TO WINDMILL PHOTOGRAPHIC REGISTER
ENGLISH WINDMILLS, A PHOTOGRAPHIC REGISTER


ADDENDA


November 2009


COMPILER’S NOTE
I have not attempted to list in this addenda all the photographs which can now be consulted on the websites of various organizations, as it would simply be too mammoth a task, with new images being added all the time; that is not to say it can’t be done some day, but at the moment the prospect of attempting such a task seems daunting. This applies in particular to the Frank Gregory Collection at the Mills Archive Trust (not, strictly speaking, the “National Mills Archive” as I have called it in the Key, although that is the function it serves), cataloguing of which is still under way. I have confined myself for the moment to including a select few images from various sites, principally those which seemed to me the most interesting. Many photographs at the NMA/MAT remain uncatalogued altogether due to the sheer size of the operation, although, we are nonetheless “getting there”. Some are available as reference items, or the “thumbnail” is currently missing this means that for the time being they can only be consulted on paper, and that requires time in which to do it.

Most of the items listed in the addenda as being at the Mills Archive will be found on its website, which all the other sites mentioned is easily accessible through Google.


ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
As with the original Register grateful thanks are due to the staff of all museums, libraries and record offices visited during the course of my research, for their patience in dealing with my queries and general assistance whether given in person or through correspondence.


KEY

Allen Clarke 2
J Allen Clarke, “More Windmill Land” (J M Dent 1918)

AM
Arundel Museum, c/o Arundel Museum Society, 61 High St, Arundel BN18 9AJ

BDE
Frances Benn, Claire Daunton and Jean Edwards, "Westleton: A Changed Village" (Crowes Complete Print April 2000)

Bl.CM
Black Country Museum, Tipton Road, Dudley, West Midlands DY1 4SQ

BL
Blackpool Library, Queen Street, Blackpool FY1 1PX. A number of items in the collection are photocopies

Bonwick
Luke Bonwick, “Norfolk’s Windmills by River, Road and Rail” (Bonwick Publishing 2008)

Bryan
Bryan, A, “Francis Frith’s Windmills and Watermills: Photographic Memories” (Frith Books 2000)

Chapman
Ben and Maeve Chapman, “Holderness In Old Picture Postcards” (European Library 1995)

Clayton (GFA)
Albert Clayton’s Garstang and Fylde Album (Silver Fox Publishing 1990)

Clayton (FFA)
Albert Clayton’s “Forgotten Fylde” Album (Wyre Publishing 1995)

Cran. M
Cranbrook Museum, Carriers Road, Cranbrook, Kent TN17 3JX

DALHS
Dudley Archives and Local History Service, Mount Pleasant Street, Coseley, Dudley WV14 9JR

Dejardin
L A C Dejardin, “Mills and Milling in Kirton-in-Lindsey” (the Kirton-in-Lindsey Society 2002)

EL
Eastbourne Central Library, Grove Road, Eastbourne, Sussex BN21 4TL

Elliott
J S Elliott, “The Windmills of Bedfordshire, Past and Present” (Bedfordshire Historical Record Society Publications vol 14 1931 p3-50)

ERYC
East Riding of Yorkshire Archives and Local Studies, Treasurer’s House, Beverley, Yorkshire

FGC
Frank Gregory Collection, currently being catalogued at the Mills Archive Trust, Watlington House, 44 Watlington Street, Reading, and in process of being transferred to Internet after which originals will be returned to Weald and Downland Open Air Museum, Singleton, near Chichester

FL
Fleetwood Library, North Albert Street, Fleetwood, Lancashire, FY7 6AJ. Many of the items in the collection are photocopies

Gifford 2
Alan Gifford, “Derbyshire Windmills Past and Present” (Heage Windmill Society 2003)

Gregory (TIWIB)
Roy Gregory, "The Industrial Windmill in Britain" (Phillimore 2005)

Hatcher
Hatcher, Jane, “The Industrial Archaeology of Yorkshire” (Phillimore 1985)

HCL
Hull Central Library, Albion Street, Kingston-upon-Hull, HU1 3TF

HL
“Holly Leaves” (Christmas number of Town and Country), 1961 (copy among windmill files in Lytham Library)

J K Harrison
John K Harrison, "Eight Centuries of Milling in North-East York- shire" (North York Moors National Park Authority 2001)

Hills 2
Rev Richard A Hills, "Windmills: A Pictorial History of their Technology" (Landmark Publishing 2005)

Howes 2
Hugh Howes, “The Windmills and Watermills of Bedfordshire” (Book Castle Publishing 2009) (second edition of “Bedfordshire Mills” (1983)

Hughes
H C Hughes, "Windmills In Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely" (Proceedings of the Cambridge Antiquarian Society October 1938 to October 1930, vol 3 1931 p17-29)

IAR
Industrial Archaeology Review

IGTWL
An Illustrated Guide to Windmill Land (small early C20 leaflet on
the windmills of the Fylde region of Lancashire, containing many of the photographs in Allen Clarke). Copy in Blackpool Library.

Jager
David Jager, “Windmills of Lincolnshire Surviving into the 21st Century” (Heritage Lincolnshire 2007)

JGC
John Goodchild Collection, c/o Central Library, Drury Lane, Wakefield WF1 2TD

JR (MWWM)
John Russell, “Millstones in Wind- and Watermills” (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol XXIV 1943-4 and 1944-5)

JNIAS
Journal of the Norfolk Industrial Archaeology Society

Kidd.L
Kidderminster Library (the photos are in an album compiled by A D Chambers in 1935 and entitled “Watermills, Windmills and Other Scenes Fast Disappearing”)

KLL
King's Lynn Library

LL
Lytham Library
Photographic collection split between lower and upper levels of buildings with most items on upper. Some items duplicated. In view of the size of the collection the listings for it are split into two sections, one to be found among the main entries and one in the form of an addenda to the register.

LTC
“Life in Thornton Cleveleys”: magazine containing article on Marsh Mill at Thornton (copy in Fleetwood Library)

MO 2004
Mills Open (SPAB 2004)

Malster
R Malster, “Suffolk: The Photographic Collection” (a compilation of Suffolk and Suffolk At Work) (Sutton Publishing 2003)

NMA (ASC)
National Mills Archive (Alan Stoyel Collection)

NMA (BRBC)
National Mills Archive (Bernard Richard Billings Collection)

NMA (DPC)
National Mills Archive (Don Paterson Collection)

NMA (DPl.C)
National Mills Archive (Douglas Pluck Collection)

NMA (FGC)
See Frank Gregory Collection

NMA (FC)
National Mills Archive (Francis Collection). This is a reference item consisting of prints and negatives – some of the former are duplicated as the latter.

NMA (GAC)
National Mills Archive (Gordon Anckorm Collection)

NMA (HMC)
National Mills Archive (Harry Meyer Collection)

NMA (JPMC)
National Mills Archive (J P Mullett Collection)

NMA (JWC)
National Mills Archive (Jenny West Collection)

NMA (KMC)
National Mills Archive (Ken Major Collection

NMA (KMGC)
National Mills Archive (Kent Mills Group Collection)

NMA (KMGC) KPA
National Mills Archive (Kent Mills Group Collection) Kent Mills Group Photographic Archive)

NMA (KMGC) PJC
National Mills Archive (Kent Mills Group Collection) Paul Jarvis Collection

NMA (KMGC) SW
National Mills Archive (Kent Mills Group Collection (Sussex Windmills)

NMA (MCC)
National Mills Archive (Mildred Cookson Collection)

NMA (MDC)
National Mills Archive (Michael Dunn Collection)

NMA (PDC)
National Mills Archive (Peter Dolman Collection)

NMA (RI) PDC
National Mills Archive (Reference Items) Peter Dolman Collection

NMA (RI) (PDC2)
National Mills Archive (Reference Items) Peter Dolman Collection – collection of photographs of mills in Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Norfolk taken by PD as a boy)

NMA (RWC)
National Mills Archive (Rex Wailes Collection)

NMA (SBC)
National Mills Archive (Stephen Buckland Collection)

NMA (SC) AMD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Adam Marriott donation

NMA (SC) Ad.M C
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Adrian Marshall donation

NMA (SC) ADD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Anne Dodds donation

NMA (SC) AKSD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) A K Shaw donation

NMA (SC) BPD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Brian Puttock donation

NMA (SC) CCD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Carolyn Chapman donation

NMA (SC) DBD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) David Bird donation

NMA (SC) DPD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Douglas Pluck donation

NMA (SC) JJD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) John Jackson donation

NMA (SC) JSD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Jon Sass donation

NMA (SC) KFD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Kenneth Farries donation

NMA (SC) LBD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Len Boutell donation

NMA (SC) LBo.D
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Luke Bonwick donation

NMA (SC) MSD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Martin Smith donation

NMA (SC) MTM
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Martin T Mason

NMA (SC) MHD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Mary Hammond donation

NMA (SC) NWD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Nutley Windmill donation

NMA (SC) PMD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Peter Mellor donation

NMA (SC) PHD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Peter How donation

NMA (SC) RHD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Ray Harlow donation

NMA (SC) RWD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Robin Ward donation

NMA (SC) SHD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Sandra Hopewell donation

NMA (SC) SHu.D
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Simon Hudson donation

NMA (SC) EJCC
NMA (Special Collections) E J Cooke Collection

NMA (SC) SD
National Mills Archive (Special Collections) Single Donations

NMA (SMSC)
National Mills Archive (SPAB Mills Section Collection)

NWMG
North-West Mills Group

Oldham
Arthur A Oldham, “Windmills In And Around Wisbech”, with additional material by Robert Bell (Spindrift Print and Publishing 1994)

PTP
“Picture The Past” (Images of Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire Old and New) website (www.picturethepast.org.uk)

Rothwell (AKIOP)
Catherine Rothwell, “Around Kirkham In Old Photographs” (Alan Sutton 1994)

Rothwell (APLF)
Catherine Rothwell, “Around Poulton-le-Fylde” (Alan Sutton 1995)

Rothwell (KWTITP)
Catherine Rothwell, “Kirkham, Weeton and Treales In Times Past” (Countryside Publications 1988)

Rothwell (LFWWGITP)
Catherine Rothwell, “Lytham, Freckleton, Warton and Wrea Green In Times Past” (publisher?)

Rothwell (OWITP)
Catherine Rothwell, “Over-Wyre In Times Past” (Chamberlain Publishing Ltd 1990)

SACL
St Annes Central Library, Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Annes, FY8 1NR

SAMS
Staffordshire Arts and Museum Service, Shugborough, Milford, Stafford ST17 0XB

SAS
Sussex Archaeological Society, c/o Sussex Past

SCRO
Somerset County Record Office, Obridge Road, Taunton TA2 7PU

SCRO (SC)
Somerset County Record Office (Shove Collection) collection of photographs, some in negative or glass plate form, and slides of Somerset windmills by Mr G N Shove

SHS
Snaith Historical Society,“Pictures From The Past: Around Snaith”, 1986

Smedley
Norman Smedley, “Life and Tradition in Suffolk and North-East Essex” (J M Dent 1976)

SSL
Somerset Studies Library, Paul Street, Taunton TA1 3XZ

THM
“Story of the Windmill Past and Present,” 1914, by T Harrison Myres (small leaflet in Blackpool Library)

THMAG
Towner Hall Museum and Art Gallery, High St, Old Town, Eastbourne BN20 8BB

TIMS
The International Molinological Society

TL
The Lady, 19th March 1987

Triggs (IA)
Anthony Triggs, “The Windmills of Hampshire” (Industrial Archaeology vol.6 no.1 February 1969)

TS
Thoresby Society, Claremont, 23 Clarendon Road, Leeds LS2 9NZ

UOK (LB1)
University of Kent (Lancaster Burne Collection Album 1)

UOK (T1)
University of Kent (A W Tiffin Collection album 1)

UOK (T2)
University of Kent (A W Tiffin Collection album 2, dealing mainly with windmills of Kent)

UOK (T4)
University of Kent (A W Tiffin Collection album 4, Kent windmills)

W
“Woodworker” magazine, May 1982

Wailes (WWG)
Rex Wailes, "Windmill Winding Gear" (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 30 1955-7 p93-98)
WALS
Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies, 42-50 Snow Hill, Wolverhampton WV2 4AG

Watts (W)
Martin Watts, “Windmills” (Shire Publications 2006)

WL
Weston Library, The Boulevard, Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1PL

WMW
Warwickshire Museums Website (www.search.windowsonwarwickshire. org.uk)

WWP
Martin Watts, “Water and Wind Power” (Shire Publications 2000)

WSRO
West Sussex Record Office, County Hall, Chichester, PO19 1RN

Yardy
Alison Yardy, “Mills of the Halvergate Marshes: Reedham Marshes and Ashtree Farm” (Norfolk Windmills Trust 2008)

Yorke
Stan Yorke, “Windmills and Watermills Explained” (Countryside Books 2006)


NOTES
(1) The Norfolk Windmill Trust's collection is now at the Norfolk Record Office, The Archive Centre, Martineau Lane, Norwich NR1 2DQ.

(2) UOK T1 was compiled in March 1935 by A W Tiffin.


BEDFORDSHIRE

ASPLEY GUISE, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with four sails

BIGGLESWADE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1919 (b-c) w/o, 1930 (d) w/o, 1931 (e) derelict with four sails, 1960 (f) during demolition, with cap still on, October 1966 (g-h) windshaft and brakewheel spokes (i) windshaft and brakewheel, October 1966 (j) interior cap roof framing, October 1966 (k) brake anchor, October 1966 (l) sack hoist pulley (m-p) centring wheels, October 1966 (q) truck wheels, curb and cog ring, October 1966 (r) w/o, mid-distance, c1905 (2) NMA (FC) (a-d) with most shutters removed from sails but otherwise complete

BOLNHURST, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1915

CRANFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 1915 (c-d) disused with two sails, 1931 (e-r) derelict with one sail, 1964 (f) derelict, 1964: close-up of surviving sail (g) derelict with one sail, 1939 (h) derelict with one sail, 1964, middle distance (i) derelict with one sail, 1960 (j) derelict, 1964: looking up at fanstage and winding gear (k) demolition in progress, 1965-6: capless tower (l-m) demolition in progress, 1965-6: timbers being burnt on ground

DUNSTABLE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, c1905 (c) w/o, c1900 (poor quality) (d-e) tower preserved with “cap”, 1971 (f) disused with sail frames, c1908 (g) tower preserved with “cap”, March 1934

EATON SOCON, Duloe Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) disused with sail frames, c1922 (c) derelict with sail frames, 1931 (d-e) derelict with sail frames, c1933 (f) derelict with sail frames, May 1935 (g) derelict with sail frames, May 1939
(h) as house-converted, c1952 (i) as house-converted, 1970 (j) as house-converted, 1971
(NOTE: this mill is also included in the Cambridgeshire section)

HENLOW, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1919 (b) sack hoist, 1930s (c) in good repair but no sails, 1931 (d) surviving base, 1971 (e) derelict with no sails, c1960 (as de Little) (f) derelict, c1960, looking up at rear of cap and winding wheel

HOLCOT, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) stump of tower, 1971

HOUGHTON CONQUEST, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, mid-distance (b-c) derelict with cap, 1931 (d) derelict with windshaft, 1968 (e-f) derelict with windshaft, 1971 (g) derelict with windshaft, 1973 (h) wallower, upright shaft and great spur wheel, 1971 (i) great spur wheel and foot of upright shaft, 1971 (j) derelict with windshaft, 1970

HOUGHTON REGIS, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1909 (partly retouched) (b) stump of tower, 1972 (c) stump of tower, 1973 (d) w/o, c1918

KEYSOE, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1905 (b) w/o, 1911 (c) w/o, c1930 (d-f) w/o, 1931 (g) w/o, c1935 (h) w/o, from an old postcard (poor quality) (i-k) miller winding the mill, as Wailes WIE and TEW (check) (l-r) shutters of spring sails being set, as Wailes WIE and TEW (check) (s) wreckage on ground including windshaft, brakewheel and tailwheel (t) as (s), May 1950 (u) view of post, crosstrees and quarterbars, 1931 (v) wire machine (w) wire machine drive preserved at site, 1972

LOWER DEAN, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, c1905 (c) derelict with four sails, c1925 (d-f) derelict with four sails, 1948 (g-h) derelict with four sails, 1930 (i-k) derelict with four sails, 1931 (l) brake- or tailwheel, windshaft and runner stone, 1948 (m) post, quarterbars and crosstrees, 1948 (n) ruined roundhouse (down to one storey, 1973) (o) ruined roundhouse (standing to full height), 1964, with post, sheers, and some other wreckage of body (p) view inside ruined roundhouse looking up at post, quarterbars and sheers (q) ruined roundhouse (down to one storey), 1969 (r) ruined roundhouse (down to one storey), 1971

LUTON, Biscot, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1900, as Major and Watts (caption says “From “The History Of Luton” by J Dyer) (b-c) w/o (d) w/o (taken from Dyer, but different view) (e-f) derelict with no sails, 1931 (g) derelict with no sails, c1935

POTTON, tower mill; (1) Elliott (a) w/o (b) disused with stocks (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with collapsing cap and stocks (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920 (b) w/o, 1926 (c-d) derelict with stocks,, 1931 (e) derelict with stocks, 1948 (f) brakewheel, wallower, friction ring and upright shaft (g-h) stump of tower, 1970

RISELEY, post mill; (1) Elliott (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1931 (c) derelict with two sails, 1938 (d) close-up of trestle and partly collapsed roundhouse, 1948 (e) brakewheel and great spur wheel(?) on ground after collapse (f) drawing of the mill in w/o taken from a photograph (at present untraced by compiler) by A Lichfield (3) Howes 2 (a) w/o

SHARNBROOK, tower mill; (1) Elliott (a) derelict with no sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails (b-c) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1931 (d) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1938 (e) upright shaft and great spur wheel, 1938 (f) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1967 (g) house-converted tower, 1970 (h) house-converted tower, 1971

SHEFFORD, tower mill; (1) Elliott (a) capless tower (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap and two sails, in background of photo of watermill c1920, as Hugh Howes (Bedfordshire Mills) (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, two sails and part of cap roof framing with finial (postcard postmarked 1912) (c) roofed-over tower, 1970 (d) roofed-over tower, 1971

STANBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 1908 (b) derelict with two sails and half of other stock, c1932 (c) ditto, c1938 (d) ditto 1940, mid-distance (e) house-converted tower, 1970 (f) house-converted tower, 1972

STEVINGTON, post mill; (1) Elliott (a-b) as preserved (2) UOK (T1) (a) as preserved (3) Wailes (WWG) (a) tailpole (4) WWP (a) brake-wheel and stones (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 1922 (c) w/o, 1920s (d) w/o, 1930 (e) w/o, 1931 (f-g) as preserved, 1971 (h) as preserved, 1971, mid-distance (i) as preserved, 1965 (j-o) as preserved, 1972 (p-x) as preserved, 1973 (y) as preserved, 1973, showing split stock (z-aa) brake- or tailwheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones, 1973 (ab) governors and tentering gear, 1972 (ac) head of main post and crowntree, 1972 (ad) windshaft and tail bearing, 1972 (ae) windshaft and brakewheel, 1972 (af) neck bearing of windshaft, 1972 (ag) sack hoist, 1973 (ah) brakewheel and brake lever, 1972 (ai) windshaft, brakewheel and one pair of stones, 1972 (aj) brakewheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones, 1972 (ak) windshaft, brakewheel and one pair of stones, 1966 (al) tailpole and talthur, 1972 (am-an) turning the mill, 1973 (6) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1930s (b-c) w/o (7) Watts (W) (a) as preserved: ladder, tailpole and talthur (b) great spur wheel, windshaft, stone nut, quant and stones (8) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) as preserved (9) Howes 2 (a) mention made in text of a photograph purporting to show the mill before the rebuilding of 1921

THURLEIGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, distant view, poor quality, c1900 (b) derelict with three sails, 1923 (c) derelict with three sails, 1931 (d-e) derelict with three sails, 1935 (f) derelict with collapsing cap, 1965 (g) derelict with collapsing cap, 1967 (h) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1970 (i-m) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1972 (n) derelict, 1972: looking up at fanstage (o) dismantled peak stone inside mill, 1972 (p) underside of peak stone, 1972, showing old common sail whips in use as stone bearers (q) underside of burr stone, 1972

