broken stocks, August/September 1964 (o) silhouette at dusk, with stocks

WILLESBOROUGH, smock mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o (2) West (a) w/o, 1930s (b) derelict with stocks, early 1970s (3) Batten (a) w/o (4) Coles Finch (a) w/o (5) Wind- and Watermill Section Newsletter, July 1996 (a) w/o, 1990s (6) de Little (a) bedstone with dressing tools (7) NMR (a) w/o, early C20 (b) w/o, May 1932 (c-d) w/o, May 1934 (e-f) w/o, Aug 1935 (g-h) w/o, April 1939 (i) preserved with sails, 1949 (j) in fair condition with stocks, 1965 (k+) various internal views (8) CKS (a) w/o (was in "Unidentified" section of tray, I have now identified it for them, has it been relocated?) (b) w/o (in files) (c) w/o (in files, mid-distance) (d) w/o as West (e) w/o, c1870 (f) w/o, middle distance, early C20 (g-j) w/o (k-l) w/o, mid-distance (m-n) w/o, c1930 (o) w/o, 1935 (p) w/o; caption says taken in 1954 but I believe it to be 1930s, judging by hairstyle of woman in foreground (q) as preserved, mid-distance (r-t) preserved with sails (u) preserved, mid-C20 (v) as preserved, February 1962 (w) derelict, early 1970s, as West (9) Turpin (WIK) (a) derelict with stocks (10) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (11) Adams (a) preserved with sails (12) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1934 (b) w/o, August 1934 (c-d) w/o, August 1935 (e) stone, spindle beam and bridge tree, January 1940 (f) view of base and stage, August 1935 (g) w/o, January 1940 (h) engine-driven stones, January 1940 (i) striking gear, January 1940 (j) stone furniture, January 1940 (k) stones, January 1940 (l) brakewheel, January 1940 (13) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1870 (c) w/o, mid-distance, probably c1880 (see note on back) (d-f) w/o, early C20 (g) w/o, 1930s (h) w/o, April 1939 (i-j) w/o, mid-C20 (k-p) as preserved, mid-C20 (q) as preserved, 1953 (r) as preserved, with two sails damaged (s) bedstone with runner raised for dressing (possibly Cranbrook)

WINGHAM, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and remains of sails (b) detail of spider and triangles (c) neck bearing, stocks and damaged sails (2) Batten (a) when engine-driven, with cap and sails still on (3) Coles Finch (a) w/o (b) disused with 2 sails shortened (4) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) derelict; view of patent sails and striking gear (5) NMR (a) disused and becoming derelict with 4 sails (2 shortened), May 1932 (b) ditto, May 1934 (6) de Little 2 (a) detail of brakewheel (7) Crane (a) disused with damaged sails, 1908 (8) CKS (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and damaged sails, mid C20 (b) during demolition, with cap frame still on but windshaft, sails etc. removed (9) CL (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict (cap roof starting to collapse) with four sails, April 1939 (10) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, August 1932 (b-c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (d) derelict with 4 sails but cap roof partly gone, March 1940 (11) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, early C20 (c-f) disused with two shortened sails (g) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and three sails (h) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and three sails, 1956 (i) windshaft and arms of brakewheel on ground, 1961 (j) stump of tower after demolition, August or September 1964

WITTERSHAM, post mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict with no sails but remains of roof-mounted fantail still on (3) Proceedings of the 14th Mill Research Conference, 1998, p.56 (a) mention is made of a photo showing the mill before fitting of roof fantail, c1870? which in 1959 was in possession of the son of the late miller (4) CKS (a) w/o (5) TIMS Transactions 3rd Symposium 1973 (a) w/o (6) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (7) UOK (DC) (a-e) w/o

WITTERSHAM, Stocks Green post mill; (1) Wailes (WIK) (a) w/o (2) Coles Finch (a) as preserved (3) Batten (a) as preserved (4) UOK (WBM) (a) under repair, March 1938 (5) NMR (a) as preserved, early C20 (b-d) as preserved with balcony (e) detail of spring sweep (f) detail of ladder and steps (g-i) as preserved, July 1932 (j) as preserved, but with spring of one sweep hanging down, Country Life 12th June 1958 (k-o) as preserved but with damaged sails; balcony in situ (p) as preserved (6) CKS (a-d) as preserved (e) preserved, as West (f) preserved, but with damaged sail (7) West (a) preserved, 1970s (8) Turpin (WIK) (a) preserved, with one stock (other stock and sails removed for repairs) (9) Adams (a) preserved with 2 sails damaged (10) UOK (MC) (a) as preserved, March 1934 (11) UOK (DC) (a-b) as preserved, early C20 (c) as preserved, July 1932 (d-e) as preserved, mid-C20 (f) part of brakewheel and brake, August or September 1964

WOODCHURCH, Lower Mill, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) centring wheels (2) Blythman (a) derelict with stocks, 1970 (b) derelict with cap (roof partly gone exposing brakewheel) and stocks, 1978 (3) West (a) derelict with stocks (4) NMR (a) w/o, early C20 (b-d) derelict with 4 sails, May 1932 (e-f) derelict with 4 sails, July 1932 (g-h) derelict with 4 sails, May 1934 (i-k) derelict with 4 sails, August 1935 (l-m) derelict with 4 sails, stage gone, August 1946 (n-q) preserved with sails but no stage, 1954 (r) derelict with stage and sails, Upper Mill in foreground (5) Coles Finch (a) w/o, c1890 (also shows Upper Mill) (6) CL (a-b) distant view, with sails on (7) CKS (a) the two mills in w/o, c1890 (b) w/o as Coles Finch (c-f) as preserved (g) preserved with sails but no stage, 1962 (h) preserved with sail frames but no stage (i) becoming derelict, with 4 sails; tower of Upper Mill in background (j) derelict, as West (k-l) derelict with stocks, February 1970 (m-n) derelict with cap roof partly gone and sails down to stocks, late 1970s (second photo shows mill leaning badly) (o) view of damaged cap and exposed brakewheel, late 1970s (o) mill under repair and surrounded by scaffolding, late 1970s (p) part of brakewheel (q) view of stone floor with great spur wheel (r) view of curb and centring wheels (s) view of stone floor (t) dust floor with brake wheel and wallower (8) Turpin (WIK) (a-b) derelict and leaning with stocks on but part of cap roof gone, late 1970s (9) Woodchurch Windmill, The Life and Restoration, the Society of the Friends of Woodchurch Windmill 1989 (a) w/o, c1895 (also shows Upper Mill) (b) Upper Mill capless, Lower Mill in w/o, early C20 (poor view) (c) w/o, c1910 (poor view, also shows Upper Mill) (d) derelict and leaning with stocks and damaged cap, October 1977 (e) with scaffolding in course of erection, stocks and most of cap still on, late 1970s (f) restored to w/o, 1980s (g) inspecting the extent of internal deterioration on the dust floor, 1978: brakewheel and wallower visible (h) view of stone floor showing great spur wheel, auxiliary drive wheel, supporting beam and two pairs of stones (i) brakewheel and windshaft on ground, June 1979 (j) smock tower in course of dismantling, June 1979 (k) after dismantling: base with concrete ring beam on it to receive the new timber tower, 1980 (l) new sails on ground ready for fitting (m) great spur wheel and auxiliary drive wheel (n-p) construction of new tower, 1980 (q) new tower completed (r) new cap under construction (s) new cap being lowered into place by crane (t) new sails being fitted by crane (10) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, March 1934 (also shows Lower Mill) (b-c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1935 (d) view of base, stage, lower part of smock and one sail, March 1934 (11) UOK (DC) (a) w/o, early-mid C20 (b-d) both mills in middle distance: Lower Mill w/o, Upper Mill disused or derelict with one sail (e) becoming derelict, with four sails; smock of upper mill in back-ground (f-g) pulleys from sails, February 1960 (h-j) becoming derelict with four sails, early-mid C20 (k-l) becoming derelict with four sails, smock of upper mill in background, 1930s? (m-n) derelict with four sails, August 1935 (o) derelict with four sails, August 1946 (p) as preserved with sails but no stage, mid-C20 (q) derelict with stocks, early 1970s (r-s) restoration complete except for sails, September 1984

WOODCHURCH, Upper Mill, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o, c1890 (also shows Lower Mill) (b) derelict smock tower only (2) NMR (a) derelict smock tower only, May 1932 (b-d) derelict smock tower only, August 1935 (3) Woodchurch Windmill Guide, SOTFOWW (see Lower Mill) (a) w/o, c1895 (also shows Lower Mill) (b) disused with one sail, c1910 (also shows Lower Mill) (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict smock tower, March 1934 (b) derelict smock tower, March 1934 (also shows Lower Mill) (c) derelict smock tower, August 1935 (5) UOK (DC) (a) w/o with two sails, note on back says taken c1920 (b) derelict smock tower, August 1935

WORTH, smock mill; (1) Coles Finch (a) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b-d) w/o apart from missing fan

WYE, smock mill; (1) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (b) surviving base, 1935 (2) NMR (a) surviving base, July 1932 (b) surviving base, June 1933 (c) surviving base, May 1935 (3) CKS (a) w/o, distant view (b) w/o, middle distance (4) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, August 1935

LANCASHIRE

AINSDALE, tower mill; (1) "Old Birkdale and Ainsdale" by Sylvia Harrop, published by the Birkdale and Ainsdale Historical Society
(a) with four sails (rather poor reproduction) (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) with cap and cross but no sails (mill gas-driven at this time), 1936 (3) "Southport, A Pictorial History", Harry Foster, Phillimore 1995 (a) with cap but windshaft/cross removed (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) when power-driven, with cap and cross, June 1936

AUGHTON, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with no sails but cap, cross arm and stage, 1910 (2) "Burscough: The Story Of An Agricultural Village", Ernest Rosbottom, Carnegie Press 1982 (a) disused with cap and cross, c1905

BICKERSTAFFE, Stanley Gate, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, June 1936

BOLD, tower mill; (1) WCL (a) w/o, 1850s

BRETHERTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with remains of stocks and sails, 1928 (c) stone neck bearing on ground, 1928 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, winding wheel, cross and broken stock, June 1936

BURSCOUGH, Causeway End, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with remains of cap frame, 1936 (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with remains of cap frame, June 1947 (3) Bertha Crocker and Geoff Tittershill, "Rufford In Days Gone By", Countryside Publications Ltd (date unknown) (a) tower only

BURSCOUGH, Martin Mere, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) with derelict cap but no sails, showing adjacent outbuildings and chimney, 1900 (b-c) tower only, 1936 (2) leaflet for "Windmill Animal Farm", on whose land the mill stands, 1990s (a) house-converted with dummy cap, c1993

CLIFTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a-b) w/o (2) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) Ashmore (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1964 (4) Blythman (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1970 (b) converted to public house with cap restored and cross retained, but no sails, August 1984 (5) NMR (a-d) renovated as part of public house, with restored cap but no sails, 1978 (e) base of tower, 1978 (f-n) internal views, 1978 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails and cap, 1928 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails and cap, 1939 (7) Davies (a) converted to public house, with cap and cross retained (8) UOK (MC) (a-c) disused with 4 sails, stage gone, June 1936

FORMBY, post mill; (1) Bennett and Elton (a) w/o (2) Formby Soc-iety, c/o Briardale, 3 Wicks Lane, Formby L37 3JE

FORMBY, tower mill; (1) photograph exists according to Formby Society (for address see post mill). However this is probably Great Crosby mill

FRECKLETON, smock sawmill; (1) Davies (a) w/o

GREAT CROSBY, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) disused, 1900, with cap, fan cradle and remains of sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a-c) tower with cap and cross (d) as Major and Watts (3) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o, 1908 (4) "Crosby In Camera", J E Stanistreet and A Farthing, Sefton Libraries 1995 (a) w/o (5) photo shown at 1989 SPAB Windmill Meeting (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) when power-driven, with cap and cross, November 1952

GREAT MARTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) disused with cap and remains of sails (2) MOTHOS (a) disused with cap and remains of sails (3) Davies (a) disused with cap and remains of sails

HAIGH, tower windpump (1) Reynolds (a) w/o (2) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (3) Blythman (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and sails, 1978 (3) MWLSD (a-u) various photos from c1900 to 1990s, not yet inspected

HAMBLETON, post mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a-b) w/o (c) stones and other wreckage on ground (2) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (3) Davies (a) w/o

KIRKHAM, tower mill (1) Bennett and Elton (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and remains of sails (2) Allen Clarke (a) derelict tower with some remains of cap frame (3) Blythman (a) house converted tower with replica cap, 1984 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict tower with remains of cap frame, 1939 (5) Davies (a) house-converted tower with replica cap, 1980s (6) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict, as Bennett and Elton (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame, June 1936

LANCASTER, Marsh tower mill; (1) Lancaster Library, Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HY (a) w/o (2) "Lancaster, A Pictorial History", by Andrew White, Phillimore 1990 (a) w/o, c1870 (3) Lancaster Museum, Market Square, Lancaster LA1 1HT (a) w/o

LITTLE MARTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (WL 1916) (a-c) w/o (one not captioned) (2) Blythman (a) postcard showing mill after repairs with new cap and fan, 1990s (3) UOK (WBM) (a) derelict, with cap roof gone but sails in place, June 1937 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1928 (b-c) preserved with 4 sails and hideous replica cap, 1939 (5) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (6) Davies (a) as preserved, 1980s, with appalling replica cap and three sails (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, June 1936 (c-d) as preserved with dummy cap, June 1947

LIVERPOOL, Much Woolton, tower mill; (1) "History of Much Woolton" by J E Lally and J B Gnosspelius, The Woolton Society 1975 (a) w/o

LIVERPOOL, Mill Street, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) capless tower, 18.9.1962

LIVERPOOL, Toxteth, High Park, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a-d) capless tower (e) part of base of tower

LIVERPOOL, Scotland Road, Leicester's Mill, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) tower only, with conical roof, 1900-02 (2) LRO (a) tower with conical roof, c1905

LIVERPOOL, Nelson Dock, Regent Road, Townsend Mill, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) stump of tower, 1941

LIVERPOOL, Falkner Street, White's Mill, tower mill; (1) LRO (a-e) stump of tower (f) tower standing to full height with wreckage, presumably remains of cap, visible at top

LIVERPOOL, Walton, Springfield Mill, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) with cap, cross, stage and winding wheel, 1900-02 (2) LRO (a) disused with cap and cross, 1899 (b) derelict with cap but windshaft and cross torn out, post-1900 (windshaft removed in that year) (c-d) derelict with cap frame, 1919

LIVERPOOL, Wavertree post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) disused with sails, 1892 (b) derelict with remains of 3 sails, 1900 (c) derelict with remains of 2 sails visible, 1902 (d) derelict, with buck mostly gone, 1916 (2) Allen Clarke (a) derelict with one sail (3) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with 4 sails, 1892 (b) derelict 1900, as Major and Watts (c) 1916, as Major and Watts (4) LRO (a) w/o with 4 sails, c1850-60 (b) preserved with 4 sails, c1890 (c-d) preserved with 4 sails c1890, as Major and Watts (e) derelict with one sail, c1900 (f) derelict with one sail (artificially coloured), 1904 (g-l) derelict with 2 sails, c1910 (m) derelict with 2 sails, as Major and Watts (n) derelict with one sail, 1909 (o) derelict with one sail (artificially coloured postcard) (p) derelict with no sails and body propped, 2 weeks before demolition, 1916 (q) timbers from mill lying by roadside, 26.11.1938

LIVERPOOL, Newsham Park, tower windpump; (1) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (from Liverpool Echo 26.2.1929) (poor photo) (2) in letter to author of February 2001 Don Paterson states he has seen two coloured postcards of the windpump, one frontal view and one quarter view, but their current location is unknown

LONGTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) stump of tower

LYDIATE, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) tower only, with conical roof, 1936

LYTHAM, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) UOK (WBM) (a) as preserved with replica cap and sails, June 1937 (3) NMR (a-b) as preserved, 1969 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) as preserved with replica cap and sails, 1935 (5) M Adams, "Our Windmill Heritage: The Story of Lytham Windmill", the author, undated (a) w/o, late C19/early C20 (b) w/o, 1910 (c) after fire, 1919, with windshaft and fanstage still on but cap and sails destroyed (d-e) as preserved (6) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (7) Davies (a) as preserved with common sails, late C20 (8) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) preserved with common sails, c2000 (9) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved with replica patent sails, c1968 (10) UOK (MC) (a-b) preserved with dummy cap, June 1936

OLDHAM, Royton, tower mill; (1) OLSL (a) tower only, with chimney built on, 1950 (in "Looking Back At Royton" by Frances Stott) (b) ditto, 1951 (in Manchester Guardian, August 11th) (c-d) tower only, painted white and without chimney, at earlier date than above
(2) MOTHOS (UC) (a) tower with chimney

PARBOLD, tower mill; (1) MWLSD (a-g) capless tower

PENKETH, post mill; (1) WCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1855

PILLING, tower mill; (1) Beedell (a) close-up of cross and cap frame (2) Allen Clarke (a) with flat roof over windshaft and cross (3) Blythman (a) house-converted tower, 1984 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) tower with cross and cap frame, 1939 (b) ditto, rear view (c) ditto, middle distance (d) ditto, side view (5) Davies (a) the house-converted tower, 1980s (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap frame, windshaft and cross, June 1936

PREESALL, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) de Little 2 (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a) capless tower, 1935 (4) Davies (a) capless tower (mill then worked by electricity), 1980s (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1936

PRESCOT, tower mill; (1) SHMBC (CELSD) (a) w/o (2) Huy.L (a) w/o (artificially coloured) (3) postcard held by Prescot Historic Society, c/o Prescot Museum, Church Street, Prescot, Merseyside (a) w/o

PRESTON, Craggs Row tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (WL 1916) (a) capless tower (2) Davies (a) capless tower, 1980s

PRESTON, Great Mill, tower mill; (1) Lancashire Record Office (a) capless tower, after gutting by fire in 1951

RIMINGTON, Stopper Lane, smock sawmill; (1) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1996 (a) w/o (2) Proceedings of the 14th Mills Research Group Conference, published November 1998 (a) w/o (poor view, middle distance)

ST HELENS, Ravenhead, tower mill; (1) St Helens Central Library, Gamble Institute, Victoria Square, St Helens WA10 1DY (a) capless tower (not filed under place name)

SALFORD, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a-b) tower with remains of wind engine on top (2) photograph of mill in w/o said to exist somewhere; the compiler was told it was in Allen Clarke, Windmill Land (1933 edition, which is a reprint of Clarke's earlier windmill books with different photographs) but it is not in the copy I have seen (3) Salford Local History Library, Peel Park, Salford M5 4WU (a-b) tower with cap, distant view (c) tower with cap, middle distance (mill partly cut off by edge of photo) (d) tower with pylon of wind engine on top

SINGLETON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap and sails, 1939 (b-c) ditto, in middle distance, 1939 (3) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap but no sails, June 1947 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (5) Davies (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a-c) disused with four sails, June 1936 (d) disused with no sails, June 1947

SOUTHPORT, Birkdale, post mill; (1) Wind and Watermills (Midland Wind and Watermills Group Journal) no 8 1988 (a) w/o, c1850 (2) apparently another photo was taken during the 1850s according to (1) (3) Aughton, as below, w/o c1850

SOUTHPORT, Churchtown, tower mill; (1) "North Meols and Southport, A History", by Peter Aughton, Carnegie Press 1988 (a) w/o (2) Botanic Gardens Museum, Southport (a) w/o

STAINING, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view, opposite p63 (2) Blythman (a) derelict with cap and cross but no sails, 1970 (b) ditto, 1978 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1928 (b) derelict with cap and cross but no sails, 1939 (4) Davies (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower with replica cap, 1980s (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with no sails, June 1936 (b) disused with no sails, June 1947

THORNTON, Marsh Mill, tower mill; (1) Beedell (a) w/o apart from missing fantail (2) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1928 (c-d) w/o, 1939 (4) de Little 2 (a) horses and wagons with loaders at foot of tower (5) MOTHOS (a) w/o, 2 sails (6) Davies (a) preserved with sails removed for repairs (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o apart from missing fantail, June 1936

TREALES, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1928 (b) tower with conical roof, 1939 (3) Wailes (SWF) (a) derelict with cap, stocks, remains of 3 sails and fan cradle (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (5) Davies (a) house-converted tower (6) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, June 1936

UPHOLLAND, tower mill; (1) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) shell of tower

WALNEY ISLAND, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a-b) tower only, 1936
(2) Cumbria Record Office, The Castle, Carlisle CA3 8UR (a-c) derelict with cap and four broken sails, c1890 (one of these views is reproduced in the local paper, the "Evening Mail", on 23 June 1978) (3) "Barrow In Old Picture Postcards", held at Cumbria Record Office (a) tower only, just prior to demolition, c1940 (4) R Sankey, "Barrow - A Photographic Recollection", held at Cumbria Record Office (a) as (3)

WARTON, post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) derelict, with no sails (misnamed Freckleton) (2) Allen Clarke (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1900 (b) derelict with no sails (same view as M and W) (3) Davies (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with no sails (4) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1900 (c) the surviving trestle, 1980s (5) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o, with the canvas on the sails displaying a large advertisement "Try Beecham's Pills" (b) view of ladder, tailpole and wheel on end of latter (6) P S Jarvis, Stability In Windmills, TIMS 1981-2 (a) trestle and millstone, 1961 (7) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o (misnamed Freckleton) (8) UOK (MC) (a) post and trestle, June 1936

WEETON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) disused with sails but no fan, 1948 (3) UOK (WBM) (a) disused but with cap and sails, June 1937 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) disused with cap and sails, 1928 (c) ditto, 1939 (5) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (6) Davies (a) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, June 1936 (d) tower with cap frame, June 1947

WREA GREEN, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke (a) derelict, with cap but no sails (2) Blythman (a) as house converted 1984, with replica cap (3) UOM (JRL) (a) tower only, 1939 (4) Davies (a) derelict with cap, middle distance, rather hazy

WRIGHTINGTON, Harrock Hill tower mill; (1) brochure from English Heritage, RCHM or one of the other national bodies for preservation of historic buildings (cannot recall which), mid-1980s (a) the ruined tower



LEICESTERSHIRE
(including former county of Rutland)

ARNESBY, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1907 (b) derelict with cap frame, 1973 (c) date 1720 on brick (2) Blythman (a) restored as house conversion, but with sails and cap, 1977 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, 1935 (b) derelict with cap and 4 sails, 1936 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails, August 1935

ASHBY-DE-LA-ZOUCH, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused with 4 sails, c1917

ASHBY FOLVILLE, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) capless tower, 1978

BARKESTONE, tower mill (1) Moon (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, July 1961

BARSBY, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with no sails or roof, early C20

BARWELL, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, pre-1900

BILLESDON, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused with no sails but in good condition, c1890s

BOTTESFORD, Scrimshaw's Mill, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 1926 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, July 1933 (3) Moon (private collection) (a) gutted tower (4) WG (a) derelict with 2 sails, c1910 (b) derelict with 2 sails, middle distance (c) derelict with 2 sails (captioned just "Leices-tershire") (5) UOK (MC) (captioned "Muston") (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (b) derelict with 2 sails, August 1934

BROUGHTON ASTLEY, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused with sails, pre-1903

BROUGHTON ASTLEY, Cosby Road, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict, pre-1907

CASTLE DONINGTON, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1910 (2) NMR
(a) disused with cap, 4 sails and tailpole, June 1934 (3) Baker & Wailes (a) disused with sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1934

CROXTON KERRIAL, smock mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1905 (b) base, 1978
(2) NMR (a) base, July 1934

DESFORD, post mill; (1) Moon (private collection) (a) derelict

EARL SHILTON, Union Mill, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1911

EATON, tower mill; (1) Moon (private collection) (a) with sails, distant view

GILMORTON, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) complete except for fantail, 1910 (b) derelict tower with cap frame, 1978 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and part of fan cradle but no stage, August 1935 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, August 1935

GREETHAM, mill of unknown type; (1) Moon (a) ruined base (2) UOK MC (under EXTON) (a) ruined base, October 1954

HARBY, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1900 (b) just after being tailwinded, 1938 (c) stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o, July 1933 (b) w/o (3) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (4) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1934 (c) capless tower, September 1946 (in Lincs section)

HINCKLEY, Mill View, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, late C19

HOUGHTON-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with sails, 1905

HOTON, post mill; see Costock, Notts

KEGWORTH, Slater's Mill, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1910

KEGWORTH, Wardle's Mill, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict, c1900

KETTON, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, 1954

KIBWORTH HARCOURT, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused but complete, 1924 (b) derelict, 1936 (d) as preserved, 1978 (c) tailwheel, 1978 (d) brakewheel, 1978 (e) wire machine and drive, 1978 (f) detail of spring sails, 1978 (g) tailwheel and stone, 1978 (h) tailpole, 1978 (2) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1923 (b-e) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1932 (f) derelict with 4 sails, July 1934 (3) SPAB Annual Report 1979-80 (a) as preserved (4) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved, c2000 (5) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (d) detail of sails, August 1934

KNOSSINGTON, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Moon (private collection) (a) complete with sails, c1900

LONG CLAWSON, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) with cap and cross, 1933
(b) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, June 1935

LUTTERWORTH, Leicester Road tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, c1880
(2) drawing in Moon made from a photograph of 1889 which was too faded to reproduce; shows mill in w/o (3) Moon (private collection) (a) w/o

MARKET HARBOROUGH, Mill Hill, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1895

MEDBOURNE, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) disused, c1900

MORCOTT, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) the truncated tower, 1964 (b) house converted with cap and sails restored, 1978 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, July 1934 (3) Vince 1977 (a) house-converted with cap and sails restored (4) UOK (MC) (a) ruined stump of tower, June 1935

PRESTON, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1900 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) WG (a) w/o

RATBY, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with no sails, pre-1905

REDMILE, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused but complete, 1931
(2) NMR (a-b) derelict, no sails, July 1933 (3) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with no sails (4) Nott.CL (a) derelict with no sails, 1936 (b) derelict with no sails, 1936? (5) WG (a) disused with no sails (obviously Redmile but is captioned bizarrely "Norfolk?...Les Redmile who moved from Nottingham Forest in 1803" (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with no sails, August 1933 (c-d) derelict with no sails, August 1934 (e) winch on tailpole, August 1933

SAPCOTE, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1870

SHARNFORD, post mill; (1) Moon (private collection) (a) complete with sails

SEATON, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1874 (b) the buck on the ground, in use as a hay store, 1978 (2) Henry (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) w/o

SHEPSHED, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o with 2 sails, c1934
(b) house-converted with cap, fantail and one pair of sails restored, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o with 2 sails, c1890 (b) disused but in good repair, with cap and 2 sails with shutters, August 1934 (c) derelict with 2 sails, damaged fan and cap roof down to spars, 1957 (b) as above but cap roof collapsed, 1957 (c-g) internal views (windshaft, brakewheel, stones), 1957 (h-i) Under conversion to house, 1958 (3) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o with 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (c) house-converted with 2 sails, July 1961

SLAWSTON, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, late C19 (b) derelict with three sails, early C20 (c) preserved, c1930 (d) preserved, January 1935 (date of (d) wrong, that of (c) possibly so, as mill burnt down 1929 - letter from Nigel Moon Feb 2001) (2) Moon (private collection) (a) rebuilding 1904

SOUTH KILWORTH, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1906-9 (2) Moon (private collection) w/o, 1906

SOUTH LUFFENHAM, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, July 1934 (b) capless tower, 1954 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

SOUTH WIGSTON, Crow Mill, post mill; (1) Moon (a) disused with no sails but apparently in good condition, distant view (2) Leicester Museum, County Hall, Glenfield, Leicester LE3 8TB (a) w/o, 1870s

SPROXTON, post mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails
(2) Moon (a) derelict with 4 sails but roof missing (3) NMR
(a) disused with 4 sails (b) ditto, July 1934 (4) UOK (MC) (a) detail of roundhouse, May 1934 (b-e) disused with four sails, August 1934 (5) WG (a) disused with sails, 1929 (under Saltby, Lincs)

STATHERN, post mill; (1) Moon (a) roundhouse, 1955 (2) UOK (MC) (a) roundhouse, June 1935

STATHERN, tower mill; (1) Moon (private collection) (a) complete with sails

SYSTON, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, pre-1906

THRINGSTONE, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 1934 (b) derelict tower with remains of cap frame, 1978 (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame, July 1961 (b) looking up from inside tower at remains of cap frame and winding gear, July 1961 (c) auxiliary millstone, July 1961 (d) windshaft and poll end on ground, June 1971

TILTON-ON-THE-HILL, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1910

TWYFORD, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict, distant view

ULLESTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) preserved with cap, 1978 (b) detail of shot curb, 1978 (c) view of stone floor with great spur wheel, 1978 (2) Baker & Wailes (a) wooden stone nut

UPPINGHAM, Leicester Road tower mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with cap and stocks, early 1900s

WALTHAM-ON-THE-WOLDS, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, 1936 (b) the house-converted tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a-c) w/o, June 1936 (3) Baker & Wailes (a) governors and bridge tree (4) WG (a-e) w/o (in one view mill is captioned "Waltham-on-the-Hill") (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) close-up of finial, August 1933 (c) view from the mill, August 1933 (d) w/o, August 1934 (e) disused with cap, July 1961

WHISSENDINE, tower mill (1) Moon (a) preserved tower with temporary ogee cap, 1980 (b) w/o, c1900 (shows new sail being put up) (c) derelict, with original cap and broken cross, 1940 (d) roller plant (e) wire machine, 1978 (f) view of stone floor, 1978 (g) bolter, 1978 (h) wheat cleaner and drive, 1978 (2) NMR (a) derelict with original cap and broken cross, July 1934 (b) ditto, June 1935 (3) Moon (private collection) (a) w/o, 1892 (4) UOK (MC) (a) with no sails and broken cross, June 1935

WING, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1890 (2) Henry (a) w/o

WITHERLEY, post mill; (1) Leicester Record Office, County Hall, Glenfield Leicester LE3 8TB (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with roof gone and sails down to stocks (breast beam appears to have collapsed so that windshaft is resting on mid-transverse beam), taken 1895 according to Moon

WOODHOUSE EAVES, post mill; (1) Moon (a) w/o, c1880s (b) as preser-ved, c1900 (c) ruins of mill after fire, 1945 (d) roundhouse, 1978 (2) NMR (a-d) preserved, June 1934 (3) WG (a) as preserved (4) UOK (a) as preserved, June 1934

WYMESWOLD, post mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1933 (2) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, July 1933 (3) Nigel Moon says he has been promised a photo of the mill in w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, August 1934 (c) detail of roundhouse, lower buck, ladder, steps and part of one sail

WYMONDHAM, tower mill; (1) Moon (a) derelict with 2 sails missing, c1910 (b) mill derelict with cap but no sails, 1970 (c) the engine drive, 1970 (d) view of stone floor, 1973 (e) brakewheel, windshaft and wallower, 1973 (f) during restoration, 1980: tower roofed over and preserved, windshaft on ground nearby, brakewheel covered up and leaning against tower (2) Vince (MAM) (a) derelict cap being removed by crane prior to repairs (3) NMR (a) disused with no sails, mill in middle distance, July 1934 (4) Hills (a) preserved with cap and cross but no sails, July 1991 (5) WG (a) disused with no sails, captioned Wymondham Norfolk) (6) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o with four sails

LINCOLNSHIRE

ADDLETHORPE, Ingoldmells Mill, tower mill; (1) AEM (a) disused with 4 sails, mid-C20 (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1973 (3) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (4) NMR (WC) (a) disused with cap (5) MLL (a) w/o, 1902 (b) w/o, 1898 (c) w/o, 1901 (d-h) w/o (i) capless tower, 1973 (6) Croft (a) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1933 (8) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o (taken at night and partly obscured by vegetation) (c) w/o, 1926 (d-e) w/o, c1926 (f) w/o, middle distance (g) w/o, c1940 (h-i) disused with cap, April 1963

ALDBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1936

ALFORD, Hoyle's Mill, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) w/o (2) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1973 (b) grain cleaner, 1985 (c) stone floor, 1985
(d) wallower, sackhoist drive and brakewheel, 1985 (3) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1933 (c) w/o, July 1942 (d) w/o, August 1934 (e) w/o, 1967 (f-j) internal views, 1966 (k) internal view, 1967 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-d) w/o, March 1928 (5) MLL (a) sack hoist drive, wallower and brake wheel (b) stone floor (c) grain cleaner (d-e) w/o (6) Croft (a) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (8) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (9) Vince 1981 (a) w/o (10) TIMS Transactions 5th Symposium 1982 (a) w/o (11) SPAB, WAWOTV 1986 (a) w/o (12) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (13) Vince 1973 (a) w/o (14) WG (a-m) w/o (n) w/o, mid-distance (o) w/o, mid-distance, 1926 (p) w/o, August 1926 (q) w/o, 1960 (r) w/o, 1963 (s-v) w/o, on Open Day 1966 (w) Fred Banks beside gearwheel inside mill, c1957 (x) view of stone floor with four pairs of stones, upright shaft, great spur wheel and stone nuts (y) view of part of interior, c1971 (not clear of what exactly) (z) view of gearwheel inside mill, c1971: looks like brakewheel and wallower (aa-ab) w/o, 1971, showing upper part of tower, cap, sails and fan, with man working at top of sail (15) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934

ALFORD, Station Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (3) MLL (a) stump of tower 1978, as Dolman (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap (5) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, c1925 (h) w/o, c1930 (i-j) stump of tower (k) stump of tower, 15th March 1963 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, Aug-ust 1934

ALFORD, Ulceby Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap, August 1934

ALFORD, Tothby Lane, tower mill; (1) WG (a-d) w/o, c1900

ALFORD, Myer's Mill, tower mill; (1) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o; close-up of cap, sails and fan (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (3) (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) w/o, August 1934 (b) w/o, 1933 (5) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (6) MLL (a-k) w/o (l) w/o, 1928 (m) the capless tower, 1976 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, 27th June 1933 (b) w/o, 20th August 1934 (8) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, mid-distance (g) w/o (but some shutters missing from sails) (h-j) w/o (poor quality views) w/o c1900 (k) w/o: close-up of sails and cap as Wailes WIE
(l-m) w/o, distant view c1965 (date obviously wrong) (n) w/o (just captioned "tower mill") (o) w/o late C19 (p) w/o late C19/early C20 (q) w/o c1900 (r) w/o c1910 (s) w/o c1920 (t) w/o c1920: top part of mill with three of the sails cut off: subject of photo is man with horse (u) w/o 1st January 1926 (v-w) w/o c1926 (x) disused with cap (y) disused with cap, 1962

ALKBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1983
(2) NMR (a) w/o (b) capless tower (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) the roofed-over tower, 1934 (4) WG (a) w/o, c1906 (b) capless tower, c1963

AMBER HILL, Holland Fen, tower windpump; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower with scoopwheel, 1978 (2) Hills (a) stump of tower with scoopwheel, September 1990 (3) MLL (a-d) stump with scoopwheel (4) WG (a-e) stump with scoopwheel (f) stump with scoopwheel, c1925

AMBER HILL, post windpump; (1) MLL (a) remains of post windpump; some gearing and fragments of main structure (2) WG (a-b) wreckage on ground (c-d) wreckage on ground, c1925

AMCOTTS, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict, with 3 sails in position and one hanging down (2) WG (a-c) derelict, with 3 sails in pos-ition and one hanging down

AUBOURN, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) stump of tower

BARDNEY, tower mill; (1) Beedell (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) derelict tower with flat roof and derelict stage, August 1935 (3) MLL (a-g) w/o (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (5) Croft (a) w/o, mid-distance, early C20 (6) UOK (MC) (a) roofed-over tower, June 1936 (7) WG (a-c) w/o, c1860 (d) w/o, c1900 (e-l) w/o, c1910

BARDNEY, post mill; (1) WG (a) derelict with 2 sails

BARLINGS, Langworth smock mill; (1) Wailes (LW) (a) w/o (2) NMR
(a) derelict with cap, August 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (middle distance) (c) derelict with cap, 1940s (d) great spur wheel and stone nut (4) Croft (a) w/o, c1921 (5) WG (a-f) w/o (g) derelict with cap (h) drive to stones (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1935

BARNETBY LE WOLD, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) capless tower, 1978 (as Dolman, by Dolman) (3) WG (a-b) capless tower, March 1963 (c) capless tower, May 1963

BARROWBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o (apparently retouched) (3) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted tower, August 1934 (4) WG (a) w/o, in background (b) w/o, c1900 (c) w/o, c1906

BARROWBY, post mill; (1) Rex Wailes had a photo of this mill according to RW (LW)

BARROW UPON HUMBER, Barrow Haven, North Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower
(3) MLL (a) capless tower, July 1934 (4) WG (a-b) capless tower, 1962 (c) capless tower, 1974 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, 1935

BARROW UPON HUMBER, Pearson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW)
(a) castellated stump of tower, 1978 (2) UOK (MC) (a) castellated stump of tower, June 1935 (3) WG (a) w/o (but looks similar to Barton Road)

BARROW UPON HUMBER, Barton Road tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower (2) MLL (a) Barton Road, castellated stump of tower, 1934
(b) castellated stump of tower, 4.5.69 (3) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b-d) stump of tower with castellated top (e) stump of tower with castellated top, 1974

BARROW UPON HUMBER, Mill Lane, Rigg's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap and stocks (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails and cap, 1928 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap and stocks (c) derelict with cap and stocks (d) derelict with cap and sails (4) WG (a-d) w/o (e) w/o with 2 sails (f) w/o, c1908 (g-j) derelict with cap

BARROW UPON HUMBER, Barrow Mere, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and cross, 1928

BARROW UPON HUMBER A few anomalies remain to be cleared up under this location:
(1) MLL has an unidentified tower mill in w/o, an unidentified capless tower and a stump of a tower mill captioned Barrow Haven

(2) UOK (MC) has 2 views of a derelict tower mill with cap, which appear to be the same mill. Both stand half a mile north of Barrow Hall but are given different grid references, 538624 and 538629.

BARTON FEN, near Deeping, windpump; (1) WG (a-b) small open frame smock drainage mill with stocks (half of one broken off) and frames of 3 sails (c) with 2 sails missing

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Waterside Road, Hewson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) tower with cap frame, 1983 (2) NMR (a) tower with cap frame (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with cap but no sails, 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame, June 1935 (5) WG (a-c) tower with cap frame, May 1962 (d) tower with cap frame, 1974

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Market Place, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW)
(a) great spur wheel, 1983 (b) bridge tree, 1983 (c) former whiting mill drive, 1983 (d) capless tower, 1983 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap but no sails, 1928 (captioned "old whiting mill, Bank ill, Bar Humber") WG (3) WG (a) castellated tower, 1962 (b) castellated tower

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Caistor Road, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW)
(a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) w/o with 2 sails, 1928 (4) MLL (a) tentering gear (b) governors (c) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o apart from missing fan, 27th June 1935 (6) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (partly retouched) (d) w/o, c1907 (e) w/o, c1890 (f-g) capless tower, May 1962

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Market Lane, tower mill; (same as one of above?) (1) NMR (a) castellated tower (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) castellated tower, 1928 (captioned Kirkby's mill)

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Ferriby Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) some rubble of tower only left (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) rubble and stones on ground, June 1935

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Town Mill (same as one of above?), tower mill; (1) MLL (a) castellated tower (b) tower only, no longer castellated, 4.5.1969

BARTON UPON HUMBER, Havenside, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b) derelict with cap frame

BARTON UPON HUMBER A few anomalies remain to be cleared up under this location:
(1) MLL has 2 photographs which I cannot identify, both of tower mills in w/o (one with only two sails).

(2) UOK MC has a photo of a capless tower mill with a castellated top captioned "Kirkby's Stores town tower NE 538630". This is almost certainly Town/Market Lane mill.

(3) Under Barton-upon-Humber WG has a photo of the governors and tentering gear of an unidentified mill, c1960

BASSINGHAM, Barber's Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with 2 sails (2) WG (a-c) disused with 2 sails, c1902

BASTON, tower mill (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1983
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, 1971 (3) MLL (a) capless tower, as Dolman (4) WG (a) tower with remains of cap frame, May 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1936

BECKINGHAM, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-c) w/o) (2) UOK (MC) (a) tail bearing of windshaft lying on ground (3) WG (a-i) w/o

BELTON, Westgate Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house- converted tower with replica cap, 1985 (2) Wailes (BAASHIW)
(a) great spur wheel and bell alarm (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails (4) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with 2 sails, some shutters missing and fan damaged, August 1934 (6) WG (a-c) w/o, c1908 (d-f) derelict with 2 sails, c1925 (g-h) derelict with cap frame, May 1962 (date possibly wrong - was not cap roof on into 1970s) (caption says "Westgate 2-sailed tower mill") (i) governors, c1960 (j) stone floor with stones and great spur wheel, c1960

BENNINGTON, tower mill; (1) WG (a-c) w/o, c1925 (d) roofed-over tower, 1963

BICKER, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower with conical cap, August 1934 (2) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical cap, August 1934 (3) WG (a) tower converted to house with conical roof, c1909

BILLINGBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) WG (a) w/o, c1910 (b-c) w/o, c1920 (d) w/o

BILLINGHAY, West Mill (six-sailer); (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) RW (LW) (a) curb, rear striking gear and winding gear (b) w/o with 4 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 4 sails, June 1936 (5) WG (a) w/o, 1925 (b-c) w/o, 25th June 1934 (d-e) w/o with 4 sails (f) gearing inside cap, c1960 (g) great spur wheel, c1960 (h) capless tower, September 1962

BILLINGHAY, East Mill (four-sailer); (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1928-32 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, June 1936 (5) WG (captioned South's Mill) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1908 (d) w/o, 25th June 1934

NOTE: there is one entry for Billinghay, which the compiler has not yet consulted, in the Norfolk section of the NMR's files

BILLINGHAY, windpump (1); (1) WG (a-b) complete

BILLINGHAY, windpump (2); (1) WG (a) complete(?) with 4 sails

BILSBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1985
(2) NMR (a) disused with cap, July 1942 (b) w/o with 2 sails, 1932 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o with four sails, March 1928 (4) Croft (a) w/o, c1905 (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, August 1933 (6) WG (a) w/o (b-g) w/o, c1900 (h) w/o, c1910 (i) w/o, 1926 (j) w/o, middle distance, very faint (k) w/o with 2 sails only, middle distance (l) capless tower, 17th March 1963

BINBROOK, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, with 2 sails out of 6, July 1934 (b) w/o, with 2 sails out of 6, c1878 (this date probably wrong as mill was built around that time) (2) MLL (a) w/o, with 6 sails (3) Croft (a) w/o with 2 sails (partly retouched) (4) WG (a) man standing in doorway of mill, c1920 (b-d) derelict with 2 sails (e) w/o with 6 sails, c1890 (f) w/o with 2 sails, 1900 (g) w/o with 2 sails, wrongly dated 1965 (h) w/o with 2 sails, retouched

BLYTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR
(a) disused with cap, August 1935 (3) Croft (a) w/o, c1907 (4) WG (a-c) w/o, c1900 (d) with cap and cross, middle distance (e) cap-less tower, October 1962

BOSTON, Gallow's Mills - post mill; (1) Waterfield & Hanson
(a) w/o, 1881 (also shows tower mill) (b-c) w/o, 1882 (also shows tower mill) (d) w/o, 1881 (also shows tower mill and Tuxford's Mill) (2) Croft (a) w/o (also shows tower mill) (3) WG (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1881 (also shows tower mill)

BOSTON, Gallow's Mills - tower mill; (1) Waterfield & Hanson
(a) w/o, 1881 (also shows post mill) (b-c) w/o, 1882 (also shows post mill) (d) w/o, 1881 (also shows tower mill and Tuxford's Mill) (2) Croft (a) w/o, 1882 (also shows tower mill) (3) WG (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1881 (also shows post mill)

BOSTON, Tuxford's Mill, tower mill; (1) Waterfield & Hanson (a) w/o, 1881 (rather indistinct view), in photo of Gallow's Mills

BOSTON, Sleaford Road, Day's tower mill; (1) Waterfield & Hanson
(a) w/o, 1888 (b) capless tower (2) WG (a) w/o, c1890 (b) capless tower, February 1963

BOSTON, Thompson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Waterfield & Hanson
(a) w/o, 1880 (b) tower converted to grain silo, 1926 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) tower converted to grain silo, March 1928 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower converted to grain silo, August 1934

BOSTON, Maud Foster mill, tower mill; (1) Reynolds (a) disused with sails (2) Dolman (LW) (a) disused with sails, 1971 (b) stone floor, 1982 (c) w/o, 1930s (d) governor, 1982 (3) Waterfield and Hanson (a) w/o, c1900 (b) w/o, early C20: workmen on sails (c) restored as landmark, 1954 (aerial view) (d) Harry Cobbin stone-dressing in the mill, 1930s (e) w/o, 1930s (4) NMR (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1932 (f-g) w/o, June 1932 (h) w/o, July 1935 (i) w/o, July 1929 (j-k) w/o, 1943 (l) w/o, 1946 (m) w/o, Sept 1946 (n-o) w/o, 1942 (p) as preserved, 1960 (q-r) as preserved, 1968 (s) as preserved (t-x) as preserved, August 1961 (y) detail of door (5) de Little 2 (a) w/o, 1990s (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (7) Hills (a) as preserved, April 1977 (8) Croft (a) w/o, middle distance (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1934 (c) w/o, June 1935 (d) w/o, September 1946 (10) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (11) SPAB Annual Report 1987 (a) under repair: sails being removed by crane (12) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (13) WG (a-c) w/o, c1920 (d-e) w/o, c1926 (f) w/o, September 1926 (g) w/o, 1920s/30s (h) as preserved, middle distance, July 1969 (i) striking gear in cap, c1960 (j) brakewheel and interior cap roof framing, c1960 (k) governors and tentering gear, c1960 (l) w/o (wrongly filed under South Ferriby)

BOSTON, Wyberton Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1935 (2) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935
See also WYBERTON

BOSTON, Cowbridge, open-frame smock windpump; (1) WG (a-c) becoming derelict, c1930, but with four sails and weathervane still on

BOURNE, North Road Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1971 (2) NMR (a) base of tower, July 1934 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1924 (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, June 1936 (5) WG (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 1896 (d-f) w/o, 1890 (g) w/o, c1905 (h) stump of tower, May 1963 (i) w/o, c1880 (captioned Wherry's Mill) (j) w/o, captioned Wherry's Mill, with Robert Barnett, miller, outside mill

BOURNE, Rippingale post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (filed under Rippingale) (d) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 sails
(2) WG (a) w/o

BOURNE, Hanthorpe, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-b) derelict with 4 sails and tailpole

BOURNE: (1) In the Wellholme Galleries Collection there should be a photo of a tower mill with 4 sails under Hanthorpe-cum-Mather, with the accession number 8541, but there is no sign of it in the file

BRANSTON, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) stump of tower (2) WG (a) stump of tower, c1925

BRESSINGHAM, post mill; (1) Rex Wailes had a photograph of this mill according to RW (LW)

BRIGG, Bell's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) WG (a-b) w/o, c1908 (c) w/o, with men working on sails (d-e) capless tower, March 1963

BRIGG, Bratley's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower with windshaft and cap frame (2) MLL (a) tower with cap (from Lincs and South Humberside Times 5.3.82; also in Lincs Life October 1969) (b) w/o (c) tower with windshaft (3) WG (a-b) when still used in connection with business, c1910, with cap; group of women standing on gallery

BROUGHTON, tower mill; (1) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b-d) w/o, c1910

BROUGHTON, Castlethorpe Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) capless tower (c) capless tower (from Lincs and South Humberside Times 22.7.1977) (d) capless tower (L and SHT 29.8.1980) (e) capless tower (Grimsby Evening Telegraph 16.9.77) (f) capless tower, 23.3.69 (g) capless tower (Scunthorpe Evening Telegraph 27.8.80) (4) WG (a-b) capless tower, 1962 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, May 1947

BURGH LE MARSH, Dobson's Mill, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) w/o
(b) one pair of stones with stone furniture (2) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1977 (b) fantail gearing and brake lever, 1985 (c) oat crusher and engine drive, 1985 (3) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1932 (c) w/o, 1964
(d) w/o, 1961 (e-i) as preserved in w/o, 1961 (j) ditto, 1962
(k) ditto, 1967 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (5) Croft (a) w/o (6) MLL (a) w/o (Lincolshire Life February 1973) (b-m) w/o (n) oat crusher and engine drive, 1985, as Dolman (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, but fan and shutters removed and repairs in progress - cradle and ropes slung from fanstage (8) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (9) Vince 1993 (a) w/o (10) Vince 1984 (a) w/o (11) Vince 1973 (a) great spur wheel and stone nut (b) two pairs of stones, with runner of one removed to show bedstone and quant (12) WG (a-d) w/o, 1920s or 1930s (e) w/o, c1930 (f) w/o, 1961 (g-h) w/o, 1963 (i-j) w/o, c1963 (k-l) w/o, distant view (m) w/o, 1964 (n-o) w/o, c1964 (p) interior view, c1960, showing grain-cleaning equipment (r-t) w/o, 1964: close-up of sails (u-w) w/o (wrongly filed under Waltham) (13) Vince 1977 (a) w/o (close-up of cap, cross and sails) (b) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant (14) Vince 1984 (a) w/o

BURGH LE MARSH, Hanson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW)
(a) derelict with cap frame, 1977 (2) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932
(3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) Blythman (to be donated to MLL) (a) derelict with cap, 16th August 1959 (5) MLL (a-f) w/o (g) derelict with cap frame, 1977, as Dolman (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) derelict with cap, September 1946 (7) WG (a-d) w/o (e-h) w/o, c1900 (i) w/o, c1930 (j) w/o, middle distance (k) derelict with cap frame, 1963

BURTON UPON STATHER, post mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) ruined roundhouse, 1978 (2) MLL (a-g) derelict with 2 sails (3) WG (a) w/o with 4 sails (b-j) derelict with 2 sails (k-l) derelict with 2 sails, with photo of a tower mill in w/o superimposed over it (m) derelict with 2 sails, c1929 (n) surviving roundhouse, April 1968

BURTON, near Lincoln, post mill; (1) MLL (a) wreckage after collapse (2) WG (a-e) wreckage after collapse, c1900

BUTTERWICK, near Boston, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) governor and tentering gear, 1977 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1932 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o apart from one missing sail, March 1928 (4) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o apart from one missing sail (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, September 1946 (6) WG (a) w/o (b-d) w/o apart from one missing sail (e-h) w/o apart from one missing sail, c1900 (i-k) w/o, c1900 (l) w/o, c1890 (m-n) w/o, c1920

BUTTERWICK, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (3) WG (a) w/o

CAISTOR, Whitegate/Wright's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) tower with conical roof (b) tower with conical roof (under BLYTON) (c) w/o (d) capless tower, 21.3.69 (e) derelict tower with chimney on top (f) tower with top damaged (in course of demolition?) (3) WG (a-b) tower with conical roof (c-d) w/o (e-f) w/o, c1890 (g-i) w/o, c1895 (j) w/o, c1898 (k-n) tower with a fragment knocked out of the top and windshaft, brakewheel and other wreckage on ground nearby, by wrecked shed (appears cap, sails etc have been blown off and landed on the shed) (o-u) derelict tower with cone cap and chimney, 1962 (4) WG (a-c) men building waterworks, c1900, derelict tower mill with cap in the background (all the same photo but one is dated c1910)

CARLBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) derelict with 4 sails and tailpole, 1905 (2) WG (a) derelict with 4 sails and tailpole, c1900 (b-d) derelict with 4 sails and tailpole, c1890

CARLETON-LE-MOORLAND, post mill; (1) Wailes (LW) (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) NMR (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934 (d) base of hopper with date, June 1934 (3) Wailes (SWF) (a) wire machine (4) MLL (a) derelict with 2 sails (b) w/o (c) derelict with 2 sails (d) derelict with 2 sails (e) derelict with sails, roof and ladder gone (f) w/o (g) wreckage after collapse, August 1935 (h) w/o (i) windshaft and brakewheel (j) derelict with 2 sails, c1932 (k) w/o (l-m) derelict with 2 sails (n) derelict with 2 sails, 1930s (o) derelict with 2 sails (p) windshaft, brakewheel, stone nut and hopper (5) Croft (a) w/o (b) wreckage after collapse, 1935 (6) WG (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, 1911 (e) derelict with 4 sails (f-k) derelict with 2 sails (l) derelict with 2 sails, c1920 (m-n) derelict with 2 sails, October 1928 (o) wreckage on ground, 1935 (p) wreckage on ground, August 1935 (q) windshaft, tailwheel and stone nut, October 1928 (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934 (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, June 1935 (d) detail of trestle, June 1935

CARRINGTON, tower mill (with "smock mill" shaped tower, i.e. it has a lower section which is parallel-sided) (1) NMR (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (2) MLL (a-b) as NMR (3) WG (a) disused with cap, 1934 (b-c) disused with cap, August 1934 (d-f) w/o, partly glimpsed behind house with two sails hidden by same, c1908 (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934

CLAYPOLE, post mill; (1) MLL (a) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 sails

CLEETHORPES, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) MLL (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o (also in Evening Telegraph, 10/4/80) (c) w/o (3) WG (a) w/o, c1890 (b-d) w/o, c1900 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

COLEBY HEATH, tower mill; (1) Freese (a) w/o (2) Wailes, (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o, with new sail being fitted (3) Wailes (LW) (a) w/o (4) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brakewheel (5) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, June 1934 (6) Country Life 26.1.1929 (a) w/o (7) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o, Oct 1928 (d) w/o, 1928 (8) MLL (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, 1928 (h) view of fan, fanstage and fan drive (i) w/o, 1930s, distant view (j) w/o (k) w/o (l) w/o (m) brake wheel and framing of wrought iron cap roof (9) Croft (a) w/o (10) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1925 (g) stone floor with great spur wheel and one pair of stones (h) internal gearwheel (looks like brakewheel) (11) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, April 1931 (b-c) w/o, June 1935

COLEBY HEATH, barn mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, June 1935 (2) Proceedings of the 14th Mills Research Conference, published November 1998 (a) c1923, with one (out of six, apparent-ly) sails and some fan blades missing, otherwise complete (3) WG (a-c) (4) UOK (MC) (a) sails gone and fan damaged, otherwise complete, June 1935

CONINGSBY, tower mill; (1) Shillingford (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o, (distant view, retouched) (b) w/o (c) w/o, June 1934 (d) w/o, 1937 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1928-32 (4) MLL (a-h) w/o (i) w/o, 1928 (j) derelict with cap (k) close-up of cross and breast beam (5) Croft (a) w/o (6) WG (a-g) w/o (h) w/o, c1906 (i) capless tower, 1913 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, June 1936

CORRINGHAM, East Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, July 1961

CORRINGHAM, Winter's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) w/o, 1860s (b) derelict with collapsing cap (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, July 1961

NOTE: NMR has a photograph of one of the mills in capless state, dated August 1935, but it is not clear which one. WG has the following under Corringham, and again it is not clear which mill is which:
(1) unidentified tower mill in w/o - 2 copies, c1865 and c1890
(2) "Longford's Mill," capless tower 1962
(3) derelict tower mill with cap and cross
(4) 2 views of unidentified capless tower
(5) "Longford's Mill" as a capless tower

COVENHAM, post mill; (1) MLL (a-c) w/o (2) WG (a-h) w/o, c1910

COWBIT, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1972
(2) NMR (a) w/o, June 1933 (b) disused with cap, Sept 1946 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1938 (b) house-converted tower, July 1950 (c) w/o, June 1933 (d) capless tower with weathervane, July 1950 (6) WG (a-c) w/o (d-e) w/o, c1925 (f) capless tower, April 1963

CROFT, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1934 (b) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1932 (c) w/o, 1935 (d) w/o, August 1935 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a-h) w/o (i) w/o, distant view (j) sails in course of removal (5) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, September 1925 (g) w/o with 2 sails (h) castellated tower, April 1963 (6) UOK (MC) (under Wainfleet) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b-c) w/o, June 1935 (d) w/o, August 1935 (e) w/o with 2 sails, September 1946

CROWLAND, Peakirk Road, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) converted stump of tower, 1971 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b-e) derelict with 4 sails (3) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, June 1936

CROWLAND, Postland Road post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) NMR (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, January 1933 (3) MLL (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (but note says burnt down 5.11.1914, conflicting with above) (4) WG (a-h) derelict with 2 sails (i) derelict with 2 sails, c1905

CROWLE, Barrett's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and cross but no cap (2) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o (not clear whether Barrett's or Godknow Road?) (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap (not clear whether Barrett's or Godknow Road) (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and cross, 31st May 1947 (5) WG (a-b) derelict with cap

CROWLE, Godknow Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, 31st June 1947 (caption says South Mill)

CROWLE, Fillingham's Mill, tower mill; (1) WG (a-c) w/o, 1926

DEEPING ST JAMES, tower mill; (1) Wailes (USIW) (a) upright shaft with pot and pintle bearing (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and remains of tailpole, August 1934 (b) in similar condition to (a) but tailpole gone except for side beams (3) MLL (a-c) w/o, c1920 (d) disused with cap (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934 (5) WG (a-b) derelict with cap (c) derelict with cap, c1920 (d) base of upright shaft (e) stump of tower, 18th May 1963 (f) tower with conical roof c1940 (probably not Deeping St James) (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934

DEEPING ST JAMES, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with no sails (2) WG (a-b) derelict with no sails

DEEPING ST JAMES, Frognall, post mill; (1) NMR (a) ruined roundhouse, August 1934 (2) UOK (MC) (a) ruined roundhouse, August 1934

DEEPING FEN, smock windpump; (1) MLL (a) derelict with 3 sails

DOGDYKE/PELHAM'S LANDS, Chapel Hill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW)
(a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1935 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (4) WG (a-c) w/o, C1900 (5) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, August 1935

DONINGTON, Baxter's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, August 1934 (3) WG (a) stump of tower, 23rd March 1943

DONINGTON, Rippon's or Horton's Mill, tower mill; (1) WG (a-b) derelict with cap (c) derelict with cap, c1905 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, August 1934

DONINGTON-ON-BAIN, Ing's Mill, tower mill; (1) WG (a) capless tower, distant view

DYKE, smock mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) disused with three sails (2) Dolman (LW) (a) roofed-over smock tower, 1971 (3) NMR (a) as Wailes above (b) as Dolman, 1935 (c) ditto, 1971 (4) MLL (a) interior of mill with dresser, weighing machine and governor, c1906 (b) in course of dismantling, 1927 (c-e) w/o just after repairs, 1906 (f) miller standing in doorway (5) UOK (MC) (a) roofed-over smock tower, June 1936 (6) WG (a-d) w/o, c1900 (e-f) w/o, late C19/early C20 (g) w/o, c1910 (h-j) w/o, c1905 (k-n) disused with 3 sails as Wailes (m) after partial dismantling, with remains of cap on ground nearby, 1926 (n-o) roofed-over smock tower, 1962

EAGLE, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1890 (c) w/o, 1879 (but appears to be same view as the others)

EAST HALTON, smock mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1908

EAST HALTON, Bass Garth, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (b) site after demolition, with millstones (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) disused with cap (3) UOK (MC) (a) site and stones, 21st August 1934 (4) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1908 (d-f) derelict with cap

EAST KIRKBY, tower mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1973 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, June 1934 (4) Croft (a) w/o (partly retouched) (5) Blythman (to be donated to MLL) (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 16th August 1958 (b) derelict with cap frame (windshaft etc not visible), 16th August 1958 (6) UOK (MC) (a) with no sails and damaged cap, August 1934; mill evidently still in use, though not as windmill, for there is a lorry with sacks parked outside (7) WG (a-g) w/o (h) w/o, c1910 (i) disused with cap (j-l) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (m) capless tower, July 1962

EASTVILLE, tower mill; (1) WG (a) w/o, late C19

EPWORTH, Maw's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1935 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, October 1954 (3) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b-c) w/o (d) derelict with 4 sails, August 1927 (e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails (f) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, May 1962 (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (captioned Morris' Mill)

EPWORTH, Brook's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house converted tower with replica cap, 1985 (2) NMR (a) w/o, with Maw's/Morris' Mill in background (3) SMS (a) derelict with 2 sails (4) Croft (a) w/o, c1912 (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (b) derelict with 2 sails, October 1954 (6) WG (a-b) w/o, August 1927 (c) w/o, August 1925 (d) derelict with 2 sails (e) derelict with two sails, May 1962

EPWORTH, Thompson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, June 1935 (4) WG (a) derelict with two sails (b-c) w/o (d) w/o with 2 sails, August 1927 (e) capless tower, May 1963

FALDINGWORTH, Stamp's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) MLL (is this same as Stamp's?) (a) derelict with 2 sails (b-c) w/o, 2 sails (d) w/o, 4 sails (e) w/o, 2 sails, c1930 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails but no fan or fanstage, June 1935 (4) WG (a) w/o, c1905 (b-f) w/o with 2 sails, c1930 (g) capless tower

FALDINGWORTH, post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o (from Lincs Chronicle 14.11.33) (3) WG (a-b) w/o, c1905

FIRSBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, 1900-1919 (2) WG (a) w/o, c1908

FLEET HARGATE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 out of 6 sails, cap and one fan blade

FLEET, post mill; (1) NMR (a) ruined roundhouse, Sept 1946 (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, August 1938

FOLKINGHAM, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with broken stocks and remains of 2 sails (2) According to his TNS article on Lincolnshire Rex Wailes had a photo of a post mill at Falkingham, but as there seems not to be any such place in the county this must mean Folkingham (3) WG (a-d) derelict with broken stocks and 2 sails, c1925

FOSDYKE, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, 1934

FOSTON, post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o (b) derelict with 2 sails, July 1934 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, July 1934 (c-d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one stock with fragments of 2 sails October 1954 (e) derelict as (c-d) but with one sail hidden by body, October 1954 (5) Croft (a) w/o (6) MLL (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1934(?) (f) view of roundhouse, tailpole and ladder (g) derelict with two sails (h) derelict with 2 sails, 1934 (7) WG (a-b) derelict with roof gone but remains of 2 sails still on, 1963 (c) w/o, c1926 (d) view of substructure of derelict mill (e) view of stone floor of derelict mill (f-i) w/o (8) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

FRIESTON, Frieston Shore, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) Croft (a) disused with cap and cross, 1900s (3) MLL (a) tower with cap frame, 1946 (b) tower with cap frame, 1977 (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d-e) w/o, wrongly dated 1963 (f) w/o, c1904 (g) w/o, wrongly dated 1912 (h) with cap, cross and wheel, c1900 (date wrong?) (i-j) capless tower, March 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame, 1946

FRIESTON, smock mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (4) WG (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, with fantail

FRIESTON, Richardson's Mill according to HESS, tower mill (taller and slenderer than Frieston Shore); (1) WG (a-g) w/o (2 of the views are very faint) (2) MLL (a) w/o

FRIESTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o

FRISKNEY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o

FRISKNEY, Hoyle's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) RW (LW) (a) disused with tailpole and 2 sails (3) MLL (a-f) w/o (2 of these photos also show the hollow post mill) (g) capless tower, 1977, as Dolman (4) WG (a) capless tower (b-c) capless tower, April 1963 (d-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1890 (g) w/o, c1905, with model mill in foreground (h) w/o, 1890s (i-j) w/o, c1910, with model mill nearby (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

FRISKNEY, hollow-post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) derelict (photos also show tower mill)

FRISKNEY, Friskney Tofts post mill; (1) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (2) RW (LW) (a) wind indicator (3) NMR (a) w/o (b) derelict with 2 sails (c-e) derelict with 2 sails, June 1932 (f-i) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935 (j) derelict with 2 sails, 1935 (k) derelict with 2 sails, 1935 (l) derelict with 2 sails, 1933 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o with 2 sails, 1928 (d-e) ditto, distant view (5) MLL (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, 1926 (g) w/o, as Wailes (Windmills In England) (there are multiple copies of this view in the Archive) (h) w/o, Alford Standard 16.4.1993 (i) w/o, newspaper cutting (j-w) disused with 2 sails (x) disused with 2 sails, 27th June 1933 (y-aa) disused with 2 sails, 1935 (ab-ad) disused with 2 sails, 1928 (ae-ah) disused with 2 sails, 1932 (ai) with 2 sails; close-up of stocks, breast beam and cross (aj) miller standing by trestle, 1935 (ak) miller's wife standing by trestle, 1935 (al-ao) ladder and tailpole (ap) the screw bevel gear driving the bolter (6) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (7) WG (where it is sometimes called Stephen-son's Mill) (a) w/o (b-g) w/o with 2 sails (h-i) derelict with 2 sails (j-k) w/o, 1926 (l-m) w/o, c1926 (n) close up of ladder, tailpole and talthur (8) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 2 sails, June 1933 (d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (e-g) derelict with 2 sails, June 1935 (h) derelict with 2 sails, June 1935 (i) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935

FRISKNEY, Kitching's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap, August 1935 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o, Standard 26th November 1965 (c-d) derelict with cap, 1935 (3) Croft (a) w/o (middle distance, lower part of tower obscured by house) (4) WG (a-b) w/o, c1900 (c) w/o, with lower part of mill obscured by house (d-e) derelict with cap, August 1935 (f-h) derelict with cap frame, April 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1935 (b) derelict with cap, September 1946

FRISKNEY WG have a photograph of a tower mill at Friskney with a note: "Showing old method of construction" (?)