TILBROOK, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1906 (b-c) derelict with one sail, 1931 (d) derelict with one sail, c1940 (e) brakewheel, wallower with further gearwheel below it, and upright shaft

TODDINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 1858

TOTTERNHOE, Doolittle Mill, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) Elliott (a) capless tower (b) w/o (2) MO 2004 (a) the capless tower (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, November 1858 (e) capless tower (f) capless tower, 1970 (g-j) capless tower, 1972 (k) wallower and upright shaft, 1972 (l-m) great spur wheel, 1972 (n) cullen bedstone, 1972 (o) remains of wire machine, 1972 (p) sack hoist and windmill tentering gear, 1972 (q) stones on hurst frame, 1972 (r) driving gears, 1972 (s) take-off pulleys for sack hoist and dresser, 1972 (t) steam pulley, 1972

UPPER DEAN, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and two sails, c1930 (b-c) derelict with cap and two sails, 1931 (d) derelict with two sails, windshaft and brakewheel, 1955 (e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1967 (f) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1969 (g-i) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1971 (j) great spur wheel, wire machine and auxiliary drive gear, 1971 (k-m) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1972 (n) great spur wheel, stone nut and bridgetree, 1972 (o) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1973 (p) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1979 (2) “Windmill World” website (a) after first-aid repairs, c2004, with brickwork repaired and new cap and new doors and windows fitted, one stock still in place (3) Howes 2 (a) derelict with windshaft and two sails, c2000 (b-c) conserved with new cap, two derelict sails still in place (d) Detail of collapsed machinery showing millstone and reel of wire machine

WOBURN, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted base, 1973


BERKSHIRE

COMPTON, post mill; (1) Linnet MacMahon with David Mankin, “The Story of Compton: A Berkshire Downland Village” (publisher and date unknown) (a) derelict with one stock and fragment of one sail
(2) Guy Blythman, “Berkshire Windmills”, the author 2007 (same view as MacMahon and Mankin)


BUCKINGHAMSHIRE

BLEDLOW RIDGE, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) view of collapsing breast with exposed stones, upright shaft and gearing, c1923 (b-c) derelict with one sail only and breast mostly gone, c1923 (2) NMA (FC) (a) derelict and collapsing with one stock only and breast mostly gone

BRILL, Nixey's Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) preserved without roundhouse, 1925 (b) derelict with four sails and roundhouse, 1925(?) (2) UOK (LB1) (a) close-up of sails (b-c) substructure (3) NMA (SC) KFD (a) as preserved, distant view, 1953
(4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1953, distant view (5) NMA (FC) (a-b) preserved with open trestle, 1929 (6) W (a) as preserved (7) TL (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, mid-distance

CHOLESBURY, tower mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) disused with four sails, 1936 (b) millwright Thomas Hunt working on exposed brakewheel during repairs, 1936 (2) NMA (RWC) (a) disused with four sails, 1937

EDLESBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) Bryan (a) tower with conical cap, c1965

IBSTONE, smock mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) house-converted with four sails, 1929 (captioned Turville) (b-c) as house-converted with four sails

IVINGHOE, Pitstone Green, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (3) Yorke (a) as preserved

LACEY GREEN, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with two sails, weatherboarding patched up (2) Michael Highfield, Lacey Green Windmill (Chiltern Society 2003) (a) w/o, c1880 (b) derelict with one sail, 1970 (c) smock under repair and surrounded by scaffold-ing, 1974 (d) wallower and curb exposed during repairs, showing decay of curb (e) curb exposed during repairs, showing repaired cast iron rack (f) decayed brickwork of base (g) part of base showing repaired brickwork (h) pit sawing of new stocks and whips in progress (i) sail bars being fitted to whips of new sail (j) Sir Bernard Miles conducting opening ceremony of mill in 1983 (k) the restored mill (3) NMA (SBC) (a-b) brakewheel and windshaft, 1968 (c-d) brakewheel and windshaft (e) wallower, 1968 (f) brakewheel, 1968 (4) Watts (W) (a) as restored, late C20/early C21
(5) TL (a) as restored (6) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) beginning of repairs to curb (b) repaired curb

LONG CRENDON, post mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and fragments of sails, September 1929

NEW BRADWELL, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) preserved, mid-C20 (3) NMA (SBC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1969 (4) NMA (FC) (a-b) derelict with cap, stocks and remains of three sails

WADDESDON, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, September 1929


CAMBRIDGESHIRE

ALCONBURY, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with four sails, c1930 (c) derelict with four sails, 1936 (d) derelict: view of lower buck with porch, rear extension, trestle and unidentified gearing (part of dresser drive?) seen through aperture in boarding (e) view of post, crosstrees and quarterbars

ARRINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o

ASHLEY, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) derelict with no sails (b-e) derelict with no sails, 1954 (f-g) w/o (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with no sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1926 (d) derelict with cap, 1961 (e) great spur wheel, 1930 (f) foundations of base, 1970

BALSHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict with two sails (c-e) derelict with two sails, 1954 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1954 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) derelict with two sails, c1930 (c) derelict with two sails, c1936 (d) derelict with two sails, 1966 (date possibly out by a few years as mill said to have been demolished 1963) (e) brakewheel, windshaft and other wreckage on ground

BARNACK, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 2nd August 1897

BARNACK, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with original cap and stocks, 1942 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved with cap and stocks, 1971

BARRINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict with four sails (c-f) derelict with four sails, 1954 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails, 1947 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, c1930 (b) house-converted tower (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) castellated tower, 1969

BARWAY, Harrimere smock windpump (same as Little Thetford below?);
(1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1900 (d) w/o, c1900, mid-distance

BASSINGBOURN, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o (2) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC (under Kneesworth) (a) w/o

BASSINGBOURN, tower mill 1; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o (2) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC (under Kneesworth) (a) w/o

BASSINGBOURN, tower mill 2; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o with two sails (2) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o with two sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with two sails

BENWICK, skeleton windpump; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o? (no cap), 1933 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1923 (b-c) w/o

BENWICK, Moore’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict stump of tower, October 1958 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict stump of tower

BLUNTISHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with three sails (fourth may be hidden by buck)

BLUNTISHAM, Wood End, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, c1925 (b-c) derelict with four sails, 1926

BOROUGH GREEN, Six Mile Bottom, post mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-f) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1950 (g-j) derelict with broken stocks and one sail, 1956 (h) derelict with broken stocks and one sail, 1971 (i) derelict, with two women standing on the lower sail of the surviving pair, 1930 (j) w/o, 1920, with stocks and two sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with stocks and two sails, early C20 (b) derelict with broken stocks and one sail, 1969 (c) derelict, 1969: rear view of body showing striking gear (d-e) derelict with broken sails and one stock, 1979 (f) derelict, 1979: rear view with the ends of the surviving complete stock visible (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with broken stocks and one sail, 1969 (b) derelict, 1969: rear view of body showing striking wheel

BOURN, post mill; (1) Hughes (a) derelict with four sails (2) Hills 2 (a-b) as preserved, January 1974 (c) close-up of substructure, January 1974 (d) brakewheel, windshaft and stone nut, January 1974 (e) windshaft, brakewheel, stone nut, quant and headstones, January 1974 (f) governor, steelyard and bridgetree, January 1974 (3) NMA (MDC) (a-d) as preserved, 1954 (e) view of trestle and lower buck (f-g) as preserved (h-i) internal view taken during repairs, showing various items of gearing (j) as preserved, 1954; close-up of sail (k) as preserved, 1954: close-up of ladder, tailpole and talthur (l) as preserved, 1954: side view (4) NMA (SC) JJD (a-b) as preserved, 1947 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a-b) as preserved, 1951 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) as preserved (c) as preserved, 1970 (d) as preserved, 1971 (e-f) as preserved, 1973 (g) governors and tentering gear, 1973 (h) windshaft, brakewheel, quant and stone nut, 1973 (i) windshaft, brakewheel and sack hoist drive, 1973 (7) NA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved (8) HL (a) as preserved (9) Bryan (a) as preserved c1955

BUCKDEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) the house-converted stump, 1933 (b-d) the house-converted stump, 1972 (f) base of house-converted stump showing millstone set into paving, 1972

BURWELL, Big Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) stump of tower, 1969 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) stump of tower

BURWELL, North End, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920 (b) w/o, 1926 (c) w/o with stocks and two sails, July 1935

BURWELL, Stevens' Mill, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o with 2 Sails, 2000s (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (MDC) (a-e) w/o (f-i) w/o, 1954 (4) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, 1947 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1954 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, early-mid C20 (b) derelict with four sails, 1950s (b) derelict with four sails, 1971 (c) under repair, 1976, with new cap roof framing and one stock on (d) under repair, 1977, with canvas over cap roof framing (e) with new cap, fantail and one stock, 1984 (f) ditto 1987, with tower now painted grey-white (g) w/o with two sails, 1990 (6) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with four sails, 1968 (7) Bryan (a) w/o, c1955

BURWELL, Adventurer’s Fen, windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1907 (b) derelict with three sails (c) with only frame of smock tower remaining

CAMBRIDGE, Chesterton, French’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict with no sails, 1954 (c-e) w/o (2) NNA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with no sails, 1947 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, c1900 (c) derelict with cap (d) looking up into cap, showing gearwheel (e) sack hoist (f) derelict with cap, looking up at poll end (g-h) derelict with cap frame, 1975 (i) smock tower patched up and roofed over, 1977 (j) pair of stones inside base, 1977

CAMBRIDGE, Milton Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) capless tower, 1947 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (here called “Hurst Park Mill” (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o, distant view (c) tower with conical roof, c1930

CAMBRIDGE, Trumpington, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o, 1880

CHATTERIS, Acre Fen, smock windpump; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-c) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

CHATTERIS, Forty Foot Bank smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

CHATTERIS, Beezling Mill, windpump (quality of photo not good enough to tell if smock or tower; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o

CHATTERIS, Bensley’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) w/o

CHATTERIS, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) derelict with no sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap

CHATTERIS, Dock’s or Brill’s Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) w/o

CHATTERIS, Longman’s or Triplow’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) with cap but no sails, when working under power (b-d) w/o

CHATTERIS, White Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, mid-distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower (b) w/o, mid-distance, poor quality

CHATTERIS, Thriplow’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) in use as business premises, with cap

CHATTERIS, Doddington Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, c1930

CHIPPENHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) truncated smock and base, 1970

CHRISTCHURCH, Lavender’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with cap

COATES, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) stump of tower, June 1970

COTTENHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) as water tower (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) with the 12 sails wrecked (b-c) as water tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as water tower, 1969

COTTENHAM, Rampton Road, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o

COTTENHAM, Millfield, Rook Street (Church End) smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

DODDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1954 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with four sails and collapsing cap, 1958 (d) truncated tower, 1970 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) truncated tower, 1969

DOWNHAM, Little Street, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (under “Little Downham”) (a) w/o, c1900 (b) capless tower, 1969 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower, 1969

EATON SOCON, Duloe Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with four sails, 1941

ELLINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1905 (poor view, mid-distance) (b) derelict with four sails, 1925 (c) derelict with four sails, 1930

ELM, smock mill; (1) Oldham (a) drawing made from an early photograph, apparently showing mill in working order

ELSWORTH, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with no sails, c1930

ELSWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) capless tower, 1972 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower, 1970

ELY, Overfall Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, tailpole and scoopwheel

ELY, tower mill (which one?); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

ELY, Downham Road, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with four sails (d) ruined base, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) ruined base, 1969

EYE, tower mill; (1) NMA (DBD) (a) w/o with four sails, 1934 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with eight sails, c 1920 (b) capless tower, 1969 (c) stump of tower, 1974

FEN DRAYTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with two sails

FENSTANTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, late C19 (c) derelict with no sails (d) derelict with no sails, 1925 (e) derelict, with only skeleton of buck, windshaft and roundhouse standing, 1933 (f) main post and other wreckage on ground, 1970 (g) main post on ground, showing pintle (h) butt of post and end of crosstree on ground (i) post on ground beside surviving portion of roundhouse, 1970 (j) surviving portion of roundhouse, 1970

FORDHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1928 (one photo is wrongly entered under Soham, Downfield) (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with cap and half of one stock (other half has possibly been cut off by damage to photo) (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) disused with cap, stocks and fan, c1925 (c) disused with cap and stocks, 1934 (d) derelict with cap and one stock, 1956

FULBOURN, smock mill; (1) Hughes (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails, 1947 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1954 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1926 (b) w/o (c-d) derelict with four sails, 1971 (e) brakewheel (f) wallower (g) unidentified windlass-type item (h) auxiliary drive gear (i) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (j) great spur wheel and stone nut (k) under repair, with new sails on but fan not yet fitted; 1980s? (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with four sails, 1968 (5) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (5) Bryan (a) derelict with four sails, c1950

GAMLINGAY, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

GAMLINGAY, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with no sails, 1947 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) derelict with windshaft (c) derelict with windshaft, 1971 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with windshaft, 1968

GREAT CHISHILL, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, distant view (2) NNA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, 1947 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a-b) w/o, 1953 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) w/o (d) as preserved, 1963 (e) as preserved, 1970 (c) as preserved, 1971 (d) brake- or tailwheel and windshaft (e) brakewheel, windshaft, stone nut and ladder, 1973 (f) brake- or tailwheel, stone nut and quant (g-h) tentering gear (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, 1970 (6) HL (a) w/o (7) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) as preserved

GREAT GIDDING, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) tower with conical roof, 1933 (b) tower with conical roof, 1971

GREAT GRANSDEN, post mill; (1) WWP (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) derelict with stocks (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with stocks, 1947 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) w/o (c) derelict with four sails, 1914 (d) derelict with broken stocks, one complete sail and fragments of another (e) derelict with four sails, 1912 (f) preserved with stocks, 1973 (g) looking up at poll end and stocks, 1973 (h-k) preserved with stocks, 1970 (l) preserved with stocks, 1971 (m) windshaft, brakewheel, stone nut and quant, 1973 (n) unidentified gearing (dresser drive?), 1973 (o) governors and tentering gear, 1973 (p) under repair: roofless buck supported by arrangement of timber props, 1982 (q) under repair: roofless buck showing exposed breast framing with some gearing visible and decayed corner post (r-s) as preserved, 1989 (t) view of repaired trestle and lower buck, 1989 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) preserved with stocks, 1968 (6) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) under reconstruction with flat roof over buck, and old roof and windshaft in foreground

GREAT WILBRAHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, c1900

GUILDEN MORDEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with cap frame and fan cradle, mid distance, c1947 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and two sails (b) derelict with cap and windshaft, 1969 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with windshaft (shaft has toppled back into mill and is lying at an angle)

HADDENHAM, Great Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1954 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, also showing Setchell’s Mill (b-e) w/o (f) derelict with four sails, 1967 (g) derelict with cap, 1969 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with four sails, 1967 (b) derelict with no sails, 1969 (6) Bryan (a) derelict with four sails, c1950

HADDENHAM, Setchell’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, also showing Great Mill

HARSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict base, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) ruined base, 1969

HEMINGFORD GREY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1925 (c) w/o, 1933 (d) capless tower, 1969 (e) capless tower, 1976

HILDERSHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) capless tower, 1970 (c) derelict with cap, 1931

HISTON (IMPINGTON), smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) preserved without sails (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) disused with stocks, 1947 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with stocks, 1954 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) w/o apart from some missing shutters, 1920 (c) preserved with stocks, 1930 (d-e) preserved with stocks, 1971 (f-g) surrounded by scaffolding and with stocks removed, 1985 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) preserved with stocks, 1969 (6) Histon and Impington Village Society, “Impington Mill: Its History and Restoration”, HAIVS 2006 (a) w/o, c1897, with tarred smock (b) unloading corn from cart at base of mill, c1897 (c) w/o with white-painted smock, c1910 (d) preserved with new stocks, 2006

HOLYWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) derelict with two sails, 1925 (c-d) surviving lower walling of roundhouse, 1974

HORSEHEATH, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with no sails, 1928

HOUGHTON, Black Eagle Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) lock from door of mill bearing date of demolition (1902), 1974

ICKLETON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (under Great Chesterford) (a) derelict with two sails, c1910

ICKLETON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted tower

ISLEHAM, Isleham Fen, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (another mill visible behind it)

ISLEHAM, New Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

KNEESWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) castellated tower (b) castellated tower, 1973

LEVERINGTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

LINTON, whiting mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (2)
NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) stump with engine drive wheel, 1929

LINTON, tower mill; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) stump of tower, 1973

LITLINGTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, mid-distance, c1900

LITTLEPORT, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

LITTLEPORT, Canham’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) w/o at Littleport

LITTLE THETFORD, Harrimere smock windpump; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and one sail, men on sail and tailpole, 22nd July 1914

LITTLE WILBRAHAM, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails, middle distance (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1900 (d) windshaft, wallower, brakewheel and upright shaft, c1930 (e) stone floor with upright shaft, stones, wire machine and various gears, c1930 (f) governors and tentering gear, c1930 (g) as house-converted with stocks (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as house-converted, 1968

MADINGLEY, original post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) very derelict and on point of collapse, but with sails still on, c1900, as Major and Watts (b) ditto, c1905 (2) Bryan (a) as previous entries

MADINGLEY, post mill (moved from Ellington); (1) NMA (DPC) (a) derelict with stocks and damaged sails, 1980 (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) as preserved, 1947 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1951 (4) NMA (RI) PD (a) derelict with four sails, mid-late C20 (b) derelict with four sails, 1971 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as preserved (c) as preserved, 1969 (6) HL (a) as preserved (7) NMA (SC) JSD (a) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, 1980

MANEA, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

MARCH, tower mill (which one?); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1973

MARCH, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of two sails

MARCH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

MOLESWORTH, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, partly retouched, c1905

NEW FLETTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1969 (b) capless tower, 1973

OAKINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1927 (b) w/o (c) derelict with four sails

OLD WESTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 1933 (b) derelict with four sails, leaning alarmingly but propped on one side by diagonal timber, mid-1930s

OUTWELL, Shepherd’s Mill, smock mill; (1) Oldham (a) w/o

OVER, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC)(a-b) derelict with four sails, 1951 (c-e) derelict with brakewheel and four sails, 1959 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with two sails, 1969 (b) w/o with two sails (c) w/o, c1925 (d) w/o with two sails, 1972 (e) w/o with two sails, 1973 (f) w/o with two sails, in shadow of TV mast, from Telegraph Magazine 1973 (g-j) w/o with two sails, 1975 (k) detail of cap, fan, rocking lever and one sail (l) detail of sails (m-n) brakewheel, wallower and sack hoist (o) dresser (p) pair of stones with horse and hopper (q) unidentified component (r) great spur wheel, stone nut and tentering gear (s) pair of stones, 1974 (t) dresser spouts, 1974 (u-v) w/o with two sails, 1985 (w-y) w/o with four sails, 1980s/90s (z) new sail being made up on ground (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) w/o, 1969 (4) Bryan (a) restored with four sails, c1965 (date probably wrong as second pair of sails not fitted until 1980s)

PARSON DROVE, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with two sails

PETERBOROUGH, Fengate, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1890

PETERBOROUGH, Millfield, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1905 (retouched) (b-c) w/o, c1910 (d) w/o, c1890

PETERBOROUGH, Werrington, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1973

PYMORE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1927 (c) w/o, c1910 (d) w/o, c1930 (e) derelict with cap frame, 1969 (f-g) derelict tower (cap frame removed), 1976 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap frame, 1969

RAMSEY, Wood Walton Fen (Higney), tower windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, 1910 (e-h) stump of tower, 1973

RAMSEY, Lotting Fen, tower windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict stump of tower (b) disused with cap, fanstage and striking chain guide pole, 1933 (c) ditto, undated

RAMSEY, Ramsey St Mary’s, tower windpump; (1) NMA RI PDC also has (a) capless tower, 1972; (b) capless tower, 1974

RAMSEY, Ramsey Mere, tower windpump; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) w/o, 1914, showing domed cap and tailpole