FULLETBY, tower mill; (1) MML (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o (3) WG (a) w/o (b-d) w/o, c1906

FULNEY, post mill; (1) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter April 1992 (a) disused with sails (also in July 1992 edition) (2) WG (a) disused with sails (b) disused with sails, c1880

FRITHVILLE, smock windpump; (1) MLL (a) complete apart from one damaged sail

FRITHVILLE, tower mill; (1) WG (a-b) w/o, mid-distance with lower part of mill obscured by trees, c1900

FULSTOW, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) w/o, October 1942 (b-c) governors, October 1942 (d) sack hoist, ditto (e) striking chain and weights, ditto (f) spur wheel and other gearing, ditto (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, March 1969 (4) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o (distant view), c1905 (g) w/o, c1900 (h) w/o, c1905 (i) w/o, c1908 (j-l) derelict with cap (m) interior view showing great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones lifted for dressing

GAINSBOROUGH, Spital Hill, Highfield or Pickwell's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1930 (c) disused with cap (d) w/o, in distance in view of Ashcroft's (e) w/o, mid-distance (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, July 1961 (4) WG (a) w/o, 1927 (b) w/o, August 1927 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (d-e) w/o (5) Croft (a) w/o, middle distance, c1912

GAINSBOROUGH, Ashcroft (Pearson's) Oil Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) capless tower (c) w/o, with Spital Hill w/o in distance (2) WG (a) capless tower c1900 (b) capless tower during demolition, 1935: the chimney beside the mill is shown in the act of falling (a second later it hit the mill and brought it down)

GAINSBOROUGH WG also has an unidentified capless tower c1910

GARTHORPE, tower mill; (1) WG (a) demolition: mill tower, with conical roof (original cap?) on, in act of falling

GATE BURTON, post mill; (1) MML (a) w/o, 1890s (photocopy, note on back of which says "copy of a print at GAL 1401. copyright Doncas-ter MBC Library Service Central Library Waterdale Doncaster DN1 3JE")

GEDNEY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1905

GEDNEY DROVE END, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap, Sept 1946 (b) ditto (2) MLL (a) disused with cap (3) WG (a) derelict with cap (b) derelict with cap, c1925 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, August 1938

GEDNEY DYKE, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) interior view with wire machine (2) NMR (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, June 1932 (e) w/o, 1935 (f) w/o, June 1935 (g) derelict with 6 sails, Sept 1946 (h) ditto (3) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, November 1930 (c) w/o, Oct 1927 (5) MLL (a-b) w/o (6) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o c1906 (d) w/o, c1925 (e) capless tower, April 1963 (f) w/o, c1910 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, May 1932 (b) w/o, August 1933 (c) w/o, June 1935 (d) capless tower, July 1950

GEDNEY, Gedney Cross, Allen's Mill, post mill; (1) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1880

GEDNEY FEN, post mill; (1) Rex Wailes had a photograph of this mill according to RW (LW)

GEDNEY HILL, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, Sept 1932 (3) MLL (a) w/o, 1928 (EMA) (b-d) w/o (4) UOM (JRL) a) w/o, 1928 (5) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1925 (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1933 (b) capless tower, June 1936

GLENTHAM, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with 3 sails (2) WG (a) derelict with 3 sails, 1910 (poor view)

GOSBERTON, Risegate, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) with no sails or fan, but replica cap and broken cross, 1977 (2) NMR (a) as Dolman, Sept 1946 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) disused with cap (4) WG (a-b) w/o, 1907 (c) w/o, c1963 (d) converted to silo with replica cap and broken cross, April 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) converted to silo with replica cap and cross, August 1934

GOSBERTON, Vinter's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, Sept 1946 (b) derelict with most of cap still on but no sails, June 1933 (This is captioned "Risegate" but is not the mill mentioned above) (2) WG (a-b) derelict with cap, c1925
(3) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with collapsing cap, August 1934 (captioned Risegate)

GOSBERTON, post mill; (1) MML (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o

GOXHILL, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and broken cross (3) MLL (a) w/o
(b) derelict with one sail (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934 (5) WG (a-c) w/o, c1900-1910 (d-h) derelict with 2 sails (i) with one sail being fitted or removed (j-k) capless tower

GOXHILL, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1905

GRAINTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) disused with 4 sails, August 1934 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (c) capless tower (4) Croft (a) w/o, c1909 (5) WG (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, c1900 (f) w/o, c1925 (g-i) capless tower, with wallower visible at broken top of tower (j) as g-i but dated 1962 (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with 4 sails, August 1934

GRASBY, post mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1978
(2) MLL (a) derelict with 2 sails (3) RW had a photograph of the mill according to RW (LW) (4) WG (a-d) derelict with 2 sails

GRIMOLDBY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, 1933 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o with 2 sails, 1925 (c-d) w/o (3) WG (a-g) w/o (h) w/o with 2 sails, 1925 (i) looking a little derelict (caption says "before restoration")

GRIMSBY, Catergate Mill, post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) apparently in w/o (mill is in middle distance), pre-1848

GRIMSBY, East Marsh Street, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-g) w/o (captioned Colebrooke Mill)

GRIMSBY, Scartho, Heaton's Mill, post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o, 1870 (2) W and W Section Newsletter April 1981 (a) w/o (3) WG (a-k) w/o, 1870

GRIMSBY, Scartho, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (2) MLL (a-b) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (4) WG (a-m) w/o (n) w/o apart from one sail missing (o) w/o, c1950(?), middle distance with lower part hidden by houses (p) w/o, 1953(?), middle distance with lower part hidden by houses

GUNNESS, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1910 (2) WG (a-i) w/o
(Another tower mill, a 4-sailer, is visible in the distance across the river in all these photographs - according to the WG captions this is Keadby)

HACKTHORN, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (distant view) (c) derelict with 4 sails, 1928 (2) WG (a-e) w/o, middle distance (f-i) derelict with 4 sails (j-k) w/o (apparently: lower buck, trestle, and one fully shuttered sail visible)

HAGWORTHINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1929 (b) cap-less tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o, August 1942 (b) w/o, June 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) capless tower, as Dolman (c-e) w/o (f) view of fan (4) WG (a-j) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935

HALTON HOLEGATE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, August 1942 (b) w/o, August 1935 (2) MLL (a-g) w/o (h) the double-armed wood great spur wheel (i) tower only, 11.5.1969 (3) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, c1870 (h) w/o, c1930 (h-i) lower part of tower with part of shutterless sail visible and Fred Bourne, retired miller, in foreground (j) derelict with 4 sails, c1960 (k) derelict with 4 sails, 1962 (l) derelict with 4 sails, 1965(?) (m-o) capless tower (p) great spur wheel, 1962 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1935

HAXEY, Westwoodside, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978

HAXEY, tower mill (2) (Burnham Mill); (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) capless tower (b) becoming derelict, with 2 sails (3) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1900 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails, c1926 (f-g) tower with flat roof and finial, June 1934 (h-i) tower with flat roof and finial (h) capless tower, c1925 (captioned Whitehead's Mill) (j) stump of tower, May 1963 (captioned White-head's Mill) (k-l) tower with flat roof and finial (4) UOK (MC) (a) tower with flat roof and finial, June 1935 (b) tower with flat roof and finial, June 1935

HAYDOR, Oasby Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, 1935 (b) ditto, 1933 (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1935 (under OASBY)

HEAPHAM, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Dolman (LW)
(a) derelict with cap, 1978 (3) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (4) MLL (a-b w/o (c) w/o, c1940 (d) w/o, 1930s (Lincolshire Life May 1968) (e) disused without sails (f) With restored cap, fan and cross, 1991 (Lincs Echo 22.6.91) (g) derelict with cap, before 1990s restoration (LL 22.6.91) (5) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (6) WG (a-f) w/o (g) one pair of stones with stone furniture (h) great spur wheel, bell alarm, stone nut, quant, horse and hopper (i-j) derelict with cap, September 1962 (k) derelict with cap, May 1963 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1935 (b) w/o, June 1935

HECKINGTON, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Freese (a) w/o (3) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o (b) lag governor, 1985 (c) as preserved, 1982 (d) sackhoist, 1985 (4) RW (LW) (a) w/o (5) NMR (a) derelict (b) as preserved, 1960 (c-d) as preserved, 1963 (e) disused, 1951 (f-g) w/o (h) w/o, early C20 (i-j) w/o, 1931 (k-m) w/o, July 1932 (n) w/o, June 1935 (o) w/o, 1943 (6) de Little 2 (a) w/o, 1990s (7) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o, March 1928 (d) w/o, 1928 (8) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o, 1930 (9) Hills (a) w/o, March 1990 (10) Croft (a) w/o (11) MLL (a-c) w/o, as Wailes TEW (d-r) w/o (s-t) w/o, with snow (u) w/o (postcard published by SPAB) (v) close-up of sails, spider and cross (w) close-up of sails, spider and cross, c1910 (x) before restoration in 1953, with sail frames only and storm damage (y) w/o (Lincs Life Magazine Winter 1967 - check date) (z) sails being removed/refitted by crane, 1986 (Echo) (12) Wailes (WIE) (a) close-up of cap and sails (b) view of cross and neck journal of windshaft, seen from inside cap (part of whose roof appears to have been dismantled) (c) view of one pair of stones (13) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (14) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved, before restoration to w/o (15) SPAB Annual Report 1990 (a) w/o (16) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved, c1970 (17) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved (18) WG (a-l) w/o (one photo wrongly captioned 1973) (m) as preserved, before restoration to w/o (n-o) ditto, 1961 (p-q) ditto, May 1963 (r) pair of stones with governor (19) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1933 (c) w/o, May 1934 (d) w/o, August 1934 (e-f) w/o, June 1935 (g) view of base of tower and stage, May 1937 (h) disused with sails, September 1946 (20) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

HECKINGTON, Mowbray's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) castellated stump, 1985 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1935 (b) ditto, June 1936 (c) ditto, June 1932 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a-g) w/o (h) disused with cap and cross, 1935 (i) disused with cap and cross, June 1932 (j) disused with cap and cross, June 1935 (k) disused with cap and cross, June 1936 (5) WG (a-d) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap and cross, June 1935 (b) disused with cap and cross, August 1933

HELPRINGHAM, Hudson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) tower with no sails and conical roof, 1985 (2) NMR (a) tower with conical roof, July 1934 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d) tower with conical roof, May 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, August 1933

HELPRINGHAM, Borman's Mill, smock mill; (1) WG (a-b) w/o(?) with 2 sails, middle distance

HEMINGBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1935 (3) MLL (a-b) tower preserved with cap (windshaft gone) (4) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1905 (c) disused with cap (d-e) on fire (f) stump of tower, May 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap but no windshaft, June 1935

HEMSWELL, post mill ("Roving Molly"); (1) NMR (a) derelict with 3 sails, August 1933 (b-d) derelict with 3 sails, June 1934 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with 3 sails (c) w/o (under Harpswell) (d) derelict with 3 sails (newspaper cutting) (under Harpswell) (c) governors (under Harpswell) (3) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1900 (d) derelict with 2 adjacent sails visible (e-g) derelict with 2 adjacent sails visible, 1927 (h) derelict with 3 sails (i) derelict with 3 sails, 1935 (j) derelict, middle distance, with roundhouse roof gone and 2 adjacent sails visible (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with three sails, roof gone, August 1933 (c) derelict with three sails, roof gone, June 1934 (d) roundhouse and wreckage, June 1935 (e) centre post preserved at Heapham, June 1935

HIBALDSTOW, Andrews' Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1905 (captioned Rogers' Mill) (3) Croft (a) w/o (captioned Golland's Mill)

HIBALDSTOW, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) great spur wheel, 1978 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) view of base of tower showing location of watermill, September 1971 (c) w/o (from "Evening Telegraph", 31.12.1987) (d) capless tower (from ET as above) (e) capless tower, March 1969 (f) w/o (g) w/o (h) preserved tower with windshaft and cross (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) SPAB Annual Report 1992 (a) w/o, middle distance, 1908 (6) WG (a-b) w/o, c1900 (c-d) w/o, distant view (e-f) w/o (g) preserved with cross, windshaft and flat roof (h) capless tower, May 1963 (7) UOK (MC) (a) with flat roof, windshaft and cross, June 1934 (b) with flat roof, windshaft and cross, May 1947

HOGSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1982
(2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, July 1942 (3) MLL (a) w/o (captioned "Blanchard's Mill) (b) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, Septem-ber 1946 (5) WG (a-b) w/o, c1908 (c-e) w/o (f) stump of tower, April 1912

HOGSTHORPE, Chapel Lane, tower mill; (1) WG (a) c1925

NOTE: there appears to have been some confusion between these two mills, probably because both were run at some point by the Blanchard family, at any rate according to HESS; regarding the first mill, (f) in WG is probably Chapel Lane in view of the dates of the other photos; some of the others may be too, although I think we can take it Dolman is accurate. The WG photo of Chapel Lane may be the first mill as HESS states the former was pulled down c1919

HOLBEACH, Damgate Mill, tower mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Wailes (USIW) (a) upright shaft with gear drive for governors (3) NMR (a-b) disused with cap, Sept 1946 (4) WG (a-d) w/o (e) upright shaft and great spur wheel (f) brakewheel (g) w/o, c1925 (h) w/o (cap-tioned Kilby's Mill) (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1938 (6) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, October 1927 (captioned Kilby's Mill)

HOLBEACH, Tyndall's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) castell-ated stump of tower, Sept 1946 (captioned "Barrington Gate") (2) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap (3) NMR (a) capless tower, Sept 1946 (date wrong? see above) (4) UOK (MC) (a) castellated stump of tow-er, August 1938

HOLBEACH, Penny Hill tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o, with 2 sails missing (out of 6) (2) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1972
(3) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 4 sails, Oct 1927
(5) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (close-up of cap, 4 out of 6 sails, and fan) (6) WG (a-b) w/o with 4 sails (c) close-up of cap etc as Wailes ASBOWAW (d) stone nut, quant and glut box (e) capless tower, April 1963 (f) w/o with 4 sails, c1925 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 4 sails, August 1937 (b) w/o with 4 sails, June 1935 (c) w/o with 4 sails, May 1932 (d) capless tower, July 1950

HOLBEACH, Holbeach Hurn, smock mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o

HORNCASTLE, Spilsby Road, Holmes' Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1900 (b) capless tower, 1982 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1935 (3) Croft (a) w/o, early 1900s (4) WG (a) derelict with cap (b) capless tower (c) w/o (d) w/o, c1905 (e) w/o, c1910
(5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

HORNCASTLE, Louth Road, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-d) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o

HORNCASTLE, Low Toynton Road, post mill; (1) MLL (a-e) w/o (2) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1906

HORNCASTLE, Mareham Road, tower mill; (1) WG (a) w/o, 1905

HORSINGTON, Hill's (western) Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1982 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1936 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) disused with cap (4) WG (a-b) stump of tower (c) stump of tower, June 1936 (5) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, June 1936
(NOTE: not clear whether NMR or MLL photos are of this or Green's)

HORSINGTON, Green's (eastern) Mill, tower mill; (1) WG (a-c) stump of tower (d) stump of tower, May 1963 (e-g) w/o

HOUGH ON THE HILL, post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) derelict, with stocks and 3 sail frames but roof missing (2) WG - not seen on visit

HUTTOFT, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) castellated tower, 1982
(2) NMR (a) w/o, 1942 (b) w/o, July 1942 (c) View of stone in its casing, Sept 1942 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) MLL (a) windshaft, brakewheel and cross being lifted off by crane, cap frame still on, 3rd July 1970 (cutting from Lincolnshire Life) (b) w/o, c1880 (c) w/o, c1930 (d) w/o, 1939 (e-f) w/o, 1942 (g) w/o, c1920 (h-p) w/o (q) w/o, middle distance (r) w/o, Lincoln-shire Life November 1976 (s) castellated tower, 1986 (t) tower with weathervane, as Dolman (u) one pair of stones with stone furniture
(6) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, 1940-50 (h) w/o, August 1926 (i) w/o, middle distance, rather dark (j) castellated tower, 1976 (k) with cap but no sails, April 1963 (7) UOK (MC) (a) with fan and part of one sail missing, otherwise in w/o, September 1941 (part of another sail also appears to be missing but this could just have been cut off by photo)

HUTTOFT, Alford Road, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, 1860s (mill built 1861 and demolished about 10 years later)

INGHAM, Surfleet Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house converted tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, June 1935 (3) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1905 (e-j) derelict with cap (k) capless tower, 1967 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

INGHAM, Russon Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1905 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, June 1935

INGOLDSBY, post mill; (1) Croft (a) derelict with 4 sails

KEADBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails, windshaft and brakewheel (newspaper cutting) (c) derelict with 4 sails, windshaft and brakewheel (newspaper cutting) (2) WG (a) w/o (but some shutters missing or damaged, 1923)

KEXBY, Willows' Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower only, August 1935 (2) Croft (a) w/o, c1912 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1928 (b) w/o, 1928-32 (4) WG (a-b) w/o

KEXBY, Britannia Flour Mills, Gibson's Mill aka Subscription Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1928-32 (b) w/o, 1928 (3) MLL (a) derelict with cap, March 1969 (4) Blythman (to be donated to MLL) (a-b) derelict with cap, cross and fan cradle, August 1955 (5) Croft (a) w/o, middle distance (6) WG (a-e) w/o (f-h) w/o, c1900 (i) brakewheel (j) derelict with cap, May 1963 (k) derelict with cap (7) RW (LW) (a) brakewheel and brake guard

KIRTON, Kirton End, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c) disused with cap and fan, Sept 1946 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1926 (d) w/o, June 1935 (e) w/o, August 1933 (f) derelict with cap and fan, August 1946 (g) capless tower, June 1975 (h) capless tower, press cutting 24.6.1975) (i) capless tower, mid-late 1970s (j) capless tower, 1977 (5) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1910 (c) capless tower (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c) derelict with cap and fan, September 1946

KIRTON IN LINDSEY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1930
(b) preserved with cap, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) "Old Glory", February 1992 (a-b) restored to w/o, 1990s (c-d) interior views, 1990s (4) de Little 2 (a) restored to working order, 1990s (5) MLL (a) w/o, 1993 (b) w/o, 1995 (6) Croft (a) w/o, early 1930s (7) WG (a-p) w/o (q) preserved with cap, 1963 (8) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1934

KIRTON IN LINDSEY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) RW had a photo-graph according to RW (LW) to TNS article (3) WG (a-e) w/o

KIRTON IN LINDSEY, Frow's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) WG (a-g) disused with cap and fan (h) disused with cap and fan (i) w/o, c1890

LACEBY, Dickinson's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-f) w/o (g-k) derelict with cap (h-k) on fire, 1922

LANGTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) w/o, July 1934 (b) w/o, June 1935 (3) MLL (a-h) w/o (i) capless tower, 27.3.1969 (j) ditto (but says PROBABLY Langton) (k) capless tower, 1971 (as Dolman) (l) w/o, c1932 (4) WG (a-f) w/o (g) capless tower, 1962 (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, June 1935

LAUGHTERTON, post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (b) windshaft with brake and tail wheels after mill's collapse (c) governors (2) NMR (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1934 (c-d) ditto, August 1933 (e) derelict with 2 sails, 1951 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-d) w/o, 1928 (d) view of post, 1928 (4) Croft (a) w/o, mid-distance, c1921 (5) MLL (a+) various views, not noted) (6) Wailes (WIE) (a) windshaft, brakewheel and stone nut (7) WG (also listed under Kettlethorpe) (a-d) derelict with 4 sails (e-h) w/o (i) w/o, April 1927 (j) bedstone, governors and stone spindles (k) windshaft and brakewheel (l) windshaft, brakewheel, tail wheel and post lying in field after collapse of mill (m) post preserved at Heapham Mill, September 1962 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1933 (c-d) w/o, June 1935 (e) view of roundhouse, lower body, steps and part of one sail, June 1935 (f) ruined roundhouse wall, October 1954

LEADENHAM, Lowfield Mill (Brant Broughton), tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap and 4 sails, April 1934 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o c1865 (possibly another mill; gallery shown in other photos is absent) (d) w/o, in silhouette, apparently a cutting from a newspaper or magazine (e) tower only, 1977, as Dolman (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (date wrong) (6) WG (possibly another mill, appears too short to be Brant Broughton) (a) w/o, c1870 (b) w/o, c1865 (c-d) w/o, c1900 (7) WG (a-j) w/o (k) w/o, c1905 (l) capless tower, April 1963

LEGBOURNE, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (b) brakewheel (2) Wailes (DSW) (a) wind-driven gear to overdrift stones (b) water-driven stones gear to underdriven stones (3) Dolman (LW) (a) tower with replica ogee cap, 1978 (4) NMR (a) as Wailes (b) disused with cap, July 1942 (5) MLL (a-c) w/o (d-f) w/o, mid-distance (g) base of tower with waterwheel (h) water-wheel seen from above (i) brakewheel (j) water drive to stones (k) wind drive to stones (l) detail of waterwheel, 19.4.1969 (m) castellated tower with waterwheel, 19.4.1969 (n) disused with cap (o) tower with dummy cap, as today (as Dolman) (6) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o with 2 sails (7) WG (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, as Wailes (c) w/o with 4 sails (d) w/o with 4 sails, 1900 (e) with 4 sails (f) with 4 sails, middle distance, retouched (g-j) disused with cap (k) wind drive to stones (l) brakewheel (m-n) castellated tower, 1964 (o) water drive to stones (under Wellingore)

LEVERTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, c1905

LINCOLN, Ellis' Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) during restoration, with new cap under construction on ground, 1978
(b) w/o, 1982 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (3) Vince 1993 (a) w/o (4) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (5) WG (a) w/o
(6) UOK (MC) (a) (a-b) w/o, June 1935

LINCOLN, Le Tall's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) UOK (MC) (a) tower with square structure on roof, May 1947 (3) MLL (a+) various photos showing capless tower and interior photographs after recent conversion to living accomm-odation

LINCOLN, Lindum Terrace, Cottom's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR
(a) disused with cap (2) WG (a-e) disused with cap c1860

LINCOLN, Hobbler's Hole/Burton Road?, post mill; (1) Croft (a) w/o (2) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (3) MLL (a-e) w/o (4) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1900 (g-i) w/o, mid-distance (j-l) sunset shot (5) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict with four sails

LINCOLN, West Common, tower mill; (1) WG (a-g) w/o, with 2 sails

Under Lincoln see note in "Unidentified Mills" section

LONG BENNINGTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o

LONG SUTTON, Brunswick Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (b) w/o, June 1936 (c) w/o, 1929 (d) derelict with 6 sails, June 1932 (but date must be wrong) (e) ditto, June 1935 (date must be wrong) (f) derelict with 6 sails, Sept 1946 (g-j) derelict with 6 sails (2) Dolman (LW) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 6 sails, 1971 (b) tower after removal of cap frame, sails, wind-shaft etc, 1977 (3) Blythman (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 6 sails, 1970 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, Nov 1930 (could this actually be Harrison's?) (5) MLL (a) derelict with 6 sails, windshaft and brakewheel; crane about to start work (b) men working on top of tower (6) KLM (a) derelict with six sails, windshaft and brakewheel (not captioned Long Sutton when seen, but this was notified to museum) (7) KLL (a-c) sails being lowered to ground by crane, and brakewheel apparently dismantled, 1973 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and six sails (8) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (wrongly dated 1960) (d) w/o (wrongly captioned Harrison's) (e) w/o, c1925 (f) w/o: close-up of cap, sails and fan (g) derelict with six sails (h-i) derelict with six sails, October 1949 (j) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and six sails, 1963 (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c-f) derelict with six sails, July 1950 (g) detail of cap, fan cradle and sails, July 1950 (10) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

LONG SUTTON, Harrison's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) cap- less tower, 1985 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o (b) disused with cap, Oct 1927 (3) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1925 (d) capless tower, used in connection with business, 1963 (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1933 (b) disused with cap, May 1934 (c) disused with cap, June 1935 (5) NMR (under Long Sutton, Gowts Road) (a) disused with cap, June 1935 (b) ditto, June 1932

LONG SUTTON, Morley's mill (on Sutton Bridge, Tydd Bank), smock mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) disused with sails and tailpole

LONG SUTTON, post mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with 4 sails (from "The Queen" magazine 3.4.1935)

LOUTH, Brian Hall's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (with nearby roller mills on fire) (b-c) w/o (with burnt-out roller mills) (2) Croft (a) w/o with roller mills on fire (b) w/o with burnt-out roller mills (3) D Robinson, Book of Louth, Barracuda Books 1979 (a) w/o with roller mills on fire (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o (but looks like Birch's Mill, Spalding) (e-h) w/o, with roller mills on fire (i-m) w/o, with burnt-out roller mills

LOUTH, Topham's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) Croft (a) in background in photo of Brian Hall's Mill (3) WG (a-b) derelict with cap

LUDDINGTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) derelict with cap (3) MLL (a-b) disused with cap (c) stump of tower, as Dolman (4) WG (a) disused with cap (b) disused with cap, c1925 (c-d) stump of tower

LUDFORD MAGNA, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, July 1934 (b) ditto, June 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with 2 sails (4) WG (a-e) derelict with 2 sails (f) stump of tower, 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

LUDFORD, post mill; (1) WG (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o, c1895 (2) Rex Wailes had a photograph of this mill according to RW (LW)

LUTTON, Lutton Gowts, Sneath's Mill, tower mill; (1) Stainwright
(a) top of tower with windshaft, brakewheel, weather beam and poll end during repair work (2) RW (LW) (a) w/o (3) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (4) Dolman (LW) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and half of one stock, 1971 (5) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c) w/o, June 1936 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, November 1930 (c) view of part of tower with datestone, tailpole and miller standing in doorway, November 1930 (d) w/o, Oct 1927 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with broken stocks and at least one sail frame, July 1950 (b-c) w/o, May 1932 (d-e) w/o, August 1932 (f) w/o, May 1934 (g) w/o, June 1935 (h) winding gear on end of tailpole, June 1935 (8) MLL (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1982 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1983 (poor view, rather dark) (d) great spur wheel with wooden quant and stone nut, May 1983 (9) Blythman (to be donated to MLL) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, tailpole and half of one stock, 28th August 1958 (c) roofed-over tower, June 2001 (poor view, rather dark) (10) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (11) Blythman (a) tower with flat roof, June 2001 (very poor view, rather dark) (12) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, middle distance (g-i) w/o, June 1933 (j) w/o, c1930 (k-l) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, half of one stock and TV aerial on top of tower, 1962

MALTBY LE MARSH, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) preserved tower with new ogee cap, 1985 (2) NMR (a) w/o, Sept 1942 (b) w/o, July 1934 (c) w/o, August 1934 (d) spout and sack, Sept 1942 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (4) MLL (a-h) w/o (i) w/o, c1900? (j) w/o, September 1942 (k) w/o, August 1934 (l) w/o, July 1942 (m) close-up of cap, sails and fantail (n) capless tower, April 1969 (o) tower with new cap, 1985, as Dolman (p) w/o (newspaper cutting) (q) fitting of new fibre glass cap (newspaper cutting, as (p)) (r) meal sack, October 1942 (s) drive to one pair of stones and stone furniture (t) part of great spur wheel with stone nut and quant (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1934

MAREHAM LE FEN, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1934 (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) Croft (a) w/o

MARKET RASEN, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, between 1913 and 23
(b) w/o (rather blurred) (c-e) w/o (2) WG (a-l) w/o (m-q) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 out of 8 sails remaining

MARKET RASEN, post mill; (1) MLL (a-d) w/o (e-f) on fire, 1897 (g) after fire, with sails etc destroyed and buck badly damaged (h-i) after fire, with part of damaged buck having collapsed or been removed (2) WG (a-d) w/o (f) on fire, c1923 (g-h) burnt-out after fire, c1923

MARSH CHAPEL, Giddy's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 11.3.1969 (3) Croft (a) w/o, mid-distance (4) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b-d) stump of tower, April 1967 (c) w/o, c1925 (d-e) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, August 1934 (6) Dolman mentions a rather indistinct photograph of the mill in working order, showing it to have what appear to be a pair of roller reefing sails in addition to one of patent sails

MARTIN, Hollinshead's Mill (South Mill), tower mill; (1) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1910 (e-g) w/o, showing men painting tower with cradle (h) new gearwheels leaning against wall of mill (i) truncated tower with stage, 1962 (2) MLL (a-b) w/o

MARTIN, Farbon's Mill (North Mill), tower mill; (1) Croft (a) w/o, middle distance (2) WG (a) w/o, c1910 (3) MLL (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, with re-tarring in progress

MARTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame, October 1954 (3) MLL (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, middle distance, with cap, fan and portions of sails visible above trees (f) tower with cap frame (g) tower with cap frame, March 1969 (h) capless tower, as Dolman 1985 (4) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1926 (c-d) w/o, 2nd April 1926 (e) w/o, c1930 (f) tower with cap frame, October 1962

MESSINGHAM, post mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section Newsletter April 1997; (a) w/o, 1885 (2) WG (a-b) w/o

MESSINGHAM, Kirkland post mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section Newsletter April 1997 (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) WG (a-c) w/o with 2 sails (3) MLL (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) bearing of windshaft on ground

METHERINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (2) Dolman (LW) (a) disused, with 3 out of 6 sails, c1930 (b) capless tower, 1977
(3) UOK (WBM) (a) derelict with 3 out of 6 sails, May 1937
(4) NMR (a) tower only, n.d. (b) disused with 3 out of 6 sails, June 1934 (c) ditto, 1937 (d) ditto, n.d. (5) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with 3 out of 6 sails, 1928-32 (6) MLL (a-c) w/o with four sails (d-e) derelict with 3 sails (one broken off short) still on, but cap roof gone, 1954 (7) Croft (a) with 3 sails (8) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o with three sails (9) WG (a) w/o with 4 sails (rather faded) (b-e) w/o with 4 sails, c1910 (f) w/o with 4 sails, c1906 (g-i) w/o with 3 sails (j) derelict with 3 sails, middle distance (k-l) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, and stumps of three stocks, 1962 (m) miller in doorway (n) capless tower, 1963 (o) governors and tentering gear (10) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 3 sails, June 1934 (b-d) w/o with 3 sails, June 1936

MIDDLE RASEN, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) derelict with stumps of stocks, June 1936 (b) ditto, August 1933 (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (b-d) w/o except for one missing sail (e-f) stump (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with part of broken stock, August 1933 (b) derelict with part of broken stock, June 1935

MINTING, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with one sail (b) derelict with one sail, middle distance (2) WG (a-b) w/o

MORTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) WG (a) disused with cap (b-c) capless tower

MOULTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1972
(b) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, Sept 1946 (3) UOM (JRL) tower with cap, March 1928 (4) de Little 2 (a) view of internal ladder (5) MLL (a) w/o (6) WG (a-c) w/o (d-e) tower with cap, mid-C20 (f-g) tower with dummy cap, April 1963 (7) UOK (MC) (a) tower with dummy cap, August 1933

MOULTON, Moulton Chapel, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house-converted tower, 1983 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1933 (b) capless tower, Sept 1946 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, distant view (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, August 1938

MUMBY, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) MLL (a-g) w/o (3) Croft (a) w/o (4) WG (a-e) w/o

NETTLEHAM, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-g) w/o (h-i) w/o, middle distance (2) Croft (a) w/o (3) WG (a-d) w/o, c1900 (e) w/o, mid-distance

NEW BOLINGBROKE, Watkinson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1973 (2) WG (a-d) w/o, 1934 (e) stump of tower (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (b-c) w/o, August 1935

NEW BOLINGBROKE, Rundle's Mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1973 (2) MLL (a) w/o, 1934 (b) w/o (c) roofed-over tower, August 1980 (d) great spur wheel (3) WG (a-d) w/o, March 1963

NEW BOLINGBROKE WG and Wailes (DSW) have photographs of the great spur wheel of one of the New Bolingbroke mills but it is not clear which of them it is, or even if it is the same mill

NEW LEAKE, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1908 (2) WG (a) w/o

NOCTON, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (from "Lincolnshire Life" June 1972) (2) WG (a) w/o

NORMANBY, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1935 (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) WG (a-d) derelict with 4 sails, c1925 (under Normanby-by-Stow) w/o, c1890 (under Normanby-by-Spital)

NORTH HYKEHAM, Ladds' Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, June 1934 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (from Lincolshire Echo 2.6.1990) (c-j) derelict with cap (k) converted stump (Lincolnshire Echo 2.6.1990) (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, September 1946

NORTH HYKEHAM, Hykeham Moor, post mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1900 (2) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934 (b) ditto, n.d.
(c) ditto, 1937 (3) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1928 (5) Croft (a) derelict with 2 sails (6) MLL (a) w/o with 2 sails (b-c) w/o (d) w/o, as Dolman (e-t) derelict with two sails (u) derelict with 2 sails, 1935 (v) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934 (w) derelict with 2 sails, 1932 (x-z) wire machine (aa-ac) brakewheel, stone nut and one pair of stones (ad-ai) spouts and meal sacks (7) RW (LW) (a) w/o (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934 (9) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (this is possibly Butterwick)

NORTH KELSEY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) tower with conical roof, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1936 (3) MLL (a-c) tower with conical roof (d) tower with conical roof, June 1936 (e) tower with conical roof, 21st March 1969 (f) tower with conical roof, as Dolman (4) WG (a-c) tower with conical roof, June 1936 (d) tower with conical roof, September 1964

NORTH KELSEY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, mid-distance (2) WG (a-d) w/o, c1910

NORTH OWERSBY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (faint reproduc-tion) (in file marked just Owersby)

NORTH SCARLE, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o

NORTH SOMERCOTES, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with one sail, July 1942 (2) WG (a-d) derelict with one sail (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with one sail, August 1934

NORTH SOMERCOTES, Cartwright's Mill, tower mill (six-sailer); (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o (3) WG (a-e) w/o

NORTH THORESBY, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (from "Lincoln-shire Life" February 1974)

OLD BOLINGBROKE, Kirkby Hill, tower mill; (1) Freese (a) w/o (2) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1930 (b) capless tower, 1978 (3) Croft (a) w/o (4) WG (a) w/o, c1944 (dramatic shot with bomber passing over mill) (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1934 (6) NMR (a) w/o, August 1934

OLD LEAKE, Howsam's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) spur wheel and governor drive, 1977 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a) capless tower, 1977, as Dolman (b) great spur wheel, as Dolman (5) WG (a) w/o, c1910 (is possibly another mill) (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c) w/o, September 1946

OLD LEAKE, Caleb Hill, tower mill (same as Dolman's "Gosling's Mill); (1) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1932 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, June 1935

OLD LEAKE, Commonside, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, June 1935 (e) w/o, June 1932 (f) capless tower, June 1935(?) (g) w/o (photocopy) (h) w/o, 1928 (photocopy) (i-j) w/o, mid-distance, photocopy (2) WG (a) capless tower, March 1963

OLD LEAKE WG have a photograph of a tower mill in w/o here, but it is not clear which of the above it is

OSBOURNBY, post mill; (1) "Period Homes", April 1986 (a) w/o (b) wreckage after demolition (2) MLL (a) during demolition, with sails and roundhouse roof gone (b-g) w/o (h-j) wreckage on ground (k) under demolition with sails and roundhouse roof missing, c1912 (Lincolnshire Life June 1961) (l) w/o (Lincs Life Jan 1968) (m) wreckage on ground (Lincs Life Jan 1968) (n) under demolition with sails missing, as above (Lincs Life Jan 1968)

OWSTON FERRY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978

OWSTON FERRY, Stephenson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter October 1996 (a) w/o

PICKWORTH, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1933 (3) MLL (a) tower only, June 1933 (4) WG (a) stump, c1925 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1936

PINCHBECK, Northgate Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) castell-ated tower, 1977 (2) MLL (a-d) preserved with cap (e) preserved with cap, 1933 (f) castellated tower (g) castellated tower, 1977, as Dolman (3) WG (a-c) w/o (d) disused with cap (e) castellated tower (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1933 (b) derelict with cap, August 1933 (c) derelict with cap, August 1934 (5) NMR (a) derelict with cap, August 1933

PINCHBECK, Glenside, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) castellated tower, 1977 (2) MLL (a-c) w/o (d) derelict with cap, June 1933 (e) castellated tower, 1977, as Dolman (3) WG (a-d) w/o (e-f) castell-ated tower (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1933 (5) NMR (a) disused with cap, 1933 (captioned South Mill)

PINCHBECK, Horse And Jockey Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap frame, Sept 1946 (b) derelict with cap, June 1933 (cap-tioned Northfields) (2) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap, (d) derelict with cap frame, September 1946

NOTE: WG have a photograph of a tower mill at Small Drove Lane, Pinchbeck, in w/o; from its location this could be either Glenside or Horse and Jockey mill but it is not clear which. The same applies to the tower mill in UOK (MC) captioned Pinchbeck West and stated to stand alongside a drain. It is shown disused with cap still in place.

POTTERHANWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) Croft (a) w/o, c1910 (4) WG (a-e) derelict with 2 sails (f-h) w/o (i-j) w/o, middle distance (5) UOK (MC) (a) derel-ict with 2 sails, August 1935

ROPSLEY WITH HUMBY, Ropsley Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Croft (a) w/o (3) MLL (a) stump, 1977, as Dolman (b) derelict with cap, April 1934 (c) derelict with cap, June 1935 (d-e) derelict with cap (4) WG (a) derelict with cap (b) stump of tower, May 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1935

ROPSLEY WITH HUMBY, Humby Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) fragments of wall of lower part of tower remaining, 1977 (2) NMR (a) with cap and one sail, distant view (b) derelict with cap, August 1934 (3) MLL (a) "remains of Humby Mill", 1977, as Dolman (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, June 1936 (under Humby, Mill Hill)

ROSBY, tower mill; (1) Shillingford (a) w/o
(NOTE: due to the absence of evidence from any other source of a windmill at this location, I am inclined to suspect this is a misidentification of another mill)

RUSKINGTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with no sails (b) derelict with no sails (from "Sleaford Standard" 4th November 1982)
(2) WG (a-c) derelict with no sails

SALTBY, post mill; see SPROXTON, Leics

SALTFLEET, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1900 (b) grain cleaner, 1983 (c) capless tower, 1983 (2) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) quant and bell alarm (3) NMR (a-c) w/o, July 1942 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (5) Croft (a) w/o (6) MLL (a-f) w/o (g-i) w/o, July 1942 (j) w/o, as Dolman (k-l) w/o, middle distance (m) capless tower, 19th April 1969 (n) capless tower, as Dolman (o) grain cleaner, as Dolman (p) w/o (photocopy) (7) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, distant view (h) w/o, c1924 (i) w/o, c1925 (j) w/o, 1925 (k) w/o, May 1925 (l-n) capless tower (8) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934

SALTFLEETBY ALL SAINTS, tower mill; (1) WG (also filed under SALTFLEETBY) (a-e) w/o (d-e) w/o, c1910

SAXBY ALL SAINTS, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) derelict with cap (b) derelict with windshaft (c) derelict with windshaft, 4th May 1969, under Horkstow (2) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1905 (c-d) w/o, c1900 (e) disused with cap (f-g) derelict with cap (h) derelict with windshaft, March 1963

SAXILBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1935 (filed under Saxilby with Ingleby) (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1928-32 (4) MLL (a-g) w/o (5) Croft (a) w/o, c1910 (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

SCAMBLESBY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower only, August 1942 (2) MLL (a) w/o, distant view (3) WG (a) w/o

SCAWBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) derelict with cap (b) capless tower, 1934 (c) capless tower, 1969 (d) capless tower, as Dolman (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, May 1947 (4) WG (some photos captioned "Sturton-by-Brigg") (a) derelict with cap, c1925 (b-c) derelict with cap (d-e) capless tower, March 1963

SCOPWICK, Kirkby Green, post mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with no sails and body distorted (b) wreckage after collapse (2) Wailes (DSW) (a) wreckage after collapse (3) UOM (JRL) (a-c) derelict with no sails, Oct 1928 (4) WG (a-d) derelict with no sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, June 1933 (b) wreckage on ground with ruined roundhouse, June 1936 (c) windshaft, brakewheel and other wreckage, June 1936

SCOPWICK, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) capless tower (b) capless tower, June 1934 (c-d) capless tower, June 1936 (3) MLL (a-k) w/o (4) WG (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1910 (c-d) capless tower (e) capless tower, 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, June 1936

SCOTHERN, post mill; (1) MLL (a-e) derelict with four sails (2) Croft (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1912 (3) WG (a-e) derelict with four sails

SCOTTER, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) WG (a-e) w/o (f) capless tower, May 1963 (g-j) w/o (middle distance, with post mill in foreground)

SCOTTER, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) SPAB Mills Section Newsletter, April 1997 (a) w/o, pre-1914 (also shows tower mill)
(3) WG (a-c) w/o (d-g) w/o (with tower mill in background)

SCREMBY, Grebby tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house-converted tower, 1985 (2) NMR (a) w/o, 1933 (b) w/o, 1942 (c) w/o, August 1942 (3) MLL (a-n) w/o (o-q) w/o, August 1942 (r-s) w/o, distant view with just cap and sails visible over top of hill (t) w/o, 1920 (Lincolnshire Life July 1973) (u) w/o (magazine or newspaper cutting) (v) capless tower, May 1969 (w) house-converted tower with cap, June 1985 (x) house-converted tower, as Dolman, 1985 (4) WG (a-l) w/o (m) capless tower, March 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, September 1946

SCUNTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) with new cap and cross but no sails, 1985 (2) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (from Scunthorpe Evening Telegraph 22.3.1982) (3) WG (a-c) w/o (b) w/o, c1890 (c) castellated tower, May 1963

SCUNTHORPE, Ashby, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) disused with stocks c1910 (b) site of wall covered up by a millstone from the post mill, c1963 (c) 2 millstones on the site, c1963

SIBSEY, Trader Mill, tower mill; (1) Vince (1969) (a) derelict, with 4 sails only out of 6 (2) Vince (1973) (a) restored with all 6 sails, but no fan or shutters (3) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1985 (b) detail of finial and sail, 1985 (4) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brakewheel (5) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, June 1935 (d) w/o, August 1933 (e) w/o, 1935 (f-h) interior views (i) derelict with 4 out of 6 sails (j-m) derelict with 4 out of 6 sails, 1961 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (7) Hills (a) as preserved April 1977 (8) Croft (a) w/o (9) MLL (a) as preserved, 1971 (b) restored with six sails (10) Wailes, ASBOWAW (a) w/o, mid-C20 (11) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (12) Vince 1993 (a) w/o, 1980s/90s (13) Vince 1984 (a) w/o, 1980s (14) WG (a-i) w/o (j) derelict with 4 sails (k-n) derelict with 4 sails, March 1963 (o) brakewheel (p) 2 pairs of stones with stone furniture (q) new sails being fitted, c1970 (date of c1965 wrong) (r) as restored, 1973 (15) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1937 (b) w/o, August 1934 (c) w/o, June 1935 (16) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

SIBSEY, Rhoade's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1934 (3) WG (a-e) disused with cap and cross (f) capless tower (g) w/o, retouched, middle distance (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

SKILLINGTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, c1905 (2) WG (a-b) w/o, c1905

SLEAFORD, Money's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1985 (2) Shillingford (a) stump of tower (3) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with cap

SLOOTHBY (or WILLOUGHBY), post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (3) WG (a-l) w/o

SOUTH FERRIBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) WG (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) w/o with 4 sails (under Ferriby Sluice) (c-d) w/o with 2 sails, c1900

SOUTH KILLINGHOLME, post mill (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-b) under demolition, with workmen standing on top; roof gone but body still intact and windshaft, cross, brake- and tailwheels in place (c) roundhouse after demolition, with some gearing lying on ground (3) MLL (a) w/o (b-f) derelict with stocks, remains of 3 sails, windshaft, brakewheel and tailwheel (roof off) (g-h) under demolition, June 1934(?) with workmen on top of mill; windshaft, brakewheel and tailwheel still on but no sails (i) ruined roundhouse with upright shaft(?) on ground nearby, February 1934(?) (4) WG (a-c) under demolition, with roof gone but stocks and 3 sails still on (d) derelict with 4 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) under demolition, as elsewhere, June 1934 (b) after demolition: round-house still standing, with gearing on ground in front of it, August 1934 (c-d) millstone on ground, August 1934

SOUTH KYME, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap, July 1934 (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) WG (a) disused with cap, 1929 (b-d) derelict with cap (e) w/o (f-k) derelict with 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

SOUTH RAUCEBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (3) MLL (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, August 1935 (f) capless tower, 1977, as Dolman (4) WG (listed under both South Rauceby and Rauceby) (a-e) w/o (f) capless tower, 1963 (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1935

SOUTH WILLINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, June 1935 (2) MLL (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, June 1935 (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (4) WG (a-g) w/o (h) w/o, c1925

SOUTH WITHAM, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) fragments of walls of lower part of tower, 1977 (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft, May 1934 (b) derelict with windshaft, August 1935 (4) WG (a) capless tower, 1939

SPALDING, Spalding Common, Rhodes' Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails, August 1934 (b) stump of tower, Sept 1946 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) Leveritt and Elsden/MLL (a) disused with 4 sails (b) stump of tower (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails, August 1934 (b) stump of tower, July 1954 (6) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1910 (e) w/o, middle distance (f) w/o, seen across fields (g) distant view, with sails apparently missing, seen across frozen river (h) stump of tower, May 1963

SPALDING, Little London, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, August 1934 (b) derelict with cap (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (3) Lever-itt & Elsden (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (5) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, c1925

SPALDING, Little London, Armstrong's Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (but shutters missing from sails)

SPALDING, Lock Mill, smock mill; (1) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter April 1993 (a) w/o (2) Leveritt and Elsden/MLL (a-d) w/o (e) w/o (middle distance) (3) WG (a-e) w/o (f-g) w/o, 1898 (h) w/o, c1898 (i) w/o, c1890 (j) w/o, middle distance, 1898 (k) w/o, March 1897 (printed back to front) (l-ad) w/o, middle distance, with some shutters missing (ae) middle distance, with no sails unless they are turning very fast (blurred effect present); caption says not Lock but definitely looks like it (af) distant view, with some shutters missing

SPALDING, Pinchbeck Road, Birch's six-sailed tower mill; (1) MLL (a-c) w/o (2) Leveritt and Elsden/MLL (a) w/o (3) WG (a-b) w/o with six sails (c) w/o with 6 sails, c1905 (d) w/o with four sails

STALLINGBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) house-converted tower, 1985 (2) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) disused with 4 sails, post-1950 (4) Wailes (SWF) (a) peak stones dismantled for dressing (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (b) base of tower with gallery, August 1934 (6) WG (a-m) w/o (n) w/o, c1949 (o-p) derelict with cap

STAMFORD, Hodges' Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower (2) WG (a) stump of tower, 1973

STICKFORD, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1930 (b) tower with cap frame, 1985 (2) UOK (WBM) (a) w/o, 1937 (3) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1934 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (5) de Little 2 (a) derelict with 4 sails (6) Croft (a) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (8) WG (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, c1900 (e) w/o, c1910 (f) derelict with four sails, 1962 (g-k) derelict with four sails, December 1962 (l-m) derelict with four sails, middle distance, December 1962

STICKNEY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1930 (b) castell-ated tower, 1985 (2) NMR (a) w/o, June 1934 (b-c) w/o, August 1935 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) MLL (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1930, as Dolman (g-h) w/o, August 1935 (i) w/o, June 1934 (i) w/o, 1928 (j) w/o, 1928, photocopy (k) castellated tower, 1985, as Dolman (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (6) WG (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, 1934 (h-i) castellated tower, February 1963 (j-k) close-up of tower and date-stone, February 1963

STICKNEY, post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o, except for one damaged sail (c) as above, photocopy (2) WG (a-c) w/o

STICKNEY UOM (JRL) has a photograph of a bottle-shaped tower mill at Stickney, derelict with cap and cross but no sails; however no other source suggests such a mill here, so it probably stood somewhere else

STURTON-BY-STOW, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) derelict with cap, 1977 (2) Dolman (LW) (a) preserved with new ogee cap but no sails and windshaft removed, 1983 (3) NMR (a) w/o, August 1935 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, Oct 1928 (5) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, August 1935 (d-f) w/o, from Mitford Abraham Collection (g-h) derelict with cap, 1950s or 60s (i) governors and tentering gear (j) with new cap, 1985, as Dolman (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (7) WG (a-e) w/o (f-g) derelict with cap, October 1962

SURFLEET, post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (from "The Lincoln-shire," Boston and Spalding Free Press 15 October c1912) (2) WG (a-c) w/o

SUTTERTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1970
(2) NMR (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, Sept 1946 (b) derelict with cap, June 1935 (3) MLL (a) derelict with cap, 1935 (b-c) derelict with cap (d) derelict with cap, September 1946 (from NMR) (e) capless tower, as Dolman (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1933 (5) WG (a) derelict with cap (b-d) capless tower, c1925 (e) capless tower, April 1963 (f) capless tower, May 1972 (g) derelict with cap, under WIGTOFT

SUTTON-ON-SEA, tower windpump; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) derelict with remains of cap frame, 1982 (b) lift pump, 1982 (2) MLL (a-b) derelict, September 1970 (c) derelict, 1963 or previously (d) derelict (e) derelict, as Dolman (f) lift pump, 1982, as Dolman (3) WG (a) derelict, c1960 (b) derelict, 1967

SUTTON ST JAMES, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1972 (b) stone floor with stones and spur wheel, 1983 (2) NMR
(a) capless tower, June 1933 (3) Croft (a) w/o (4) WG (a) w/o, mid-distance with lower part hidden by trees, c1908 (b-c) capless tower, April 1963

SWABY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1985
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1948 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) stump of tower (d) stump of tower, as Dolman (4) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, mid-distance (d-f) w/o, 1885 (g-h) stump of tower, 1962

SWINESHEAD, North End tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) tower preser-ved and roofed over pending restoration, 1985 (2) NMR (a) w/o save for missing fan, 1931 (b) ditto, June 1932 (c) derelict with cap, 1935 (d) ditto, n.d. (e) ditto, June 1935 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) MLL (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, 1928 (e) w/o except for missing fan, May 1932 (f) w/o except for missing fan, June 1932 (g) derelict with cap, June 1935 (h) derelict with cap, 1935 (i) derelict with cap (part missing) (j) preserved tower, as Dolman (6) Wailes (WIE) (a) cross leaning against tower wall (7) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1933 (b) disused with cap, May 1934 (c) disused with cap, August 1934 (d) disused with cap, June 1935 (8) WG (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1910 (g) capless tower, April 1963

SWINESHEAD, South End, Abbey Road, tower mill (Houlder's Mill); (1) NMR (a-b) w/o, August 1935 (c) w/o, June 1935 (d) June 1932 (e) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1946 (2) UOM (JRL) w/o, March 1928, from Mitford Abraham collection (3) MLL (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, captioned Houlder's Mill (e) w/o, 1928 (f) w/o, June 1935 (g-h) w/o, August 1935 (i) w/o, June 1932 (j) w/o, 1910 (k) w/o, 1935 (l-m) w/o, c1910 (Lincolnshire Life September 1970) (n) w/o, 1928 (photocopy of Abraham photo) (o) w/o, with men working on sails - new ones just fitted - from Standard, August(?) 1926 (p) derelict with four sails, September 1946 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (b) w/o, August 1933 (c) w/o, June 1935 (5) WG (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, c1910 (f) castellated tower, April 1967

SWINESHEAD, Drayton Mill, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, c1906

TETNEY, post mill; (1) RW (LW) (a) w/o (2) Croft (a) w/o (c1911?) (3) MLL (a-c) w/o (d-e) w/o but with some shutters missing (4) WG (a) derelict with 4 sails (wrongly filed under South Killingholme) (b-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1890 (g) w/o, c1900 (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (captioned South Killingholme)

THEDDLETHORPE ST HELENS, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap, July 1942 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (poor reproduction) (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934 (under Theddlethorpe All Saints) (4) WG (a-e) derelict with four sails (f-g) derelict with four sails, c1925 (h-i) rubble on ground after demolition, April 1963

TOYNTON ALL SAINTS, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) disused with sails, 1951 (b) house converted tower, 1985 (2) MLL (a) w/o before fitting of fantail, with hand winding wheel (b-f) w/o (g) w/o, as Dolman (h) w/o, August 1942 (i) w/o, close-up of sail (j-k) capless tower, May 1969 (l) capless tower, 1980s? (m) capless tower, 1985, as Dolman (n) view of stone floor with one pair of stones, and part of great spur wheel, stone nut and upright shaft (o-q) one pair of stones with stone furniture and gearing; appears to be situated located in an outbuilding (only one photo shows the gearing) (3) NMR (a) w/o, August 1942 (4) WG (a-j) w/o (k-n) w/o with hand winding wheel (o) w/o with hand winding wheel, c1900 (p) in course of dismantling, with cap frame and remains of stocks still on (q) in course of dismantling, with men standing on roof and remains of cap frame still on; stocks on ground (r) in course of dismantling, with timbers of cap frame being lowered to ground (s-u) detail of sail (v-y) detail of machinery, 1963 (z-ac) view of stone floor (ad-ae) capless tower, December 1962

TRUSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) converted stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) w/o, with 2 out of 4 sails, August 1934
(b-c) w/o, 1897 (these photos also show post mill) (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o with 2 sails, March 1928 (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) MLL (a-i) w/o (also shows post mill) (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (7) WG (a-g) w/o (h-k) w/o, mid-distance (l-m) w/o with 2 sails (n) w/o, also shows post mill disused with 2 sails c1870 (o) w/o, also shows post mill disused with 2 sails c1890 (p) w/o, also shows post mill disused with 2 sails (q) stump of tower, 1962 (r) stump of tower, 1963 (s) stump of tower, April 1963

TRUSTHORPE, post mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict, with no sails and in near-skeleton condition, 1897 (these photos also show tower mill) (2) MLL (a-b) w/o (c-k) w/o with 2 sails (also shows tower mill, w/o) (3) WG (a) w/o (d) disused with 2 sails, also shows tower mill (e) disused with 2 sails, c1870, also shows tower mill (f) disused with 2 sails, c1890, also shows tower mill

ULCEBY, post mill; (1) MLL (a-b) w/o (2) WG (a-d) w/o with 2 sails (e) surviving roundhouse, May 1963

ULCEBY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a-b) w/o
Note: this mill is possibly same as Station Road, Alford, in view of its location

WADDINGHAM, Anderson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) cap-less tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o (newspaper cutting) (3) Croft (a) w/o, early C20 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935 (5) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1906 (e) capless tower, October 1963

WADDINGTON, Worsdell's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1934 (3) UOM (JRL) disused with cap, Oct 1928 (4) MLL (a-d) derelict with 2 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, June 1935 (6) WG (a-c) derelict with two sails (d-e) derelict with two sails, April 1927 (f) stump of tower, April 1963

WAINFLEET ALL SAINTS, Salem Bridge tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, c1900 (b) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1935 (b-c) ditto, 1968 (3) UOM (JRL) capless tower, in middle distance with w/cock or w/vane on top, March 1928 (4) Major and Watts (a) w/o, 1915 (4) Croft (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) castellated tower, June 1935 (6) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1910 (d-e) w/o, middle distance (f-i) w/o at Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee, 1897, in one view partly obscured by tent (j) castellated tower, April 1963 (k) castellated tower, distant view

WAINFLEET ST MARY, Key's Toft tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) castellated tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (b) w/o, August 1935 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b-c) w/o, June 1935 (d) w/o, September 1946 (5) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1926(?) (d) w/o, c1910 (e) w/o, with new sail being fitted (f) w/o, 1926 (g) w/o, September 1926 (h) derelict with cap, April 1963 (i) w/o, 1947 (must be another mill in view of clashing dates: is captioned "Picker's Mill")

WALTHAM, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1985 (still with only 4 sails) (2) Blythman (a) disused with 4 sails, 1977 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o with 6 sails, late C19/early C20 (4) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o with 4 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 4 sails, August 1934 (6) WG (a-c) w/o with 4 sails, mid-distance (d-h) w/o with 4 sails (i-j) w/o with 4 sails, distant view (k) w/o with 4 sails, mid-late C20 (l-m) w/o with 4 sails, c1920-30 (n) w/o with 4 sails, 1970 (o) w/o with 4 sails, c1970 (p) w/o with 6 sails, c1905 (q) w/o with 6 sails, c1910 (r-u) w/o with 6 sails, c1865 (date wrong), with large crowd of people in foreground - mill newly built? (3 of these are wrongly filed under Scartho as Colebrooke Mill) (v) man on fantail, 1966 (w) man on fantail, 1966 (x-ao) restoration, late 1970s: cap roof dismantled but windshaft, cross and fanstage still on, brakewheel apparently removed (some of these photos show men working on top of tower, some not) (ap-aq) base of tower, late 1970s/early 1980s (ar) restoration: man working inside mill

WALTHAM, post mill; (1) Rex Wailes had a photo according to his TNS paper. In the mill's entry in the Simmons notes it says "photo of mill in Grimsby Library"; "Photo in Grimsby Collection dated 1865"; "Another photo of mill rebuilt after gale"; "Mr Plaskitt of Fulstow says Mr Rogers has a photo of Waltham post mill" (2) WG (a-e) w/o, c1865 (d) w/o, c1860 (but appears to be same photo as the others)

WELBOURNE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, June 1936 (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1905

WELLINGORE, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) w/o, with 4 out of 6 sails, 1931 (b) ditto, June 1934 (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, Oct 1928 (4) SMS (a) w/o, 1928 (5) Croft (a) w/o with 4 sails (6) MLL (a) w/o with 6 sails, c1910 (b-d) w/o with 6 sails (7) Wailes (WIE) (a) close-up of fan and drive to cap (b) weights for striking chain (8) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with four sails, August 1931 (9) WG (a-f) w/o with 4 sails (g-h) w/o with four sails, middle distance (i-j) w/o with 6 sails (k) winding gear in cap (l) capless tower (m) view of stone floor

WELTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, c1900

WEST BUTTERWICK, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) RW (LW) (a) view of cross from top of tower (cap missing) (3) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) sack hoist (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (6) MLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, but becoming derelict with some boards missing from cap (d) capless tower (e) capless tower, 1978, as Dolman (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails (8) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, with some fan blades and shutters missing (d) capless tower (e-f) capless tower, 1962 (g) capless tower, May 1962

WEST HALTON, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1906

WESTON, post mill; (1) MLL (a-c) w/o (d) w/o (from "Lincs Free Press (Spalding)", 1st Dec 1964) (2) Croft (under Weston Hills) (a) w/o, 1914 (3) WG (under Hunley) (a) w/o, c1910 (b) w/o, c1930 (date wrong) (4) Rex Wailes had a photo of this mill according to RW (LW)

WHAPLODE, Shepeau Stow tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1983 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, Sept 1932 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1928 (captioned "between Portland Station and Holbeach Drove") (4) MLL (a-c) w/o (5) WG (a-e) derelict with 4 sails (f) capless tower, April 1963

WILDMORE, Haven Bank tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) MLL (a) w/o (3) WG (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1925 (d-e) derelict with cap

WILLOUGHBY see SLOOTHBY

WINTERTON, tower mill; (1) MLL (a) w/o, 2 sails (b) castellated tower (2) WG (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1905 (b-c) family group at base of tower, c1855 (d) castellated tower

WOODHALL SPA, Kirkstead Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1936 (3) WG (a) tower with conical roof and chimney, c1907 (b) capless tower, c1960 (c) capless tower (d) stump of tower in course of dismantling, May 1963

WOOLSTHORPE, Stenwith tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (MNR has "Colsterworth, Woolsthorpe", photo showing remains of tower mill base 1939 - same mill?) (2) MLL (a) stump of tower (b) stump of tower, as Dolman (3) WG (a) stump of tower

WORLABY, tower mill; (1) MLL (a-b) derelict with cap (2) WG (a-c) derelict with cap (d) derelict with cap, 1925

WRAGBY, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977
(2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o (from "Lincolnshire Life" July 1975) (4) WG (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1906 (e) capless tower

WRANGLE, Toft Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1935 (3) MLL (a) w/o (4) WG (a) w/o, c1908 (caption says "may be Reeson's Mill") (b) w/o (c-d) capless tower, March 1963

WRANGLE, Hanson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1935 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o, c1920 (c-d) capless tower, March 1963 (e) capless tower, June 1963

WRAWBY, post mill; (1) Vince 1969 (a) derelict with 2 adjacent sails (2) Dolman (LW) (a) w/o, 1978 (b) tailwheel and stones, 1985 (c) tail governor, 1985 (3) Wailes (RW, LW) (a) w/o (b) brakewheel and stones (c) tailwheel and sackhoist (4) Freese (a) w/o (with tarred buck) (5) Hills (a) w/o, August 1990 (6) de Little 2 (a) w/o, 1990s (7) MLL (a-c) w/o, with 2 common and 2 spring sails (d-n) w/o (o) w/o, Lincolnshire Times September 1970 (p) w/o, 1978, as Dolman (q) w/o (Lincolnshire Times 16th June 1967) (r) w/o (in silhouette), Lincs Life August 1967 (s) w/o, Lincs Life September 1970 (t) w/o, 23rd March 1969 (u) w/o, 28th March 1969 (v) w/o, 1934 (w) w/o, December 1992 (x) w/o, restoration leaflet MLL 3749 (date?) (y) w/o, Lincs Times 25th July 1967 (z) w/o, 1980s or 90s (aa-aj) w/o, when tarred (ak-al) w/o (postcard, 1996) (am-an) w/o (postcard, 1960s or 70s) (ao-ap) w/o, 1971 (aq-ar) junction of post and crosstree (as) with damaged sails after 1979 gale damage (at-az) 7 views of damaged sails after 1979 gale, and sails being removed (aaa-aab) miller attending to sails, early-mid C20 (aac) John Sass adjusting shutters, 7th July 1967 (aad) derelict with 2 adjacent sails, restoration leaflet MLL 3749 (as above) (aae) derelict with 2 adjacent sails, postcard (aaf) tailstones and tail wheel, 1985, as Dolman (aag) tail governor, 1985, as Dolman (aah) ladder and tailpole, 1971 (aai) detail of sail, 1971 (aaj) new sails being fitted, 1981 (Scunthorpe Evening Telegraph) (aak) new sails being fitted, 1981 (Lincs and South Humberside Echo) (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, 31.5.1947 (date must be wrong) (c-e) derelict with broken stocks and 2 sail frames, 31.5.1947 (f) derelict, June 1934 (9) Wailes (TEW) (a-c) miller adjusting spring sails (10) Vince 1993 (a) restored to w/o (11) SPAB, WIAWOTV 1986 (a) restored to w/o (12) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) restored to w/o (13) Vince 1973 (a) restored to w/o (14) Vince 1984 (a) restored to w/o (15) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (16) NMR (a-d) w/o (e) derelict: view inside round-house showing trestle (f) derelict: looking up through mill at post, crowntree and one pair of stones, part of brakewheel also visible (g) derelict: looking up through mill at roof boarding and framing (h-i) as restored, middle distance (j-k) as restored (l) as restored, from Lincolnshire Life November 1971) (m) very derelict with no sails (n) as restored: part of spring sail (o) as restored: spring sail being set (p) as restored: windshaft, brakewheel and sackhoist (q) as restored: windshaft, brakewheel and one pair of stones (r-s) as restored: stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (t) as restored: underside of one pair of stones with bridge tree and governor (u) as restored: view of trestle (v) as restored: view of spout floor with post, crowntree, bridge tree and governor (w) as restored: windshaft and tailwheel with one pair of stones dismantled for dressing (17) WG (a) derelict with two adjacent sails (b-c) w/o with 2 common sails (d-e) w/o (f) w/o, April 1937 (g-i) w/o, August 1932 (j-k) after restoration with group gathered at base of mill for opening ceremony (l-n) as restored (o) as restored: close-up of sails and cross (p) as restored: ladder and tailpole (q) removal of old sails from derelict mill prior to restoration (r) as restored, 1966 (s) as restored, 1977 (?) (t) as restored: close-up of 2 sails (u-w) as restored, 1966, with 2 sails in position (x) tea break inside mill, June 1965 (y) party standing at top of steps, June 1965 (z-ad) first pair of new sails being fitted, June 1965 (ae) as restored: tailwheel (af) as restored: view of spout floor (ag) post and crosstrees (printed upside down), 1932 (ah) view of interior of mill, 1932 (ai) restoration: framing of new body erected with windshaft, cross, brake- and tailwheel in place, 1962-3 (aj) sub-structure of derelict mill (ak) as restored: governors, bridgetree and underside of stone (al) as restored: governors, bridgetree, post and underside of stone, 1966 (am) sack hoist, 1966 (an) brakewheel and windshaft, 1966 (ao) brakewheel, 1966 (ap) brakewheel, windshaft, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones, 1966 (aq) windshaft, brakewheel and one pair of stones, mid-C20 (ar-at) derelict, 1962 (au) derelict, 1962(?) (av-ay) derelict, c1962 (az) derelict: close-up of two sails (ba) derelict: close-up of two sails, 1962

WYBERTON, tower mill; (1) Dolman (LW) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, June 1933
Note: this mill is possibly same as Boston, Wyberton Road

WYBERTON, post mill; (1) Rex Wailes had a photograph of this mill according to RW (LW)

LINCOLNSHIRE: WG have a photo of a structure at Guy's Head, Sutton Bridge, which is called the "Lighthouse" but could be the tower of a windmill. It has been converted into something or other with an octagonal extension roof



MIDDLESEX

CLERKENWELL, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (WISAGB) (a) stump of tower, October 1974 (under Islington) (2) Blythman (WAWOM) (a) stump of tower, December 1994

EDMONTON, post mill; (1) Middlesex Quarterly, 1954 (a) w/o
(2) Enfield Library, c/o London Borough of Enfield Central Library, Cecil Road, Enfield Middx (a) derelict, 1904, with sail frames removed (b) derelict, 1904, with stocks still on but body in skeleton condition (3) Blythman (WAWOM) (a) derelict, 1904, with sail frames removed (b) derelict, with stocks still on but body in skeleton condition (4) NMR (a) derelict, with stocks still on but body in skeleton condition

ENFIELD, smock mill; (1) Blythman (WAWOM) (2) Enfield Library, as Edmonton (a) w/o, with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (c) derelict with no sails

HAMPTON, smock mill; (1) Blythman (WAWOM) (a) derelict, with 4 sails and remains of fantail (heavily retouched) (2) book on local history of Hampton area in old photographs, title unknown (a) der-elict with 4 sails and remains of fantail

HOUNSLOW, post mill; (1) Blythman (WAWOM) (a-b) w/o (2) Treaty Centre Library, High Street, Hounslow (a-b) w/o (c) ruins after fire

MONKEN HADLEY, mill of unknown type; (1) Barnet Museum, 31 Wood Street, Barnet EN5 4BE (a) distant view showing mill, with sails, as little more than an outline on the horizon

TWICKENHAM, possible tower mill; (1) Blythman (WAWOM) (a) "tower" with conical roof, mid-late C20

WILLESDEN, smock mill; (1) Blythman (WAWOM) (a) w/o (2) Cricklewood Library, Olive Road, Cricklewood NW2 (a) w/o

NORFOLK, corn mills

ACLE, Disney's Mill, tower mill; (1) David Holmes, "Britain In Old Photographs: Back To The Broads", Alan Sutton 1998 (a) w/o with 2 sails, c1914 (caption says mill working by steam at this time) (2) NCL (a) w/o, 4 sails (negative, in Unwin Collection)

ALBURGH, post mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o (c-e) w/o, c1903

ASHBY ST MARYS, post mill: (1) NRLM (a) w/o

ASLACTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) capless tower, August 1972 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, June 1933 (b) tower only, Sept 1947 (4) NCL (a) capless tower, June 1963 (b) w/o, as Apling (c) derelict with 4 sails (5) NWT (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1971 (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, September 1939

ATTLEBOROUGH (type? was it Hargham Road tower mill); (1) uniden-tified book, including section on windmills, of which there was a copy in Nottingham Central Library in 1991 (a) sack hoist drive

ATTLEBOROUGH, Hargham Road, New Mills, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o c1888, in negative form

AYLSHAM, Cawston Road, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1978 (3) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (4) NWT (a) capless tower, 1972 (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (6) NMR (a) tower with cap frame, April 1937

AYLSHAM, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower, 1937

BANHAM, Mill Road post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1914 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1980 (3) NMR (a) roundhouse, June 1933 (b) ditto, April 1937 (c) surviving roundhouse with roof removed exposing trestle, 1949 (4) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse with post sticking up through top

BANHAM, composite mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes (TEW)
(a) w/o (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving "tower", May 1980 (4) NMR (a) derelict with sails down to stocks, June 1933 (b) ditto, April 1937 (c) ditto, September 1947 (d-e) surviving tower, July 1973 (5) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with stocks, May 1948 (6) NWT (a) surviving tower, 1970 (7) TIMS Transactions 3rd Symposium 1973 (a) w/o (8) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with stocks, August 1933 (c) derelict with stocks, June 1935 (d) derelict with stocks, June 1936

BARNHAM BROOM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) tower with conical roof (2) Norfolk News 29 March 1957 (a) derelict with 2 sails, windshaft and brakewheel (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) the few surviving courses of brickwork, May 1980 (4) NMR (a) tower as Apling, April 1935 (5) NWT (a-b) tower with conical roof (6) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, June 1935

BARTON TURF, post mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse walls with metal windpump erected inside, May 1980 (2) NWT (a-b) surviving roundhouse

BEDINGHAM, smock mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) NCL (a) w/o (?) with cap, fan and one sail frame visible, and Woodton post mill in foreground

BESTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) disused with 2 sails, 1934 (2) NCL (a) w/o (3) NWT (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails

BILLINGFORD, post mill (predecessor to tower mill); (1) NRLM (a) wreckage on ground after mill blown down, 1859

BILLINGFORD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1932 (b) w/o, 1957: close-up of cap, fantail and sails (2) de Little (a) shortly after ceasing work, with 2 sails, 1950s (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (4) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) sack hoist (5) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as preserved, June 1971 (6) NMR (a) w/o, 1950 (b) w/o, August 1932 (c) w/o (d-e) w/o, June 1939 (f) w/o, May 1934 (g-h) as preserved, July 1973 (7) UOM (JRL) (a-d) w/o, Sept 1947 (8) NCL (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1950s (b) as preserved, August 1962 (c-d) w/o, early to mid-C20 (e) as preserved (f) close-up of cap and 2 surviving sails, March 1960 (9) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o with 4 sails, as Apling (c-d) w/o, as Wailes TEW (e) derelict with 2 sails, 1958 (f) derelict with 2 sails (g) w/o, 1930 (h) 2 new sails being fitted, 1977 (i) as preserved, 1960s or 70s (postcard) (10) GYL (a) new steel stock in course of fitting, Eastern Daily Press 15th July 1977 (11) Alderton and Booker (a) as preserved (12) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) unloading sacks of flour at the mill, 1950 (13) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (14) Vince 1977 (a) as restored (15) WG (a) w/o (16) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1933 (c) w/o, May 1935 (d) w/o, June 1935

BIXLEY, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) truncated tower, May 1980

BLAKENEY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) derelict with cap and broken stocks, 1950s (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and broken stocks, 1975 (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and broken stocks, May 1970 (4) Wailes (BWAW) (a) wallower (5) NMR (a) derelict with 3 sails, June 1932 (6) NCL (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1950s? (b) derelict with stocks and collapsing cap, May 1963 (c-d) w/o (7) SMS (HC) (a) tower preserved with flat roof, 1983 (8) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, as Apling (c) w/o, close-up of chain pole (d) derelict with cap and broken stocks, 1951 (e) ditto, 1958 (f) tower with cap frame after removal of windshaft and stocks prior to repairs, 1980 (9) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1984 (a) derelict with cap and stocks, middle distance (10) WG (a) disused with stocks (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap and broken stocks, August 1938

BLOFIELD, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) disused with cap

BOOTON, post mill, moved from Reepham; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) ruined roundhouse, May 1979 (3) NCL (a) w/o (4) NWT (a) w/o (b) ruined roundhouse (5) NRLM (a) w/o

BRADWELL, post mill; (1) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, 1938 (2) SMA (a-b) w/o

BRESSINGHAM, smock mill; (1) Cross (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) w/o, mid-distance (b) derelict with cap, mid-distance (3) NMR (a) stump of smock with conical roof, August 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump of smock, August 1933 (5) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, with post mill buck on ground nearby

BRININGHAM, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1875: view of lower part of body and roundhouse

BRININGHAM, post mill(2); (1) Apling (a) surviving roundhouse, post and crowntree, just visible behind ladder of Briningham (1) in above photograph

BRININGHAM, smock mill; (1) Apling (a) brick tower built on smock mill base, 1982 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) brick tower built on smock mill base, May 1980 (3) NWT (a) datestone (b) tower only

BROOME, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1977 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

BURGH CASTLE, tower mill; (1) SMA (a-b) w/o

BURGH ST MARGARET, tower mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negat-ive form) (a) w/o

BURGH ST PETER, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) stump of tower, August 1975 (3) NWT (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) stump of tower, 1970 (4) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting)

BURNHAM MARKET, post mill; (1) NWT (a-c) derelict with one sail

BURNHAM OVERY, Union Mills, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill) (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1893 (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) capless tower, April 1970 (3) NMR (a-b) capless tower, 1951
(4) NCL (a) w/o, as Apling (5) NWT (a) capless tower, 1961 (b) capless tower, 1971 (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

BURNHAM OVERY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) restored as house conversion, 1957 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as house conversion, April 1970 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails prior to house conversion, June 1932 (4) NCL (a-c) as house-conversion (d) as house-conversion, May 1963 (e) as house-conversion, 1979 (e) close-up of cap and 2 surviving sails, March 1960 (5) NWT (a) as house-converted, 1960 (b-c) as house-converted, 1971 (6) KLM (a) as house-converted (7) KLL (a) surrounded by scaffolding for repairs, EDP 1st April 1981 (8) NWT (ROWAWIN) (a) as house-converted (b) as house-converted, 1971 (9) Vince (a) as house-converted (10) UOK (MC) (a) as house-converted, August 1938, looking a little shabby with some fan blades missing (11) NCL (RW) (a-b) with scaffolding up for repairs

BURSTON, tower mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o (2) NCL (a) derelict with cap and half of one stock visible (other pair of sails missing)
(3) Cross 2 (a) w/o (4) DM (a) derelict with two sails

CAISTER ON SEA, Beach Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, 1890

CARBROOKE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Johnson (a) derelict: view of top of tower showing cap frame, windshaft, winding gear and remains of fan frame (3) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) wallower and sack hoist drive (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, September 1970 (b) tower preserved with windshaft etc removed, May 1980 (5) NMR (a-c) derelict with cap, 1948 (d) disused with cap, June 1933 (e) w/o (f) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, July 1973 (6) NCL (a) w/o, 1871 (7) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1871 (8) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, June 1936

CARLETON RODE, Bunwell Street, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails, June 1933 (b) disused with 4 sails, Sept 1947 (c) disused with cap and 4 sails, 1936 (captioned Black Crow Mill) (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) stones and their drive (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) disused with sails, 1947 (4) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails, March 1960 (5) NWT (a) w/o (b-c) w/o(?), with shutters removed but man working on one of the sails, 1933 (d-e) derelict with 4 sails (f) derelict with 4 sails, 1956 (g) Mr Olley of East Ruston with new brakewheel for Carleton Rode mill, mid-C20 (6) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails, newspaper cutting

CASTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brakewheel (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) disused with 4 sails, September 1970 (4) NMR (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, Sept 1934 (e) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1947 (f-g) derelict with 4 sails, July 1973 (h-i) under repair, with 4 sails, 1979 (5) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1950s? (b) w/o, 1932 (6) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1932 (d-e) w/o, 1935 (f) derelict with 4 sails (g) ditto, September 1950 (h-i) derelict with 4 sails, 1971 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, September 1934

CATFIELD, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) derelict with one stock (b) derelict with one stock, June 1932 (c) derelict with one stock, Sept 1934 (d) w/o, as Apling (3) NCL (a) derelict with one stock, 1931 (b) derelict with one stock, April 1934 (c-h) internal views, April 1934: brakewheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones; interior of roundhouse; crosstrees; brakewheel and brake mechanism; sack hoist (4) NWT (a-e) w/o (f) derelict with half of one stock (5) GYL (a) w/o (n/paper cutting) (b) derelict with 4 sails (newspaper cutting) (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with one stock, September 1934 (b) derelict with one stock, June 1933 (c) post lying on ground, March 1944

CAWSTON, White Mill, Southgate, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o
(2) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1938 (b) ditto, April 1937 (c) ditto (d-e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel(?) and 4 sails, 1948 (Most of these photos also show Black Mill) (3) WG (a) derelict with 4 sails, also shows Black Mill derelict with 2 sails (4) NCL (a) disused with 4 sails (b) stump of tower, May 1963 (5) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower May 1970 (6) NWT (ROWAWIN) (a) stump of tower (7) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1970

CAWSTON, Black Mill, Southgate, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o
(2) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1938 (b-c) ditto, April 1937 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails, windshaft and brakewheel, 1948 (3) WG (a) derelict with 2 sails, also shows White Mill derelict with 4 sails (4) NCL (a-b) disused with 2 sails, 1923

CLAXTON, smock mill; (1) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934 (3) NCL (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, August 1938

CLEY-NEXT-THE-SEA, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as preserved, May 1970 (3) NMR (a-d) as house-converted, 1950s (e) as house-converted, 1932 (f) w/o (4) NCL (a-e) as house-converted (f-g) as house-converted, 1952 (h) as house-converted, 1956? (i) as hc, 1929 (j) ditto 1960? (k) ditto March 1964 (5) NWT (a) w/o, late C19/early C20 (b-c) as house-converted (d) 1713 datestone (6) HM (a) as house-converted (b) as house-converted, middle distance (7) GYL (a) as house-converted, from Eastern Daily Press 12th January 1974 (newspaper cutting) (b-d) as house-converted (e) brakewheel (f) house-converted, 1983 (8) KLL (a) w/o (b) as preserved (9) Vince 1977 (a) as house-converted (10) WG (a) as house-converted, mid-distance (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) as house-con-verted, August 1938

CORPUSTY, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o

COSTESSEY, post mill; (1) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, August 1900

CRANWORTH, smock mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o, c1882

CRINGLEFORD, post mill; (1) Cringleford Historical Society (a) wreckage on ground

CROXTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) stump of tower, May 1980 (3) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1927 (4) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1971 (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower (full height) with conical roof, August 1938

DENTON, post mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o

DENVER, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o
(3) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) sack hoist drive: final slack-belt drive
(b) sack hoist drive: primary drive by bevel ring below wallower
(4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as preserved, May 1979 (b) as preserved, April 1970 (5) NMR (a) w/o, Sept 1932 (b) as preserved (c-e) as preserved, 1947 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, March 1928 (c) w/o, Oct 1927 (d) as preserved, 1946 (7) NCL (a-c) preserved, 1950s/60s (d) preserved, May 1963 (e) as preserved, 80s/90s (f) as preserved, July 1969 (g) as preserved, 1962/3 (h) aerial view (i) under restoration (8) ERO (a) w/o (b) w/o (retouched) (9) NWT (a) w/o, as Apling (b-c) as preserved (d) as preserved, 1965 (e) w/o (f) w/o, 1920s (g) stock ready to receive new sail, 1975 (10) KLM (a) w/o, mid-distance (postcard) (b) w/o, early-mid C20? from Eastern Daily Press 31.1.1997 (c) view of stone floor, 1997, showing one pair of stones with stone nut and quant and part of great spur wheel (11) GYL (a) brakewheel (b-d) surrounded by scaffolding, 1976 (e) as preserved, 1975 (f-g) visitors being shown round inside mill (h) as preserved, LNA 17th July 1990 (i) w/o, early-mid C20, from EDP 22.3.1998 (j) preserved with some shutters in sails, EDP 22.3.1998 (k-l) two views of internal machinery, EDP 22.3.1998 (m) derelict with 2 sails, early 1970s (n) as preserved, 1989? (o-s) preserved with 4 sails, 1970s? (t) restored to w/o with sails fully shuttered, Lynn News 3rd October 2000 (u) stocks in process of being removed, EDP 5th July 1991 (v) mill as preserved, LNA 29.3.1991 (w) as preserved, EDP 8th May 1993 (x) as preserved (sunset silhouette), EDP 31.1.1997 (y-z) removal of stocks, Citizen (newspaper) 10th July 1991 (12) Wailes (WIE) (a) brakewheel and wallower (13) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as restored (14) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, June 1936 (c-f) preserved with sail frames, May 1950

DEOPHAM GREEN, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (3) NWT (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1936

DEREHAM, Toftwood, post mill; (1) HESS says there is a photo of this mill in existence

DERSINGHAM, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1906

DICKLEBURGH, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, distant view

DILHAM, Staithe Mill, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) w/o

DISS, Shelfanger Road post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted roundhouse, May 1980 (3) NWT (a) surviving roundhouse, 1978

DISS, Victoria Road, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1926 (2) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (b) interior view of cap framing (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, June 1971 (4) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, Sept 1934 (b) derelict with 2 sails (c) house-converted stump of tower, July 1973 (5) UOM (JRL) (a) stump of tower, December 1947 (6) NCL (a) brakewheel and wallower (b) interior of cap, as Wailes (c) derelict with 2 sails (7) Cross (a) w/o (8) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, August 1925 (d) w/o, as Apling (e-g) w/o, mid-distance (h) house-converted stump of tower (9) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (b-c) derelict with cap, August 1938 (10) DM (a) w/o

DISS, Victoria Road, Chase's mill, smock mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1900 (c) w/o, distant view (also shows Chaplyn's post mill) (2) DM (a) w/o

DISS, Chaplyn's mill, post mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, distant view (also shows Chase's smock mill)

DISS, Sandy Lane, post mill; (1) Unwin (a) being dismantled, 1902: ladder, roundhouse and most of body still intact

DITCHINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap, June 1932 (b) ditto, Sept 1934

EAST BRADENHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) w/o

EAST DEREHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with cap, 1948 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1970 (b) tower preserved with flat roof, windshaft and brakewheel removed awaiting restoration, May 1981 (3) NMR (a) As Apling, June 1948 (b-d) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (e) ditto, 1973 (f) ditto, July 1973 (g-i) internal views (4) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1963 (5) NWT (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1959 (c) roofed-over tower, 1979 (d) derelict with cap, as Apling (e-f) derelict with cap

EAST DEREHAM, Quebec Road, post mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o, distant view

EAST HARLING, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1905-8
(2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with cap (no windshaft), September 1970 (3) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) tower preserved with new cap and windshaft (4) NMR (a) disused with cap (no windshaft), April 1937 (b) ditto, Sept 1947 (c-d) derelict with cap but no windshaft, July 1973 (5) NWT (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap but no windshaft, 1970 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap but no windshaft, June 1936

EAST RUDHAM, post mill; (1) NWT (a-c) w/o

EAST RUNTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) derelict with cap frame and part of cap gallery, May 1980
(3) NMR (under East Ruston) (a) derelict with cap (4) NCL (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap frame and gallery, May 1963 (d) w/o, early C20 (e-f) derelict with cap frame and gallery, January 1964 (5) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap frame and gallery, 1970 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1938

EAST RUSTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1909 (2) Wailes, NW1
(a) bell alarm (b) rigger for disengaging stone nut (3) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) bell alarm (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1979 (5) NMR (a-b) disused with 2 sails, Sept 1934 (c-e) disused with cap and 1 stock, 1963 (f-h) tower with cap frame and damaged stage, 1963 (i) close-up of damaged stage, 1963 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, November 1948 (7) NCL (a) disused with cap and one stock, May 1963 (b) w/o, 1909 (c) w/o, c1900 (d) w/o, c1900? (e) derelict with cap and one stock, March 1960 (8) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) capless tower (9) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) bell alarm (10) WG (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (c) capless tower, 1972 (11) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, September 1934

EAST RUSTON, High Mill, post mill; (1) Apling (a) surviving roundhouse, 1979 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1979 (3) NWT (a-b) ruined roundhouse

EAST WRETHAM, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted tower, May 1980 (note: Apling's photo of this mill is in fact of Thelnetham mill, Suffolk) (2) NMR (a-d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, Sept 1947 (3) NWT (a) house-converted tower (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, June 1936

EMNETH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1935 (2) "Britain In Old Photographs: Wisbech", R Powell and R Bell, Sutton Publishing Ltd 1997 (a) w/o, 1905 (bottom half of tower hidden by building) (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1935

ERPINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1981
(2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1981 (3) NWT (a-b) stump of tower

FAKENHAM, Holt Road, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1974 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as Apling, May 1979
(3) NWT (a) house-converted stump of tower

FELTWELL, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1910 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, August 1981 (3) NMR (a-b) disused with cap, June 1936 (4) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o, from "Eastern Daily Press" 15.12.1926 (also shows post mill) (5) NWT (a) w/o, c1910 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and remains of gallery, June 1936

FELTWELL, post mill (with annular sail); (1) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o, from "Eastern Daily Press" 15.12.1926 (also shows tower mill)
(2) Feltwell Historical and Archaeological Society c/o 16 High Street, Feltwell, Thetford, IP26 4AF (a) w/o (also shows tower mill), Blythman has copy

FORNCETT END, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) NCL (a) w/o, Sept 1927 (b) w/o, Jan 1928 (c) w/o apart from hole in boarding of body, c1930 (d-f) w/o (g) w/o apart from hole in boarding, March 1929 (h) governors (i) bottom of trees and crosstrees (j) sack hoist and sack drive (k) horns of main post and crosstrees (l) joint between crosstree and quarterbar (3) NWT (a-c) w/o (4) NCL (RW) (a) w/o
(5) Blythman (a) w/o, also shows Knight's Mill

FORNCETT END, Knight's Mill, post mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o, 1902 (2) Blythman (a) w/o, also shows other Forncett End Mill

FOULSHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1979 (3) NCL (a) burnt out tower, June 1912 (b) w/o (4) NWT (a-c) w/o (d) capless tower only, 1970 (e) capless tower, 1980

FOXLEY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1970 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1980 (3) NWT (a) stump of tower

FRETTENHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) capless tower, 1970
(2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, 1970 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, July 1938 (4) SML (SC) (a) derelict with cap frame

GARBOLDISHAM, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Blythman (a-b) w/o (c-d) derelict with 2 sails and buck leaning, 1970 (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with 2 sails and buck leaning, September 1970 (b) under repair, with boarding patched up and buck straightened, 2 sails still on, May 1973 (4) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1965 (c-f) under repair with 2 sails still on, July 1973 (g) ditto, 1973 (h) derelict with 2 sails, 1932 (i) derelict with 2 sails, 1947 (5) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1971 (b) under repair with 2 sails still on, 1976 (6) SRO/I (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1970 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, August 1937 (c-d) derelict with 2 sails, September 1939 (e) striking gear, September 1939 (f) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and stones, September 1939 (8) NCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, May 1963 (b) derelict with 2 sails, 1970 (c) w/o, c1890 (d) w/o, c1900 (e) w/o, c1904 (f) derelict with 2 sails, March 1960 (9) NWT (a) w/o with 2 sails, c1908 (b) w/o with 2 sails, c1910 (c) disused with 2 sails and fan, early-mid C20 (d) repairs just beginning, 1972; body propped at front with man on ladder leaning against it, 2 sails still on (10) the compiler has seen a photograph of the mill just after commencement of repairs in the early 1970s, with the old roundhouse demolished exposing the trestle

GAYTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) glut box with wedge and footstep bearing (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, July 1970 (4) NMR (a) disused with cap, 1948 (b) ditto, 1949 (c) capless tower, July 1973 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (b) w/o, as Apling (6) NWT (a) w/o, 1908 (b) w/o, as Apling (c) capless tower, 1970

GISSING, post mill; (1) unidentified publication (see Attleborough entry) (a) tailwheel and stones (2) NMR (a) disused with 2 sails (3) NCL (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (c) view of fan and ladder, 1923 (d) w/o with 4 sails, c1923 (4) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1923 (d) w/o: view of lower part of mill with fantail, carriage, roundhouse and ladder

GOODERSTONE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, July 1970 (3) NMR (a) capless tower, Sept 1947 (4) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (5) NWT (a) capless tower, 1970

GORLESTON, Cliff Mill, tower mill; (1) SMA (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1885 (2) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails

GREAT BIRCHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) under restoration, with gallery restored but cap and sails not yet fitted, May 1979 (b) under restoration, with cap and 2 sails fitted, May 1981 (3) NMR (a) w/o (same photo as Apling?) (4) NCL (a) derelict with cap, July 1963 (b) w/o (5) NWT (a) new cap on ground just before fitting, October 1979 (6) GYL (a-c) new cap in process of fitting (7) KLL (a-b) new stock being fitted during restoration (c) as restored, 30th October 1990 (d) as restored, 1992 (e) as restored, 1996 (f) restored to w/o with sails fully shuttered, Lynn News 26th March 1999 (g-i) new stock being hoisted into position (one photo showing exterior of tower), EDP 19th February 1981 (8) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, with some shutters in sails, c2000 (9) Apling mentions 1858 photo of mill before the tower was tarred

GREAT DUNHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) stump of tower, May 1970 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, Sept 1934 (4) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (5) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1970

GREAT ELLINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1980 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, Sept 1934 (4) NWT (a) derelict with cap (b) capless tower, 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, September 1934

GREAT SNORING, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o with 2 sails missing, c1910 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) collapsed main post on ground, May 1981 (3) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails but roof gone, March 1928 (b) Great Snoring wreckage of a post mill on the ground after collapse, c1930? (4) UOK (MC) (a) trestle on ground, August 1938

Under Great Snoring see note in Unidentified Mills section

GREAT WALSINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1895 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1981 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1938 (4) NWT (a-b) w/o, 1892-5

GREAT YARMOUTH, Southtown, High's Mill, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Major & Watts (a) w/o (3) Flint (a) w/o (4) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o same as for TEW (5) NCL (a) w/o (6) NWT (a-d) w/o (7) GYL (a) under demolition; tower apparently gutted, stage mostly gone, and outbuildings mostly demolished. Greencap Mill in mid-distance in w/o (b-d) w/o (newspaper cutting) (e) (described as High Mill Cobholm) with fan and shutters gone (looks like Upper Hellesdon: cap looks boat-shaped not domed), from newspaper cutting Eastern Evening News 15.1.1972 (f) w/o (newspaper cutting) (g) w/o, magazine cutting 25.4.1931 (8) SMA (a-b) w/o (c) derelict (d) under demolition, 1905 (9) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o (10) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (11) NCL (RW) (a-b) w/o

GREAT YARMOUTH, Greencap Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (WC) distant view, in photo of Breydon North Wall windpump (2) NCL (a) w/o (3) NWT (a) w/o (4) GYL (a) w/o, in mid-distance (see Southtown) (b) after mill burnt-out; top of tower only seen peeping above gutted granary (5) SMA (a) w/o (b) derelict (photo not seen) (c) ruin after fire (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

GREAT YARMOUTH, Greengrass' Mill, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (2) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1905 (d) w/o c1880 (captioned Cobholm Mill) (3) GYL (a) w/o, partly retouched (b) w/o (4) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

GREAT YARMOUTH, Papworth's Mill, tower mill; (1) GYL (a) w/o

GREAT YARMOUTH, Jetty Mill, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, 1870

GREAT YARMOUTH, James Last's Windmill, tower mill (possibly same as Jetty Mill); (1) Michael Teun, "Great Yarmouth In Old Photographs", Alan Sutton 1995 (a) w/o, 1870s (caption states, "James Last's windmill, north of Albion Road, looking from the Britannia Pier towards Regent Road in the 1870s")

GRESSENHALL, tower (or smock?) mill; (1) NWT (a) distant view, c1910, with cap but no sails

HADDISCOE, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o, c1923 (b) brakewheel, c1923 (c) w/o, April 1930 (captioned "Holton Mill") (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, March 1944

HALES, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1931 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1981 (3) NMR (a) As Apling, 1932 (4) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1979 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

HALVERGATE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1981 (3) NMR (a) As Apling, 1926
(b) As Apling but with only 2 sails, Sept 1934 (4) NCL (a) w/o, Feb 1929 (5) NWT (a) w/o, December 1926 (b) w/o, 1929 (c) w/o, as Apling (d) capless tower, 1976 (6) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (7) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

HAPPISBURGH, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NCL (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, pre-1912 (3) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, as Apling (d) lower part of body with roundhouse, ladder and the two fantails (4) NMR (a) roundhouse, Sept 1934 (under Whimpwell Green) (5) SML (SC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, September 1934 (under Whimpwell Green)

HAPTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails but cap (this view shows roof partly gone), June 1933 (b) ditto, Sept 1934 (2) NCL (under THARSTON) (a) as NMR (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails and cap, June 1933 (b-c) derelict with four sails and cap, August 1933 (d-e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, September 1939

HARDWICK, post mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o

HARLESTON, Jay's Green, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o

HARPLEY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) disused with 2 sails, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1979 (3) NMR (a) as Apling (b) as Apling (side view), August 1933 (4) WG (queried, but definitely Harpley) (a) derelict with 2 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1932

HEMPNALL, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1880 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, August 1972
(b) tower converted to residential home, May 1981 (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1933 (b) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, June 1948 (4) NCL (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, June 1963 (b) w/o (5) NWT (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and most of cap roof (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1933

HEMPTON, tower mill; (1) W and W Section Newsletter January 1984
(a) w/o (2) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with cap (from Eastern Daily Press 23.3.1938) (3) NWT (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1900 (e) w/o, c1903 (f-g) disused with cap (4) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1927

HEMSBY, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o

HICKLING GREEN, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) disused with 4 sails, 1907 (2) Wailes (USIW) (a) great spur wheel and bridging box (3) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) sack hoist drive (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) preserved with cap, May 1980 (5) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1932 (6) Hills (a) new cap under construction on ground, August 1990 (b) great spur wheel and foot of upright shaft, August 1990 (7) NCL (a) preserved with cap (b) disused with 4 sails, 1907, as Apling (8) NWT (a-b) disused with 4 sails, as Apling (c) disused with cap (9) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, March 1944

HILGAY, smock mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o

HINDOLVESTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) house-converted with cap, May 1980 (3) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails (4) NCL (a) w/o, as Apling (5) NWT (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (6) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails (newspaper cutting)

HINDRINGHAM, Lower Green, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1902 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1970 (b) house-converted with replica cap, May 1980 (3) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, August 1938
(5) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) with new cap but no windshaft (6) NWT (a) capless tower, 1970 (b) tower with new cap (c) w/o, 1902 (captioned Upper Mill; is this a different mill?)

HINDRINGHAM, South Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump of tower, August 1938

HINGHAM, Mill Corner, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1910 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, September 1970 (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1933 (b) capless tower, July 1973 (as Apling) (4) NWT (a) w/o, c1910 (b-c) w/o, as Apling (d-e) w/o (f) w/o, during 1914-18 war (g) capless tower, 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1936

HOLT, Heath Mill, post mill; (1) Apling (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1970

HOLT, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1970
(2) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (3) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1909 (c) capless tower, 1970 (4) Bunn (a) w/o, c1908 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

HONINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with cap, 1935 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1970 (3) W and W Section Newsletter October 1983 (a) the house-converted tower (4) NMR (a) As Apling (5) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1963 (6) NWT (a-b) derelict with cap, April 1935 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1970 (7) KLL (a-b) tower surrounded by scaffolding during conversion to house, EDP 28th November 1980 (c) man working at top of tower during conversion to house, EDP 28th November 1980 (d) tower before conversion began, with windshaft and brakewheel removed, EDP 21st October 1981 (e) the house-converted tower, EDP 21/10/1981 (f) interior view of house-converted tower, EDP 21/10/1981 (g) house-converted tower, EDP 5th August 1982

HORNING, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o, pre-1879 (appears partially retouched) (2) NWT (a) as NCL (3) GYL (a) w/o retouched

HORSFORD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, October 1970 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, Sept 1934 (4) NWT (a) w/o (b) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 1970 (c) windshaft being removed by crane, 1982

INGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) capless tower, May 1980 (3) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, Sept 1934 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) capless tower, Nov 1948 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (6) NWT (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1970 (7) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, March 1944

KELLING, post mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) Bunn (a) derelict with 4 sails, as Apling, c1907 (3) UOK (MC) (a) part of centre post on ground, August 1938

KENNINGHALL, Banham Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, Sept 1932 (b) derelict with 2 sails, Sept 1947 (c) w/o, 2 sails (2) Blythman (a) derelict with 2 sails, postcard bought at SPAB Windmill Meeting (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 2 sails, date unknown (4) NCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, May 1963 (b-c) derelict with 2 sails (d) derelict with 2 sails, March 1960 (5) NCL (a) w/o, middle distance; also shows Mill Lane post mill, see below (6) NWT (a) as 7 (b) derelict with 2 sails, 1956 (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1935 (b) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933

KENNINGHALL, Mill Lane, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o, middle distance (also shows Banham Road tower mill, see above) (2) NWT (a) w/o (b) as (1)

KENNINGHALL, Chimney Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (c) ditto, 1932 (d) ditto, 1949 (2) unidentified local newspaper, date unknown (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (decay more advanced than in other photos) in 1950 shortly before mill destroyed by fire (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, date unknown (4) NCL (a) w/o (5) NWT (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1935 (c-e) derelict with 4 sails, September 1939 (f) detail of roundhouse, ladder, lower buck and fan carriage, September 1939 (7) NCL (RW) (a-b) w/o

KINGS LYNN, Tinker's Mill, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) tower only, apparently truncated, March 1928 (b) ditto, Oct or Dec 1927

KING'S LYNN, Gaywood, Homeland Road tower mill; (1) NWT (a-d) w/o (2) NCL (a) w/o, c1913 (3) KLM (a) w/o, pre-1914 (b-c) w/o with 2 sails, in "Bolding Collection" (d) w/o with 4 sails, in Bolding Collection (e) w/o with 2 sails, 1913, in Bolding Collection (f) w/o (4) KLL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (photocopy, mid-distance) (d) w/o, from West Norfolk Mercury 4th June 1992

KING'S LYNN, Wootton Road, tower mill; (1) NWT (a-c) w/o

KING'S LYNN, Turner's Mill, tower mill; (1) KLL (a) looks like mill is under demolition. All but one of the sails have been removed and another is leaning against tower. Large amount of rubble in the foreground and adjacent granary has been partly demolished. The remaining sail is fully shuttered

LANGHAM, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, 1870s (date given by Peter Filby)

LITTLE CRESSINGHAM, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1914 (2) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brake wheel (3) Wailes, NW1 (a) great spur wheel and upright shaft (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1978 (5) NMR (a) disused with cap (b) disused with cap, June 1933 (c-d) derelict with cap, 1948 (e-f) capless tower, July 1973 (g) ditto, 1951 (6) Wailes (SWF) (a) brakewheel and windshaft (7) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (8) NWT (a) w/o (9) KLL (a) upright shaft and great spur wheel (b) the preserved tower with stage, 18th October 1982 (c) the preserved tower, EDP 29th November 1982 (d) the preserved tower, LNA 29.3.1991 (e) preserved tower, EDP 31st May 1989 (f) view of Bramah pump, EDP 31st May 1989 (g) capless tower before restoration started, LNA 10th July 1981 (h) tower under restoration, EDP 26th July 1990 (i+) various views of tower (10) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1933 (11) NCL (RW) (a) capless tower, at key handing-over ceremony

LITTLE MELTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) capless tower, September 1970 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, April 1935 (4) NCL (a) w/o as Apling (5) NWT (a) capless tower (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

LITTLE SNORING, post mill; (1) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1925

Under Little Snoring see note in Unidentified Mills section

LODDON, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (also shows post mill)

LODDON, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (b) w/o (also shows tower mill)
(2) David Holmes, "Britain In Old Photographs: The Norfolk Broads", Alan Sutton 1996 (a) w/o, c1900

LODDON, Chapman's Mill, smock mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (2) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting)

LONG STRATTON, Old Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with sails

LUDHAM, High Mill, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1971 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1932 (4) NCL (a) w/o as Apling (b-c) derelict with 4 sails, June 1926 (5) Snelling (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, March 1944

LUDHAM, How Hill, tower corn mill; (1) Apling (a) the house-converted tower (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1971 (3) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (b) capless tower, c1950? (c) tower only, 1950 (d) capless tower, 1970 (e) capless tower, 1967 (4) NWT (a) capless tower, 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, March 1944

MARHAM, smock mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, June 1935

MATTISHALL, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1972 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1980

MATTISHALL, Mill Street, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1980 (3) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1972 (b) group of people standing at base of tower with horse and cart (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, June 1935

MATTISHALL NMR has two photographs of the stump of a tower mill at Mattishall, dated April 1935, but it is not clear which of the two above it is

METHWOLD, Feltwell Road, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1976 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, July 1970 (3) NCL (a) stump of tower, 1963 (4) UOK MC (a) stump of tower, June 1936

METHWOLD, Brandon Road, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, distant view, c1907 (2) KLM (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, June 1936

METHWOLD NMR has photographs of two tower mills at Methwold:
(1) Barker's Mill (a-b) capless tower, June 1934 (c) capless tower
(2) Whitta's Mill (a) capless tower June 1936
These are presumably Feltwell Road and Brandon Road mills, but which mill is which is impossible to say

MIDDLETON, smock drainage mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, March 1928

MIDDLETON, Blackborough End, tower mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) disused with sails, 1927 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) as SPAB (same photo) (3) NWT (a) w/o (b) disused with sails, 1927 (4) KLM (a) w/o, mid-distance (poor view) (5) KLL (a) disused and becoming derelict with 4 sails

MILEHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with windshaft and 4 sails, 1930s (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, April 1970 (3) NMR (a) as Apling, Sept 1934 (b) capless tower, July 1973 (4) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (5) NWT (a) capless tower, 1970 (6) LHAS (a) w/o, 1890 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, 1960 (date wrong, see mill's appearance in the Apling photo which is dated 1930s) (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft and four sails

MORLEY ST BOTOLPH, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o (apparently: mill only partly seen through tree), c1883

MOULTON ST MARY, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, c1880

MULBARTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) disused with sails, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1973 (3) NCL (a) capless tower, June 1963 (b) disused with 4 sails, Jan 1929 (4) NWT (a) disused with 4 sails (b) ditto, 1934 (c) capless tower

MULBARTON, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) capless smock tower, in very poor condition, September 1939 (b) w/o, in middle distance (2) NCL (a) w/o, in middle distance (b) w/o (c) w/o, early c20 (d) w/o, c1900 (e) w/o, in middle distance (3) NWT (a-d) w/o (e) derelict smock tower, 1934 (f) 6 negatives of mill (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict smock tower, September 1934 (b) surviving base, March 1944 (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

MUNDFORD, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, April 1935 (b) capless tower, Sept 1947 (c) derelict with 4 sails (2) NCL (a) derelict tower with what appear to be slight remains of cap, and with large metal water tank on supports immediately behind it, May 1963 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with four sails and most of cap, June 1936

MUNDHAM, post mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a) ruined roundhouse, August 1938

NEATISHEAD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) curb, rollers and check flange (b) bell alarm (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) tower with conical roof, May 1971 (4) NMR (a) w/o with 2 sails, June 1932 (b) w/o with 4 sails (as Apling), June 1932 (5) NCL (a) tower with conical roof, July 1963 (b) w/o as Apling (6) NWT (a-b) w/o

NECTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) stump of tower, May 1970 (3) NMR (a) stump of tower, Sept 1934
(4) NWT (a-b) w/o, as Apling (5) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower

NEWTON FLOTMAN, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower only, with conical roof, Sept 1934 (2) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, September 1934 (b) tower with conical roof, March 1944

NORTH CREAKE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) capless tower, 1971
(2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1981 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

NORTH LOPHAM, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 sails, 1936 (2) NCL (a) w/o, c1900 (3) NWT (a-d) w/o (e) with sail being removed or fitted (4) Unwin (a) w/o, c1900

NORTH TUDDENHAM, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1914 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1980 (3) NWT (a) w/o, mid-distance, c1912 (b) surviving roundhouse, 1970

NORTH WALSHAM, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, October 1970 (2) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1938

NORTH WALSHAM, Youngman's Mill, post mill; (1) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1920? (2) NWT (a-c) derelict with 4 sails (3) GYL (a-b) surviving trestle and crowntree, 1929 (c) surviving trestle and crowntree, newspaper cutting (4) M McManus, R Fiske and M Ling, "North Walsham In Old Picture Postcards," European Library 1984 (a) derelict with 4 sails

NORWICH, Lakenham tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted tower, May 1976 (3) NMR (a) capless tower (b) capless tower (c) tower undergoing conversion, July 1973 (4) NCL (a) w/o, as Apling (b) capless tower, 1970 (5) NWT (a-b) w/o, 1893 (c) tower under conversion to house, 1973 (d) house-converted tower (e) ditto, 1974 (6) GYL (a) house-converted tower, 1974

NORWICH, Bracondale, tower mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o

NORWICH, Pockthorpe, Magdalen Gates, tower mill; (1) NWT (a-b) tower with part of cap

NORWICH, Carron Hill, Black Tower, tower mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o