SAWTRY, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1900 (b-c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (d) derelict with windshaft and brakwheel, 1971 (e) house-converted with conical roof, 1978

SAWSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

SOHAM, Soham Mere, smock windpump; (1) Hughes (a) w/o (2) Wailes (WWG) (a) winch on tailpole (2) WWP (a) disused with 2 sails (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with two sails (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) w/o, c1920

SOHAM, Tunnel Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap

SOHAM, Great Fen, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with cap

SOHAM, Downfield Mill, tower mill; (1) Hughes (a) w/o with four sails (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o with four sails (3) Hills 2 (a) w/o with 2 sails, April 1985 (4) NM (MDC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, middle distance, 1954 (5) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o with two sails, 1947 (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o with two sails, 1953 (7) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as smock mill, w/o c1890 (b) w/o, c1930 (c) w/o, with new sails being fitted as Wailes TEW (d-e) w/o, c1925 (f) w/o, 1930 (g) derelict with two sails, 1956 (h) derelict with two sails, 1970 (i-j) derelict with two sails, 1975 (k) derelict with two sails, 1975, showing capless smock of Hardfield mill in background
(l-n) under repair with two new sails fitted, 1979 (o) under repair, with new cap on and sails awaiting fitting, July 1976 (p) new stock on ground awaiting fitting (q-r) w/o with two sails, 1990 (s) pair of stones, 1990 (t) Nigel Moon at work inside mill, 1990 (8) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with two sails

SOHAM, Hardfield Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with no sails, 1947 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, showing Downfield Mill in background (this doesn’t appear to be the same mill as in SC JJD, so is the first one an error?) (b) capless smock tower (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict capless smock

SOHAM, Shade Mill, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as restored, 2000s
(2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o with two sails (3) NMA (MDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1955 (b-c) w/o, 1928 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with no sails, 1970 (d-e) derelict with no sails, 1975 (f) upright shaft, wallower, brakewheel and interior cap roof framing (g) looking up at cap and fanstage of derelict mill (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with two sails, middle distance, 1968 (6) Watts (W) (a) in early stages of restoration, late C20, with cap and fanstage on and part of smock framing exposed (b) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and underside of bedstone

SOMERSHAM, utility-type smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused without sails (b) disused without sails, 1933

SPALDWICK, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (1) under Bedfordshire: (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap and remains of fantail, 1933 (2) under Huntingdonshire (a) w/o, c1890 (b) derelict with cap and remains of fantail, c1920 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and remains of fantail (d) ruined stump, 1969 (e) ruined stump, 1973

STANGROUND, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970

STAPLEFORD, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1935

STEEPLE MORDEN, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) disused as windmill (but used in connection with milling business) with no sails, 1947 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) disused as windmill with no sails (one photo is clearly early-mid C20 judging by van in foreground) (c) disused as windmill with no sails, 1973 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as power mill with no sails, 1968

STEEPLE MORDEN, Flitton’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with stocks and three sails, c1925

STRETHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a-b) as house-converted, surrounded by scaffolding with cap and windshaft in place, 1985
(2) Hughes (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) house-converted with cap and fanstage but no sails or fan yet, May 1990 (4) NMA (SC) JJD (a) capless tower, 1947 (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) w/o (b) w/o, c1920 (c) w/o, 1933 (d) capless tower, 1969 (e) with new cap and windshaft, July 1976 (6) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower, 1969

SUTTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

SWAFFHAM BULBECK, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, mid-distance, c1900 (b) w/o, distant view (artificially coloured postcard), c1900

SWAFFHAM PRIOR, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) w/o, August 1995; close-up of sails showing spider and striking gear (b) close-up of spider, triangles and striking gear, August 1995 (c) fantail and winding gear, August 1995 (d) w/o, August 1995 (2) NMA (MDC) (a) preserved with four sails, 1951 (b) w/o, in background (smock mill in foreground) (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) disused with four sails, 1954
(4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o in background, smock mill in foreground, as Thurston Hopkins (b) w/o (c) disused with sail frames (d) under restoration with old cap and sail frames still on, fan restored (e) ditto, 1981 (f) with cap and fan restored, but sails missing (g) w/o, 1987 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1968 (5) Yorke (a) w/o

SWAFFHAM PRIOR, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1925 (b) ditto, with tower mill in background (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with no sails, 1947 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict capless smock, 1977 (b-c) restored as house conversion with sails and cap, 1990s (d) ditto, with tower mill w/o in background (e) w/o with stocks and sails, tower mill in background, as Thurston Hopkins (f) w/o with stocks and two sails (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict capless smock

SWAVESEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1930 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1903 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920 (b) brakewheel and windshaft, c1930 (c) view of spout floor showing dresser and tentering gear, c1930 (d) house-converted tower (e) house-converted tower, 1973

THORNEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with six sails (mid-distance, partly obscured by house), c1900 (b) disused with cap and cross, c1925 (c-d) capless tower, 1971

UPWARE, Spinney Bank, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920

UPWELL, Shepherd’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) SHD (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1935 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1969 (c) capless tower, 1976 (d) one pair of stones, 1976 (e) second pair of stones, 1976 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower, 1969 (captioned “Outwell”)

UPWELL, Sixteen Foot Drain, smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

UPWOOD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1937 (b) tower with flat roof, 1973

WARBOYS, Mill Green, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (from “Milling” magazine, 1905)

WARBOYS, Mill End (same as Mill Green?), tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1932 (b) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1933

WARBOYS, Behag’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) disused with four sails and damaged fan

WESTON COLVILLE, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) smock tower with conical roof (partly finished house conversion), 1973

WEST WICKHAM, Streetly End, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920 (b) derelict with cap, c1915 (c-d) derelict with cap frame, 1974 (2) NAM (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap frame, 1969

WEST WRATTING, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-e) derelict with four sails (f) as preserved, 1970 (g) as preserved, 1970 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved, 1967 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved, 1968 (5) LL (a) as preserved (6) Millnotes no.3, October 1972 (a) brakewheel (b) front of mill showing derelict sails, striking gear and vertical boarding of smock (c) side of mill showing tailpole, fanstage, external pulley wheel for engine drive and vertical boarding of smock (d) great spur wheel and stone nut (7) A full set of photographs of the interior of this mill were taken by K G Farries at some point; their present whereabouts are unknown to the author

WHITTLESEY, tower mill (which one); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

WHITTLESEY, Fletcher’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o

WHIITLESEY, tower mill (surviving mill); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with six sails (one damaged) (b) derelict with cap (c) derelict with cap, 1971

WICKEN, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) NMA (MDC) (a-b) w/o (c-d) derelict with no sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1920 (c) derelict with cap, 1963 (d-e) derelict with collapsing cap, 1973 (f) pair of stones, 1975 (g) preserved with new cap but no sails, 1975 (h) interior view showing unidentified component, 1975 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with collapsing cap (4) Watts (W) (a) w/o, 2003

WICKEN, Wicken Fen, smock windpump; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (possibly the earlier mill listed below) (2) WWP (a) as restored (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, March 1966 (3) NMA (MDC) (a-i) as preserved (4) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-c) as preserved (5) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with three sails at Adventurer’s Fen, 1947 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with no sails, c1900 (b-e) as preserved (f) as preserved, 1971 (7) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as preserved (8) Watts (W) (a) as preserved (sails turning), late C20

WICKEN, Wicken Fen, (another) smock windpump; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1920 (b) derelict with three sails and no cap, c1920(?)

WILLINGHAM, Ingle’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a-d) w/o (e-i) derelict with four sails (j) derelict with two sails (k-l) derelict with three sails, 1956 (m) derelict with three sails (n) derelict with three sails, middle distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) surviving base, 1975

WILLINGHAM, Cattell’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (MDC) (a) w/o with four sails (b) w/o with two sails (c-d) w/o with two sails, 1956 (e) photo in newspaper cutting showing mill in w/o with two sails (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) w/o with two sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with four sails (b-c) derelict with two sails, 1970 (d) derelict with two sails, 1973 (e) brakewheel and wallower, 1973 (f-g) small machines salvaged from French’s Mill, Chesterton, Cambridge, and installed here (h) set of stones from French’s Mill, 1959 (i) interior view showing unidentified component, 1973 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-c) derelict with two sails (5) Watts (W) (a) brakewheel, windshaft and interior cap roof framing (5) LL (a) new cap and fan being lifted into place by crane, from East Cambridgeshire Town Crier 26th August 1989 (6) Bryan (a) w/o with 2 sails, c1955

WISBECH, Leach's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) with cap and cross (c) capless tower, 1970 (c) capless tower, June 1974 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) castellated tower (4) Oldham (a) w/o (b) sails in course of removal, 1897: two still on and third in process of being lowered to ground (5) Bryan (a) disused with cap and cross, 1929

WISBECH, Bowles’ Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (2) Oldham (a) w/o

WISBECH, Leverington Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PD (a) disused with cap and cross

WISBECH, Clarkson’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (2) Oldham (a) w/o, 1850s

WISBECH, Webster’s Mill, post mill (check type with main document); (1) Oldham (a) w/o, late 1850s

WISTOW, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with cap, 1933

WOODITTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with four sails, c1925 (b) w/o with horse and cart by sail, c1920

YAXLEY, tower mill {the strange little one}; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with no sails, 1933

YAXLEY, {another} tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1933

YELLING, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1914


CHANNEL ISLANDS

SARK, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) preserved tower with dummy(?) cap


CHESHIRE

BIDSTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) as preserved

BURTONWOOD, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) derelict post, roundhouse and crosstree, 1928

GREAT SAUGHALL, tower mill; (1) E Mitford Abraham, "The Old Flour Mills of Wirral", Transactions of the Historical Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, vols 55-6 1903-4 (a) w/o (2) Hills 2 (a) as house-converted with replica cap and sails, June 1990

KINGSLEY Photograph of this mill is held by Cheshire County Library according to Gareth Hughes September 2008

UPTON-BY-CHESTER, tower mill; (1) JGC (a) w/o

WILLASTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) w/o


CORNWALL

FOWEY, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) tower as folly, late C20/early C21


CUMBRIA

MONKHILL, tower mill; (1) WADOAM (a) capless tower

WIGTON, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) tower with conical roof, c2004


DERBYSHIRE

BELPER, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1994 (2) PTP (a) castellated house-converted stump of twer, 1940s
BOLSOVER, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) capless tower, October 2002 (2) PTP (a) tower with part of cap frame, 1969

CARSINGTON, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) stump of tower (2) PTP (a) stump of tower, 1969

CHELLASTON, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) stump of tower, c1970

DALE ABBEY, Cat and Fiddle Mill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (cutting from Country Life 9/10/1942) (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) stones, main post and hurst frame, June 1990 (4) Hills 2 (a) under restoration with buck surrounded by scaffolding, June 1990 (b) winch on tailpole, June 1990 (c) wallower exposed during repairs, June 1990 (5) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1931 (6) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o, cutting from Nottingham Guardian 1965 (b) windshaft, brakewheel and brake lever (7) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1946 (8) Kidd.L (a) w/o (9) PTP (a) as preserved, 1970s (b) as preserved, 1982 (c) as preserved, 1970-77; showing roundhouse, lower buck and parts of two sails, plus man pushing on tailpole (d) interior view, late C20/early C21, showing spout floor with main post and two pairs of stones on hurst frame (e) as preserved, 1970s (aerial view) (f) group of people standing on tailpole, 1970s (g) as (d), August 1967 (h) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower, August 1967 (i) close-up of roundhouse, mid-1960s (j) as preserved, C20 (k) interior view (l) as preserved: silhouette at dusk (m) man pushing on tailpole, C20 (n) as preserved, July 1976 (o-p) as preserved, c1956 (q-r) as preserved, September 1962 (s) w/o, C20 (10) Baker & Wailes (a) view of top floor showing windshaft, brakewheel and sack hoist (b) spare stone neck bearing

FINDERN, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) house-converted tower, 2002

FRITCHLEY, post mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) derelict with two sails, windshaft and brakewheel (2) PTP (a) derelict with two sails, windshaft and brakewheel, as Gifford and Gifford 2

HAZLEWOOD, smock windpump; (1) Gifford 2 (a) w/o, early C20

HEAGE, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) w/o, 2000s (b) pair of stones with vat and hopper prior to restoration, 2002 (c) new access road with mill in distance (d) sails being removed prior to restoration (e) cap being removed prior to restoration (f) cap being lowered to ground (g) exposed wallower (h) tower surrounded by scaffolding (i) assembling curb roller (j) brakewheel (k) repairs under way to great spur wheel (l) cap on ground being worked on (m) working party in front of mill (n) new governor just after being fitted (o) pair of millstones being dressed after restoration (p) new sail, with shutters, just after fitting (q) view of new sails after fitting (r) opening of mill, June 2002 (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, August 1990 (b) close-up of exposed breast beam, August 1990 (4) PTP (a) as preserved, 1999 (b) as preserved, C20 (c) derelict with cap and six sails, 1967, as Gifford (d-e) following storm damage, as Gifford, 1894 (f) as preserved, 1972 (g) w/o with four sails, distant view c1893 (h) w/o, c1900s (i) derelict with cap and six sails, c1960 (j) derelict with cap and six sails, 1964 (k) ditto, distant view (l) as preserved, early 1970s (5) Yorke (a-b) w/o

ILKESTON, post mill; (1) PTP (a) derelict with no sails, early C20

MELBOURNE, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) derelict with 4 sails, c1900 (b) tower with viewing platform on top, 2000s (2) PTP (a) tower with viewing platform (b) tower with viewing platform, 1976

MICKLEOVER, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) stump of tower, 1969

OCKBROOK, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) derelict with two sails, brakewheel and part of cap roof, 1890, as Gifford

RIDDINGS, tower mills; (1) PTP (a-c) both mills with caps and crosses, early-mid C20 (d) middle distance, one mill with sails on and the other with cap and cross (e-f) one mill with sails and the other with cap and cross, colourised (g) both mills with caps and crosses, 1958 (h) aerial view, 1960 (i) one of the mills in course of demolition, 1963: tower only standing with remains of stage )j) with caps and crosses, 1958 (caption says 1960)

RIPLEY, tower mill; (1) PTP (a-b) disused with cap and sail frames, c1900

SOUTH NORMANTON, Fordbridge Lane, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) capless tower with water tank on top, 1975 (b) house-converted tower with conical roof, 2002

SOUTH NORMANTON, post mill; (1) WWP (a) derelict in skeleton condition (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1942 (3) PTP (a) skeleton of buck and windshaft, 1980-81 (b-c) skeleton of buck surrounded by scaffolding prior to dismantling, 1980-81 (d) Dismantling, 1980-81; main post still standing, surrounded by scaffolding on which men are working (e) preserved with shortened sails – but looks like Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire (f) w/o, with brickworks nearby, c1910s; but has a tall roundhouse and so may actually be another mill (4) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (5) Bryan (a) in advanced decay with framing and windshaft only, c1955

TEMPLE NORMANTON, tower mill; (1) UOK (T3) (a) house-converted tower (cutting from Derbyshire Times 16th March 1935)

SPANCARR, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) house-converted tower, July 1995

WHITWELL, tower mill; (1) Gifford 2 (a) w/o, c1910 (2) PTP (a) w/o, c1920 (b) w/o, 1900s (c) w/o, c1900


DEVON

PAIGNTON, Fernacombe, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (captioned Shorton) (a) capless tower, September 1930 (b) capless tower, undated


DORSET

EASTON, Isle of Portland, North or East mill (aka Top Growland’s Mill), tower mill; (1) WWP (a) tower with stock and poll end lying across top (also shows second mill) (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) view taken from inside tower, looking up at hanging-down windshaft and stocks lying across curb (b) derelict with stocks lying across capless tower (c) ditto, with other mill in background (3) Watts (W) tower with stock and poll end lying across top, late C20 (also shows second mill) (4) Stuart Morris, “Portland Camera”, Dovecote Press 1990 (a) derelict with cap, sails and tailpole, c1900 (5) International Molinogy no 71, December 2005: (a) derelict with cap, sails and tailpole, c1900, as Morris (6) unidentified publication, possibly at Dorchester Central Library (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks

EASTON, Isle of Portland, South or West Mill (aka Cottonfields Mill) tower mill; (1) WWP (a) capless tower (also shows North or East mill) (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) capless tower, in background (North Mill in foreground) (b) capless tower, 1940 (3) Watts (W) (a) capless tower, late C20 (also shows second mill)


DURHAM

ELWICK, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, c1980 (2) website: internal view looking up at stone floor (lower floors have collapsed), showing (3) album of photographs of English windmills on display at Cranbrook mill, Kent (a) house-converted capless tower

GREATHAM, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) w/o

HART, tower mill; (1) The book in the Science Museum Library which has the photo of Hart derelict with cap and one sail soon after 1930 is J K Harrison, The Industrial Archaeology of Cleveland, 1978 (hereafter J K H (IAC) (2) album of photographs of English windmills on display at Cranbrook mill, Kent (a) preserved with cap and cross

INGLEBY BARWICK, Sober Hall, tower mill; (1) J K H (IAC) (a) capless tower with horse mill shed

STOCKTON, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) w/o

SUNDERLAND, Fulwell, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) leaflet advertising mill ((a) w/o (b) as preserved (c) close-up of sails, spider and striking gear (d-g) views of machinery (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, June 1970 (4) NMA (KMC) (a-d) as preserved, 1974 (c-d) as preserved, 1974, mid-distance (e-f) great spur wheel and bridging beam, 1974 (g) great spur wheel with bevel ring and stone nut, 1974 (h) ancillary machine (i-j) three-ball governor (k) wallower and sack hoist bollard (l) view of mill yard (m) layshaft and pulley (n) exterior view of base and reefing stage showing archway (o) stone nut, jack ring and bridgetree, 1974 (p) interior view of alcove (q) layshaft, pulley and bevel wheels, 1974 (r) part of cap frame and curb with centring wheel, 1974 (s) as preserved, 1974, looking up at sails (t) great spur wheel and bevel gears, 1974 (u) view of stone floor showing runner stone and upright shaft, 1974 (v-w) pintle bearing at top of upright shaft, 1974 (x) wire machine with extractor fan, 1974

WEST BOLDON, tower mill; (1) Northumbrian Mills (newsletter of North-East Mills Group) no.48, February 2009 (a) derelict with two sails, c1890


ESSEX

ASHDON, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) disused with shutterless sails, mid-distance (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) derelict with sail frames, 1970 (b) derelict with sail frames, 1970, partly obscured by trees (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with four sails, 1952

AYTHORPE RODING, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) WWP (a) w/o, 2000s (b) view of fan, 2000s (3) Hills 2 (a) as restored, May 1990
(b) close-up of sail showing shutters, May 1990 (c) fantail, carriage, ladder and gearing, May 1990 (4) NMA (ACSC) (a) as preserved, 1970s (b) as preserved, 1973, distant view (c) distant view, 1980, restoration almost complete with two shutterless sails and fantail in place (d) as preserved, 1973, mid-distance (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails (b) as preserved, 1952 (6) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (b) bolter

BARDFIELD SALING, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict, 1950

BELCHAMP OTTEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, 1949

BELCHAMP WALTER, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, 1975

BILLERICAY, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict, December 1928 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) surviving trestle, 1950

BIRCH, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails and part of roof gone, 1950

BOCKING, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) as preserved, 1973 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1953 (b) as preserved

BROXTED, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1949

BULMER, smock mill, (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) derelict base, 1971 (b) ditto, 1974

CLAVERING, North Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) tower with dummy cap, 1969 (c) distant view, also showing South Mill (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with no sails, 1950

CLAVERING, South Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) tower with dummy cap, 1969 (c) distant view, also showing North Mill (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with no sails, 1950

DEBDEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) house-converted with scaffolding around “cap”, mid-distance (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted with dummy cap, 1971 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with cap, 1949

FINCHINGFIELD, Duck End, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved
(2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, May 1990 (b) close-up of sails with wooden poll end, May 1990 (3) NMA (ACSC) (a) as preserved, 1971 (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with shortened sails, mid-C20 (b) preserved with shortened sails (c) preserved with shortened sails, 1949 (5) NMA (SBC) (a) original wooden windshaft and poll end lying within roundhouse, 1968 (6) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21

GREAT BARDFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) disused(w/o?) with four sails (2) NMA (ACSC) (a-c) as house-converted, 1971 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1949 (b) derelict with two sails (4) LL (a) as house-converted, 1970s postcard

GREAT DUNMOW, Lambert's Mill, smock mill; (1) SPAB Mill Section newsletter January 2004 (a) w/o, 1890-95 (b) Great Dunmow Museum, Maltings, Great Dunmow, CM6 1BG (a) w/o, 1890-95

GREAT DUNMOW, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) tower preserved with cap, 1982 (c-d) capless tower, 1973 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) capless tower, 1949

GREAT HOLLAND, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) disused with no sails, 1949

GREAT SAMPFORD, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted base, 1978

HALSTEAD, Frost’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted base, 1975

HATFIELD PEVEREL, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails

HENHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) surviving lower few feet of roundhouse, 1978

HIGH EASTER, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1980

HIGH ONGAR, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted bsae,
1980

HORNCHURCH, post mill; (1) Bryan (a) w/o, 1909

INGATESTONE, Mill Green, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-c) as preserved, 1980 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) view of trestle (b) derelict with two adjacent sails, 1950 (c) governor, 1950 (d) governor and tentering screw, 1950 (e) Len Boutell on stone floor, 1950 (f) meal bin and steps, 1950

LINDSELL, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-c) cap on ground, 1978

LITTLE DUNMOW, Throw’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1975

LITTLE LAVER, composite mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952

MASHBURY, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) surviving base, 1980

MATCHING TYE, post mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-c) surviving roundhouse, 1980

MORETON, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) wallower, brakewheel, upright shaft and stones, 1950 (b) view of the three crosstrees, 1950 (c) derelict with four sails, 1950

MOUNT BURES, Doe's Mill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with three sails, 1949 (b) derelict with two sails

MOUNTNESSING, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as restored, May 1990 (b) close-up of sails, May 1990 (3) NMA (ACSC) (a) under restoration, 1980, with sails and buck roof gone and canvas sheet over brakewheel (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, mid-late C20 (b) preserved with one sail broken off short (c) as preserved, 1952 (5) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (b) brakewheel and sackhoist, late C20/early C21 (c) view of stone floor showing brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and stones, late C20/early C21 (6) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) preserved with two sails, awaiting full restoration

ORSETT, Baker Street, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict, 1950 (2) album of photographs of English windmills on display at Cranbrook mill, Kent (a) as restored, 1990s/2000s

RAMSEY, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1949 (c) derelict with four sails

RAYLEIGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) as restored, 1980

SIBLE HEDINGHAM, Cutmaple, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails and buck roof gone, 1949 (b) derelict with two sails and buck roof gone

SOUTH OCKENDEN, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict, 1950 (2) Bryan (a) derelict with four sails, c1960

STANSTED MOUNTFITCHET, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) disused, 1923
(2) UOK (T1) (a) disused (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) preserved with one stock but no sails or fan (4) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) as preserved, 1971 (c) as preserved, 1982 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with stocks
(6) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) as preserved

STOCK, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) preserved with two sails, 1980 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, 1952

TERLING, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) stone furniture with bell alarm (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) w/o, distant view (b) w/o, mid-distance (3) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) w/o, showing part of smock tower, base and one sail, miller in doorway (4) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) house-converted with stocks, 1973 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1949

THAXTED, tower mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) under repair, 1938, with cap roof dismantled (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with stocks and three sails (4) Hills 2 (a) as preserved (no gallery or shutters in sails yet), May 1990 (b) close-up of fan, winding gear and unusually sited Y-wheel, May 1990 (5) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) derelict with stocks, 1971 (c-d) derelict with stocks, 1973 (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with stocks (b) preserved with stocks, 1952 (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20, before replacement of stage (8) LL (a) preserved with sail frames, from Cambridge Reporter 24th August 1989

TIPTREE, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with stocks, 1949

TOPPESFIELD, Gainsford End, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) derelict with cap frame, 1971 (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) looking up through tower at cap frame, 1971 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1949 (4) Luke Bonwick, Gainsford End Windmill and adjacent Cart Lodge, Toppesfield, Essex: Report on Archaeological Buildings Recording Survey (Bonwick Milling Consultancy July 2008) (a) w/o, c1910 (b) w/o, c1910: close-up of cap, fantail and fanstage

UPMINSTER, smock mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 1935 (2) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (3) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (4) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, May 1990 (b) cap, fantail, gallery and petticoat, May 1990 (5) NMA (SC) JDD (a) w/o with four sails, 1947 (6) Bryan (a) w/o, 1908

WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a-b) derelict with four sails)

WHITE RODING, tower mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1935 (b) w/o (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, 1923 (3) NMA (ACSC) (a) preserved with new cap but no sails, 1973 (b) ditto, 1980 (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1950

WIMBISH, Tye Green, smock mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted base, 1978


GLOUCESTERSHIRE

BRISTOL, Clifton, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved tower, June 1991 (2) Watts (W) (a) preserved tower (3) NWMG Newsletter Autumn 2003 (a) preserved tower

WARMLEY, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) preserved tower


HAMPSHIRE

BURSLEDON, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C19/early C20 (2) Triggs (IA) (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft (3) Yorke (a) w/o, late C20/early C21)

CHALTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and half of one stock, 1952 (2) Triggs (IA) (a) derelict with cap and one complete stock, 1930s (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and half of one stock (c) ditto, late 1950s (3) Bryan (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, half of one stock etc, c1965

HAMBLEDON, tower mill; (1) Triggs (IA) (a) capless ivy-clad tower, 1930s

LANGSTONE, tower mill; (1) Triggs (IA) (a) tower as house-converted (2) Bryan (a) converted tower, c1955

OWSLEBURY, tower windpump; (1) Triggs (IA) (a) tower with conical roof

PORTSMOUTH, Dock Mill, tower mill; (1) Triggs (IA) (a) when engine-driven, with sail frames

WESTON, smock mill; (1) “The Wealth of Weston”, Buriton Heritage Books (date?): (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, with mill tower and one sails only visible above barns.


HEREFORD & WORCESTER

ALVECHURCH, Weatheroak Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) Kidd.L (a) derelict with cap frame

INKBERROW, Stonepits, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1977

INKBERROW, Holberrow Green, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) ruined ivy-covered tower, 1977

KEMPSEY, tower mill; (1) International Molinology no 64 July 2002, p7 (a) w/o, probably 1852-4

MOCCAS, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983

STOKE PRIOR, Avoncroft Museum of Buildings, post mill from Danzey Green in Warwickshire; (1) Watts (W) (a) w/o

STOURPORT-ON-SEVERN, Areley Kings, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983 (2) Kidd.L (a) derelict with four sails


HERTFORDSHIRE

CROMER, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o, 1920 (2) NMA (SC) RWD (a) fitting of new striking rod, 1998 (3) Watts (W) (a) post, crosstrees and quarterbars

GREAT HORMEAD, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict with four sails, 1925 (also shows smock mill) (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) ruined post, crowntree and trestle, 1947 (b) ditto, plus roofed-over smock tower in background, 1947

GREAT HORMEAD, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict with four sails, 1925 (also shows post mill) (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) wreckage on ground (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) roofed-over smock tower, 1947 (b) roofed-over smock tower in background, post mill remains in foreground, 1947
REED, tower mill; (1) roofed-over tower, 1947

SANDON, Sandon Mount, early post mill excavation; (1) NMA (HMC) (a)crosstree end, 1933 (b) crosstree intersection, 1933 (c) crosstrees in trench, 1933

TRING, Gammell Wharf, tower mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a-b) w/o, also showing steam mill


ISLE OF MAN

SOUTH BARRULE, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) capless tower, c2004


ISLE OF WIGHT

BEMBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) as preserved (2) Watts (W) (a) as preserved (3) Yorke (a) as preserved (4) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1955


KENT

ADISHAM, Bekesbourne, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1933 (b) wreckage after mill destroyed by fire, 1933
(c) stone and quant (before destruction of mill), 1933 (2) UOK (T4) (a) wreckage on ground (b) remains of sails and burnt wreckage on ground, from Daily Mirror 30/8/33 (3) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a-c) derelict with four sails (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a-b) derelict with four sails (c) derelict with four sails, 1932 (6) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1931 (7) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with four sails

ALDINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) roofed-over base (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (CCD) (a) w/o

APPLEDORE HEATH, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) disused with two sails (also shows smock mill) (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) disused with two sails (also shows smock mill) (wrongly captioned Chillenden)

APPLEDORE HEATH, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) disused with no sails, middle distance (post mill in foreground) (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) disused with no sails (also shows post mill) (wrongly captioned Chillenden)

ASH, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o, 1931 (b) w/o 1931 (close-up of body with top of roof hidden) (2) UOK (T4) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, mid-distance (5) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (7) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) w/o (8) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931 (9) NMA (RWC) (a) view of spout floor with main post, crowntree and tentering gear, 1949 (b) bolter drive (c) brakewheel and cross-shaft (d) breast stones, 1949 (e) close-up of sails, 1949 (f) wreckage after collapse, 1949 (g) tip of sail showing ratchet and handle for striking gear, 1936 (g-h) ditto, 1949 (i) w/o, showing close-up of shuttered sweep (j-k) w/o (l-m) w/o, 1936 (n) derelict, 1949 (o-q) w/o, 1929 (r) governor, 1930 (s) hopper, horse and shoe, 1933 (t) meal floor, 1933 (u-v) ladder and tailpole, 1936 (w) w/o, 1930 (x) tailwheel, 1930 (y) tailwheel, 1933

ASHFORD, smock mill; (1) NMA (RWC) (a) smock tower in course of dismantling for removal to Badlesmere, 1872

BADLESMERE, Boundgate Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-d) derelict with no sails (e) derelict with no sails, middle distance
(2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (at Ashford?) (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1930 (b) derelict with no sails (4) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with no sails

BARHAM, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a-d) w/o (3) NMA (JWC) (a-b) w/o (4) NMA (SC) (a-b) w/o (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (6) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1938 (7) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o apart from one missing sail, 1951 (8) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931 (9) NMA (RWC) (a) brakewheel (b-d) w/o (e) hopper (f-i) w/o, 1936 (j) view of stone floor (k) spur pinion for auxiliary drive (l-m) w/o, seen across field with sheep, 1947 (n-p) w/o, seen across field with sheep

BENENDEN, Beacon Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) disused without sails, 1933 (2) Hills 2 (a-b) derelict without sails, January 1968 (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o, early C20, with wooden poll end
(4) UOK (T4) (a) disused with no sails (b-c) w/o (5) NMA (JWC) (a) disused with no sails (6) NMA (KMGC) (a) during repairs, early 1980s, with cap frame and windshaft etc removed and replaced with flat roof over still derelict smock (b) disused with no sails, early-mid C20 (c) derelict with cap but no sails, late C20 (7) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with no sails, distant view (8) NMA (SC) Si.HD) (a) w/o, 1910 (9) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (b) disused with no sails, 1923 (10) NMA (KMGC) PJC (a) bearing beam for quant below bin floor, 1981 (b) bearing beam for quant showing part of great spur wheel, 1981 (c) bearing bracket for small cleaning machine (now missing), 1981 (d) brakewheel and windshaft lying on ground outside mill, 1981 (e) cap frame timbers and winding gear on ground, 1981 (f) the derelict mill, 1978: looking up at fantail supports from ground (g) derelict 1978, with windshaft and brakewheel (h) derelict with no sails, 1977 (i-j) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, mid-distance, 1978 (k) great spur wheel and casing for small cleaning machine, 1981 (l-m) great spur wheel, 1981 (n) guide roller and exterior loading door to stone floor, 1981 (o) view up ladder from ground to upper floor of base, 1981 (p) large window of stone floor showing wall framing, 1981 (q) layshaft for sack hoist drive on dust floor, 1981 (r) layshaft with pulley and gear wheels on dust floor, 1981 (s) rollers from shot curb resting on bin floor, 1981 (t) salvaged pillow block resting on bin floor, 1981 (u) bin floor beam showing scarring where former ironwork removed, 1981 (v) underside of second floor timbers showing modern light, 1981 (w) underside of wallower showing second ring of cogs, 1981 (x) view of curb and unidentified timber bearing bracket, 1981 (y) smock still derelict but windshaft and brakewheel removed and flat roof placed on top of it, 1981 (z) view of remains of dust floor from below, 1981 (aa) view of wallower and upright shaft showing wedges on latter, 1981 (ab) derelict with no sails, 1977, middle distance (ac) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1978, middle distance (ad) wall framing of bin floor showing salvaged pillow block, 1981 (ae) wallower and timbers of dust floor from below, 1981 (11) Cran.M (a) w/o, c1920?, from “Wealden Market” magazine 19/5/1970 (b) derelict without sails, 1958, from “Wealden Market” magazine 19/5/1970

BETHERSDEN, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) w/o

BETHERSDEN, White Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1932 (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with two sails (3) UOK (T4) (a) wreckage on ground, from Kent Messenger 2nd January 1937 (4) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, retouched (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with two sails (7) NMA (RWC) (a) w/o with two sails (b-c) derelict with two sails (d) wreckage after collapse, 1939

BETHERSDEN, Little Mill, smock saw mill; (1) NMA (FGC) (a) w/o (2) UOK (DC) (a) w/o (not captioned but known to be this mill from other research)

BIDBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) UOK (T4)(a) derelict, no sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with cap frame (3) NMA (KMC) (a) derelict with cap (4) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with cap (b) derelict with cap frame (windshaft and brakewheel, if present, are not visible)

BIDDENDEN, Town mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, 1932 (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, 1921 (3) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments (4) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (6) NMA (KMC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and broken sails ((b) is wrongly captioned “Cherry Clack Mill”) (7) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) derelict with stocks and damaged sails (8) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, 1931 (9) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with four sails (b-c) w/o (d-f) derelict with one sail broken off short (g) ditto, 1934 (h) ditto, 1937 (i) derelict with one sail broken off short, seen across pond (10) Bryan (a) w/o, c1955 (date wrong)

BIDDENDEN, Paul Sharpe’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RWC) (a-b) w/o

BLEAN, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, distant view (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (RWC) (a) w/o

BLUEBELL HILL, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with one sail broken off short, as Coles Finch

BOUGHTON STREET, Miles’ Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) disused without sails (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) close-up of brakewheel, 1930 (b) w/o, 1930 date wrong? (c-d) view of interior showing one pair of stones (e) view along sail (f) w/o (6) NMA (RWC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1927 (f) w/o, 1926

BOUGHTON-UNDER-BLEAN, Richardson's Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) derelict capless tower (3) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (3) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict capless tower (4) NMA (RWC) (a) w/o (b) derelict capless tower

BREDGAR, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with no sails

BREDHURST, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) derelict with no sails

BRENZETT, post mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (JWC) (a) with stocks and two sails (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) in course of demolition (falling sideways) (b) w/o (4) NMA (RWC) (a-c) w/o (d-f) with two sails down to stock

BRIDGE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with one stock (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with stock gone, 1946 (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with sail frames (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with sail frames (5) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap and one stock, 1931 (6) NMA (RWC) (a-b) derelict with cap and one stock (c) disused with four sail frames (d) great spur wheel and wedge adjustment of upright shaft footstep bearing (e) derelict with cap, 1952

BROADSTAIRS, Clarendon Road, smock mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o

CANTERBURY, St Martin's Hill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) house-converted with cap and stocks, 1931 (2) UOK (T4) (a) house-converted with stocks (3) NMA (JWC) (a) house-converted with stocks (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) as house-converted, middle distance (b) house-converted with new cap and fan, but stocks removed, 1990s/2000s (c) as house-converted with stocks (5) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) house-converted with stocks (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) house-converted with stocks, mid-C20 (7) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as house-converted, 1951

CHALLOCK, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1904 (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with four sails

CHARING, smock mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) close-up of cap with worm drive to curb, March 1991 (2) UOK (T4) (a) preserved with no sails
(b) disused with one sail broken off short, middle distance, retouched and recoloured (3) NMA (JWC) (a) disused with one sail broken off short, middle distance (b) as (a) but colourised (c) preserved without sails, early-mid C20 (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) house-converted with sails, 1990s/2000s (b) preserved without sails, 1951 (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) preserved without sails, early-mid C20 (6) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) disused with no sails, 1929

CHATHAM, Ordnance Place, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

CHATHAM, Star Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o with two sails (b) w/o with four sails, distant view, 1908 (c) new sweep on ground prior to fitting, 1921 (d) w/o (2) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, distant view (3) NMA (RWC) (a-c) w/o, distant view

CHATHAM, Upberry Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

CHATHAM, Mainwaring’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

CHILLENDEN, post mill; (1) WWP (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, March 1991 (b) close-up of sails, March 1991 (c) wheel on tailpole, March 1991 (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o, 1931 (4) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) tailpole, talthur and "cartwheel" (c-e) w/o (f) w/o, Sunday Dispatch 2/9/1934 (g) w/o, Kent Messenger 15/8/1936 (h-j) w/o, middle distance (5) SCRO (SC) (a) as preserved (6) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, early-mid C20 (7) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1947 (8) NMA (SC) CCD (a) as preserved, 1962 (9) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with three sails, 1956 (b) view of trestle and ladder, 1947 (10) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (11) NMA (SC) MSD (a-b) as preserved, 2003 (12) NMA (SC) RHD (a-b) as preserved, 1999 (c) as preserved, 1967 (d+) 29 views of wreckage after collapse, 2003, get later (13) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) as preserved, prob. early 1970s, with one sail fallen to ground (14) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with one sail missing, 1951 (15) Cran.M (a) wreckage being lifted by crane after collapse, The Courier 2/5/2004 (16) NMA (MCC) (a-n) w/o (17) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931 (18) Watts (W) (a) w/o, early C21 (19) NMA (RWC) (a) sail frame being fitted to middling, 1939 (b) with new middling just fitted, 1939 (c) post, crowntree and wire machine (d-f) new sail being raised into position, 1939 (d) ratchet on sweep (e) striking gear spring, 1939 (f) new sweeps on ground ready for fitting, 1949 (g) tentering gear and stone nut (h) windshaft, brakewheel and sack hoist (i) windsahft, brakewheel, sack hoist and bell alarm

CHISLET, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) view of part of internal machinery (b) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1932 (c) peak stone removed from the mill, 1929 (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) smock tower with dummy cap, mid-distance (3) FGC (a) view of dust floor, late C20, showing wdn wallower and upright shaft

COBHAM, Darnley’s Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) surviving base (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict, as Coles Finch (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict, as Coles Finch

CRANBROOK, Union Mill, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a-b) w/o, May 1990 (4) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, distant view (d) w/o, aerial view (e) floodlit, 11th May 1935 (Kent Messenger) (5) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, early C20 (6) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) w/o, mid-C20 (7) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, distant view
(8) NMA (SC) KFD (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, mid-distance (9) NMA (SMSC) BC (a-b) under repair, with stocks but no sails, 1958 (distant view) (c-f) steel stocks in course of fitting, 1958 (g) new sail being hauled into position, 1960 (h) millwright Chris Bremer closing shutters, 1960 (i-j) Chris Bremer on dust floor showing wallower, 1960 (k) Chris Bremer on meal floor, 1960 (l) Chris Bremer on meal floor with tentering handle, 1960 (m) Mr Bremer using striking chain, 1960 (n) Mr Bremer, his brother and millwrights gathered on stage, 1960 (o-q) Mr Bremer and others inside mill with one of the stones, 1960 (r) Mr H C Dance at the mill manning admission stall, 1960 (s) timber stock being removed, 1950 (t) timber stock after removal, 1968 (u-w) Rex Wailes giving opening address from balcony on mill, 1960 (10) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1951, distant view (11) Cran.M (a) w/o, cutting from The Courier newspaper 28/5/1999 (b) w/o, after replacement of Dutch-type sails with English ones, cutting from The Courier 6/8/2004 (c) looking up into cap from dust floor showing windshaft, brakewheel, wallower and sack hoist, The Courier 6/8/2004 (d) w/o after replacement of Dutch-type sails, The Courier 2/5/2004 (e-f) smock covered in scaffolding and cap in course of removal by crane, The Courier 25/2/2003 (g-h) cap being lowered to the ground with scaffolded smock tower in background, The Courier 25/2/2003 (i) crane lifting Dutch-type sails from mill, The Courier 26/7/2002 (k-l) w/o, mid-C20 (before fitting of Dutch-type sails), photocopies of photo by Rex Wailes (m) under repair, 1958, with sails down to frames and some of weatherboarding removed from smock tower (m-n) w/o, in publicity leaflet for restoration work in 1950s? (o) w/o, from Kentish Express 19th February 1971 (p) bedstone (runner removed for dressing), from Rex Wailes Collection (q) w/o, from The Courier 16/4/1982 (12) “Windmills”, booklet by SPAB mid-C20 (a) w/o, before fitting of Dutch-type sails (13) JR (MWWM) (a) w/o (b) bedstone dressed by author (c) pair of stones at Cranbrook with quant, stone nut, layshaft and pulleys and belt drive in trunking (14) NMA (SBC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1958 (b-c) w/o, mid-distance, 1959 (d-e) under repair with sails down to stocks, 1959 (f) with sails down to stocks and weatherboarding stripped from smock, 1958(?) (g-h) with sails down to stocks and weatherboarding stripped from smock, 1959 (i) as restored with Dutch-type sails, 1960 (15) NMA (SC) JSD (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 1964 (d) close-up of sail showing new steel stock (e-f) close-up of sails 1964 (g) close-up of rear of cap and fanstage, 1964 (16) NMA (FC) (a) under repair, 1931, with stocks and two sail frames (17) NMA (RWC) (a) stone drive and layshafts (b-e) stock in process of removal, 1949 (f) during restoration, 1960 (18) Bryan (a) w/o, 1906