OLD BUCKENHAM, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, 1970 (mill in middle distance) (c) partially restored with sails, windshaft etc removed and flat roof in place of cap, and brakewheel leaning against tower, 1979 (2) Wailes (TEW) (a) disused with sails (3) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, 1976 (b) derelict, 1976: view from ground looking up at spider and striking gear (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, September 1970 (5) Apling (a) w/o (6) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (b) ditto, April 1937 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, July 1973 (d-e) as (a) and (b) (f) derelict with cap and sails, 1947 (g) as (f) (h-i) as (f) and (g), Sept 1947 (j) as (a) and (b) (7) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brake wheel and brake (8) Wailes (DSW) (a) great spur wheel and disengagement gear for stone nuts (9) Wailes, NW1 (a) disused with sails (same view as TEW) (10) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, date unknown (11) NCL (a) w/o, c1900 (b-c) derelict with cap and 4 sails, May 1963 (d) derelict with cap and 4 sails, March 1960 (e-f) w/o, as Apling (g) derelict with cap and 4 sails, mid-C20 (12) NWT (a) w/o, c1900 (as NCL) (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, 1971 (c) restored with new cap and sails, 1990s (postcard) (13) SMS (HC) (a+) various views of mill derelict in 1970s (14) GYL (a-b) cap frame being lifted off by crane, October 1976 (c) temporary flat roof being lifted into place by crane, October 1976 (15) WG (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, October 1971 (in "Windmills: Foreign" file) (16) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, June 1936 (17) DM (a) w/o (captioned Brandon - error notified to museum July 2002) (18) Old Buckenham Windmill Committee, The Mills Of Old Buckenham, 1997 (a-b) as restored, 1990s (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1970s (c-d) derelict with cap and four sails, mid-C20 (d) bedstones, 1990s (e) brakewheel and wallower, 1990s (f) top of tower with temporary flat roof, 1990s (g) new cap being made up on ground, 1990s (h) new gear ring being lowered into place on top of tower, 1990s (i) windshaft being fitted to new cap frame, 1990s (i) new cap being lifted into position, 1990s (j) close-up of new brakewheel, 1990s (h) worn steps inside mill (i) millwright John Lawn inside mill (j) section of great spur wheel, 1990s (k) stone nut

ORMESBY ST MARGARET, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap, April 1937 (2) NCL (a) w/o (here called GREAT ORMESBY) (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame, August 1938 (4) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails (newspaper cutting)

OUTWELL, near Wisbech, Church Drove Mill, smock mill (windpump?); (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o, 1892

OXBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, June 1936

PANXWORTH, South Walsham Road, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collec-tion, in negative form) (a) w/o, c1883

PASTON, Stow Mill, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as preserved, October 1970 (3) NMR (a) w/o, 1946
(b) w/o, 1936 (c) w/o (4) SRO/I (a) w/o (5) NCL (a-c) w/o (d) as preserved, 1963 (e) as preserved, 1960s (f) w/o, 1923 (g) as preserved, 1969 (h) w/o, early C20 (6) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1920
(d) as preserved, 1962 (7) KLM (a) preserved but with one damaged sail, c1958 (8) GYL (a) as preserved, 1971 (b) w/o (newspaper cutting) (c) as preserved (9) KLL (a) w/o, EDP 5th August 1982 (10) WG (a-c) w/o (in one photo mill is captioned Mundesly) (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1938 (12) NCL (RW) (a-b) new sails being fitted

PORINGLAND, High Mill, tower mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o, 1890 (b-c) w/o, pre-1906 (2) NWT (a) w/o

POTTER HEIGHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1926 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) tower with conical roof, May 1971 (3) NMR (a) w/o, as Apling (b) derelict with 2 sails down to stocks, June 1932 (c) ditto (and with fan blades gone), Sept 1934 (4) NCL (a) as house-converted, May 1963 (b) as house-converted, middle distance
(a) tower with conical cap, July 1963 (b) w/o, middle distance (house is main subject of photo) (c) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, 1952 (d) derelict with 4 sails, June 1926 (6) NWT (a) capless tower (b) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails down to stocks, September 1934 (c) derelict with 2 sails down to stocks, March 1944 (8) NCL (RW) (a) w/o, June 1912

PULHAM MARKET, smock mill; (1) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (from "Eastern Daily Press" 29.11.1926) (2) NWT (a-c) w/o (3) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting)

REEDHAM, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, c1880

REEPHAM, post mill, see BOOTON

REPPS with BASTWICK, post mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, c1880

RINGSTEAD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with 4(?) out of 6 sails (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted with dummy cap, but windshaft and cross for 6 sails still in place, April 1970 (3) NMR (a) as today but with original cap (?) (4) NWT (a) as house-converted, 1976 (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) house-converted with original cap, May 1950

ROCKLAND ALL SAINTS, tower mill; (1) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form) (a) w/o, 1895

ROCKLAND ST PETER, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter January 1988 (a) capless tower, 1920s or early 30s? (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, September 1970 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1936 (5) NWT (a) stump of tower, 1970 (b) stump of tower, 1975 (c) tower only, as W and W S Newsletter (6) SML (SC) (under SCOULTON) (a-b) derelict with cap, April 1935 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, September 1947

ROUGHTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1970 (b) tower after renovation as Scout HQ, May 1981 (3) NCL (a-b) w/o (c) capless tower, May 1963 (4) NWT (a) w/o, as Apling (b-c) w/o, retouched (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938 (6) NCL (RW) (a-c) capless tower, with volunteers working in foreground

RUNHALL, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with stocks, April 1935 (b) capless tower, June 1948 (2) NWT (a) w/o (but shutters missing from one pair of sails) (b) derelict with stocks (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, May 1950

SAHAM TONEY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) castellated tower, May 1976 (3) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (One of the photos is filed under Little Cressingham) (4) NCL (a) castellated tower, May 1963 (5) NWT (a) w/o, as Apling

SALHOUSE, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o

SALTER'S LODE, smock mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) NMR (a) derelict with no sails or tailpole, April 1934 (b) derelict with no sails or tailpole, August 1935 (5) NMR (WC) (a-b) very derelict with windshaft and brakewheel but cap, sails, tailpole and much boarding missing, probably 1960s (6) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails and tailpole, Oct 1927 (7) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails, as Wailes (8) NWT (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (9) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, April 1934 (b) derelict with cap, June 1936

SALTHOUSE, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) disused/derelict with 4 sails (heavily retouched) (2) NCL (a) as NWT (b)

SAXLINGHAM THORPE, Black Mill, tower mill; (1) W and W Section Newsletter January 1986 (a) tower with conical roof (2) NCL (a) tower in course of being blown up, 1958 (3) NWT (a) tower with conical roof

SCOLE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) capless tower, July 1971 (3) NMR (a) capless tower, May 1934
(b) capless tower, June 1939 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) capless tower, Dec 1947 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (6) NWT (a) capless tower (7) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

SEA PALLING, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1979 (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1932 (4) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (b) w/o as Apling (5) NWT (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, as Apling (d) w/o, apart from some missing shutters (e) capless tower, 1970 (6) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1935

SEDGEFORD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) disused with one sail
(2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, July 1973 (3) SPAB Mills Section (HC) (a) derelict with windshaft (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft and one stock with fragments of sails, August 1938 (5) NWT (a) as Apling (b-c) derelict with windshaft, c1963 (d) capless tower, 1976

SHERINGHAM, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (2) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o (not captioned as Sheringham - donor was unsure of precise location) (b) w/o (in "miscellaneous drawer" 20.1.99) (3) NWT (a) w/o (4) Alan Childs, "Sheringham and Beeston, A Portrait In Old Photographs and Picture Postcards", SB Publications 1992 (a) w/o (5) Sheringham Museum (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1908 (c) w/o (with roundhouse and lower part of body obscured by hedge)

SHIPDHAM, post mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o (?-some shutters appear to be missing), middle distance

SHOULDHAM THORPE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) roofed-over tower, 1930s (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) roofed-over tower, August 1980
(3) NMR (a-b) capless tower, 1947 (c) ditto, August 1932 (d) ditto, 1936 (e) ditto, 1973 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) tower only with conical roof, November 1930 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (b) capless tower, 1956 (6) NWT (a) capless tower, 1970 (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with conical roof, August 1932 (b) derelict with conical roof, June 1935

SHROPHAM, smock mill; (1) NCL (a-b) w/o, 1888 (2) NWT (a-b) w/o

SIDESTRAND, smock mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o (photocopy) (2) Martin Warren, "Around Cromer" {Britain In Old Photographs Series}, Alan Sutton 1995; (a-b) w/o, 1880s

SOUTHERY, post mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o, pre-1931 (2) NWT (a-c) w/o with 2 sails, retouched

SPORLE, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) cap preserved at Tottenhill mill, May 1979 (2) SRO (I) (a) w/o (3) NWT (a-b) cap preserved at Tottenhill (4) UOK (MC) (a) cap at Tottenhill, May 1950

SPROWSTON, Mousehold Heath post mill; (1) Shillingford (a) disused with 4 sails and fan (2) Long (a) derelict with 4 sails and fan (3) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails (c-d) w/o, 1928 (e) w/o, 1925 (4) Wailes (SWF) (a) stone with stone-dressing tools (5) Harrison, TW, ABFB (a) w/o (6) NCL (a-b) w/o (c) w/o Oct 1927 (d) w/o, 1902 (e-f) view of ladder, fan and burnt-out round-house after fire, 1933 (g-h) disused with sails and damaged fan (i) view of stone floor (j) drive to stones and governors (k-m) derel-ict with sails and damaged fan (n) sack hoist, brakewheel and windshaft (o) upper part of main post and quarterbars with ball-bearing to steady body (p) joint between crosstrees and post (q) view of ladder and fan (7) NWT (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance (e-f) derelict with 4 sails, c1930 (g-h) mill on fire, 23.3.1933 (i) ruins of mill after fire, as Shillingford (8) GYL (a-c) w/o (newspaper cuttings) (d) on fire March 1933 (9) WG (a) w/o (10) UOK (MC) (a) wreckage after fire, plus trestle and roundhouse walls, June 1933

STALHAM, Cooke's Mill, smock mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (3) NCL (a-b) w/o, 1888 (4) NWT (a) w/o, 1888 (close-up of cap, sails and fan) (5) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o

STALHAM, Staithe Mill, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (c) w/o, as Apling (d) converted stump of tower (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) converted stump of tower

STIFFKEY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with cap, 1924 (2) NWT (a-b) stump of tower (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower

STOKE FERRY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1910-20 (b) Nov 1936
(2) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (b) underside of cap frame and rollers (3) NMR (a) disused with 2 sails, June 1936 (b-c) w/o, 1928 (d) disused with cap, 1947 (e) complete except for one missing sail, June 1933 (f) derelict with cap, Sept 1947 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) complete except for 1 sail missing and another damaged, November 1930 (c) w/o, March 1928 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (b) with one sail missing, as Apling (6) NWT (a-b) capless tower, 1970 (c) disused with cap, post-1936 (d) with only one sail, as Apling (7) KLM (a) w/o, mid-distance (8) KLL (a) tower under house conversion, 1982, with polygonal roof on top (9) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, July 1970 (10) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, June 1936

STOKESBY, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1910 (2) NMR (a) derel-ict with cap (3) NCL (a) tower with dummy cap, Sept 1963 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, August 1938 (5) NWT (a) w/o, as Apling (b-c) tower with dummy cap (6) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) tower with dummy cap, May 1979

STOW BRIDGE, smock mill (windpump?); (1) NWT (a) surviving base

STRATTON ST MICHAEL, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1929 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) tower with conical roof, August 1972 (3) NMR (a) tower only, June 1948 (b) w/o, under Morningthorpe (c) w/o (4) NCL (a) tower with conical roof, June 1963 (b) w/o (5) NWT (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (7) SMS (photo album) (a) disused with 4 sails (from "Eastern Daily Press" 15.12.1926)

STRUMPSHAW, smock mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, retouched (c-d) derelict with 4 sails

SUTTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brakewheel (3) NWT (ROWAWIN) (a) derelict with one sail, 1974 (4) (5) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1930 (c-d) w/o, 1932 (e) w/o, June 1932 (f) w/o, June 1932, distant view (g) w/o, Sept 1934 (h-i) under repair, 1978 (6) UOM (JRL) (a-c) disused with 3 sails, Nov 1948 (7) Hills (a) as preserved, and complete except for sail frames, March 1990 (8) Harrison, TW, ABFB (a) w/o (9) NCL (a) as derelict, 1950s/60s (b) as derelict, July 1963 (c-d) as derelict, March 1960 (e-g) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, 1949 (h) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, 1950 (i-j) ditto, 1952 (k-l) view of cap rollers (m) w/o, c1920 (10) NWT (a-e) w/o (f) derelict as Beedell (g) w/o except for one damaged sail (from East Anglian Magazine Jan 1950 p249) (h) derelict, 1970 (11) GYL (a) derelict, 1974 (b) w/o (c-d) restoration work in progress (e) derelict, June 1976 (f) stone floor, June 1976 (g) view inside cap with windshaft and brakewheel (h) owner C Nunn up mill, beside broken stock (i) May 1985: with new cap in place, C Nunn and daughter working on fitting of new stocks (12) Wailes (TEW) (a) close-up of cap, sails, fan and guide pole for striking chain (13) Vince 1993 (a) complete except for sail frames, 1980s/90s (14) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with cap, broken stocks and fragments of two sails (one sail hidden by tower), May 1971 (b) under repair, with new cap and fan, one sail still on, May 1980 (15) WG (a) w/o (b) restored apart from derelict sails, late C20 (c) w/o, mid-distance, lower part hidden by trees, wrongly captioned Hickling (16) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1933 (b) w/o, March 1944 (17) NCL (RW) (a) new timber being lifted into position during reconstruction of fantail, 1978(?) (b) timber for new sweeps on ground in front of mill, c1980

SWAFFHAM, post mill; (1) Leslie Kendle, "Kendle's Old Swaffham", 1982 (copy in Swaffham Museum, Town Hall, 4 London Street, Swaffham, Norfolk, PE37 7DQ) (a) w/o

SWAFFHAM, Tumbler Hill, North Pool Mill, smock mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o (b) ruins of base, 1971 (2) Kendle (as post mill)

SWAFIELD, post mill; (1) NMR (a-b) trestle and crowntree, September 1934 (2) UOK (MC) (a) trestle and crowntree, September 1934 (b) trestle and crowntree, August 1938

SWANTON ABBOTT, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (but with one sail apparently damaged) (2) there is reputed to be a photo of the mill in an edition of Country Life (3) This England, 1980 (exact date of issue not noted) (a) in w/o but with damaged sail and girl on ground looking up at it) (4) NWT (a) as This England (5) SML (SC) (a) capless tower, September 1934

SWANTON MORLEY, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1906 (2) NMR
(a) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934 (3) NCL (a) w/o, as Apling (4) NWT (a-d) disused with 4 sails (e-f) w/o, as Apling (5) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1978

SWARDESTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails, Sept 1934 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, June 1948 (2) WG (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails, September 1934 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, March 1944

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, Balsam Fields, tower mill; (1) Apling
(a) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, Oct 1946 (3) NWT (a-b) w/o as Apling (c) stump of tower (4) KLM (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, with lower part obscured by house (5) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower (6) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, August 1938

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, Orange Farm, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, with only cap, three sails and part of a fourth (out of six) visible above building (2) "Terrington St Clement: A Marshland Village", Terrington St Clement History Group 1993 (a) as NWT

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, post mill; (1) KLL (a) w/o, c1890 (2) "Terrington St Clement: A Marshland Village", Terrington St Clement History Group 1993 (a) w/o

THOMPSON, post mill; (1) NWT (a-b) derelict with 4 sails

THORNHAM, composite mill; (1) Apling (a) disused with sails (2) NMR (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and sails (3) NWT (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1912 (b-c) derelict with 4 sails (d) surviving roundhouse, 1976 (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1981 (5) UOK (MC) (a) base with thatched roof, August 1938

THRIGBY, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1880 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1979 (3) de Little 2 (a) as reconstructed, with sails not yet in place, 1980s or 90s (4) GYL (a) new buck (roofless) being lowered onto post, with roof on ground awaiting fitting, January 1985 (newspaper cutting) (b) w/o (c) owner Nick Prior and wife standing in doorway of roundhouse (d) roundhouse (e) Nick Prior working on post (f) body complete, windshaft being lifted into place, September 1997 (5) UOK (MC) (a) roundhouse, August 1938

THURLTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) stump of tower, 1930 (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) stump of tower, May 1977

TIBENHAM, post mill; (1) NCL (a) w/o, from article in The Miller - looks heavily retouched (2) According to HESS at the time of his survey there was a photo of the mill in private ownership

TILNEY ST LAWRENCE, post mill; (1) NWT (a-d) w/o

TILNEY ST LAWRENCE, St John's Road, tower mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, 1905

TITTLESHALL, post mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1912
(2) NWT (a) derelict as Apling (3) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails (newspaper cutting)

TIVETSHALL ST MARY, tower mill; (1) NCL (a-c) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a) disused with 2 sails, August 1933 (b-c) disused with cap, September 1939 (3) NWT (a) w/o (under Tivetshall St MARGARET) (4) SML (SC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1933

TOPCROFT, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1910 (2) A C Smith (CWIN)
(a) surviving trestle and roundhouse walls, August 1972 (3) NMR
(a) derelict with no sails, June 1933 (b) derelict with sails and roof gone, June 1948 (c) ditto, 1953 (4) NCL (a) derelict with no sails, 1930 (5) NWT (a) surviving trestle (b) surviving trestle, 1970 (c-d) derelict with roof and sails gone (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, August 1933 (b-c) derelict with no sails, June 1935

TOTTENHILL, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NWT (a) derelict with 2 sails (b) derelict with 2 sails, late 1950s (3) Long (a) disused with 2 sails (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) surviving trestle and roundhouse walls, May 1979 (5) NMR (a) w/o (b) disused with 2 sails, n.d. (as Wailes) (c) ditto, August 1932 (d) ditto, 1947 (e) disused with 2 sails, June 1935 (f-g) disused with 2 sails, June 1936 (h-i) view of fan and fan carriage, June 1936 (j-k) view of fan, fan carriage, ladder and tailpole, June 1936 (l-m) cap from Sporle mill on ground nearby, June 1936 (6) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with 2 sails, Nov 1930 (b-e) w/o with 2 sails, March 1928 (f) w/o, 2 sails, Oct 1927 (g) w/o with 2 sails, 1928 (h) disused with 2 sails, 1947 (7) NCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1960 (b) surviving trestle, May 1963 (c) surviving trestle, June 1963 (8) NWT (a) surviving trestle (b) w/o with 2 sails, 1926 (c) w/o with 2 sails, 1928 (d) w/o with 2 sails, middle distance (e) disused with 2 sails, 1930 (9) KLL (a) disused with 2 sails, as Long (10) Wailes (TEW) (a) disused with 2 sails (11) Wailes, NW1 (a) disused with 2 sails (12) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1932 (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, June 1935 (d) derelict with 2 sails, June 1933 (e-f) derelict with 2 sails, May 1950 (g) remains of fan, May 1950 (h) steps, tailpole and fan mounting, May 1950 (i) fan assembly (complete), June 1933

UPPER HELLESDON, tower mill; (1) Wind & Watermill Section News-letter, autumn 1986 (a) w/o (2) NCL (a-d) w/o (3) NWT (a) w/o, 1913 (b) w/o (4) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (negative) (b) w/o

UPWELL, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) capless tower, 1976 (2) NWT (a) datestone, 1976 (3) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

UPWELL, Lots Bridge, smock drainage mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of smock tower in derelict condition, April 1934

WACTON, post mill; (1) NWT (a) w/o, c1890 (2) HESS says there is a photo of the mill in existence dated c1897

WALPOLE ST PETER, Walpole Highway tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1930s (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) curb and sackhoist (b) governors (3) NMR (a-b) capless tower, July 1973 (c) w/o, as Apling, June 1933 (d) w/o, 1932 (e-h) w/o, n.d. (4) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o, March 1928 (d) w/o, Oct 1927 (e-f) w/o, Oct 1946 (g) w/o apart from one damaged sail, Sept 1947 (5) NCL (a) capless tower, July 1963 (b) disused with cap and stocks (6) NWT (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1928 (7) KLL (a) w/o, 1928 (8) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, August 1980 (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1933

WATLINGTON, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with 4 sails, October 1927 (2) NCL (a) disused with 4 sails (3) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1907 (d) w/o, 1916 (e) disused with 4 sails (4) KLL (a) w/o

WEETING, post mill; (1) NCL (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, c1900(?)

WELLS NEXT THE SEA, Northfield Lane, smock mill; (1) NWT (a-b) w/o

WELLS NEXT THE SEA, Burnt Street, smock mill (same as Northfield Lane?); (1) HESS says there is a copy photo and postcard of the mill dated 25.3.1905

WELNEY, smock mill (in Cambridgeshire for most of its life); (1) NMR (a-b) very derelict, with cap frame, April 1934 (2) CCL (a) w/o

WEST WALTON, Ingleborough tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o (b) interior view of cap roof framing (3) NMR (a-b) w/o, 1928 (c) w/o, June 1933 (d) capless tower, July 1973 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o, March 1928 (d) w/o, Oct 1927 (e) w/o, 1928 (f) disused with cap but no sails, Oct 1946 (5) NWT (a-c) w/o, 1936 (d-e) capless tower, 1972 (6) Wisbech and Fenland Museum (a) w/o (7) KLL (a-b) w/o (8) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1981 (9) WG (a) w/o (under West Walton only) (b) w/o (captioned West Winch) (10) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1933

WEST WALTON, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) house-converted tower, 1978
(2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, August 1935 (b) capless tower, July 1973 (3) NCL (a) castellated tower, July 1963 (4) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (from Isle Of Ely Advertiser 17.11.1937) (5) NWT (a-b) capless tower, 1972 (6) KLL (a) the house-converted tower, LNA 30th August 1977 (7) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted tower, August 1980 (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1935

WEST WINCH, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) derelict with cap (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with cap, July 1973 (b) restored with cap and 2 sails, May 1979 (3) NMR (a) as house-converted with 2 sails, 1985 (b) derelict with cap, as ACS (c) ditto, as Apling (d) ditto, as Apling, April 1935 (4) NCL (a) derelict with cap, May 1963 (b) under repair, tower in background, March 1976, with brakewheel in foreground and owner Walter Price resting his hand on it (5) NWT (a) derelict with cap, 1970 (b) tower in course of repair, 1976 (c) view of restored cap and fan, 1977 (6) GYL (a-c) fitting of new cap, March 1977 (7) KLM (a) from LNA 14.11.1975: all the views that are in Apling plus Mr Price examining spur wheel and bevel gear under it (8) KLL (a) house-converted with four sails, showing fan lying on ground in foreground after being blown off in storm, EDP 17th March 1999 (b) as house-converted with 2 sails, Trader (newspaper) 19th May 1983 (c) removal of brakewheel and windshaft by crane, Trader 19th May 1983 (9) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap but no sails, June 1935

WEYBOURNE, post mill; (1) NCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1880s (2)
NWT (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) KLM (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1880s (in Taylor Collection)

WEYBOURNE, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap and remains of stage (magazine cutting) (b) with cap but no sails, June 1932 (before or after house-conversion?) (3) NCL (a) derelict (or house-converted?) with cap, May 1963 (4) NWT (a) as house-converted with sails (5) GYL (a) as house-converted with sails (6) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) as house-converted with sails, May 1970 (7) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted with cap, August 1938

WHEATACRE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1949

WHISSONETT, post mill; (1) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934

WICKLEWOOD, High Street, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, c1912
(2) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brakewheel and wallower (3) Wicklewood Mill guide book, Norfolk Windmills Trust 1982 (a) as restored, 1982 (b) w/o, c1912 (c) curb (d) brakewheel and wallower (e) stones (f) upright shaft, crown wheel and sack hoist (g) w/o (h) sack barrows (i) scales and weights (j) w/o, c1912 (different view from Apling (a) (k) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1975 (4) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1987 (a) roller of unidentified purpose (5) NMR (a) derelict with cap and sails (b) derelict with sails and collapsing cap, 1949 (c) ditto, 1947 (d-e) w/o (f) w/o, June 1933 (g) w/o, April 1937 (6) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1947 (7) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, May 1963 (b) preserved, 1980s/90s (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1966 (d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, march 1960 (e) derelict with sails and collapsing cap, 1952 (f) as preserved, with visiting group from Friends Of Norfolk Windmills outside, May 1982
(8) NWT (a) as preserved, 1980s/90s (b) w/o, 1933-4 (c) w/o (d) derelict with 4 sails and collapsing cap, 1949 (e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1970 (f) with tower restored and roofed over as part of restoration work, 1980 (9) KLL (a) cap frame being lowered to ground by crane, EDP 11th October 1979 (10) KLL (a-c) new cap and fan being fitted (11) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, September 1970 (b) under repair; tower repaired with flat roof on top, May 1980 (c) as restored, August 1981 (12) NWT (ROWAWIN) (a) derelict with stocks, windshaft and brakewheel (stocks only visible), 1975 (b) close-up of stocks, striking gear and brakewheel of derelict mill, 1975 (c) close-up of top of tower of derelict mill, showing stocks, rack and fantail gearing, 1975 (13) WG (a) derelict with windshaft and stocks (14) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1936

WICKLEWOOD, Hackford Road tower mill; (1) Apling (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1975 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, April 1937 (b) sack barrows, July 1973 (3) NWT (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1972 (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted stump of tower, May 1980 (5) NCL (a) house-converted stump of tower, August 1974

WIGGENHALL ST MARY MAGDALENE, smock windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) house-converted base, June 1988

WIGGENHALL ST GERMANS, post mill; (1) Lynn News And Advertiser, 21.5.1974 (KLL and NCL have photocopies) (a) w/o

WIGHTON, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1938

WINFARTHING, smock mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-b) w/o
(b) truncated smock with conical roof, June 1933 (c) truncated smock with cap on ground nearby, June 1933 (3) Wailes (SWF) (a) w/o (4) Harrison, TW, ABFB (a) w/o (5) NWT (a) converted stump of smock tower, 1976 (6) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (7) UOK (MC) (a) base of smock, September 1939 (b) base with cap on ground beside it, September 1939 (8) DM (a) w/o, 1909, with party of schoolchil-dren in foreground (9) NCL (a) w/o

WINTERTON, Hemsby Mill, post mill; (1) NCL (a-b) w/o (photo has reproduced poorly; negative in Unwin Collection) (2) NWT (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, as NCL (3) GYL (a) after storm damage in 1902: windshaft with brake- and tailwheels on ground in front of mill, roundhouse wall partly collapsed, and weatherboarding of breast damaged (newspaper cutting)

WITTON, post mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934 (3) NWT (a-c) w/o (4) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) converted round-house, May 1979

WOODTON, post mill; (1) NCL (a-b) w/o (also shows Bedingham smock mill) (2) NWT (a) w/o (b) w/o, also shows Bedingham smock mill
(3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1935

WORSTEAD, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) house-converted with cap, October 1970 (3) NMR (under HONING) (a) w/o (b) w/o, June 1932 (c) w/o, Sept 1934 (4) NCL (a-b) as preser-ved (c) w/o (5) NWT (a-b) w/o (c-d) as house-converted (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, September 1934 (7) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

WRENINGHAM, post mill; (1) B K Day (compiler), "Past Days In Wreningham: A Record Of Wreningham Families" (in NCL) (a) w/o, 1907 (2) NWT (a) w/o, close-up rear view with top part of roof cut off

WYMONDHAM, North Mill, smock mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Wailes, NW1 (a) w/o, same view as TEW (3) Shillingford (a) w/o (4) Wailes (BAASHIW) (a) one pair of stones with stone furniture and bell alarm (5) NMR (a) w/o, June 1933 (b) w/o, Sept 1934 (c) w/o, 1928 (d) w/o (e) derelict with 4 sails, 1947 (6) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1947 (7) NWT (a-c) w/o (d-g) disused with 4 sails (h) 1858 datestone (i-l) wreckage after fire, 17.2.1950 (8) GYL (a) w/o, newspaper cutting (9) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) brakewheel, wallower and sack hoist (10) Wailes, WIE (a) brakewheel, wallower and sack hoist (11) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (b-c) ruined base after fire, May 1950 (d) windshaft on ground after fire, May 1950 (12) NCL (RW) (a-b) w/o (c) ruined base after fire (d-f) ruined base and other wreckage after fire, 1950 (g-h) derelict with sails, 1948 (i) w/o with two sails

WYMONDHAM, Browick's Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails

WYMONDHAM, Silfield Mill, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, June 1948 (3) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1981 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

YAXHAM, tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, April 1935 (b) ditto, June 1935 (3) NCL (a) capless tower, May 1963 (4) NWT (a) w/o, as Apling (b) capless tower, aerial view (c) capless tower, 1970 (5) A C Smith (CWIN) (a) capless tower, May 1970 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

YAXHAM, smock mill (modern mill for generating electricity); (1) NWT (a) w/o, 1975 (2) GYL (a) w/o

NORFOLK, drainage mills

ACLE, Charlie Water's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) stump of tower, July 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) stump of tower, May 1989 (3) NCL (a-c) w/o, mid-C20 (possibly another mill)

ACLE, Stracey Arms tower windpump; (1) de Little (a) detail of cap, fantail and Y-wheel (b) Appold turbine (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as preserved, July 1973 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as preserved, July 1985 (4) NMR (a) w/o (b) w/o, Sept 1934 (captioned Arnick's Mill) (c) w/o, 1943 (captioned Arnick's Mill) (5) NCL (a) as preserved, May 1963 (b) w/o c1948? (probably another mill, unless date wrong, as Stracey Arms was derelict by then) (6) GYL (a-d) as preserved (e-g) millwright John Lawn attending to sails, 1983 (h) volunteers working inside mill (7) KLL (a-c) removal of fantail during repairs, EDP 3rd March 1982 (8) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (9) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (10) SPAB Annual Report 1981-2 (a) as preserved (11) NWT, ROWAWIN (a-b) as preserved; volunteers from the National Conservation Corps outside mill, 1976 (12) Vince 1984 (a) as preserved (13) WG (a-b) w/o (the second photo, captioned just Acle, is possibly another mill) (14) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, September 1934 (c) w/o, March 1944 (15) NCL (RW) (a) as preserved, 1978 (b) as preserved at official opening, 1975 (c) as preserved, 1981 (?)