CRANBROOK COMMON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails (retouched)
(3) NMA (SC) CCCD (a) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (SC) PMD (a) derelict with four sails (5) Cran.M (a) derelict with four sails: pencil note on back says “Old Mill Cranbrook Common about 1895-6, A. Levett”

DARTFORD, The Brent, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o

DEAL, North End, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) surviving base

DEAL, Upper Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, distant view (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) disused with sail frames (b) disused with sail frames, distant view (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) disused with sail frames (b) w/o, middle distance
DODDINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict capless smock (2) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o, distant view, retouched and coloured (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with stocks and one sail (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with stocks and one sail, 1932 (5) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, 1900

DOVER, Buckland Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o

EAST LANGDON, Martin Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) house-converted with broken sails (2) NMA (JWC) (a-b) w/o (one photo is wrongly captioned Shepherdswell) (3) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o
(4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) (b) as house-converted with shortened sails (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o

EASTRY, Upper Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (partly obscured by house) (b) without sails, distant view (3) NMA (JWC) (a) disused without sails (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (in background, Lower Mill in foreground) (b) preserved with no sails, fanstage still on (c-d) preserved with no sails, fanstage also missing (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, in background (Lower Mill in foreground) (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with no sails

EASTRY, Lower Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, with Upper Mill in background) (3) NMA (SDC) CCD (a) w/o (Upper Mill in background) (b) w/o (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with four sails

EDENBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) capless tower, 1958 (2) NMA (KMC) (a) derelict with cap (3) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) capless tower, 1968 (4) NMA (SMSC) (BC) (a) capless tower
EGERTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o (b) brakewheel, windshaft and other wreckage on ground, 1919 (b) wreckage on ground, 1919
ELHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view, retouched and coloured (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

ERITH, post mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) surviving roundhouse

FAVERSHAM, Copton, tower windpump; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) tower with water tank (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) tower preserved with flat roof, water tank gone

FOLKESTONE, Cheriton, Ashley Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, retouched

FRINDSBURY, Prospect Hill smock mills; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) both mills in w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) both mills in w/o

FRINDSBURY, Great Prospect Hill mill (see above), smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) CCD (a) house-converted base

FRINDSBURY, House Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o

FRITTENDEN, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1932 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with no sails and breast partly gone and covered with sheeting (b) more or less as (a), but with ladder leaning against breast (4) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, 1927 (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails (6) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

GILLINGHAM, Friday’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

GILLINGHAM, Stedman’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

GOUDHURST, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, middle distance, retouched

GRAVESEND, Windmill Hill, post mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) preserved with sails, but as “belle vue” tower with galleries

GREAT CHART, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) surviving base (2) NMA (JWC) (a) surviving base (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) surviving base (4)
Great Chart History Society (a-c) w/o(?) with four sails out of six

GUILTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) base with conical roof (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with stocks

GUSTON, Swingate Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, distant view (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1951 (b) w/o (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, 1930 (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (6) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931

HAWKHURST, Four Throws, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) after tailwinding, as Coles Finch (2) UOK (LB1) (a) after tailwinding, as Coles Finch (3) NMA (JWC) (a) tailwinded, as Coles Finch (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) tailwinded, as Coles Finch (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) tailwinded, as Coles Finch
HAWKINGE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with stock and one sail, 1931 (2) UOK (T4) (a-b) derelict with stock and one sail (3) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with stocks and two damaged sails (b) derelict with stocks and fragments of four sails

HEADCORN, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) disused without sails

HEADCORN, White Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T1) (a-b) w/o (3) UOK (T4) (a-f) w/o (g) w/o, from Kent Messenger 19/6/1933 (4) NMA (JWC) (a-j) w/o (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, distant view, partly obscured by buildings (6) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, 1930 (7) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, 1947 (8) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1950 (9) Cran.M (a) w/o, c1895, in “Wealden Market” magazine 4th August 1970 (b-c) floodlit for Coronation in 1937, in “Wealden Market” magazine 4th August 1970 (d) wreckage on ground after demolition in 1952, showing brakewheel, windshaft, and great spur wheel among other items, from “Wealden Market” magazine 4th August 1970 (10) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931

HERNE, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) sacks and part of chain of hoist, 1933 (2) MO 2004 (a) as preserved, 2000s (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 1991 (b) as preserved April 1991: close-up of cap, fantail and striking gear (4) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, from The Times 12/6/1936 (d) w/o, from Kent Messenger 23/3/1935 (5) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, mid-distance (6) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1933 (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, 1951 (d) w/o (7) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o, 1920 (b) w/o (c) w/o, artificially coloured (d) w/o, artificially coloured, mid-distance (8) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) as preserved, 1962 (9) NMA (SC) KFD (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1935 (two sails down to stock)
(e-i) w/o, distant view (10) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) w/o with two sails down to stock, 1934 (11) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, but with two sails down to stock, 1931

HERNE BAY, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

HIGH HALDEN, post mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) w/o

HILDENBOROUGH, Watt's Cross Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1908 (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1949 (5) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails, 1947 (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with four sails (7) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1951(?)
HOATH, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

HOO, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, but cap and sails considerably retouched

IWADE, hollow-post windpump; (1) Bonwick (a) restored to working order at the Morse Wind Engine Collection, Repps, Norfolk, 2000s

KENNINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) derelict with no sails (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, distant view (3) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o, distant view (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with no sails (4) Bryan
(a) w/o, 1901, mid-distant view

KESTON, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1933, wrongly captioned Chislet (2) UOK (LB1) (a) stone nut, quant and part of great spur wheel (3) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with four sails, late C19/early C20 (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) preserved with derelict sails, 1949 (5) NMA (KMC) (a-c) derelict with four sails (d) meal spouts (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with stocks and one broken sail, 1978 (c) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and stones (7) NMA (SMSC) (a-e) derelict with damaged sails (f) disused with one damaged sail, 1948 (g) view of stone floor showing governors (h) view of stone floor showing jockey pulley (8) International Molinology no 63, 2001, p24-6 (a) brake wheel and wallower (b) great spur wheel and stone nut

KIPPINGS CROSS, Keys’ Green, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) capless tower, 1952

KNOCKHOLT, tower mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o

LAMBERHURST, smock mill (saw mill) - SEE UNDER SUSSEX

LEIGH, Stocks Green, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o, 1933 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) wallower or great spur wheel on ground with other gearing (b) windshaft and various timbers on ground (Note: not clear if these photos were taken at Leigh or original site in Bexhill, Sussex) (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (4) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (from "Star" 30th July 1934) (d) in process of repainting (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o (7) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with one sail, 1951 (8) NMA (SBC) (a) derelict with cap frame, c1959

LENHAM HEATH, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) roofed-over base with stage (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) surviving base (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o

LOWER STOKE, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) disused with four sails, as Coles Finch (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) disused with four sails, as Coles Finch (b) disused with four sails, distant view (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) disused with four sails, as Coles Finch

LYDD, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) on fire, with sails gone (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (b) on fire, with two sails (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) on fire, with no sails (b) w/o

LYDD, post mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1900 (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

LYNSTED, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with no sails, as Coles Finch

MARGATE, Draper's Mill, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (in background; Little Draper's in foreground. Poor view, partly retouched) (2) UOK (T4) (a) disused/when engine driven, with no sails (b) disused with shutterless sails (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1970s (aerial view) (b) w/o, late C19/early C19 (c) w/o, also showing Little Drapers’ Mill (4) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) when engine-driven, with no sails (c) w/o, also showing Little Drapers’ (d) w/o, also showing Little Drapers’ and the Pumper (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) engine-driven, with no sails (b) w/o, also showing Little Draper’s and Pumper (6) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) w/o

MARGATE, Little Draper's Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (also shows Draper's Mill. Poor view, partly retouched) (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, also showing Draper’s Mill (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, also showing Draper’s Mill (b) w/o, also showing Draper’s and the Pumper (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, also showing Draper’s and the Pumper

MARGATE, “The Pumper”, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, also showing Drapers, and Little Drapers’ (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) castellated tower, also showing Draper’s and Little Draper’s

MEOPHAM, Meopham Green, smock mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b-d) newspaper cutting showing mill with two shutterless sails and only spokes of fan (2) NMA (JWC) (a) preserved, mid-C20, distant view across green (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) as preserved, 1970 (b) w/o with two sails, 1933 (4) NMA (KMC) (a) as preserved, mid-distance (5) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with two sail frames and fan spokes, mid-C20 (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o, early C20 (7) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) disused with two sails, 1954 (8) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with two sails, 1950 (9) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1965

MILTON REGIS, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of sails (2) UOK (T2) (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of sails, 1931 (b) preserved with sawn-off stocks (3) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with broken sails (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with broken sails (b) w/o, 1900 (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with four sails, 1930

NEWCHURCH, tower mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with four sails

NEWINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) preserved with windshaft and cap frame (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) disused with sail frames (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) disused with sail frames (4) NMA (FC) (a) disused with sail frames, 1931 (b) disused with sail frames

NEW ROMNEY, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o, 1926 (not identified as New Romney in the collection) (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (poor newspaper cutting) (3) NMA (JWC) (a-b) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, slightly retouched (b-c) w/o (5) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (6) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) w/o (7) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o

NONINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, with Seed Mill in background (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) sheeted-over smock (c) w/o, with Seed Mill in background (3) NMA (JWC) (a) sheeted-over smock (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1877 (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) sheeted-over smock

NONINGTON, Seed Mill, smock(?) mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, with other Nonington mill in foreground (2) UOK (T1) (a) the sheeted-over smock tower

NORTHBOURNE, Old Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o with two sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1951 (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o with two sails (4) NMA (FC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b-d) w/o with two sails

NORTHBOURNE, New Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o with two sails, but fan down to spokes (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o with two sails (3) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o with two sails (4) NMA (FC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b) w/o with two sails

NORTHFLEET, Rosherville, Boorman's Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) derelict with no sails (filed under Dartford, but undoubtedly Boorman's as details match description in Coles Finch plus other photographs)

NORTHFLEET, Fiveash, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (this appears to be the mill listed under St Peters’ Thanet in UOK)

OARE, tower mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) derelict with 3 sails, as Coles Finch (2) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with two sails visible (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with one sail, 1947 (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with cap and three sails (only one visible) (5) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1963 (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict, 1952 (7) Sussex Mills Group newsletter October 2009 (a) view inside house-converted mill showing great spur wheel

OSPRINGE, Water Lane, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) complete apart from shutterless sails, with man on ladder leaning against lowermost one (2) NMA (KMC) (a) as NMA KMGC (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) as NMA KMGC and KMC

PLUCKLEY, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with two sails (2) NMA (JWC) (a) derelict with two sails (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with two sails (b) w/o (4) NMA (KMC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1920 (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a-b) derelict with two sails (c) w/o with two sails (6) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1931

PRESTON, near Faversham, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a-b) disused with no sails (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with no sails
PRESTON, near Wingham, Dunn’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) in course of dismantling, with only the lower half of the smock remaining (2) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict near sails (wrongly captioned Preston near Faversham) (b) as engine-driven, with no sails

RAMSGATE, Grange Road, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict base (2) NMA (JWC) (a) disused with sail frames (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMC) (a) disused with sail frames (5) Bryan (a) w/o, 1901

RAMSGATE, Northwood, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) disused with sail frames (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) disused with sail frames (3) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap, 1931 (b) derelict with cap

RIPPLE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (KMGC) (a-d) w/o with two sails (e) w/o with four sails (f) under restoration late C20, with smock surrounded by scaffolding (5) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (7) album of photographs of English windmills on display at Cranbrook mill, Kent (a) restored to w/o, 19902/2000s (8) NMA (FC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b) w/o with two sails

ROCHESTER, Star Hill, Boys' Mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) as Coles Finch (b) in good condition, but with one pair of sails down to the stock and the other shutterless; men gathered on stage (cutting from Kent Messenger 30th December 1933) (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, distant view (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, distant view

ROCHESTER, Delce Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, 1931 (3) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (newspaper cutting) (b) w/o, distant view (newspaper cutting) (4) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (5) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1912 (6) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o, distant view (b) w/o (7) NMA (KFD) (a) w/o, 1935

RODMERSHAM GREEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1930

ROLVENDEN, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with two sails and roundhouse gone, 1933 (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with two sails and roundhouse gone (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, January 1968 (4) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with two sails and roundhouse gone (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) as preserved, 1957 (b) under restoration, 1956, with roundhouse gone and weatherboarding stripped from body (C) derelict with two sails and no roundhouse (6) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) derelict with two sails and nor roundhouse, 1930 (7) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) as preserved (8) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) derelict with two sails and wooden roundhouse, 1948 (9) NMA (SC) LBC (a) derelict with two sails and wooden roundhouse (b) derelict with two sails and wooden roundhouse, 1950

SAINT MARGARET'S BAY, smock mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, 1931 (2) SCRO (SC) (a) as preserved (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) as preserved (4) w/o, early-mid C20 (5) NMA (KFD) (a) as preserved, mid-C20

SANDHURST, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with four out of five sails, 1932 (b) close-up of sails, body and cap, 1932 (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with five sails (4) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with four out of five sails (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with three out of five sails (b) w/o (c) derelict with four out of five sails (6) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) w/o

SANDWICH, White Mill, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) Hills 2 (a) close-up of sails, April 1991 (b) wallower, curb and truck wheels, March 1991 (c) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, March 1991 (d) governor and drive belt from same to quant, March 1990 (e) flour machine, March 1991 (3) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o, early C20 (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) as engine-driven, with half of one stock visible (b) ditto, distant view (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o with four sails (6) NMA (SMSC) BC (a-b) disused with one stock, 1960 (c-i) ditto, 1962 (j) internal view showing flour dresser, 1962 (k) great spur wheel, 1962 (l) wall of wooden “roundel” around base, 1962 (m) with cap repainted and new sail in course of fitting, 1967 (n) with cap repainted, 1967 (o) with two new sails in position, 1967 (7) Watts (W) (a) one pair of stones, wire machine and auxiliary drive
SARRE, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) WWP (a-b) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) view of part of internal framing, April 1991 (b) triangles for striking gear in workshop, April 1991 (c) striking rod and gearing, April 1991 (d) cap under reconstruction on ground, March 1991 (e) wallower and sack hoist drive, April 1991 (f) new iron wallower and curb, April 1991 (4) UOK (T4) (a) disused without sails, distant view (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) as engine-driven with no sails, mid-C20 (b) derelict with no sails, late C20 (c) new cap under construction on ground, late C20 (6) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21

SELLING, Shottenden, Perry Wood, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) close-up of trestle and lower part of breast showing damaged boarding, c1920 (2) UOK (T4) (a) trestle and lower breast, as Lancaster Burne photo (dated 1909) (3) NMA (JWC) (a-b) derelict with one sail broken off short (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails (5) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) derelict with four sails, one broken off short

SHEPHERDSWELL, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o

SHORNE, post mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) as converted to observatory, partly obscured by trees (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1870 (b) as observatory, 1890 (c) disused with sail frames (d) as observatory (3) NMA (KMC) (a) as observatory, 1900

SISSINGHURST, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1933 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict with no sails (3) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) derelict with no sails, middle distance (4) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a-c) w/o (d) derelict with no sails, distant view (7) NMA (SC) PMD (a) derelict with four sails (b) w/o, 1908, distant view (c) 1951 news cutting with photo of wreckage of mill after demolition

SMARDEN, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1932 (2) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) NMA (SC) CDD (a) derelict with four sails, 1930 (4) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) disused with four sails (b-c) derelict with four sails (5) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1931

SMARDEN, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) derelict with four sails, mid-distance, 1932 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) becoming derelict, as Batten (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) derelict with four sails (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with four sails, distant view, 1928 (6) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1931 (b) derelict with four stocks

SOUTHFLEET, Betsham, post mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) surviving roundhouse with thatched roof

STANFORD, tower mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, 1931 (2) UOK (T4) (a) w/o, middle distance (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1952 (b) w/o (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with no fan and shutterless sails, 1951

STAPLE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o
(3) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) w/o, 1914

STAPLEHURST, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict without sails, middle distance (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict without sails

STELLING MINNIS, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) UOK (T2) (a) middle distance, 1931, when worked by engine with shortened sails and damaged fan (3) UOK (T4) (a) w/o, with new sails being fitted, from Kent Messenger 6/7/1935 (b) with stocks and damaged fan, distant view (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) when engine-driven, with damaged fan and two shortened sails (5) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o with four sails, early C20 (sails retouched) (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) as engine-driven, with two sails shortened (7) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) pair of stones with horse and hopper, 1963 (8) NMA (KMGC) PJC (a) auxiliary drive gear to great spur wheel, 1980 (b) peak stones with bell alarm horse and shoe, 1981 (c) bevel gearing transmitting drive from fantail, 1981 (d) block and tackle used for lifting millstones, 1981 (e) block and tackle and inscription on timbers, 1980 (f) brake lever and hook, 1981 (g) brake lever, 1981 (h) brakewheel and windshaft, 1981 (i) flour dresser, 1980 (j-k) governors, 1980 (l) close-up of spur gears from fantail inside rear of cap, 1981 (m) cogs being removed from brakewheel, 1981 (n) detail of brakewheel rim and cogs, 1981 (o) brakewheel with cogs removed, 1981 (p) detail of rocking lever inside cap, 1981 (q) detail of winding worm, 1981 (r) engine drive pulley and shaft showing guard around same, 1980 (s) exterior view showing sweeps and engine house, 1977 (t) four numbered cogs after removal from brakewheel, 1981 (u) view of French burr stones dismantled for dressing, 1980 (v) French millstones set up for display, 1981 (w) front view showing sweeps in detail, 1977 (x) great spur wheel and belt pulley drive, 1980 (y) great spur wheel and governors, 1980 (z) great spur wheel showing timber cogs and iron gear ring, 1981 (aa-ab) great spur wheel, stone nut and bridge tree, 1980 (ac) hand winding gear in cap, 1981 (ad) iron wallower with timber friction rim, 1980 (ae) looking up at poll end and striking gear, 1980 (af) brakewheel and wallower, 1981 (ag) meal bin and feed mechanism, 1980 (ah) collection of mill components, patterns and stone dressing tools, 1980 (ai-aj) neck journal of windshaft and weather studs, 1981 (ak) numbered cog positions on brakewheel, 1981 (al) oil engine in adjacent shed, 1980 (am) part of cant post with penciled inscription, 1981 (an) peak millstones in circular tun, 1981 (ao) brakewheel, brake lever and band, 1981 (ap) rocking lever, 1981 (aq) sack hoist bollard, 1980 (ar) sack hoist bollard showing friction wheel at lower end, 1981 (as) sack hoist operating lever and gear on dust floor, 1980 (at) salvaged millstone gear from St Leonards’ Mill, Winchelsea, Sussex, on ground floor 1980 (au) ditto, 1981 (av) striking rod and tail bearing of windshaft, 1981 (aw) detail of sweep, 1980 (ax) w/o, 1920 (ay) brakewheel, 1981 (az) view of meal floor, 1981 (aaa) two centring wheels at rear of cap frame, 1980 (aab) underside of cap frame showing the two cenring wheels, 1981 (aac) underside of cap frame timbers showing winding gear, 1980 (aad) underside of fanstage showing striking chain, 1980 (aae) underside of wallower and brakewheel, 1981 (aaf) universal joint in upright shaft, 1981 (aag) universal joint in upright shaft showing bearing block, 1981 (aah) w/o, mid-distance 1980 (aai) view inside rear of cap showing fantail gear, 1981 (aaj) view inside cap from dust floor, 1981 (aak) view inside rear of cap from dust floor, 1980 (aal) view of wallower from above, 1981 (aam) weight on striking chain, 1980 (aan) windshaft neck journal and storm hatch, 1981