ACLE, St Margaret's Mill {same as Fleggburgh?}, tower windpump; (1) GYL (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, only partly seen behind house that is in course of construction

ASHBY, Clippesby, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with cap and stocks, May 1973; (2) Blythman (a) derelict with cap and stocks, c1970 (3) Shillingford (a) derelict with cap and stocks (4) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) preserved with cap but no sails, July 1987

BARTON TURF, Neave's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with cap (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) preserved with temporary cap, June 1986 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934

BELAUGH, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless ivy-covered tower (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988

BILLOCKBY, tower windpump; (1) NCL (a) w/o

BREYDON NORTH WALL, Lockgate, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (2) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) preserved with temporary cap, July 1988 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (with Greencap and High Mills in background) (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o (but some boards missing from cap), March 1944 (5) GYL (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, EEN 27.7.1973

BUCKENHAM, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) tower only, with conical roof, May 1976 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) tower leaning and with conical roof gone, June 1989 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, August 1938

CAISTER, hollow-post mill; (1) GYL (a) w/o, 1860

CALTHORPE, Randall's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, 1977 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) as above, May 1986 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump of tower with conical roof, March 1944

CATFIELD, Swim Coots tower windpump; (1) Apling (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, July 1988 (4) NWT (a) capless tower

CATFIELD, Barton Broad, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) stump of tower, May 1977 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1987

CHEDGRAVE DETACHED, tower windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o

CHEDGRAVE MARSHES, Six Mile House, tower windpump (same mill as Chedgrave Detached?); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989

CHEDGRAVE MARSHES, Pettingell's Mill, tower windpump (same as CD?)
(1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) roofed-over tower with no cap or sails, August 1975 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989

CHEDGRAVE MARSHES, Toft Monks, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 3 sails, August 1975 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) undergoing restoration as living accommodation, May 1980 (b) undergoing restoration: new cap and fan cradle in place, and new fantail on ground awaiting fitting, May 1986 (c) undergoing restoration: new fan in place but with one blade blown off, May 1989

FLEGGBURGH, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted tower with dummy cap, May 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) as above, May 1989 (3) NMR (a) w/o, June 1932 (b) w/o, Sept 1934 (4) NCL (a) as house-converted with dummy cap, July 1963
(5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, March 1944 (b) w/o, September 1934 (c) w/o, August 1938

FREETHORPE, tower windpump (described as Banham's Black or Lockgate Mill; possibly the latter); (1) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and remains of scoopwheel, 1973

FRITTON, St Olaves, trestle windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) restoration complete except for sails, May 1975 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) restored with sails and tower painted black, May 1985
(3) SMA (a) w/o (4) GYL (a) under repair, November 1978; boys working on mill, one up ladder (5) KLL (a) w/o (6) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (7) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (8) NWT (a) derelict with 2 sails (9) NMR (a) w/o, 1937 (10) GYL (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (newspaper cutting) (11) Dolman, WIS (a) preserved with no sails, 1976 (12) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1944

FRITTON, St Olaves, Old Mill, smock windpump; (1) SMA (a) derelict with 2 sails

FRITTON, St Olaves' Marsh, tower windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1944 (b) detail of fan, striking wheel and guide pole, March 1944

GREAT YARMOUTH, Ashtree Farm tower windpump; (1) NWT, ROWAWIN (a) w/o, 1950 (b) derelict, 1977 (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, fan cradle and scoopwheel, September 1973 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, July 1987 (4) NMR (a) w/o (5) GYL (a) derelict with windshaft cap frame etc, July 1999 (newspaper cutting) (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel etc (c) view of internal machinery (d) as derelict, February 2000 (d) as derelict, February 1975 (e) after sails blown off, with cap and fan still on (6) KLM (a) derelict with windshaft brakewheel etc., EDP 2.11.1990 (b) Tom Banham (owner) inspects the spur wheel, EDP 2.11.1990 (c) T Banham inspecting crown wheel, upright shaft and wallower, EDP 5.12.1998 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1944

HALVERGATE, Carter's Mill, tower windpump; (is this one of those below?) (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (b) brake wheel, windshaft and wallower (2) GYL (a) w/o, 1950s (date wrong?) (newspaper cutting)

HALVERGATE, Mutton's Mill, tower windpump; (1) Wailes (USIW) (a) pit wheel and crown wheel, with device to disengage secondary drive
(2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and 4 sails, September 1973 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) undergoing restoration, with new cap and fan in place, 1988 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, March 1944

HALVERGATE, Six Mile House, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, July 1973 (2) Beedell (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) derelict with windshaft, brake-wheel, stocks and 2 sails, July 1987 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o (but most shutters missing)

HALVERGATE, Key's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with cap, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) pre-
served with new cap in place, May 1989 (3) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, March 1944 (4) GYL (a) w/o

HALVERGATE, Stone's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM)
(a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989 (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1944

HALVERGATE, High's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM)
(a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) preserved with temporary cap, July 1988 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, March 1944 (c) detail of common sail with furled canvas, March 1944 (d) detail of tower and tailpole, March 1944 (4) GYL (a) being jacked up on hydraulic rams, December 1995

HALVERGATE, Howard's Mill; (also known as South Walsham Mill), tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM) (a) derelict with 2 sails, May 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) undergoing restoration, with temporary "penthouse" roof over tower, July 1988 (3) de Little 2 (a) as A C Smith DWNM2 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1944

HALVERGATE, tower windpump; (1) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, 1963 (possibly Six Mile House Mill: caption says "drainage mill, Halvergate Marshes")

HATHOR(?), trestle windpump; (1) SML (SC) (a) w/o

HICKLING, Stubb Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1971 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) derelict, with windshaft etc removed and penthouse-type roof over tower, May 1985 (3) UOK (MC) derelict with cap, March 1944 (4) KLL (a) with corrugated iron roof over cap frame, EDP 8th May 1993

HICKLING, Eastfield Farm, tower windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) w/o (apart from one damaged sail), March 1944

HICKLING BROAD, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict tower with "look-out" on top, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with "look-out" on top, March 1944 (under Stubb Lane)

HORNING, Hobbs Mill, trestle windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict and leaning, with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) restored with new cap and fantail on place, June 1988 (3) NCL (a) w/o

HORNING, Horning Ferry smock windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted with cap and dummy sails and fantail, May 1977 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988 (4) NMR (a) w/o (b) with no sails but otherwise complete and in good repair, June 1932 (5) NCL (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1890

HORNING, St Benets Abbey tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o, 1856 (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a-b) shell of tower, May 1978 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) shell of tower, July 1989 (4) NMR (a) shell of tower (b) shell of tower, 1967 (5) Hills (a) shell of tower, March 1990 (6) NWT (a) shell of tower, c1880 (b-c) w/o, c1848 (d) w/o, c1850(?) (e-f) w/o, 1856 (g-k) shell of tower (7) GYL (a) shell of tower (newspaper cutting)

HORNING, hollow-post windpump; (1) Anthony Bryan, "Francis Frith's Windmills and Watermills: Photographic Memories", Frith Books 2000 (a) w/o, 1902

HORSEY, tower windpump; (1) de Little (a) as preserved (2) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o (before 1899 storm) (3) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as preserved (4) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as preserved, May 1986
(5) NMR (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, Sept 1947 (b) detail of fan, 1962 (c) detail of sails, 1962 (d-h) mill as preserved, 1962
(6) NCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) as preserved, July 1963 (c) as preserved, but sails not visible (d) derelict with 4 sails, August 1948 (7) HM (a) with fan gone and at least one sail frame missing, 1937 (8) GYL (a) derelict with 4 sails (9) Reynolds (a) close-up of poll end (b) fantail (c) mill as preserved (d) brakewheel and wallower (e) drive from main shaft to turbine pump (10) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (11) SPAB, WAWOTV 1986 (a) as preserved (12) WG (a) as preserved (13) UOK (MC) (a) disused with sails on but no fan, March 1944 (b) disused with no sails, August 1955

HOVETON MARSHES, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) tower converted into house with look-out on top, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988

IRSTEAD STREET, hollow-post windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o

LANGLEY DETACHED, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) pres-erved with cap, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1989

LANGLEY MARSHES, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with cap frame, fan cradle and collapsed brakewheel, May 1976 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989

LIMPENHOE MARSHES, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1977 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989

LUDHAM, How Hill trestle windpump (Boardman's Mill); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, May 1977 (2) DWNM2 (a) restored with cap and sails (3) NCL (a) w/o, 1934 (also shows tower mill) (b) as preserved, 1982 (4) GYL (a) tower only standing, with windshaft and brakewheel removed, presumably pending restoration (5) KLL (a) prior to restoration, with windshaft and brakewheel removed and tower only standing, EDP 17th February 1981 (6) Vince 1993 (a) as restored, 1980s/90s (7) Alderton and Booker (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel

LUDHAM, How Hill, Turf Fen, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as preserved, May 1984 (b) ditto, May 1989 (3) NCL (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1967 (c) w/o, 1934 (also shows trestle mill) (4) GYL (a) derelict with windshaft and stocks (5) KLL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, EDP 17th February 1981

LUDHAM, hollow post windpump from Ranworth Broad (Clayrack Mill); (1) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a-b) derelict at Ranworth site, May 1980 (c-d) w/o at How Hill, May 1989 (2) GYL (a) w/o at How Hill (newspaper cutting) (3) KLM (a) w/o, EDP 22nd April 1989 (4) Vince 1993 (a) w/o, 1980s/90s

LUDHAM, Ludham Bridge, trestle windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) piers and part of drive to pump shaft only remaining, May 1977 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989 (4) NMR (a-b) w/o, Sept 1934 (c) w/o, n.d. (also shows Turf Fen mill) (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, Sept 1934

LUDHAM BRIDGE, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986 (3) NCL (a) shell of tower July 1963 (b) shell of tower 1967

LUDHAM, Womack Water tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower, September 1971 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986

LUDHAM, Hathor Mill, tower windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, September 1934

MARTHAM, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted with cap but no sails, May 1971 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986 (3) SMS (photo album) (possibly another mill) (a) w/o apart from sails damaged by gale (from Yarmouth Mercury 31/10.36) (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, March 1944 (captioned Martham FERRY)

MAUTBY, Mautby Marsh Farm, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, July 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) house-converted with new cap and sails, July 1987 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, broken stocks and remains of one sail, March 1944

NORDELPH, smock windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) base and shortened smock tower converted to house, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988

NORDELPH, Upwell Fen, smock windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) base converted to house, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1988

NORDELPH, smock drainage mill; (1) NMR (a) base, August 1935
(2) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (3) NCL (a) base and truncated smock, July 1963 (4) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted base and truncated smock, June 1936
(Note: some or all of the photographs in this entry possibly refer to one or the other of the above two mills)

NORTON MARSHES, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) preserved tower with conical roof, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986

NORTON MARSHES, Boyce's Dyke, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) stump of tower with conical roof, May 1977 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1989

OBY, tower windpump; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, May 1973 (3) Blythman (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, c1970 (4) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) derelict with windshaft, brake-wheel and stocks, July 1985 (b) ditto, June 1988 (5) NCL (a) w/o, early C20 (6) GYL (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (b) derelict with stocks, windshaft and brakewheel (newspaper cutting) (c) w/o (d) new foundations after fitting (newspaper cutting) (e) disused with sails

POTTER HEIGHAM, High's mill, tower windpump; (1) Beedell (a)
(2) NWT (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) Wailes (USIW) (a) graft upright shaft (4) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house converted, with cap and one stock (5) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) house converted with stock removed, May 1986 (6) NMR (a) w/o (7) NCL (a-b) derelict with four sails (c) w/o, c1949(? - going by postmark) (d-f) w/o (captioned "A Norfolk Windmill" (f) derelict with 4 sails, colour postcard (g) capless tower, 8.9.1963 (but probably another mill as I am not aware High's was ever in this condition; caption says "Potter Heigham drainage marsh mill known as High's Mill") (i) detail of cap and sails (this could be the corn mill) (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails, March 1944 (9) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

POTTER HEIGHAM, Eelfleet Dyke, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and remains of 3 sails, April 1972 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986
(b) preserved with temporary cap, stocks and remains of one sail, May 1989 (3) UOK (MC) (under Heigham Holmes) (a) derelict with 4 sails, March 1944

REEDHAM, Berney Arms tower windpump; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o, c1890 (2) Apling (a) as restored, 1973 (3) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o
(b) brakewheel and wallower (4) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as restored
(5) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as restored, June 1989 (6) NMR (a) w/o, July 1936 (7) Hills (a) as preserved, March 1990 (8) NCL (a-b) as preserved, 1960s/70s (c) windshaft and brakewheel (d-e) w/o (9) NWT (a) w/o (b) restored, as Beedell (c) w/o, as Wailes ASBOWAW (d) w/o c1890 as Major and Watts (e) disused with sails, pre-1957 (f) as preserved (g) as preserved, 1960 (h) as preserved, 1973 (i) as preserved, aerial view (10) GYL (a-e) as preserved (f) as preser-ved, seen from air (g) scoop wheel, 1967 (11) Wailes, ASBOWAW (a) w/o (12) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved (13) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (14) Beedell (a) as restored

REEDHAM, Reedham Ferry tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted tower, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986 (3) NCL (a) the house-converted tower, 1972 (4) ERO (a) w/o (possibly another mill) (5) GYL (a) with conical cap and scoopwheel

REEDHAM, Reedham Marshes, Cadge's Mill (tower windpunp); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, June 1974
(2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) tower preserved and flat-roofed with windshaft and brakewheel on ground nearby, June 1988

REEDHAM, Reedham Marshes, Polkey's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) preserved with temporary cap, stocks and remains of 3 sails, June 1988 (3) KLM (a) preserved with temporary cap etc, with Cadge's Mill in foreground, EDP 5th December 1998

REEDHAM MARSHES, North Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) capless tower, June 1974 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1989 (3) KLM (a) capless tower, with Polkey's Mill in back-ground, EDP 5th December 1998

REPPS, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted tower (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, May 1986

ROCKLAND, open-frame smock windpump; (1) NCL (a) derelict with cap frame and part of fanstage but no windshaft, brakewheel or fantail; wrecked sails on ground, date early C20?

RUNHAM, Five Mile House, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, July 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, July 1987 (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o

RUNHAM, Runham Swim, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, July 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) under restoration, with new cap and fantail in place, July 1987 (3) NCL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, May 1969; another derelict windpump with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails in background, probably Six Mile House (4) GYL (a) w/o, 1930s, with another windpump visible on the skyline (b) the preserved tower with the old brakewheel lying on the ground, December 1983 (c) new cap frame being made up in workshop (d) with new cap and fan frame, June 1984 (e) with new cap and fan, March 1985 (5) KLL (a) complete except for sails, EDP 5th December 1998

RUNHAM, Runham Swim, Perry's Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, July 1973
(2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) preserved with temporary cap but no sails, July 1987 (3) UOK (MC) w/o apart from most shutters missing and apparently in good repair, March 1944 (some uncertainty over identity; could be Halvergate, Six Mile House (D Muggeridge calls it Blake's or Perry's Mill))

SEA PALLING, Waxham, Lambrigg tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one stock with part of one sail, April 1972 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) house-converted but with windshaft, stock etc still in position, June 1985 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with brakewheel and two sails

SEA PALLING, Brograve Level tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and remains of sails, April 1972 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as above, June 1985
(b) interior view, June 1985 (3) NCL (a) w/o, 1927 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails, March 1944

SEA PALLING, Marsh Mill, tower windpump; (1) Harrison, TW, ABFB (a) w/o

SMALLBURGH, Wayford Bridge tower mill; (1) Apling (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower, May 1977 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) house-converted tower, June 1987 (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1932 (b-c) w/o, 1928 (d) derelict with 3 sails, June 1933 (e) derelict with cap, 1947 (5) NWT (a) capless tower (b) capless tower, 1976 (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (b) becoming derelict, with damaged fan

STALHAM, Hunsett Mill, tower windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as preserved (3) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as preserved, with one sail damaged, May 1985 (b) as preserved, with damaged sail repaired, November 1985 (4) NMR (a) as preserved, n.d.
(b-c) w/o, 1894 (d) w/o, 1923 (e) derelict with 4 sails, n.d. (5) Vince 1984 (a) as preserved

STARSTON, hollow-post windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (2) Beedell (a) disused with sails (3) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as preserved, May 1978 (4) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) as preserved, July 1988 (5) NMR (a) w/o, 1948 (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (7) NWT (ROWAWIN) (a) as preserved, 1970s

STOKESBY, Commission Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1)
(a) capless tower, September 1971 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) capless tower, July 1985 (3) NCL (a-b) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, March 1944

STOKESBY, tower windpump (2); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower, July 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWM2) (a) capless tower, July 1985
(3) NCL (but could be the other mill) (a) with derelict cap and no sails, March 1960

THURNE, St Benet's Level, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict with stocks, May 1973 (b) restored with sails, May 1976 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (3) NMR (a-b) derelict with stocks, 1962 (c) ditto, 1968 (4) NCL (a) derelict with stocks and windshaft but no cap (possibly another mill; I am not aware St Benets was ever in this condition, unless repairs were being carried out) (5) GYL (a) derelict with cap and stocks (b) as restored

THURNE, Thurne Dyke, tower windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) as preserved, May 1973 (3) A C Smith (DWNM2)
(a) as preserved, May 1986 (4) NMR (a) w/o, Sept 1934 (b-d) as preserved, 1962 (5) Hills (a) casing and gearing for pump, March 1990 (6) NCL (a-b) as preserved, September 1963 (7) GYL (a-b) as preserved (c) millwright Philip Lennard working on sails (d) brake-wheel, 1993 (e) as preserved, 1993 (f) new sails being fitted, September 1984 (g) as preserved (8) Reynolds (a) view of cap, fantail, striking gear and guide pole (9) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (10) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (11) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved (12) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved (13) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, September 1934

TOFT MONKS, Pettingell's Mill, tower windpump; (1) Wailes, NW2 (a) w/o

TUNSTALL, tower windpump; (1) Freese (a) w/o (2) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o

TUNSTALL DYKE, tower windpump (same as one of above?); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) capless tower, September 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) capless tower, July 1988 (3) GYL (a) preserved tower with flat roof and scoopwheel, June 1994 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower with scoopwheel, March 1944

TUNSTALL DYKE, smock windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) derelict and truncated tower, September 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) derelict and truncated tower, May 1989 (3) GYL (a) preserved truncated tower awaiting restoration, June 1994 (4) UOK (MC) (a) base of smock, March 1944

UPTON, Black Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) house-converted with cap, May 1973 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) house-con-verted with cap, July 1987 (3) NCL (a-b) w/o

UPTON MARSHES, hollow-post windpump (originally at Acle); (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) re-erected post and trestle, May 1978 (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) re-erection complete except for sails, May 1980
(b) w/o, May 1981 (c) w/o, June 1989 (3) NWT (a) derelict at Acle site (4) de Little 2 (a) as preserved (5) KLL (a) restoration complete except for sails, EDP 5th November 1980

WAYFORD BRIDGE, hollow-post windpump; (1) book on old photos of North Walsham area seen in a Cambridge bookshop (a) w/o (2) NCL (RW) (a) derelict and leaning forward, with stocks and fragments of 2 sails

WEST CAISTER, hollow-post windpump; (1) NMR (WC) (a) w/o

WEST SOMERTON, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (DWNM1) (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (DWNM2) (a) house converted with dummy cap, May 1986 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, n.d. (4) NCL (a-d) derelict with 4 sails, 1957-8 (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with four sails, March 1944 (b) detail of striking wheel, chain and guide pole

WROXHAM, trestle windpump; (1) NCL (a) w/o, 1907 (2) NCL (RW) (a) w/o, 1907


Establishing the exact identities of the Norfolk drainage mills has always been difficult, since each of them went through a variety of different names according to both location and ownership. In addition to the anomalies mentioned above, the following have caused me confusion:

NMR
ACLE, Tunstall, tower mill, (a-b) w/o n.d., (c-d) w/o Sept 1934
ACLE, Yarmouth Road, tower mill, w/o, Sept 1934
ASHTREE FARM (looks like Wayford Bridge, although it probably is not in view of the date), derelict with 4 sails 1946
BARTON TURF, Irstead trestle mill (here also called North Hathor mill), w/o, Sept 1934
BURGH FERRY, stump of tower, n.d.
CANTLEY, South Limpenhoe Marshes, tower mill, derelict with cap, n.d.
CLAXTON FERRY, capless tower, n.d.
HADDISCOE, Langley Marshes, tower mill, w/o n.d.
HADDISCOE, Thorpe Marshes, tower mill, (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, n.d.
HALVERGATE, East Tunstall tower mill, w/o July 1936
HALVERGATE, tower mill, (a-b) w/o 1946
LANGLEY MARSHES, East Bank (Haddiscoe), tower mill, w/o July 1936
LANGLEY MARSHES, West Bank (Haddiscoe), tower mill, (a-b) w/o, July 1936
LUDHAM, Ludham Hall Common, tower mill, derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934
LUDHAM, Ludham Bridge, tower mill, w/o June 1932*
LUDHAM BRIDGE, small tower mill (either Womack Water or Ludham Bridge North), with what is either the original cap or a good replica (no windshaft or poll end), surrounded by a gallery and with a door in it, Sept 1934
LUDHAM BRIDGE, same as mill marked*? (a-c) w/o Sept 1934. This is the mill which is shown in one of the photos of How Hill trestle mill, see above: I have described it as Turf Fen but suspect it is not that mill (could the trestle mill shown in that picture actually be Ludham Bridge south, or Irstead Street?)
NORTON STAITHE (Norton Subcourse, Cockatrice Farm), tower mill, w/o, n.d.
NORTON SUBCOURSE, South, base of tower, June 1948
NORTON SUBCOURSE, North, tower with conical cap, n.d., windshaft and brakewheel on ground, June 1948
REEDHAM FERRY, South Mill, tower mill. (a) w/o Sept 1934, (b-c) w/o n.d.
REEDHAM FERRY, near station, tower mill, derelict with 4 sails, April 1934
REEDHAM MARSHES, South Mill, tower mill, w/o July 1936
REEDHAM MARSHES, North Mill, tower mill, w/o with 2 sails, July 1936
REEDHAM MARSHES, Six Mile House, tower mill, (with 4 common sails), w/o July 1936 (probably Chedgrave)
REPPS WITH BASTWICK, tower mill, (a) derelict with cap and 4 sails, Sept 1934, (b) ditto June 1932
RUNHAM, Six Mile House (Simmons says Mautby), tower mill, w/o n.d.
RUNHAM, Five Mile House (South), tower mill, w/o n.d.
RUNHAM, ditto (North), tower mill, w/o, n.d.
RUNHAM, ditto (East), tower mill, w/o n.d.
STOKESBY, Marsh Farm, tower mill, w/o n.d.
THURLTON, tower mill, capless tower, Sept 1934
WHEATACRE MARSHES, tower mill, tower only, Sept 1937

UOK (MC)
LUDHAM, Hathor Mill, tower windpump, (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934; same as Turf Fen?
LUDHAM, Hall Common Mill, tower windpump, derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934
RUNHAM SWIM SOUTH Marsh Tower, tower mill, w/o March 1944 (short, with large and ungainly cap)
RUNHAM SWIM NORTH Marsh Front, tower mill, Child's Mill (a short mill), disused with stocks, March 1944
BLAKE's or PERRY's Mill, tower mill, (a-b) w/o, March 1944 (small mill)
HALVERGATE MARSHES 1m WSW of Lockgate on s side of Fleet Dyke, tower mill, w/o with some cap boards missing March 1944
STOKESBY MARSH, no 8, tower mill (half a mile at 8 o-clock from Ducks Mill (see below)); capless tower with wreckage on ground, March 1944
STOKESBY OLD HALL, also known as Ducks Mill, no 9 (the mill called Tunstall in S Freese WAM), tower mill, w/o September 1934 and capless tower with scoop wheel March 1944
HICKLING, Swim Coots Mill, March 1944; a tower with cap frame and unidentified square structure on top. Is this one of the mills already listed?
LUDHAM, Hall Common Mill, small tower mill with oversized cap, derelict with 4 sails September 1934
LUDHAM, Ludham Bridge North Mill, September 1934, preserved tower with cap surrounded by gallery, no poll end

UOK MC also has a photo of a "waisted" tower windpump similar to Thurne Dyke, which stands by a railway and is derelict with four sails, dated March 1944

NCL
LUDHAM, Horse Fen Marsh, tower windpump; (a) derelict with cap frame, windshaft and wooden poll end, 1967(?)
LUDHAM, Cold Harbour Farm, tower windpump; (a) derelict with cap, 4 sails and fan
NCL also has an unidentified windpump in w/o, 1952? which may be Horsey. There are a steam mill and outbuildings nearby.
various photos of Horsey windpump not yet seen
Unidentified Ludham tower windpump in w/o, c1890, also in Bennett & Elton

NCL RW
IRSTEAD, Spuntney's Mill, tower mill in w/o (2 views)
NORTON SUBCOURSE, tower mill, with conical cap and scoopwheel 1980

KLL has two photos of a smock drainage mill at Nordelph but which of the two listed above is it:
(1) Mill has single-storey base. Is being demolished: sails windshaft and brakewheel have gone and the cap roof is being dismantled. Petticoat and tailpole remain in place.
(2) Being demolished, but with windshaft still in (cutting from EDP 1.9.1931)

GYL have the following photos of a windpump purporting to be at Stalham: (a) w/o, (b) w/o (newspaper cutting), and (c) under demolition: cap still on but sails and apparently windshaft removed

WG has a photo of the Stokesby pumping mills (which?) in w/o; also a photo of a waisted tower windpump at Ludham Bridge in w/o

NORFOLK
NCL, in the Unwin negative collection, have in addition to the items mentioned above the following, which I have not inspected due to the difficulty of handling them with the gloves visitors are required to wear; some of them will also be in the NCL main collection or at the NWT.

Ashby St Mary's, as Norfolk Rural Life Museum Gressenhall
Corpusty Mill Hill post mill
Costessey post mill 1900
Little Cressingham c1914
Denton
Denver 1926
Deopham
East Dereham, Quebec Road, c1890
Dersingham
Dickleburgh X 4
Dilham Staithe 1906
Diss, Shelfanger Road
Diss, Station Road smock mill c1870
" " " " " c1900
" " " " " 3 views
Diss, Waveney Road tower mill 5 views including 1 from 1925 and 1 from 1926
Salters Lode, 3 views 1 from 1927
Great Dunham
Great Ellingham
Feltwell, tower mill 2 views 1910
Feltwell, tower and post mill together c1890
Forncett St Peter, Knight's Mill, post mill, 1902
Forncett St Peter, Spratt's Mill, post mill, 1923 (4 views)
Foulsham
Garboldisham c1890, c1900, c1904, c1909, c1910
Gayton
Gaywood 5 views, one c1913
Gooderstone, Chalk Row Lane, tower mill
Gissing 4 views, c1923
Great Yarmouth North Denes (Greengrass) 3 views, one 1900
Great Yarmouth, Beccles Road tower mill
Great Yarmouth, High's Mill, X3
Great Yarmouth, Greencap Mill
Great Yarmouth, Sea Front tower mill 1879
Hales, Haddiscoe Road
Halvergate, Reedham Road tower mill 1929 and 1926
Happisburgh 3 views
Harleston Jay's Green x2
East Harling X 5
Hempnall c1880 and 1926
Hempton Common X 2
Hilgay
Hindolveston
Hindringham Lower Green 1902
Hindringham Upper Mill X 2 (1902 and c1906)
Hingham X 5, including one c1910
Holt X 2, one 1909
St Benets Abbey c1856, 1856, c1848 and one other
Horning, Mill Lane post mill
Horsey
Horsford X 2
Ingham 1926
Kelling
Kenninghall (Chimney Mill) X2
" Mill Lane c1903
and tower and post mill together
Kennimghall Banham Road
Loddon: Black Mill (smock), Mill Lane tower and post mills, Mill Road post mill
North Lopham X 2
Ludham High Mill
Marham
Mattishall Mill Street X 2
Little Melton
Methwold, Brandon Road, tower mill
Middleton X 2
Mundford 1931
Mulbarton tower mill 1926, 1929, 1934
Mulbarton smock X 3
Swaffham smock mill
" Cley Road post mill
Swanton Morley post mill
Terrington St Clements Lynn Road post mill c1850 and c1890
Terrington St Clements Balsam Fields (2 views)
Terrington St Clements Sutton Road (2 views)
Thompson X 2
Thornham X 2
Thrigby
Tibenham
Tilney St Lawrence post mill X 3 (one from 1908)
Tittleshall
Tivetshall St Margaret X 3 (1926)
Topcroft X 2
Tottenhill X 3 (one 1928)
North Tuddenham
Wacton c1897
Walpole Highway X 3 1928
Ingleborough X 2 1936 and 1938
Watlington 1916 and 2 other views
Weeting
Wells (Northfield) smock mill
Welney c1920
Weybourne tower and post
Wicklewood High St 1926 1937 and a third
Winfarthing X 2
Winterton Hemsby Rd post mill
Woodton, Bedingham post mill X 3
Wreningham
Wymondham North X 3 (one 1929)
Wymondham Browick's 1926
Worstead 1926 (2 views)
Yaxham c1900

NCL has a postcard album I have not looked at yet

NORTHAMPTONSHIRE

BADBY, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with stocks and remains of three sails

BARBY, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) tower with dome roof and derelict boiler house, 1970 (b) tower reduced to a shell, 1981
(2) NMR (a-b) tower with dome roof, August 1938 (c) wallower on ground, August 1938

BLAKESLEY, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) capless tower, 1989
(2) NMR (a) castellated tower, October 1933

BOZEAT, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a-b) w/o (c-d) disused with sails, 1934 (e) the hand-cranked winding gear on the tailpole (f) derelict with sails, late 1930s (g-h) wreckage after collapse, 1949 (2) "Wind and Water Mills", the occasional Journal of the Midland Wind- and Watermills Group, no 9 1989 (a) disused with sails, 1927 (3) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) ditto, April 1934 (c) ditto, 1942 (d-g) ditto, 1947 (h) close-up of trestle, 1947 (5) de Little 2 (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1930s (6) WG (a) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, March 1934 (c-e) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (f) detail of trestle, lower body and ladder, March 1934 (g) detail of tailpole, August 1934 (h) detail of trestle and lower body, March 1934

BRAUNSTON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused with cap but no sails (b) tower with castellated top, 1938 (c) ditto, pre-war (e) ditto, 1963 (f) tower with top floor removed, 1970 (g) tower with new domed roof, 1980 (2) NMR (a) castellated tower, 1934

BRIGSTOCK, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict, with cap, stocks and fan cradle

BURTON LATIMER, post mill; (1) "Burton Latimer: Portrait of a Certain Place", Rotary Club of the Ise Valley 1991 (a) w/o, c1896

BYFIELD, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a-c) disused with sails

CLIPSTON, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused with sails

COTTINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) stump of tower, 1963
(b) ditto, 1980 (c) during renovation, August 1987 (d) during renovation, April 1990 (e) renovation complete, with extension to mill tower

EAST HADDON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict, with cap roof spars and one stock, c1906 (b) derelict, with cap roof completely gone and stock also missing, July 1937 (2) NMR
(a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, October 1933 (b) ditto, August 1934 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, August 1934

EASTON-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1935 (c) capless tower, 1980 (2) NMR (a) capless tower, 1934 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

FINEDON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) the house-converted tower, 1910 (b) the house-converted tower, 1990s

GREAT OAKLEY, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with 4 sails

GREENS NORTON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused with cap still in place, c1930 (b) capless tower, 1972 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap but no sails, July 1934

HELLIDON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused with sails, early C20 (b) derelict with four sails, June 1936 (c) derelict with three sails, 1971 (d) great spur wheel with auxiliary drive to one pair of millstones (e) view of interior with wallower, upright shaft and spurwheel, 1971 (f) the house-converted tower with replica dome cap
(2) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1934 (3) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, June 1936

KETTERING, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with 2 sails, c1900 (b) wreckage after collapse, 1900 (2) T Stainwright says there is a photo of the mill with the dormers

KETTERING, Rockingham Road tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1890

KINGS CLIFFE, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (b) disused with sails (c) during demolition, October 1925 (d) tower in act of falling, October 1925

LITTLE HOUGHTON, post mill; (1) T Stainwright believes photo to exist somewhere

LONG BUCKBY, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused with one sail, c1910 (b) derelict with one sail (2) Freese and Shann refer to photo of mill with open trestle

MOULTON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) stump of tower, 1947 (2) UOK (MC) (a) stump of tower, May 1947

NASEBY, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o, 1891 (b) w/o

NEWNHAM, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) tower with decahedral roof, pre-WW1 (b) ruined stump of tower, 1980 (c) tower after repair work, 1988 (d) house-converted tower with new decahedral roof

NORTHAMPTON, Kingsthorpe tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o, pre-1904 (b) complete except for fantail (c) the house-converted tower in the 1940s (d) the house-converted tower with extensions added, 1989 (2) UOK (MC) (a) the house-converted tower, May 1947

NORTHAMPTON, Vigo windpump; (1) Stainwright (a) stump of tower (in background)

OUNDLE, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap, (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, June 1936 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1936

RAUNDS, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (mill undergoing maintenance, with 2 sails and fan removed) (b) w/o, with 4 sails and fan (c) truncated tower, 1934 (2) NMR (a-b) truncated tower, August 1934

ROTHWELL, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o

RUSHDEN, smock mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o, pre-1914 (b) the house-converted base, 1934 (c) the house-converted base today (2) UOK (MC) (a) base, July 1934

SCALDWELL, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (2) "Wind and Water Mills", the Occasional Journal of the Midland Wind and Watermills Group, no 9 1989 (a) derelict with 4 sails

SILVERSTONE, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o (b) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 1920s (in background) (c) capless tower, mid-1970s (2) NMR (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, July 1934

STAVERTON, post mill; (1) Photograph of roundhouse said to exist in NMR or Science Museum Library, but not found by author

SULGRAVE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap roof framing, windshaft and brakewheel, June 1936 (2) Stainwright (a) capless tower, 1980 (b) shell undergoing renovation, 1981 (c) renovation complete

TANSOR, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with cap, pre-WW2 (b) ditto, June 1935 (c) capless tower, 1980 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, June 1936 (3) Northamptonshire Record Office, Wootton Hall Park, Northampton NN4 8BQ (a) w/o (4) Country House magazine 1910 vol 3 (a) disused with sails but no fan (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict without sails, June 1935

WELDON, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o

WOOTTON, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a-b) w/o (c) tower with flat roof, 1947 (d) stump of tower, 1980 (e) stump of tower after further house conversion, 1990s (2) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, October 1933 (b) castellated base of tower, 1979 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with flat roof, May 1947

NORTHUMBERLAND

BAMBURGH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-h) view of castle complex showing preserved tower with conical roof, middle distance (i-j) preserved tower

CALLERTON, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (under Ponteland, Binney Hall) (a) the house-converted tower, June 1947

GREAT WHITTINGTON, tower mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen)

HAGGERSTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) the tower used as dovecote, 1950 (b) ditto, n.d. (c) ditto, 1943 (d) ditto, 1960 (e) interior of dovecote, 1956

NEWCASTLE, Chimney Mill, smock mill; (1) Cook (a) preserved smock tower with octagonal roof (2) SMS (photo album) (a) disused with cap and 5 sail frames (from Newcastle Weekly Chronicle 18.2.1928)
(3) NewCL (a-b) w/o (c) preserved with shutters removed and ornamental porches over windows (d-e) preserved with shutters removed etc, c1890 (f) preserved with shutters removed etc, c1900 (g) preserved with shutters removed etc, c1905 (h-i) preserved with shutters removed etc, c1914

NEWCASTLE, Cowgate, tower mill; (1) NewCL (a) derelict showing cross and cap frame (b-d) derelict showing cap frame, fan cradle, brakewheel and cross, 1900 (e) derelict showing cross and cap frame, c1911

NEWCASTLE, Darn Crook, smock mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen) (2) NewCL (a) derelict capless smock with remains of stage, c1890

NEWCASTLE, Elswick, tower mill (with five sails); (1) NewCL (a) w/o, c1855 (b) w/o,1856 (c) w/o, c1860 (captioned Sinton's Mill, Mill Lane, Elswick

NEWCASTLE, Fenham, tower mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (from Evening Chronicle and Evening World (?) 13.12.1936) (is this same as Cowgate?)

NEWCASTLE, New Hills tower mill; (1) NewCL (a) capless tower, c1910

NORTH SHIELDS, Billy Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower only, May 1949 (b-e) tower only, 1965 (2) BOAM (a) with cap but no sails, pre-1900 (3) SMS (photo album) (a) tower only (from "Evening Chronicle Slower(?- writing not clear at this point), 18.3.1936"

NORHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower preserved with conical roof

NORTH SHIELDS, Spital Dene, tower mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) tower only, with conical roof and chimney (from ECS, as Billy Mill)

NORTH SHIELDS, Coble Dene Mill, tower mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) tower with conical roof and chimney (from ECS, as Billy and Spital Dene)

PLESSEY, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) shell of tower, June 1947

SPINDLESTONE, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) tower preserved with conical roof, July 1961

WOODHORN, tower mill; (1) Major 2 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks (2) Country Life (number of issue unknown but late 1950s/early 1960s) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks (3) Wind & Watermill Section Newsletter July 1985 (a) derelict with cap roof framing, windshaft and stocks (4) NMR (a-c) derelict with no cap but windshaft, stocks and brake-wheel, August 1960



NOTTINGHAMSHIRE

ASLOCKTON, post mill; (1) GMM (a) w/o, 1900 (b-c) w/o, 1910 (d) w/o, with two sails and roof just visible above other building (photocopy) (2) Aslockton and Whatton Local History Group, "The Changing Village: Aspects Of Local History in Aslockton, Scarring-ton and Whatton" (a) as GMM(d) (b) close up of mill body, round-house roof and upper part of roundhouse, with most of one sail also visible and man standing at top of ladder; photograph also shows excrescences on side of mill, one of which appears to be an exter-nally mounted bolter/wire machine with a gearwheel which could be part of its drive

BECKINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap but no sails, July 1934 (2) MLL (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1927 (3) WG (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, August 1934

BESTHORPE, post mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict with four sails (2) Shaw (a) the surviving roundhouse, 1992, with trestle visible through window (3) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails, April 1934 (b) roundhouse (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, 1928 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, 1928-32 (5) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1952 (6) GMM (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1936 (b) derelict with 4 sails, 1947(?) (7) WG (a-b) disused with sails, mid-distance (c) derelict with 4 sails (d-e) derelict with 4 sails, but roof nearly gone (8) UOK (MC) (a-e) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (f) detail of roundhouse, lower buck, ladder and tailpole, August 1934 (g-h) derelict with 4 sails (one stripped down almost to stock) but roof mostly gone (in second photo one sail is hidden by mill body), September 1946

BLIDWORTH, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, c1892 (b) capless tower, 1992 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with no sails and collapsing cap, June 1936 (3) GMM (a) w/o, 1892 (photocopy) (b) derelict with cap frame and part of cap roof, 1933 (c-e) capless tower, 1986 (4) Nott.CL (a) derelict with remains of cap, 1935 (5) W Richards, "Blidworth In Old Picture Postcards," European Library, 3rd edition 1990 (a) w/o (6) Will Richards, "Blidworth At Work And Play," 1993 (a) w/o (7) W Wild, "A Brief Recorded History Of Blidworth includ-ing Newstead and Clipstone," the author May 1972

BRADMORE, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) derelict with stocks, pre-1880 (b) the surviving mill mound, 1992 (2) GMM (a) derelict with stocks, as Shaw (photocopy) (3) WG (a) as Shaw but slightly clearer

CARLTON ON TRENT, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower only, July 1934 (2) GMM (a) close-up of window frame, November 1977 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

CAUNTON, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) the preserved tower, 1992
(2) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 1950 (c) as (a), 1951 (3) GMM (a) derelict with 2 broken sails (b) ditto (photocopy) (c) capless tower, July 1974 (photocopy) (4) WG (a-b) disused with 2 broken sails

CODDINGTON, tower mill; (1) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (2) Shaw (a) the house-converted tower, 1992 (3) NMR (a) w/o, June 1936 (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1928 (5) T Warner (a) w/o (6) GMM (a) w/o, 1936 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, 1961 (7) WG (a-d) w/o (8) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1934 (under Balderton)

COLLINGHAM, Potter Hill, Tommy Baker's Mill, post mill; (1) Baker and Wailes (a) derelict, in near skeleton condition with roof gone but 4 sails still on (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) as Baker & Wailes, 1928 (3) WG (a) as Baker and Wailes, May 1926 (b-e) derelict, in near skeleton condition with roof gone but sails still on

COSTOCK, post mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) post and quarterbars (2) SMS (photo album) (a) disused with 4 sails (from "Notts Weekly Guardian" 3.9.1927) (3) GMM (a) w/o (b) w/o (coloured postcard) (c) disused with 4 sails (d) w/o, c1905 (e) w/o, c1908 (4) Moon (a) w/o, 1900-05 (included by error under HOTON) (5) WG (a) sheers and junction of post and quarterbars (b-c) derelict with 4 sails (d) dates carved on internal timber

COTGRAVE, post mill; (1) GMM (a) derelict with one stock

DUNHAM-ON-TRENT, post mill; (1) Wind- and Watermill Section Newsletter 1983 (a) w/o (2) "Bygone Bassetlaw" (a) w/o (photocopy in Greens Mill Museum)

EAKRING, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) capless tower, 1992 (2) NMR
(a-d) capless tower, 1987 (e) capless tower, distant view, 1987 (3) GMM (a) capless tower, c1936 (b) capless tower, 1990 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, June 1936

EAST BRIDGFORD (Kneeton), tower mill (six-sailer); (1) Shaw (a) the house-converted tower, 1991 (2) GMM (a) with cap and cross, c1936 (b-c) the house-converted tower, July 1936 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and cross, August 1933

EAST BRIDGFORD, Stokes' Mill, tower mill (four-sailer); (1) Shaw (a) the house-converted tower, 1992 (2) GMM (a) w/o, c1900 (b) derelict with cap and cross (c) ditto, c1936 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap and cross, 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and cross, August 1933

EAST DRAYTON, post mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) derelict buck on ground, apparently in use as shed (2) WG (captioned just Drayton) (a-b) derelict buck on ground

EAST MARKHAM, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) derelict with cap, c1936 (b) the house-converted tower, 1992 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, July 1934 (b) derelict with sails and cap roof gone, 1950 (c-f) house-converted tower, 1982 (3) GMM (a) the house-converted tower, 1990 (4) WG (a-b) w/o (caption calls mill "Cleveland") (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934

EAST RETFORD, South Retford tower mill; (1) Biggs (a) w/o (2) NMR
(a) tower only, July 1934 (3) GMM (a) w/o, c1905, as Biggs

EAST RETFORD, Storcroft mill, tower mill; (1) Biggs (a) w/o (b) the burnt-out tower (2) GMM (a) burnt-out tower, as Biggs (3) WG (a) burnt-out tower, as Biggs (b) w/o

EAST RETFORD "Wilson's Mill, Retford" (one of above mills?) is shown in w/o in "Views Of Old Retford", Retford and District Historical and Archaeological Society 1990, "Retford In Old Picture Postcards" by Angela and Greg Franks, Reflections of a Bygone Age 1993, and D J Ottewell, "Britain In Old Photographs: Nottingham-shire At Work", Alan Sutton 1996

EDWINSTOWE, Sherwood Forest, post mill; (1) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) there is a book on Sherwood Forest in Notts CL with a photo of a windmill in it in the Edwinstowe section, but it looks like Laxton

ELSTON, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, c1920 (b) the house-converted tower, 1992 (2) NMR (a) capless tower only, 1950 (3) T Warner (a) w/o (4) GMM (a) view of internal machinery, Sept 1977 (5) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (6) WG (a-c) w/o

EVERTON, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, c1923 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, July 1961 (3) GMM (a-e) derelict with cap frame and remains of cap roof, November 1985 (f) tower with cap frame, distant view, November 1985 (g) looking up inside tower at timbers of cap frame, November 1985 (h-k) derelict with cap frame only, 1990 (4) "Bygone Bassetlaw" (a) w/o (p/copy in Green's Mill Museum) (5) WG (a-c) w/o

FARNSFIELD, tower mill; (1) GMM (a) tower only (truncated?), c1936 (2) UOK (MC) (a) roofed-over capless tower, June 1936

FISKERTON, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, c1890

GRASSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails

GRINGLEY-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) tower with some remains of cap, 1992 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap but no sails or windshaft, July 1934 (3) GMM (a) derelict with cap roof framing and finial, mid-late C20 (b-e) derelict with collapsed cap roof, November 1985 (f) derelict with collapsed cap roof, 1990 (4) Nott.CL (a) derelict with cap (most of boarding still on) (5) WG (a) disused with cap (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (b-c) derelict with cap, July 1961 (NOTE none of above show mill with windshaft)

HARBY, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, 1905 (2) NMR (a) capless tower (3) GMM (a) capless tower (4) WG (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap, 1929 (c) capless tower, May 1963

HICKLING Rex Wailes seems to have had a photo of a mill here according to Baker and Wailes

HUCKNALL, Club Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) GMM (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o (mid-distance) (e-g) w/o, c1930(?) (h) w/o (but looks like one sail down to stock) (i) demolition, 1930: mill in act of falling forward, sails still on (j) wreckage after demolition, 1930 (3) Sheila Cooke, Victorian and Edwardian Nottinghamshire, Batsford 1976 (a) w/o (4) D Ottewell, "Hucknall In Old Picture Postcards," Reflections of a Bygone Age 1994 (a) w/o, March 1910 (b) w/o, c1920(?) (5) WG (a) w/o

KEYWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap but no sails, July 1933 (2) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (3) GMM (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap but no sails, c1936 (c) ditto, 1942(?) (d) view of part of great spur wheel and stone nut (photocopy) (4) Brian Lund, "Keyworth and Plumtree in Old Picture Postcards", Reflections of a Bygone Age 1990 (a) w/o, 1906 (b) without sails or fan, 1928 (5) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (6) WG (a-b) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, August 1934

KIMBERLEY, East Mill, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) the ruined roundhouse walls, 1992 (2) GMM (a-k) ruined roundhouse, Jan 1986 (3) WG (a) surviving roundhouse, post, sheers and crowntree, May 1947

KIMBERLEY, post mill (2); (1) GMM (a) ruined roundhouse (piers?), Jan 1986

LAMBLEY, Smith's Mill, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) derelict with four sails, c1900 (2) GMM (a) w/o, mid-distance (b) derelict with four sails, photocopy (but note says, "this is not Lambley but may be Strelley. But unless one of the photos has been printed reversed note that Strelley appears to be right-handed and this one here left-handed") (3) D Ottewell, "Lowdham, Lambley and Gonalston in Old Picture Postcards," Reflections of a Bygone Age 1998 (a) w/o, distant view (4) "Lambley Village Book", in Nott.CL (a) derelict with 4 sails

LANEHAM, tower mill; (1) D J Ottewell, "Britain In Old Photo-graphs: Nottinghamshire At Work", Alan Sutton 1996 (a) w/o, 1910 (2) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (from Retford Times 1.6.1934 (mill by then disused)) (3) Nott.CL (a) w/o, c1920 (4) WG (a) w/o, c1900

LAXTON, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, pre-1916 (2) GMM (a) w/o, as Shaw (3) D Ottewell, "Sherwood Forest In Old Photographs" (a) w/o (under Edwinstowe) (4) J W Beckett, "A History Of Laxton: England's Last Open Village", Basil Blackwell 1989 (a) w/o or derelict, middle distance (5) WG (a) w/o

MANSFIELD, Rock Mill, Club Mill or Jackson's Mill, tower mill; (1) TOMS (a) derelict with 4 sails (one broken off short) (2) GMM (a) derelict with cap roof framing, finial, cross and one sail (b) ditto (photocopy) (d) derelict with 4 sails, c1870 (photocopy) (e) derelict with 4 sails, c1890 (photocopy) (f) derelict with 4 sails (photocopy) (3) OMS (a) w/o except for one damaged sail (?) and no fan, c1890(?) (b) derelict with 4 sails, one broken off short, as in book (c-e) derelict with cap spars, cross and part of one sail, c1895(?) (f) in background of photo with Abraham's Mill, see below, condition not clear

MANSFIELD, Sherwood Hill, Peck's Mill, tower mill; (1) OMS (a) derelict with 3 sails (b) derelict with 3 sails, c1890

MANSFIELD, Abrahams' Mill, tower mill; (1) GMM (a) w/o (photocopy) (b) derelict with fan and some shutters missing and one sail apparently damaged (photocopy) (2) OMS (a) derelict with fan and some shutters missing and one sail apparently damaged, c1890 (b) w/o, c1890 (c-d) w/o ((e) w/o, in background (f) w/o, with Rock Mill in background, c1895 (date probably wrong in view of mill's condition in (a) of 1890) (3) D Morley and J Bradbury, "From Mills To Mines: Mansfield's Industrial History", Old Mansfield Society 1996 (a) w/o, c1900

MANSFIELD, Gregg's Mill, tower mill; (1) GMM (a) tower with cap, sails etc gone and circular extension with conical roof on top of tower (photocopy) (b) ditto, c1900 (photocopy from book, "Mansfield As It Was") (2) OMS (a-c) tower with circular extension and conical roof, c1900

MANSFIELD, Penford's Mill, post mill; (1) GMM (a) w/o with 2 sails
(b) w/o with 2 sails (photocopy) (2) OMS (a-c) w/o with 2 sails, c1890 (d) w/o with 2 sails, c1890(?) (e) w/o(?) with 2 sails, middle distance, undated

MANSFIELD, Pipe Mill, tower mill (?); (1) OMS (a) very poor photo taken c1870; shows a tower with a cap but not much else is visible, unless it is the quality of the reproduction; impossible to ascertain condition of mill. Is it same as Old King's Mill?

MANSFIELD, Debdale Mill ruin; (1) OMS (a-b) The photos, taken in 1991, appear to show part of the lower wall of a post mill roundhouse

MAYTHORN, tower mill; (1) WG (a) capless tower (2) Rex Wailes seems to have had a photo of a mill here according to Baker and Wailes

MISSON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1936 (2) WG (a-c) w/o, with one sail being fitted or removed (d-e) under repair by Thompsons of Alford. One photo shows new sails on ground awaiting fitting with mill, which has 2 sail frames but no fan, in background; there is a cradle on the tower with two men on it. Other view is close-up of cap, top of fanstage, sails and cradle (no men on cradle). In both views the mill looks too small to be Misson (f) R Thompson working at base of mill tower

MISTERTON, tower mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o

NEWARK ON TRENT, unidentified mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) wreckage on ground, March 1928

NEWARK ON TRENT, Farndon, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) capless tower, 1992 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928 (3) T Warner (a) w/o (4) GMM (a) capless tower, c1936 (5) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1935

NEWARK ON TRENT, London Road, Smith's post mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with no sails (2) GMM (a) derelict with no sails, c1910 (photocopy) (3) WG (a) derelict with part of one sail visible (in Notts Windmills File)

NEWTON, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) disused with 2 sails, 1926
(b) roundhouse, 1992 (2) Baker & Wailes (a) disused with 2 sails (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1928 (4) NMR (a) w/o Sept 1934 (under Shelford) (a) derelict with 1 sail (b) ditto August 1934 (dates appear to be wrong here) (5) GMM (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) derelict with 2 sails, 1929 (c) derelict with 2 sails, 1929 (photocopy) (d) derelict with one sail, from unprovenanced newspaper article at Educational Resources Centre, Gedling (photocopy) (e) roundhouse, January 1978 (with tower of Stokes' Mill East Bridgford in background) (photocopy) (6) D Whitworth (a) derelict with one sail only and boarding gone from lower part of body, 1936 (7) WG (a) derelict with 2 sails, c1924 (b) w/o with 2 sails (filed under Newton-on-Trent in Lincolnshire collection) (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with one sail, August 1933 (b) derelict with one sail, August 1934 (c) derelict with roundhouse, lower buck and part of one sail, August 1933 (d) surviving roundhouse, July 1961 (e) crosstrees, July 1961

NORTH LEVERTON, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1992
(2) de Little (a) detail of patent sails (b) tail bearing, striking rod and fantail gearing (c) w/o (d) barley meal pouring into sack (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) w/o, from Country Life 24th March 1957 (b-g) w/o (h) close-up of sails and striking gear (i-k) close-up of cap, sails and fan (5) Hills (a) w/o, August 1991 (6) de Little 2 (a) miller Bill Heathershaw releasing brake (7) GMM (a) brakewheel and wallower (b) w/o (c) w/o (close-up of cap and sails) (d-j) w/o, November 1985 (k) w/o, 1990 (l) w/o, photocopy (m-n) w/o, apart from one sail removed for repairs (photocopy) (o) w/o, with man working on sail (photocopy) (8) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (9) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) w/o, 6th September 1977, with party from TIMS outside (10) Watts (CM) (a) w/o (11) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o (12) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (13) WG (a-i) w/o (14) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1934 (c) w/o, June 1934
NORTH MUSKHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower, August 1934
(2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1928 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

NORTH MUSKHAM, post mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, August 1933 (b) ditto, August 1934 (c) ditto, June 1936
(d) ditto, n.d. (e) trestle, crowntree and ruins of roundhouse, June 1937 (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, 1928 (3) GMM (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (4) WG (under South Muskham) (a-f) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, August 1933 (b-d) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, August 1934 (e) 1810 datestone, August 1934

NORTH WHEATLEY, tower mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with cap, fan and four out of six sails (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, June 1934 (3) GMM (a) w/o, distant view (4) WG (a) disused with cap b) w/o, middle distance, partly obscured by trees and buildings

NORWELL, tower mill; (1) GMM (a) stump of tower, c1936 (2) John Goodwin (compiler), "Memories Of Norwell", Newark District Council 1984 (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (c) w/o, middle distance (3) WG (a) stump (b-f) derelict with one sail

NOTTINGHAM, Carlton, tower mill; (1) GMM (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (b-c) derelict with cap, c1910 (d) derelict with cap, 1924 (2) SMS (photo albums) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, from Nottingham Journal and Express 3.9.1932 (b) derelict as (a), with windshaft and brakewheel also visible, from Nottingham Guardian 12.1.1933

NOTTINGHAM, Sneinton, Green's Mill, tower mill; (1) Cannell (a) w/o (2) Shaw (a) mill on fire, 1947 (b) w/o, 1992 (3) Nott.CL (a) w/o with house, c1870, as booklet (b) derelict with cap but no sails, c1895 (poor quality, perhaps retouched) (c-d) tower preserved with dummy cap, 1928 (taken from "Links With Old Nottingham" by J Holland Walker (e-g) on fire, 1947, as Cannell (h) the burnt-out tower, 10th July 1947 (i) tower only, c1955 (j) the derelict tower, April 1973 (k) under restoration with new cap, windshaft and fantail in place (l) opening ceremony after fitting of new cap and stage (m) December 1985: new sail being made up in yard, with lower part of tower and stage visible in back-ground (n) new shuttered sail in yard before fitting, 1986 (o) 1986: interior view showing grain cleaner and upright shaft (p) 1986: view of upper part of tower with new cap and fantail (q) restored with sails (lower part of tower hidden by vegetation) (r) as restored, middle distance, 1986 (s) as restored, 1986 (t-u) first sail in course of fitting, 1986 (v) internal view showing windshaft, brakewheel and wallower, 1986 (w) with stocks and 3 sails in position, 1986 (x) view of stone floor, 1986, showing upright shaft, great spur wheel and stones (y) crane in process of lifting up sail to mill (mill itself not visible), 1986 (z) Japanese delegation inspecting machinery of stone floor, 1986 (aa-ac) sails in course of fitting, 1986 (ad-ai) man working on sail, 1986 (aj) mill floodlit at night, 1987 (ak) view of miller David Bent adjusting canvas on sail, 1987 (al-am) as restored, 1991 (4) GMM (a+) various, not noted (5) Vince 1993 (a) w/o, 1980s/90s (6) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o

NOTTINGHAM, Sneinton, Oaklands' Mill, post mill; (1) Cannell
(a) w/o, c1880 (2) GMM (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1870 (mid-distance) (3) Nott.CL (a) w/o, in background, c1870 (b-d) w/o, c1880 (4) WG (a) w/o, c1880

NOTTINGHAM, Radford's Mill, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) the ivy-covered roundhouse, 1992 (2) Nott.CL (a) remains of roundhouse, c1936 (b-d) remains of roundhouse, 1983 (3) GMM (a-f) ruined roundhouse, 1983 (g-i) ruined roundhouse, March 1985

ORSTON, tower mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (2) Paul Barnes, "Orston: A Nottinghamshire Village Through The Centuries", Barny Books 1995 (a) w/o (b) w/o, as re-erected in Auckland, New Zealand (3) WG (captioned Ordsall in one view) (a-b) w/o

PLUMTREE, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) derelict with 2 sails, early C20 (2) GMM (a) derelict with 2 sails, as Shaw (3) D Whitworth (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1929 (4) Brian Lund, "Keyworth and Plumtree In Old Picture Postcards", Reflections Of A Bygone Age 1990 (a) derelict with 2 sails

RAVENDALE, post mill; (1) GMM (a) derelict with one sail (b) derelict with one sail, c1890 (2) OMS (a) derelict with one sail (b-c) derelict with one sail, c1890

SOUTH LEVERTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, August 1934 (2) Baker & Wailes (a) wire machine and engine drive (3) WG (a-b) derelict with cap and 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, August 1934

SPALFORD, post mill; (1) WG (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (in file marked "Windmills: Foreign")

STRELLEY, post mill; (1) GMM (a) w/o, 1884

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) capless tower, 1992

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD, Sutton Junction, six-sailed tower mill;
(1) Baker and Wailes (a) w/o (2) GMM (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (photocopy) (d-e) w/o, 1900(?) (3) David Ottewell, "Sutton-in-Ashfield with Huthwaite and Stanton Hill in Old Picture Postcards", Yesterday's Nottinghamshire series no 25 1993 (a-b) w/o (4) W Clay-Dove, "Sutton-in-Ashfield In Times Past," Countryside Publications 1978 (a) w/o (5) J Barne-Smith, "Sutton-in-Ashfield In Old Photo-graphs," Sutton Publishing 1996 (a) w/o (6) David Ottewell, "Brit-ain In Old Photographs: Nottinghamshire At Work" (a) w/o, 1907 (7) WG (a-b) w/o

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD, post mill; (1) J Barne-Smith, "Sutton-in-Ashfield In Old Photographs", Sutton Publishing 1996 (a) derelict with 2 sails

SUTTON UPON TRENT, tower mill (1) T Warner (a) derelict with one stock and one sail (2) GMM (a) w/o, 1890s(?) (b) capless tower, c1936 (c) capless tower, June 1974 (photocopy) (3) Martin Andrew, "Nottinghamshire: Pictorial Memories", Waterton Press Ltd 1999 (a) w/o, 1909 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

THORNEY, Broadholme Mill (but note says this could be Saxilby, Lincs), tower mill; (1) GMM (a) tower with conical roof, c1936

THOROTON, post mill; (1) GMM (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1900

TUXFORD, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (b) w/o, 1990s (2) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1996 (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap but no sails, 1934 (also shows post mill) (b-f) derelict with cap, 1950 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) complete except for most of one sail missing, 1928 (also shows post mill) (b) complete except for most of one sail missing, 1928 (5) GMM (a) disused with cap, c1936 (b) with new cap and fan, 1990 (6) Nott.CL (a) derelict with cap, c1933 (also shows post mill, see below) (7) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o (b) detail of cap finial (c) detail of bull nose striking gear (8) WG (a-b) w/o (c-f) w/o (also shows post mill) (g-o) complete except for part of one sail (also shows post mill) (9) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (b) disused with cap, June 1936

TUXFORD, post mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails, windshaft and brakewheel, August 1934 (c) derelict with 4 sails windshaft and brakewheel, July 1934 (also shows tower mill) (2) Baker & Wailes (a) close-up of twin fantails (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails but fan gone, 1928 (also shows tower mill) (c) derelict with 4 sails but fan gone, 1928 (4) GMM (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails, windshaft and brakewheel (also shows tower mill with cap) (5) Nott.CL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, c1933 (also shows tower mill, see above) (6) WG (a-i) derelict with 4 sails (also shows tower mill) (j) w/o (k-m) w/o (also shows tower mill) (n) derelict with 4 sails (o) derelict with 2 sails (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with roof gone but windshaft and sails still on, August 1933 (b) derelict with roof gone etc (also shows tower mill), August 1933 (c-d) derelict with roof gone but windshaft and sails still on, August 1934 (e) derelict with roof gone etc (also shows tower mill), August 1934 (f) surviving roundhouse and sheers, June 1936

TUXFORD, Stone Road Mill, tower mill; (1) GMM (filed under EGMANTON) (a) derelict with cap, c1936 (2) WG (a) derelict with cap
(GMM has a coloured postcard of Tuxford village showing three windmills in the distance, all apparently in working order. Two are the post mill and nearby tower mill while the third, whose details cannot be made out, is presumably Stone Road mill)

UPTON, post mill; (1) Shaw (a) w/o, c1905 (2) GMM (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, September 1946

WALKERINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) w/o

WARSOP, tower mill; (1) Shaw (a) capless tower, 1992 (2) GMM (a) capless tower (photocopy) (b) the house-converted tower, 1990

WEST STOCKWITH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) house-converted stump, July 1934 (2) WG (a) house-converted stump

WHATTON, tower mill; (1) S Cooke, "Victorian and Edwardian Nottinghamshire", Batsford 1976 (a) w/o (2) Shaw (a) capless tower, 1991 (3) GMM (a) w/o, c1895 (b) capless tower, 1990 (4) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted tower, August 1934



OXFORDSHIRE

ARNCOTT, post mill; (1) Freese (a) very derelict with all boarding gone from body, one stock remaining, 1945 (b) windshaft after collapse of mill (2) Foreman (a) w/o, 1908 (3) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1937 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a-c) w/o, 30th June 1907 as Foreman (d) w/o, 8th August 1907 (e) view of interior showing post, meal bins and 2 pairs of stones with their furniture (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, March 1932 (c-e) derelict with 2 sails, June 1934

BICESTER, post mill; (1) OCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) Michael J Morgan, "Bicester In Camera", Quotes Ltd 1986 (a) derelict with 4 sails

BLACKTHORN, tower mill (east); (1) Foreman (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (wrongly dated 1978) (2) OCL (a) tower with part of cap frame, 1980s (3) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) tower with part of cap frame, May 1972

BLACKTHORN, tower mill (west); (1) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) stump of tower, May 1972 (2) Foreman (a) close-up of tile hanging on tower (wrongly captioned East mill) (b) windshaft, poll end and stocks on ground, 1900 (wrongly captioned East mill, and date also wrong)

The NMR, MOTHOS and UOK (MC) entries for the Blackthorn mills are a little confusing and do not seem to tally with what is given above:

NMR:
BLACKTHORN (East mill, tiled mill) (a) derelict with cap but no sails, 1932 (b) ditto, 1933 (c) ditto, 1931 (d-e) derelict with cap frame, 1963

BLACKTHORN, rubble mill (a) derelict with cap frame, windshaft and brakewheel, 1932 (b) ditto, 1933

MOTHOS UC:
Tiled mill: (1) derelict with cap but no sails 30th June 1907 stocks and wooden poll end on ground nearby (2) stocks and poll end on ground as Foreman (3) derelict with cap but no sails, 30th June 1907
Plastered mill: (1) derelict with w/s and b/w (this is the one shown in this condition in Foreman).

UOK MC:
East Mill (smaller one, tiled) a-b derelict with cap, June 1934
(c) derelict with cap
West Mill (survivor) (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, June 1934; (b-c) capless tower September 1943

BLEDLOW, see Buckinghamshire

BLOXHAM, post mill; (1) Foreman (a) becoming derelict, 1970s, with three sails (wrongly dated 1910) (2) Blythman (a-b) as preserved, early 1970s (3) NMR (a-g) as preserved, 1961 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) complete with 4 sails, and painted white, 29th July 1907 (caption says "not used now") (5) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a-c) preserved but with one damaged sail, June 1975 (6) UOK (MC) (a-e) disused with 4 sails, July 1939 (all but one photo show part of one sail missing) (f) close-up of trestle, July 1939 (7) w/o, C19, in Banbury Guard-ian 2 April 1957

CHARLTON-ON-OTMOOR, post mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o, c1900 (2) M Clapinson, Victorian and Edwardian Oxfordshire, Batsford Books 1978 (a) w/o (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o, as Foreman and VAEO

CHINNOR, post mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-c) derelict with 2 and a half stocks, no fan and one sail, 1932 (d) ditto, 1933 (e) ditto, 1934 (f-g) very derelict with the one sail only, 1960
(h) view of post and quarterbars, 1960 (3) Vince 1968 (a) derelict, with half of one stock remaining and all weatherboarding gone, shortly before dismantling in 1967 (4) Vince (WIBATC) (a) brake wheel on ground after dismantling (b) wallower, crown wheel and other gear after dismantling (5) UOK (WBM) (a-b) derelict (lower mill body), February 1940 (6) OCL (a) w/o 1895 (before fitting of fantail) (7) M Darmody/C and P Whelehan, "Chinnor In Camera", Quotes 1988 (a) (b) w/o, 1920s: mill in middle distance with bottom half obscured, steam mill on right of picture (8) MOTHOS (UC) (a-c) w/o, 15th July 1913 (d) detail of fan, fan carriage, tailpole and ladder, 15th July 1913 (9) Vince 1973 (a) derelict, as 1st edition (b) brakewheel on ground after dismantling (10) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with one sail, March 1932 (c) detail of sail, August 1935 (d-e) derelict with one sail, August 1935 (f) derelict, February 1940, with surviving sail hidden by body but stump of adjacent stock visible (g) wallower, February 1940 (h) detail of buck, surviving sail and striking gear, February 1940 (i) post and horns, February 1940 (j) hurst and collar, February 1940 (k-l) post and trestle, February 1940 (m) derelict, with surviving sail hidden by body, August 1946 (n) derelict with one sail, August 1946 (o) detail of buck frame showing exposed post, August 1946 (p-t) derelict with one sail, January 1949 (u-w) derelict with one sail, September 1952 (x-aa) derelict with one sail, August 1961 (in 2 photos sail not visible)

CLANFIELD, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) capless tower, early 1900s
(2) MOTHOS (UC) (a-c) capless tower

EPWELL, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) disused with sails (2) OCL (a-b) complete except for 2 damaged sails, early C20 (or have sails been cut off by photograph?) (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 3rd September 1907

GREAT HASELEY, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o, early 1900s (b) view of windshaft, canister and remains of stocks, c1976 (c) view of part of brake wheel during restoration, c1976 (d) cap finial on ground during restoration, c1976 (2) Vince 1968 (a) derelict but with copper sheeting and finial still on cap, 1964 (3) Vince (WIBATC) (a) as Vince (Discovering Windmills) (4) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails and fragments of a third, December 1931 (b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, May 1934 (5) OCL (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, plus fragment of third sail, 1920s (b) derelict with 2 sails and fragment of a third, 1920s(?) (c-d) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 1960s (e-k) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 1960s (l-m) under repair, August 1975; tower surrounded by scaffolding, not sure if cap still on but windshaft and 2 sails are (n-o) with new cap in place, scaffolding still up, January 1976 (p) after repairs, 1977 (mid-distance) (q) mid-distance, 1981 (6) MOTHOS (UC) (a-d) disused with sails, 19th September 1907 (f) disused with sails, 19th Sept-ember 1907 (two men on one sail) (g) close-up of cap, sails and fan, 19th September 1907 (7) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict with 2 sails, May 1970 (b) derelict with 2 sails, May 1972 (c) preserved with new cap and 2 sails, April 1976 (8) Vince 1973 (a) derelict with 2 sails but finial of cap and copper sheeting still on (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, September 1932 (c-d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935

GREAT MILTON, post mill; (1) Foreman (a) disused with 2 sails, 1900
(2) NMR (a) disused with 2 sails (b) disused with 2 sails, c1901
(3) OCL (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, c1900 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, as Foreman

HORNTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) SMS (a) w/o, pre-1907 (wrongly captioned Blackthorn) (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derel-ict with 4 sails (one hidden by tower), early C20 (b) w/o, 29th September 1907 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1933

LITTLE MILTON, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1900 (2) OCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, early C20 (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1907 (b) derelict with 2 sails

NETTLEBED, smock mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o (b) wreckage after destruction by fire in 1912 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) OCL (a) w/o, c1900
(4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 20th May 1907 (c-d) w/o, 9th September 1907

NORTH LEIGH, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) as preserved in 1935 (b) derelict, 1979: view of weather beam and surviving pair of sails (c) derelict, 1979: view of winding worm (2) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, May 1974 (3) Blythman (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, 1971 (b) derelict with stock only, 1976 (c) derelict with stock only, and brakewheel gone above curb, 1985 (d) following first-aid repairs with new cap on and remains of sails removed, 1993 (4) UOK (WBM) (a) derelict with 4 sails and damaged cap, prior to restoration in 1930s (5) NMR (a) as preserved, c1932 (c-h) preserved, 1930s (i-l) preserved with damaged sails, 1930s (m-o) derelict with 2 sails, 1952 (p) derelict with 2 sails, 1950s (b) derelict with 2 sails, 1952 (c) ditto, 1961 (6) OCL (a) in back-ground, derelict with cap and 2 sails (photo taken 1930s or 40s judging by style of car in foreground) (b) preserved with 4 sails, 1930s (mid-distance) (c) derelict with brakewheel and 2 sails, 1970s(?) (d) derelict with windshaft and stock, November 1985 (b) ditto, December 1985 (7) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) disused with sails, 18th June 1907 (c-e) disused with sails, 29th August 1907 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (before 1930s restoration) (c-e) derel-ict with 3 sails, November 1943 (f) derelict with 3 sails (one hidden by tree), November 1943

SOUTH WESTON, smock mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o, 1920 (2) NMR (WC) (a) as Foreman, mid-distance (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) w/o, 15th July 1913

STOKENCHURCH, see under Buckinghamshire

STONESFIELD, tower mill; (1) MOTHOS (UC) (a) stump of tower, 12th September 1907

THAME, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) Norman Waters, "Thame In Old Picture Postcards", European Library 1984 (a) w/o

WARDINGTON, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) house-converted stump of tower, June 1975 (2) NMR (a-e) stump of tower (f) view of internal gearing

WHEATLEY, tower mill; (1) Foreman (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) French burr runner stone with maker's name plate (c) pebble used to take wear of damsel (d) view of curb during survey undertaken prior to restoration, 1977, showing tail end of windshaft, tail bearing and fallen finial (e) finial and one of cap rollers on ground (2) Blythman (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one stock (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1934 (b) ditto, n.d. (4) Country Life, 1950s (exact date of issue unknown) (a) derelict with 2 sails (5) OCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1930s (b) derelict with 2 sails (as central roundel in postcard) (c) derelict with 2 sails (one sail only visible) (d-j) derelict with 2 sails (k-l) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one stock, April 1976 (m) windshaft and brakewheel in course of removal by crane prior to repairs, February 1977 (n) with cap etc. removed and tower surrounded by scaffolding, 1982 (6) Marion Gunther, "Around Wheatley", Alan Sutton 1995 (a) derelict with 2 sails (b) view of upper part of tower with cap and one stock, mid-late C20 (c) derelict with cap and 2 sails, c1930 (d) view of part of meal spout (e) view of one pair of stones with hopper and stone case (f) millers' tools (7) MOTHOS (UC) (a-c) w/o with 2 sails, 17th June 1907 (8) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stock and a few sail fragments, May 1971 (9) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, September 1932 (b-d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1935 (e-f) derelict with stock and fragments of one sail

WHEATLEY, post mill; (1) John Vince in "Windmills in Buckinghamshire And The Chilterns" (1976) writes under Wheatley: "In the early 1960s the author visited the tower mill. At that time there was an elderly lady living in the mill house. She was the wife of a previous miller. She had in her possession an old photograph of the second mill. This post mill stood on the opposite side of the lane and seems to have disappeared at the end of the last century".
However a telephone call to a relative of the owner in question, granddaughter of the last miller, on 1/9/1999 elicited the infor-mation that this was actually a photographic reproduction of a painting