STROOD, Killick’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) derelict with stocks (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with stocks

SUTTON VALENCE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) derelict with stocks, 1931 (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with stocks, 1930 (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with stocks, 1932 (6) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with stocks, 1931 (b) derelict with stocks (7) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with cap and stocks, no stage (b) winding worm, fan blades and hub, wallower and two halves of great spur wheel lying at base of mill during demolition

SWINGFIELD, Selstead, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o

SWINGFIELD, Old Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o, heavily retouched

SWINGFIELD, New Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o, 1911 (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o

TENTERDEN, Ashbourne Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o

TENTERDEN, Leigh Green, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (3) NMA (KMC) (a) w/o (4) NMA (SC) CDD (a-b) w/o (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o

ULCOMBE, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) wreckage on ground after demolition

UPCHURCH, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o

UPHILL, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view (2) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) derelict with two sails (3) NMA (SC) CDD (a-d) derelict with two sails (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a-b) w/o with two sails

WALTHAM, Cloke’s Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with two sails (2) NMA (KMGC) (a-b) derelict with two sails (3) NMA (SC) CCD (a) derelict with two sails, 1930 (4) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with two sails

WAREHORNE, post mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o

WEST HOUGHAM, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) w/o with two sails (2) NMA (JWC) (a) w/o with four sails (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1930 (4) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o with two sails (b) w/o with four sails (5) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o with four sails

WEST KINGSDOWN, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) disused, as Batten
(2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 1990 (b) close-up of cap and smock tower showing weatherboarding, lead proofing of same, and gearwheel on cap, April 1990 (c) view of interior showing framing and two pairs of stones, April 1990 (d) striking gear in cap, May 1990 (e) brake lever, May 1990 (f) interior view of cap showing brake wheel and pair of truck wheels, May 1990 (g) neck of windshaft and brakewheel spokes, May 1990 (h) brakewheel, May 1990
(i) wallower and sack hoist drive, May 1990 (j) stone nut with screws for disengaging, May 1990 (k) governor, May 1990 (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (also shows post mill) (4) NMA (KMGC) (a) as preserved, 1961 (b) disused with fan missing, early-mid C20 (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) as preserved, 1961 (wrongly captioned Old Post Mill) (6) NMA (SBC) (a-g) under restoration, 1960, with sails and cap roof framing on but no fantail (h) as above 1960, with amn working on cap (i) millwrights working on smock tower from cradle, 1960, with one sail visible (j) as restored, 1961 (k) view of mill house from top of mill, seen through frame of sail, 1961

WEST KINGSDOWN, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (also shows smock mill) (2) UOK (T4) (a-b) disused with broken sails

WESTWELL, Tutt Hill, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o

WHITFIELD, smock mill; (1) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) CCD (a) w/o (b) w/o apart from one sail missing (3) NMA (SC) KFD (a) w/o apart from one sail missing (4) NMA (SMSC) BC (a) w/o, 1900

WHITSTABLE, Feakins’ Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) CDD (a) w/o

WHITSTABLE, Black Mill, Borstal Hill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T4) (a) as house-converted, 15th October 1937 (b) w/o, distant view (2) NMA (KMC) (a) house-converted with stocks, early C20, distant view (3) NMA (SC) KFD (a-d) house-converted with stocks

WILLESBOROUGH, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o, 1932 (2) MO 2004 (a) as preserved, 2000s (3) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (4) UOK (T2) (a) w/o, 1931 (5) UOK (T4) (a) w/o (b) w/o (unidentified newspaper cutting) (c) w/o, Kent Express 24/9/1937 (d) w/o, Evening News 4/9/1934 (e) w/o with men working on sails, from supplement to “Farmer and Stockbreeder”, 1st February 1938 (f) with sail frames, 25th September 1937 (6) NMA (KMGC) (a) w/o (b) as restored, 1990s/2000s (c) as preserved, 1952 (7) NMA (SMSC) BA (a-b) w/o, 1992 (c-f) scaffolded for repairs, c1990 (8) NMA (SBC) (a) as preserved, 1959 (b) looking up at cap and fanstage, 1959 (c) looking up at cap, sails and spider, 1959 (9) Bryan (a) w/o, 1909

WINGHAM, tower mill; (1) UOK (T2) (a) worked by engine with two sails shortened, 1931 (2) UOK (T4) (a) when worked by engine, with two sails shortened (3) NMA (KMGC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1947 (b) derelict with four sails (c) w/o (4) NMA (SC) CDD (a) when worked by engine, with two shortened sails (b) derelict with four sails (c) tower with cap frame during demolition (5) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails (6) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails (b-c) when engine-driven, with two shortened sails (7) NMA (FC) (a) when worked by engine, with two sails shortened, 1931 (b) ditto, distant view seen across field

WITTERSHAM, Old Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o, 1884 (2) UOK (T2) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, as Coles Finch (e) under demolition, with sails, windshaft, brakewheel and breast in process of falling to the ground (f) under demolition: sails etc in heap on ground, mill in background with breast and part of roof missing (3) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) w/o, mid-distance, partly obscured by tree

WITTERSHAM, Stocks, post mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) as preserved, 1933 (2) Hills 2 (a) close-up of springs/sail shutters (b) close-up of part of buck and sails showing framing of latter, January 1968 (c) close-up of sails, January 1968 (3) UOK (T2) (a) as preserved, 1931 (4) UOK (T4) (a) as preserved (b) surrounded by scaffolding for repairs, 7th March 1939 (newspaper cutting) (5) NMA (KMGC) (a) as preserved, mid-C20, with gallery on side (b) as preserved, C20 (6) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) preserved but with one damaged sail, mid-C20 (7) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) as preserved, mid-distance (b) as preserved, 1930 (8) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1952 (9) Cran.M (a) as preserved, from “Wealden Market” magazine 18th April 1970 (9) NMA (SBC) (a) as preserved, 1959

WOODCHURCH, Lower Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) disused with four sails, 1929 (b) w/o, 1890 (also shows Upper Mill) (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 1991 (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (also shows Upper Mill) (3) UOK (T4) (a) disused with sails (4) NMA (KMGC) (a-d) newly-completed tower, 1981 (e-f) newly-completed tower, 1981, mid-distance (g-i) newly-completed tower, 1982 (j) interior of mill during rebuilding, 1981 (k) preserved with sail frames and no stage, mid-C20 (l) complete but becoming derelict, early C20 (l) w/o, late C20/early C21 (m) a quarter of the new smock being lifted into position by crane (5) NMA (SC) CCD (a) disused with four sails (b) under restoration, with only tower standing (6) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) disused with sail frames but no fan or stage (7) NMA (SC) KFD (a) derelict with four sails and no stage, mid-C20 (b) derelict with four sails, 1946 (8) NMA (SMSC) (a) great spur wheel and stone nuts (b) close-up of cap and fanstage (c-d) as preserved without stage, mid-C20 (9) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved without stage, 1952 (10) Cran.M (a) derelict with stocks (b) the coach within the base (11) Watts (W) (a-b) w/o, late C20/early C21

WOODCHURCH, Upper Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) disused with one sail, 1890 (also shows Lower Mill) (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (also shows Lower Mill) (3) UOK (T4) (a) roofed-over smock

WROTHAM, Wrotham Heath, Fry’s Mill, tower or smock mill; (1) NAM (SC) SD (a) poor quality colourised postcard showing mill as distant feature; details unclear but not a post mill and apparently in working order

WYE, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) CCD (a) surviving base, 1930


LANCASHIRE

AUGHTON, tower mill; (1) Mona Duggan, “Ormskirk and District”, Alan Sutton 1995 (a) disused with cap and cross (NOTE: caption describes this as “the windmill on Holborn Hill, Aughton”. Could it be Lydiate which is not far from here?)

CLIFTON, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (KWTITP) (a) w/o, 1898 (2) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) w/o, wrongly dated 1950s; this is the view elsewhere dated 1898 (b) preserved as restaurant, wrongly captioned 1950s (3) IGTWL (a-b) w/o (4) BL (a) derelict with three sails, mid-late C20 (b) derelict with three sails, 1963 (5) FL (a-b) derelict with cap and stumps of stocks, c1975 (newspaper cutting) (c-d) w/o (photocopy from Allen Clarke) (e) derelict with four sails (not clear whether photo or painting), from unidentified publication (f-g) disused with four sails (wrongly captioned Treales) (h) w/o (in file on Treales) (6) LL (a) w/o (b) preserved as restaurant

FRECKLETON, smock saw mill; (1) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) w/o (2) Allen Clarke 2 (a) w/o

GREAT CROSBY, tower mill; (1) Bryan (a) when engine-driven with cap and cross, 1960
GREAT MARTON, tower mill; (1) BL (a) w/o(?): appears complete with three common sail frames visible, fourth hidden by tower (b) derelict with four sails and winding wheel (c-f) derelict with cap, broken stocks and fragments of at least one sail; winding wheel breaking away (2) IGTWL (a) derelict, as Allen Clarke (3) LL (a) derelict, as Allen Clarke (b) derelict with broken stocks and fragments of two sails

HAMBLETON, post mill; (1) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) w/o (2) IGTWL (a) w/o (3) Allen Clarke 2 (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1890 (4) BL (a) w/o (5) FL (a) w/o, 1870 (b-f) w/o (one from Allen Clarke, one a photocopy, and several of rather poor quality) (6) LL (a-b) w/o

KIRKHAM, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (KWTITP) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, broken stocks and fragments of sails, early 1900s (2) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) derelict with cap, broken sails and fragments of stocks, c1900 (3) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) derelict with cap frame (4) IGTWL (a) derelict with cap frame (5) FL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, broken stocks and fragments of sails (b-d) as house-converted (e) capless tower, 1950s/60s (f) tower with cap frame, from Allen Clarke (g) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and fragments of sails (6) THM (a0 derelict with cap and fragments of four sails (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and fragments of two sails (7) LL (a) as house-converted

LAYTON, Hoo Hill, tower mill; (1) Fleetwood Library has a photocopy of a newspaper article in which a good picture of the derelict mill c1890 with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails is reproduced. It is not clear if it is a painting or a photograph.

LITTLE MARTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with awful dummy cap, 1957 (2) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) as preserved, late C20, with silly cap (3) IGTW (a-b) w/o (4) BL (a) with appalling cap and one damaged sail, 1978 (b) close-up of spider and dummy sails, 1978 (c) as preserved with new cap, sails and fan, 1990 (d) ditto, 1993 (e) w/o, 1922, mid-distance (f-g) as preserved with ghastly cap and dummy sails, late C20 (h) as preserved with atrocious cap and dummy sails, 1978 (but no sails damaged, so either this or BL (a) must be wrongly dated) (i) newspaper cutting of 11.3.1936 showing the mill when derelict, with stocks and fragments of three sails (j) newspaper cutting 6th March 1937, showing workmen on ladder whitewashing the brickwork of the tower; cap roof appears to be missing but one derelict sail, striking gear and part of adjacent stock visible (k) cutting from GH (?) 4.10.1952 showing mill preserved with dummy sails and cap; cap appears to be of a different shape from the monstrosity later fitted, more like the Kentish variety in shape. There are four other copies of this view from various newspapers (l) with dummy sails and cap but latter becoming derelict; cutting from Evening Gazette 22.3.1962 (m) more or less same as (l), Evening Gazette 2.1.1963 (n) as (l) and (m), Evening Gazette 8.9.1977 (5) LL (a) close-up of new cap and sails, late C20, with millwrights Joe and Nicholas Gillett working on one of the latter which they have just fitted (b-d) w/o (one view shows advertisement painted on tower and period car in foreground) (e) new sails on and scaffolding around tower, but cap roof still missing, 1930s (f) as preserved wih more authentic cap, late C20/early C21 (g) preserved with unspeakable cap, mid-late C20 (6) FL (a) as preserved with appalling cap, Evening Gazette 12th August 1969 (b+) various photocopies reproducing what seen at Lytham and Blackpool libraries (7) NWMG Newsletter June 2003 (a) as preserved, early C21

LYTHAM, tower mill; (1) IGTW (a) w/o (2) BL (a-b) derelict, 1922, with windshaft, cap frame and fanstage (c) w/o (2) LL (a) as preserved, 1980s/90s (b) as preserved, from LEP {what?} 21/3/1989 (c) new cap on ground about to be lifted by crane, from Lytham Express 22/9/1988 (d) cap being lifted off ground by crane, showing winding gear at rear, tower (surrounded by scaffolding) in background (Lytham Express as (c)) (e) tower surrounded by scaffolding, with new fantail on ground and new cap about to be lifted on by crane (Lytham Express as (c)) (f) w/o (Evening Gazette 26/8/1989) (g) as preserved, from “The Citizen” 28/12/1991 (h) surrounded by scaffolding with two sails in place and two more being lifted off ground by crane, from Express 21/9/1989 (i-ac) w/o (two views are photocopies) (ad) w/o (slightly retouched) (ae) as preserved, early C20, with dummy sails and dummy cap similar to that at Little Marton (postcard) (af) as preserved, late C20 (ag) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (snow scene) (ah-aj) great spur wheel and stone nut (al) as preserved, late C20/early C21: close-up of part of tower and one sail obscured by nearby lifeboat house
(am) cutting from The Citizen 24/5/2001: party at base of tower celebrating award to mill of free registration as a national museum (an) as preserved, cutting from Express 29/8/2002 (ao) cutting from Express, 25/10/2001, showing volunteers posing outside mill with silver award from North-West Tourist Board (ap) tower scaffolded and new cap being lowered into place by crane (aq-ar) as preserved, late C20, with shortened sails (as-at) as preserved, early C20, with dummy sails and cap (one sail missing) (au) surrounded by scaffolding, late C20, with cap, fantail and one sail on and another sail being lifted into place by crane (av-aw) complete with four sails but with scaffolding still up, late C20 (ax) s preserved, from Express 21/4/1994 (ay) newspaper cutting dated 28th January 2003 showing Shirley Clarke, granddaughter of Allen Clarke, stnding in front of preserved mill (az) w/o, late C19/early C20, with couple in period costume posing in foreground (aaa) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (aab) scaffolded, late C20, with new cap and fan on but no sails yet (aac) floodlit at night, but too dark (paradoxically!) to see if cap and/or sails on (aad-aaj) as preserved, late C20, but with two sails damaged and hanging down after storm damage and two missing (aak-aam) as preserved, late C20/early C21: sunset scene, mid-distance (aan) derelict after fire with windshaft, cap frame and fanstage, and remains of sails lying on ground in foreground (aao) as preserved, early C20, with dummy sails and dummy cap similar to that once fitted at Little Marton (3) FL (a) complete with sails but scaffolded, April 1982 (b+) various photocopies which reproduce what has been seen at Lytham and Blackpool libraries, except for one good one of mill with dummy sails and dummy cap like Little Marton’s (4) SAL (a-e) as preserved with shortened sails, mid-late C20 (f-g) as preserved with shortened sails, 1960 (h) as preserved with shortened sails, 1961 (i-m) as preserved, early-mid C20, with dummy cap like that at Little Marton (n-p) w/o, late C19/early C20 (q) close-up of fantail and winding gear (r) derelict with windshaft, cap frame and fan cradle after fire, 1919 (5) THM (a-b) w/o (6) NWMG Newsletter June 2003 (a) w/o (7) Bryan (a) w/o (distant view), 1894

PILLING, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (OWITP) (a) with windshaft, cross and roofed-over cap frame (2) IGTWL (a) with roofed-over cap frame and cross (3) FL (a) the house-converted tower (b-c) with windshaft, cross and roofed-over cap frame (4) THM (a) with roofed-over cap frame and cross (5) LL (a) with windshaft, roofed-over cap frame and cross

PREESALL, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (APLF) (a) w/o, c1911 (2) Rothwell (OWITP) (a) w/o (3) Clayton (GFA) (a) w/o, 1906 (4) IGTWL (a) w/o (5) Allen Clarke 2 (a) w/o (6) BL (a) tower as power mill, with flat roof, late C20 (7) LL (a) w/o, as Allen Clarke (b) w/o (c) tower as power mill (8) FL (a) w/o (poor photocopy from Allen Clarke) (b-d) w/o (e-f) tower as power mill

PRESTON, Craggs Row, tower mill; (1) LL (a) house-converted tower
(2) NWMG Journal June 2003 (a) house-converted tower (3) NWMG Journal January 2002 (a) top of tower visible above rubble from demolition from nearby tower block (4) NWMG Newsletter October 2001 (a) surrounded by scaffolding for repainting

RIMINGTON, Stopper Lane, smock sawmill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o

SALFORD, five-sailed tower mill; (1) J Allen Clarke, Windmill Land, New Edition Foulsham 1933 (though it is included in the list of illustrations photo may not appear in all copies of the book; Blackpool Central Library, Queen St Blackpool FY1 1PX have one in which it does) (a) w/o, c1870

SINGLETON, tower mill; (1) Clayton (GFA) (a) w/o (postcard in the “Windmill Series” by H Maxwell of Blackpool, 1904) (2) IGTWL (a) w/o apart from missing fan and sail shutters (3) FL (a) disused with sail frames and fan cradle (photocopy) (4) LL (a) w/o (not captioned) (b) w/o (possibly Treales)

SOUTHPORT, Birkdale, post mill; (1) "Old Birkdale and Ainsdale: Life on the South-West Lancs coast 1600-1851", The Birkdale and Ainsdale Historical Research Society 1985 (a) w/o, probably taken 1860s

STAINING, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) derelict with cap and cross, late C20 (wrongly captioned as Weeton) (2) Clayton (FFA) (a) w/o, c1904 (3) IGTWL (a) w/o (4) BL (a) derelict with cap, late C20 (b) house-converted with dummy cap following fire (5) LL (a-c) house-converted with new cap but no sails yet (d) w/o (e) w/o, 1900s (f) house-converted with dummy sails (g) house-converted with more authentic dummy sails (6) FL (a) w/o, c1900 (b-f) w/o (g) derelict, late C20, with cap and cross (h) house-converted with new cap and dummy sails (7) NWMG Newsletter June 2003 (a) w/o (8) NWMG Newsletter January 2002 (a) as preserved with dummy cap etc, late C20

THORNTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (DPC) (a) preserved with missing fan, late C19/early C20 (2) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) w/o, mid-distance (3) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (4) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (5) Rothwell (APLF) (a) w/o, 1912 (b) preserved with shutters in sails but no fan, 1927 (6) IGTWL (a) w/o (7) Allen Clarke 2 (a) w/o in background, with the “Windmill Tour” motor coach and tour participants in foreground (8) BL (a) w/o with common sails (b) preserved with shuttered sails but no fan, 1963 (c) w/o (d) preserved with shuttered sails but no fan, early-mid C20 (e) as preserved, 1986 (f) as preserved, 1973, on front of guide book (9) LL (a) newspaper cutting of 1980s(?) showing mill without sails awaiting funds for further restoration (b) preserved but awaiting new sails, c1989 (photo dated from film poster on nearby bus shelter) (c) article in West Lancashire Evening Gazette 28th May 1930 on the death of two women who fell from the gallery; photograph shows the mill as preserved with shutters in sails but no fan, and the damaged gallery timbers (d) w/o (e) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, early C20 (10) W (also at Fleetwood Library) (a) as preserved, May 1982, with late Walter Heapy in foreground (b) brakewheel and windshaft (c) section of rim of brakewheel (d) auxiliary drive gear (e) brakewheel and wallower (f) great spur wheel and pinion for auxiliary drive (11) FL (a-b) preserved with sail frames (c) brakewheel (d) preserved with shuttered sails but no fan, mid-C20 (e) w/o, early C20 (f) procession of VIPs and band past mill, which is renovated apart from sails and fan (cutting from LEP {which paper is this?}, 23/8/1989 (g) preserved with sail frames (LEP 17/3/1989) (h) preserved with sail frames: VIPs gathered at base of mill for photo after stone-laying ceremony at Marsh Mill Village project (Evening Gazette) 24/8/1989) (i) preserved with sail frames: members of the Thornton Cleveleys East Trefoil Guild Girl Guide Association gathered outside on one of their monthly outings (j) preserved with shuttered sails but no fan, newspaper cutting 5th November 1965 (k) fitting of new shutterless sails, newspaper cutting 15th October 1965 (l-m) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, newspaper cutting 25th January 1957 (n-o) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan (newspaper cuttings) (p) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, 17th May 1957 (q) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, 16th August 1957 (r) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, 17th October 1958 (s) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, 25th January 1967 (t) as tea room with shuttered sails and no fan, early C20 (u-v) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan (w-x) w/o, late C19/early C20 (y) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, in background of photo showing team of horses ploughing (z) interior view showing unidentified timbers and gearing (aa) view of tower, cap and fanstage (sails obscured by tree) (ab) stone floor showing the four pairs of stones (ac-ad) as preserved, 1986 (cutting from EG) (ae-ag) article, with photo, from West Lancashire Evening Gazette concerning deaths at mill (see above) ah) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, newspaper cutting 28th November 1955 (ai) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, cutting from Gazette and Herald 15th November 1944 (aj) preserved with shuttered sails and no fan, newspaper cutting 21st August 1957 (ak) preserved with sail frames only, newspaper cutting 21st November 1979 (al-am) preserved with sail frames, December 1977 (an-ap) w/o, late C19/early C20 (photocopy) (aq) w/o, 1990s/200s (from Evening Gazette) (ar-as) crane removing the shutterless sails that were put on in the 1960s, 1980s(?) (at-au) capless tower surrounded by scaffolding for repairs, 1990s (av) preserved with shuttered sails but no fan, Evening Gazette 12th August 1969 (aw) preserved with sail frames only, Evening Gazette 11th September 1979 (ax) preserved with sail frames, newspaper cutting 11th April 1969 (12) SAL (a) w/o, early C20 (13) LTC (a) preserved as tea-room with shuttered sails but no fan, early C20 (b) w/o, 1907 (sails partly retouched) (c) preserved, early C20, with shuttered sails and fan (latter has only four blades) (d) article on mill in West Lancashire Evening Gazette, as above (e) w/o, late C19/early C20 (14) Bryan (a) preserved with shutters in sails, c1955

TREALES, tower mill; (1) Rothwell (KWTITP) (a) derelict with stocks and remains of three sails, 1921 (2) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) derelict with cap, stocks and three sails (3) Clayton (FFA) (a) w/o, c1890s (4) IGTWL (a) w/o (5) LL (a-f) house-converted with authentic Fylde cap, 1990s/2000s (g) as (a-e), distant view (h-m) house-converted with authentic Fylde cap (close-up, seen through trees) (n-o) house-converted with authentic Fylde cap, mid-distance (p) derelict with stocks and remains of three sails (6) FL (a) w/o (7) NWMG Journal October 2001 (a) with new (authentic Fylde) cap just lowered on by crane

WARTON, post mill; (1) Rothwell (LFWWGITP) (a) derelict with four sails (b) surviving post and trestle (c) derelict with no sails, 1912 {this photo has been variously captioned 1912, c1915 and c1903 in various sources} (2) Kathleen Eyre, “Scenes From Fylde, Coast and Country”, the Lancashire Library 1985 (a) derelict with four sails, c1900 (b) surviving post and trestle (3) Rothwell (AKIOP) (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with no sails, c1903 (4) IGTWL (a) derelict with no sails (5) FL (a-b) derelict with no sails, 1915 (c) derelict with no sails (d) disused with four sails (6) THM (a) derelict with no sails (7) LL (a) derelict with four sails (b) surviving post and trestle

WEETON, tower mill; (1) IGTWL (a) w/o, distant view (2) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) w/o, distant view (3) BL (a) w/o, 1922 (4) FL (a) w/o, c1900, from Lancashire Magazine July-August 2001 (wrongly captioned Staining) (b) w/o, as Allen Clarke (c) w/o, from Poulton-le-Fylde historical journal (5) THM (a) w/o (6) LL (a) derelict with four sails

WREA GREEN, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) derelict with cap frame (b) w/o (poor view, mid-distance) (2) Rothwell (LFWWGITP) (a) as house-converted with new cap and white-painted tower, 1988 (b) as (a), middle distance (3) IGTWL (a) derelict with cap (4) BL (a-b) derelict with cap, 1922 (5) FL (a-b) as house-converted with new cap, white-painted tower and partial stage (one view is from Lancashire Life July 1987, the other from an unidentified magazine) (c) shell of tower, 1966 (d) shell of tower, with conversion work just starting (6) LL (a) shell of tower prior to start of house conversion, 1970s/80s (cutting from Evening Gazette) (b) derelict with cap (c-e) as house-converted with new cap, white-painted cap and partial stage


LEICESTERSHIRE/RUTLAND

BOTTESFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1936 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1936

CASTLE DONINGTON, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails

GILMORTON, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) view looking up inside tower of derelict mill at wallower, upright shaft and cap frame, early 1980s

KIBWORTH HARCOURT, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) as preserved, 1940 (2) Ullesthorpe Windmill Guide, Ullesthorpe Preservation Trust 2007 (a) as preserved (3) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1955

OAKHAM, post mill; (1) Blythman (a) derelict with 2 sails, showing fantail on tailpole. Photocopy of photo loaned by private enthusiast.

REDMILE, post mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

SLAWSTON, post mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

SPROXTON, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) disused with four sails (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with four sails, 1942 (3) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict with four sails

SYSTON, post mill; (1) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

THRINGSTONE (also known as Swannington or Peggs Green, Coleorton, Mill), tower mill; (1) Industrial Archaeology News no.113 Summer 2000 (a) under restoration; surrounded by scaffolding with new cap in place (2) Industrial Archaeology News no 132 Spring 2005 (a) restored with new cap (b) derelict tower before restoration, with some remains of cap frame (c) new curb being laid in position

ULLESTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Ullesthorpe Windmill guide, Ullesthorpe Preservation Trust 2007 (a-b) preserved with no sails, 2000s (c) surrounded by scaffolding for repairs, 1973 (d) stone nut and quant (e) view of stone floor showing upright shaft, great spur wheel, quant and one pair of stones without furniture

WALTHAM-ON-THE-WOLDS, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1920 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1934

WHISSENDINE, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) roller mill

WOODHOUSE EAVES, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) preserved as landmark, 1904 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) as preserved, 1937

WYMESWOLD, post mill; (1) NMA (RWC) (a) derelict with no sails

WYMONDHAM, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) cap, sails and cross, July 1991 (b) governor, July 1991


LINCOLNSHIRE

ADDLETHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1946 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1973 (3) Jager (a) w/o, 1920s (b) stump of tower, 2000s

ALFORD, Hoyle's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a-b) w/o, 1985 (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) WWP (a) w/o (4) Hills 2 (a) weights for striking chain on gallery, March 1990 (b) w/o, July 1990 (c) close-up of back of cross, July 1990 (f) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and stone furniture, July 1990 (g) governor and iron bridge tree, July 1990 (5) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1976 (b) w/o, 1973 (c-d) w/o (e-f) sails removed for repairs, 1978 (g-h) w/o (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (8) LL (a) w/o (9) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o, 1900s?

ALFORD, Myer’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o, 1920s

ALFORD, Wallace’s Mill (Station Mill), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) derelict stump of tower, 2000s

ALKBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1983 (b) capless tower, 1978 (c) w/o (d) internal view showing bricked-up doorway, 1983 (e) underside of bedstone and common sail whips supporting stone floor (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) derelict capless tower, 2003 (c) tower undergoing house conversion, 2000s

AMBER HILL, tower drainage mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) preserved base of tower with scoop wheel (b) preserved base of tower (scoop wheel not visible), 1978 (2) Jager (a) preserved base of tower with scoop wheel

AMCOTTS, post mill; (1) Derelict with three sails in position and one hanging down

BARDNEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

BARLINGS, Langworth, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1930

BARNETBY-LE-WOLD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a-b) derelict capless tower

BARROWBY, tower mill; (1) NMA PDC (a) w/o

BARROW-UPON-HUMBER, Barrow Haven, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower (2) Jager (a) derelict capless tower, 2000s

BARROW-UPON-HUMBER, Milson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BARTON-UPON-HUMBER, Market Place, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) bridge tree (b) capless tower, 1978 (c) capless tower, 1983 (d) bridge tree, 1983 (e-f) great spur wheel and upright shaft, 1983 (g) former whiting mill drive, 1983 (2) Jager (a) tower with battlemented top, early C20 (b) tower converted to pub and restauarant with replica cap, 2000s

BARTON-UPON-HUMBER, Hewson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap frame, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap frame, 2000s

BARTON-UPON-HUMBER, Caistor Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o

BARTON-UPON-HUMBER, Pearson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) castellated stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) castellated stump of tower, 2000s

BASSINGHAM (not captioned as such), post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with two sails

BASTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1971 (b) capless tower, 1983 (2) Jager (a) w/o, late C19 (b) derelict and ivy-clad tower, 2000s

BELTON, Westgate, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o with two sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) derelict with cap (c) derelict with cap, 1983 (d) w/o with two sails (3) Jager (a) derelict with two sails, c1930 (b) house-converted with replica cap (c) close-up of replica cap and weatherbeam

BILLINGHAY, West Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) stump of tower, 2000s

BILLINGHAY, East Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o with four sails (b) stump of tower,
2000s

BILSBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a-b) capless tower, 1986 (c) w/o, 1900 (d) capless tower, 1973 (e) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

BINBROOK, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with two sails

BLYTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) tower (a) with octagonal roof (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) with cap and cross, early C20 (b) house-converted tower with observation room on top (c) house-converted tower with observation room removed, 2000s

BOSTON, Maud Foster mill, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s
(2) Hills 2 (a) w/o, September 1990 (3) SCRO (SC) (a) as preserved, 1970s (4) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1949 (5) NMA (PDC) (a) as preserved, 1971 (b) w/o, 1923 (c) governor, 1982 (d) detail of cross, taken at night (e) sail/cross attachment, taken at night (f) rear of cap interior showing tail bearing of windshaft and hand winding gear (g) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, 1982 (h-i) view of stone floor showing upright shaft, great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones, 1982 (j) underside of bedstone and part of tentering gear, 1982 (k) cross and neck bearing of windshaft, 1982 (6) JGC (a) w/o (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (8) Watts (W) (a) great spur wheel, quant and
Stones (b) one pair of stones and stone furniture (9) LL (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (10) (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o, 1930s (11) Yorke (a) w/o (b) close-up of spider (12) Bryan (a) as preserved, 1965

BOSTON, Gallow’s Mills, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1881, also showing tower mill (b) w/o, also showing tower mill and Tuxford’s Mill

BOSTON, Gallow’s Mills, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1881, also showing post mill (b) w/o, also showing post mill and Tuxford’s Mill
BOSTON, Tuxford’s Mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (also showing Gallows Mills)

BOSTON, Day’s Mill (Good Intent), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BOURNE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1971 (b) stump of tower, 1983

BOURNE, Rippingale, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance

BRIGG, Bell’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, early 1900s (b) capless tower, 2000s (c) Advert for former owning company painted on brickwork

BROUGHTON, Castlethorpe, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

BURGH LE MARSH, Dobson's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) w/o, August 1990 (b) close-up of sails, August 1990 (c) quant and bedstone, August 1990 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1977 (b) w/o, 1960 (4) JGC (a) w/o, 1933 (5) LL (a) w/o, 1950s(?) (6) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o, early-mid C20 (d) stone floor showing grain chutes, along with part of one pair of stones, tentering gear and other machinery (7) Bryan (a) w/o, c1955

BURGH LE MARSH, West End Mill (Hanson’s), tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1934 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1920s (b) derelict with cap frame (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20 (b) tower as house-converted, 2000s

BURTON-UPON-STATHER, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict roundhouse, 1978 (b) w/o with two sails (2) University of Kent, Templeman Library (a) w/o

BUTTERWICK, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) governor, 1977 (c) pair of millstones, 1977 (d) bevel gears applying auxiliary drive to stone spindle, 1977 (e) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o apart from one missing sail (b) capless tower, 2000s

CAISTOR, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, mid-distance (b) capless tower, 2000s

CARLBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1905

CARLTON LE MOORLAND, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails

CARRINGTON, tower mill (the brick smock mill), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) as NMR, 1934

CLAYPOLE, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails

CLEETHORPES, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC)(a) w/o

COLEBY HEATH, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) tentering gear and governors (b) great spur wheel, stone nut and one pair of stones
(2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (4) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (5) JGC (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance

CONINGSBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (3) Bryan (a) disused with cap and cross, c1955

CORBY GLEN, post mill; (1) A W Adams, Corby Glen Windmill, the author 2007 (a) w/o(?), as small detail in distance

CORRINGHAM, East Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) preserved tower, 2000s

CORRINGHAM, West Mill (Winter’s), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, c1900 (b-c) preserved tower, 2000s

COVENHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

COWBIT, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1934 (b) capless tower, 1972 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

CROFT, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1935 (b) castellated tower, 1977 (2) JGC (a) w/o, 1933 (b) w/o, 1933 (one view captioned “Lady Mill, Northolme, near Wainfleet”, the other just “Wainfleet”) (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) truncated tower, 2000s

CROWLAND, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1971 (2) Jager (a) house-converted stump of tower, 2000s

CROWLAND, Postland Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails

CROWLE, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

DEEPING ST JAMES, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) brakewheel (b) foot of upright shaft and supporting timber (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

DEEPING ST JAMES, Frognall, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails

DONINGTON, Baxter’s Mill, tower mill; (1) Jager (a) stump of tower with conical roof (b) stump of tower with conical roof, 2000s (2) NMA PDC (a) stump of tower, 1977

DYKE, smock mill; (1) Proceedings of the Nineteenth Mill Research Conference, May 2003 (a) with one sail missing, c1923 (b) the house-converted smock tower, c2003 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (PDC) (a) capless smock tower (3) Jager (a) house-converted smock tower, 2000s (b) interior of base of converted mill, 2000s

EAGLE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

EAST HALTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

EAST HALTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

EAST KIRKBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1973 (2) Jager (a-b) w/o (c) capless tower, 2000s

EPWORTH, Thompson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict (w/o?) with two sails, 1934 (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1955
(3) Jager (a) w/o with two sails, early C20 (b) capless tower, 2000s

EPWORTH, Brook’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1941 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted tower with replica cap, 1982 (b) capless tower, 1978 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1955 (4) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted with replica cap, 2000s

EPWORTH, Maw’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900 (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, May 1925 (b) replica cap being lifted into place by crane, 2005 (c) tower preserved with replica cap

FALDINGWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) stump of tower, 1985 (d) w/o with two sails (e-g) spout floor, 1983 (h) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, prob. early C20 (b) capless tower protected by tarpaulin, 2000s

FIRSBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

FOLKINGHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with three sails

FOSTON, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o, 1928 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1952 (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with two sails, 1940 (4) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1920 (b) w/o, 1923 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails and buck roof gone, 1960

FREISTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap frame, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o, pre-1924 (b) derelict capless tower, 2000s

FREISTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

FRISKNEY, Hoyle’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o, with miniature post mill visible at right of picture (b) capless tower, 2000s

FRISKNEY, Kitching’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

FRISKNEY, Friskney Tofts, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1923 (2) “Windmills”, booklet by SPAB mid-C20 (a) w/o (3) JGC (a) internal view showing brake- or tailwheel and top part of stone casing with vat and shoe (b) View of ladder, tailpole and talthur with Mr Stephenson, miller, standing on ladder, 1933 (c) view of post, 1933 (d) internal gear wheel, purpose not clear, 1933 (e) w/o with two sails, 1933 (f) w/o with two sails, colourised (g-h) w/o with two sails (i) view of rear buck porch, substructure, ladder, tailpole and talthur

FULNEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with sails

FULSTOW, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20 (b) stump of tower, 2000s

GAINSBOROUGH, Spital Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) capless tower, 1978 (c) w/o, 1920 (2) Jager (a) w/o, 1920s (b) capless tower, 2000s

GAINSBOROUGH, Ashcroft Mill, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) capless tower, middle distance, 1934

GEDNEY CROSS (same as Gedney post mill in main document?), post mill; (1) Oldham (a) w/o, c1900

GEDNEY DYKE, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) RHD (a) w/o (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, distant view, 1942 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1977 (4) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, late C20/early C21

GEDNEY HILL, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

GOSBERTON, Risegate, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tower converted into grain silo, with cross and dummy cap, 1977 (2) Jager (a) surrounded by industrial buildings, with windshaft, broken cross and dummy cap, 1946 (b) surrounded by industrial buildings, with windshaft, cap and dummy cross, 2005

GOSBERTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

GOXHILL, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

GRAINTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

GRASBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) roundhouse, 1978 (b) w/o with two sails (2) Jager (a) w/o(?) with two sails, early C20 (b) surviving roundhouse, 2000s

GRIMOLDBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

GRIMSBY, Scartho, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

GRIMSBY, Scartho, Heaton’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

GRIMSBY, Catergate, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, c1850

GUNNESS, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, c1900 (Keadby tower mill in background)

HACKTHORN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails

HAGWORTHINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1929 (b) capless tower, 1978 (3) Jager (a) w/o, 1920s (b) derelict capless tower, 2000s

HALTON HOLEGATE, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

HARPSWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

HAXEY, Westwoodside, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) capless tower (b) stump of tower, 2000s

HAXEY, Low Burnham, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o with two sails (b) house-converted with replica cap

HAYDOR, Oasby, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b-c) capless tower

HEAPHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with cap, 1978 (c-d) w/o (e) view of cap and fanstage, 1978 (2) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o, early C20? (d) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones with furniture

HECKINGTON, eight-sailed mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) one pair of stones with stone furniture (b) winding gear in cap (c) tentering gear, governors, chute and sacks (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, June 1968 (b) upright shaft, March 1990 (c) runner stone with rynd and broken quant, March 1990 (d) upright shaft, great spur wheel and one pair of stones, March 1990 (e) lag governor and iron bridge tree, January 1968 (f) governor with guard screen fitted in accordance with modern health and safety regulations, March 1990 (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (4) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1932 (b) w/o (c) as preserved, 1971 (d) as preserved, 1982 (e) as preserved, 1983 (f) w/o, 1925 (g) stone floor, 1971 (5) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1952 (7) JGC (a) internal view which appears to show several box-like structures with chutes in background (b) w/o (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (8) LL (a) as preserved, C20 (b) w/o, mid-C20 (9) HL (a) as preserved (9) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) new sail being fitted, 1933 (d) with cap and sails removed for upper courses of brickwork to be relaid, 2002-3 (10) Yorke (a) w/o (11) ERYC (a) w/o, mid-distance 5th May 1949 (12) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1955

HECKINGTON, Mowbray’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20 (b) castellated stump of tower, 2000s

HELPRINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tower with conical roof, 1971 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

HEMINGBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977

HEMSWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with three sails (3) JGC (a) view of substructure, 1933 (b-c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails

HIBALDSTOW, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1983 (b) great spur wheel, 1983 (c) capless tower, 1978 (d) meal chutes, 1983 (e) stones and Bamford roller crusher, 1983 (f) internal view of stones, flooring and layshaft, 1983 (g) internal view, 1983 (h) pair of millstones, 1983 (i) stones and meal chute, 1983 (j) dismantled stone nut on third floor, 1983 (k) w/o (2) Jager (a) tower preserved with winshaft and cross, mid-C20 (b) capless tower, 2000s

HOGSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 1982 (3) Jager (a) w/o, early C20 (b) ruined walls of base, 2000s

HOLBEACH, Penny Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o with four sails, 1942 (3) NMA (PDA) (a) w/o with four sails, 1923 (b) capless tower, 1972 (4) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2004

HOLBEACH, Holbeach Hurn, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

HORNCASTLE, Spilsby Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1982 (b) w/o, 1900 (c) w/o (d) capless tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

HORNCASTLE, Low Toynton, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900

HORSINGTON, Green’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA PDC (a) w/o (but the caption only says it is probably this mill) (2) Jager (a) w/o

HORSINGTON, Hill’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1982 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 2000s (author thinks this remain may be of Green’s Mill)

HOUGH-ON-THE-HILL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails

HUMBY, tower mill; (1) Jager (a) surviving few feet of tower, 2000s

HUTTOFT, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) tower with modern roof, 1985 (2) NMR (a-b) w/o, September 1942 (3) MLL (a-b) w/o, September 1942 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) tower with modern roof, 1982 (b) ditto, 1976 (c) w/o, 1939 (4) JGC (a-b) w/o, 1933 (c) w/o, looking up at cap, sails, fan and striking gear (5) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower preserved as part of modern business, with battlemented top, 2000s

INGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted tower, 1978
(2) Jager (a) w/o, c1914 (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

INGHAM, Surfleet Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap and cross

KEADBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, in background (Gunness tower mill in foreground) (b) w/o

KEXBY, tower mill (different mill from below?); (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1920s

KEXBY, Brittania Flour Mills, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900 (b) w/o

KIRTON END, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, pre-1936 (b) house-converted with authentic replica cap, and tower just re-tarred with ladders and workman’s cradle still in position, 2000s

KIRTON-IN-LINDSEY, post mill: (1) Dejardin (a) w/o

KIRTON-IN-LINDSEY, Frow's Mill, tower mill; (1) Dejardin (a) w/o

KIRTON-IN-LINDSEY, tower mill; (1) Dejardin (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1985 (b) bridge tree and tentering gear, 1985 (c) view of cap and cross, 1978 (d) disused with cap and cross, 1964 (e) disused with cap and cross, 1978 (f-g) under repair, 1985, with scaffolding around cap (h-i) w/o, 1930 (j) w/o, 1930, mid-distance (k) w/o (l) w/o (appears in fact to be the shorter tower mill in the area) (m) fantail spindle, 1985 (n) great spur wheel, 1985 (o) view of auxiliary machinery, 1985 (p) view of lower walls of tower, 1985 (q) pair of stones, 1985 (r) winding gear in cap, 1985 (s) wallower and sack hoist, 1985 (t) view of spout floor showing governor and short layshaft for auxiliary drive to millstones (3) LL (a) w/o, 1990s/2000s (4) Jager (a-c) w/o, 2000s (d) w/o, early 1930s (e) view of lower part of tower showing change in batter and date above door lintel
LACEBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

LANGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) roofed-over tower used as farm store, 1977 (b) w/o, 1929 (c) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

LANGWORTH, Barlings, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) upright shaft and great spur wheel (crown wheel?)

LAUGHTERTON, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) brakewheel, windshaft, stone nut and quant (b) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o with two sails, 1940 (b) w/o with four sails, 1932 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1938 (4) JGC (a) w/o but becoming derelict, 1934

LEADENHAM, Lowfield Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1932 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o (c) steelyard, bridgetree and hand tentering screw, August 1977 (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower with new stage and extension “cap”, 2000s

LEAKE COMMONSIDE, Howsam’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o, 1945 (b) w/o, 1920 (c) spout floor with governors, 1977 (d) great spur wheel, 1977 (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower in use as part of modern feed business, 2000s, with inclined conveyor taking the feed up to the top of it

LEAKE COMMONSIDE, Gosling’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900

LEGBOURNE, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) UOK (LB1) (a) wind drive (great spur wheel and stone nuts) (b) drive from waterwheel (c) brakewheel (2) WWP (a) w/o (3) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted tower with dummy cap, 1978 (b) w/o (4) Jager (a) w/o, c1914 (b) tower with dummy cap, late C20/early C21 (c) base of tower showing surviving waterwheel

LEVERTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

LINCOLN, Ellis Mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) interior of cap, 1982 (c) w/o with two sails, 1928 (d) view of ground floor, 1982 (e) tower scaffolded for restoration, 1977 (f-g) tower with cap being made up on ground beside it, 1978 (h-i) w/o, 1982 (k) windshaft and brakewheel from Sturton-by-Stow mill on ground, 1982 (l) windshaft and brakewheel from Sturton-by-Stow installed in cap, 1982 (m) working, 1982: miller pulling on sack chain (n) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant (from Toynton-all-Saints mill), 1982 (n) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (from Toynton-all-Saints mill), 1982 (3) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (4) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o with two sails, 1930s (d) curb and truck whee;s (e) wallower and upright shaft (5) Yorke (a) w/o

LINCOLN, Le Tall’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) capless tower with “Le Tall” sign at top, C20 (b) capless tower with sign removed, late C20/early C21 (c) house-converted tower with replica cap, 2000s

LONG BENNINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

LONG SUTTON, Brunswick Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and six sails, September 1966 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with cap and six sails, mid-distance (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with cap and six sails, 1942 (4) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and six sails, 1971 (c) capless tower, 1977 (d) w/o (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with six sails, 1953 (6) KLL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and six sails, with owners in foreground, c1970 (7) HL (a) derelict with cap and six sails (8) Jager (a) w/o (b) w/o: close-up of cap, sails and fantail (c) capless tower, 2000s

LONG SUTTON, Harrison’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted tower, 1971 (2) Oldham (a) w/o, pre-1895 (3) Jager (a-b) capless tower (c) close-up of brickwork of tower showing windows, 2005

LOUTH, Topham’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

LOUTH, Brian Hall’s Mill; (1) NMA PDC (a) w/o, with burnt-out roller mill beside it, 1898

LUDDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) tower with cap and cross (b) ruined stump of tower, 2000s

LUDFORD MAGNA, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20 (b) stump of tower, 2000s

LUTTON, Lutton Gowts, Sneath’s Mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) view showing part of tower and tailpole with miller Mr Sneath standing in doorway, 1930 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (wrongly captioned Harrison’s Mill, Long Sutton) (3) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and half of one stock, 1971 (b) w/o, 1923 (c) great spur wheel and upright shaft, 1971 (4) Watts (W) (a) great spur wheel, stone nut and wooden quant (5) Jon Sass, “Long Sutton, Sneath’s Mill”, Lincolnshire History and Archaeology vol 13 1978 p63-66 (a) w/o, June 1933 (b) brakewheel and trundle wheel wallower (c) tailpole and winding mechanism (6) Jager (a) w/o, pre-1930s (b) roofed-over tower, 2000s

MALTBY-LE-MARSH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o, 1890 (c) w/o, 1929 (2) JGC (a) w/o, 1933 (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower with replica cap, 2000s

MAREHAM LE FEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b-c) w/o (2) Jager (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1920s (b) capless tower, 2000s

MARKET RASEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

MARKET RASEN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

MARSH CHAPEL, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

MARTIN, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

MARTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap frame (b) w/o, 1926 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower reroofed and retarred with new doors and windows, 2000s

MESSINGHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails

METHERINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o with three out of six sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o with three sails, 1925 (3) JGC (a) w/o with three sails (b) w/o, apparently with six sails but this not clear: looks more like a five-sailed mill (4) Jager (a) w/o with three sails, 1930s/40s (b) derelict capless tower, 2000s, showing decorative banding in brickwork

MIDDLE RASEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) stump of tower, 1978 (c) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 2000s

MORTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) capless tower, 1969 (b) house-converted with replica cap, 2000s

MOULTON, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) tower with modern cap, September 1990 (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) disused with original cap but no sails, 1928 (3) NMA (PDC) (a-b) tower with dummy cap, 1972 (c) hand winding gear remaining inside dummy cap, 1971 (d) wallower, 1977 (e) view of stone floor showing two pairs of stones, 1977 (f) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, 1977 (4) Jager (a) under restoration with new cap and fantail in place, 2000s (b) C20 view, before restoration, showing dummy cap

MOULTON CHAPEL, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1972 (b) house-converted tower, 1983 (c) w/o (d) post mill stock used as dust floor beam, 1983 (e) post mill sheers used as bin floor beams, 1983 (f) w/o, 1900 (g) pair of peak millstones and pulley on iron shaft for belt drive, 1983 (h) belt-driven pair of peak millstones, 1983 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

MUMBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

NETTLEHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

NEW BOLINGBROKE, Watkinson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (this is the mill in Freese WAM captioned Old Bolingbroke) (b) stump of tower, 1973 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) two-storey stump, 2000s

NEW BOLINGBROKE, Rundle’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1973 (2) Jager (a) capless tower, C20 (b) capless tower, 2000s

NEW LEAKE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance

NOCTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

NORTH HYKEHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900, mid-distance (b) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) stump of tower in use as summer house, 2000s

NORTH HYKEHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) w/o, 1900 (b) derelict with two sails, 1930s (c) w/o

NORTH KELSEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tower with conical roof, 1978 (2) Jager (a) derelict tower with conical roof, pre-1998 (b) tower after repairs, 2000s

NORTH KELSEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance

NORTH SOMERCOTES, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with one sail

NORTH SOMERCOTES, Cartwright’s Mill (six-sailer), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

NORTH THORESBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

OLD BOLINGBROKE, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o, 1930 (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower with extension on top, 2000s

OSBOURNBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) wreckage on ground, April 1912

OWSTON FERRY NMA PDC has photo of the two tower mills in w/o, one of them Fletcher’s Mill, also stump of a mill at OF 1978

OWSTON FERRY, Fletcher’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o
(2) Jager (a) w/o, 1910 (also shows Fletcher’s Mill) (b) w/o with two sails, probably early 1920s (c) house-converted with replica cap, 2000s

OWSTON FERRY, Lilley’s Mill, tower mill; (1) Jager (a) w/o, mid-distance (also shows Fletcher’s Mill)

PELHAM’S LANDS, Chapel Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance (b) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20? (b) stump of tower, 2000s

PICKWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) house-converted stump of tower, 2000s

PINCHBECK, Northgate, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) castellated tower, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) disused with cap and cross (b) castellated tower, 2000s

PINCHBECK, West Mill (Glenside), tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) castellated tower, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) preserved tower with replica cap, 2000s

PINCHBECK, Horse and Jockey Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

POTTERHANWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1905

ROPSLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, aerial view (b) stump of tower, 1977

ROPSLEY with HUMBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) ruined roundhouse, 1977

RUSKINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails

SALTFLEET, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b-c) capless tower, 1983 (d-e) w/o, 1900 (f-g) w/o (h) stones, great spur wheel and quants, 1983 (i) view of stone floor with great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and stones, 1983 (j) grain cleaner, 1983 (k-l) grain cleaner and auxiliary drive gearing, 1983 (2) JGC (captioned Saltfleetby) (a) w/o (colourised) (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted with authentic replica cap, 2000s

SAXILBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b-c) w/o, 1905 (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) preserved capless tower, 2000s (c) view of stone floor showing three pairs of stones and upright shaft, 2000s

SCAWBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) Jager (a) capless tower (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

SCAWBY, Mill Place, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) complete with cap and cross but no sails

SCOPWICK, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b-c) w/o (2) Watts (W) (a) capless tower (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

SCOPWICK, Kirkby Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1928

SCOTHERN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with four sails

SCOTTER, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o, 1920s (2) Jager (a) w/o (b-c) house-converted stump of tower, 2000s

SCOTTER, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1920s

SCREMBY, Grebby, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1976 (b-c) w/o, 1900 (3) Jager (a) w/o, 1942 (b) w/o (c) house-converted tower, 2000s

SCUNTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b-c) w/o, 1900 (d-e) preserved with replica cap and cross (2) Jager (a) w/o, c1920s (b) new cap with dummy windshaft and cross being craned into position (c) with new cap and cross

SCUNTHORPE, Ashby post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with stocks

SIBSEY, Rhoades' Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (3) Jager (a0 derelict with cap and cross, c1930 (b-c) tower with replica cap, 2000s

SIBSEY, Trader Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) w/o, September 1990 (b) w/o (c) section of cast iron curb and other parts on ground, September 1990 (d) part of curb with truck wheels and pinion drive, September 1990 (e) brakewheel, wallower and sack hoist drive, September 1990 (f) tentering gear and meal spouts, September 1990 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1964 (b-e) as preserved, 1978 (f-g) looking up at cap and sails, 1978 (h) w/o, mid-distance, 1982 (i) w/o, 1982 (j) w/o, 1985 (4) Watts (W) (a) w/o, mid-distance (b) raised sack traps (5) Jager (a-c) w/o, 2000s (d) w/o, September 2006 (e) view of one pair of stones with furniture

SKILLINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

SLEAFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower (b-c) capless tower, 1983 (2) Jager (a) preserved tower with replica cap, 2000s

SOUTH FERRIBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails

SOUTH KILLINGHOLME, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with four sails

SOUTH KYME, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

SOUTH RAUCEBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

SOUTH WILLINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

SOUTH WITHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft and cross (b) foundations, 1977

SPALDING, Common Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (b) w/o (c) w/o, mid-distance (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) ruined stump of tower, 2000s

SPALDING, Little London, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

STALLINGBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983 (b) derelict with fanstage and partially collapsed cap, 1964 (c) house-converted tower, 1978 (d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance (2) Jager (a) w/o, 1920s? (b-c) house-converted tower with replica cap, 2000s

STAMFORD, tower mill; (1) Jager (a) surviving stump, 2000s (b) close-up of stonework of surviving stump, 2000s, showing where a post mill roundhouse may have ended and a tower mill tower begun (2) Lincolnshire Mills Group newsletter August 2008 (a) poor view, mid-distance, disused(?) with cap and two(?) sails c1860

STICKFORD, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (3) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap frame, 1978 (4) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower preserved with dummy cap protecting interior, 2000s

STICKNEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) castellated tower, 1978 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, 1930s (b) capless tower, 2000s (3) ERYC (a) w/o, 3rd May 1949 (actually Stickford?)

STICKNEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

STURTON-BY-STOW, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) preserved with new cap but sails and windshaft removed, 1978 (b) ditto, no date (c) w/o (3) Jager (a) w/o (b) preserved tower with replica cap, 2000s

SUTTERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1973 (2) Jager (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928 (b) capless tower, 2000s

SUTTON-ON-SEA, brickyard windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap frame and part of fanstage visible, mid-late C20 (b) derelict with remains of cap frame, 1982 (c) looking up at top of tower and remains of fanstage, 1982 (d) looking up at weather beam, 1982 (h) interior view showing crankshaft and pump rod, 1982 (i) lift pump, 1982 (2) Jager (a) derelict tower with cap frame and windshaft, 2000s (b) base of tower, 2000s

SUTTON ST JAMES, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower (b) capless tower, 1983 (c) capless tower, 1972 (d) w/o, mid-distance (e) wallower and upright shaft (f) upright shaft, 1983 (g) stone floor showing three pairs of stones, 1983 (h) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, 1983 (i-j) great spur wheel, upright shaft, stone nut, quant and stones, 1983 (k) great spur wheel, 1983 (l) interior view showing tentering gear and meal spouts, 1983 (2) Jager (a) derelict capless tower, 1972 (b) surviving lower walling of tower, 2005

SWABY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (b) w/o

SWINESHEAD, North End Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o apart from one missing sail, 1920s (b) capless tower, 1977 (c) w/o
(2) Jager (a) w/o (b) preserved tower, 2000s

SWINESHEAD, Drayton Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails

SWINESHEAD, Houlder’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

TETNEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

THEDDLETHORPE ST HELEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

TOYNTON-ALL-SAINTS, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o, 1923 (c) w/o (3) Jager (a) w/o, with hand winding gear (b) w/o, with fantail (c) capless tower, 2000s
TRUSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1978 (b) w/o, mid-distance, colourised (c) w/o (d) w/o, c1890 (also showing tower mill) (2) JGC (a-b) w/o with two sails (c) w/o with two sails, 1933 (3) Jager (a) w/o (also shows post mill) (b) w/o, probably late 1920s (c) house-converted stump of tower, 2000s
TRUSTHORPE, Old Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, pre-1880 (b) w/o with two sails, c1890 (also shows tower mill) (2) Jager (a) w/o with two sails, late C19 (also shows tower mill)
ULCEBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o with two sails
WADDINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower with replica cap, 2000s
WADDINGTON, Worsdell’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) derelict with two sails, early C20 (b) derelict stump of tower, 2000s
WAINFLEET ALL SAINTS, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower with weather vane, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, early C20? (b) tower converted to part of brewery complex, with weather vane, 2000s (c) view showing bar area inside tower, 2000s

WAINFLEET ST MARY, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) castellated tower, 1977 (b) w/o (c) w/o, 1934 (d) w/o, with new sail being fitted (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) tower concerted to part of house with dummy cap, 2000s

WALTHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails, late 1970s (b) interior view showing crusher and various shafts and pulleys, 1985 (c-d) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and stone nut, 1985 (e) governors and tentering gear (f) w/o with two sails, 1950 (g) w/o with six sails, c1900 (h-i) w/o with two sails, 1983 (j) w/o with two sails, 1983? (2) LL (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (3) Jager (a-c) w/o, 2000s (d) w/o with four sails, 1920s (e) under restoration, 1983, with two new sails fitted

WELBOURNE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) datestone, 1978 (b) stump incorporated into another building, 1978 (c) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 2000s

WELLINGORE, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) winding gear in cap (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) w/o with four sails (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1932 (4) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o with six sails
(5) Jager (a) w/o, with six sails (b) house-converted tower, 2000s

WELTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

WEST BUTTERWICK, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) w/o, 1944? (2) Jager (a) w/o (b) derelict tower, 2000s

WESTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

WHAPLODE, Shepeau Stow, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) ditto, 1978 (c) derelict with four sails, 1926 (2) Jager (a) derelict with three sails visible (one broken off short), early C20 (b) capless tower, mid-C20 (c) capless tower, 2000s

WHAPLODE, Biggadike’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, c1895

WIGTOFT, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) capless tower, June 1990

WILDMORE, Haven Bank, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap and fantail (b-c) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, 1920s (b) capless tower, 2000s

WILLOUGHBY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

WINTERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails

WOODHALL SPA, Kirkstead Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) derelict capless tower (b) stump of tower, 2000s

WOOLSTHORPE, Stenwith Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted stump of tower, 1978 (2) Country Homes magazine, vol.3 1910 (a) derelict with stocks and one sail (3) Jager (a) stump of tower, 2000s

WORLABY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) foundations, 1978

WRAGBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o
(2) Jager (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 2000s

WRANGLE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (2) Jager (a) w/o, 1930s (b-c) house-converted tower with extension on roof, c2005

WRANGLE, Toft’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) w/o (2) Jager (a) w/o, probably pre-WW1 (b) new replica cap on ground, late 2004 (c) mill as house-converted, with replica cap in place, mid-2005

WRAWBY, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) w/o, September 1990 (b) tailpole and talthur, September 1990 (c) sails and cross, September 1990 (3) NMA (PDC) (a-b) as preserved, 1978 (c) post and quarterbars, 1985 (d) tailwheel, windshaft and tailstones, 1985 (e) brake- or tailwheel and stones (f-g) governors and bridgetree, 1985 (h) governor, brake- or tailwheel and stone nut, 1985 (i) w/o, late C19 (j) as preserved, 1985 (k) detail of sail, 1978 (l) w/o, mid-C20 (m) w/o, early-mid C20 (n) restoration complete apart from two sails, 1964 (o) derelict with two sails, 1958 (4) JGC (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (5) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C19/early C21 (6) LL (a) w/o (postcard, 1960s/70s) (7) Jager (a-b) w/o, 2000s (c) w/o with two spring and two common sails, pre-1916 (d) close-up of roundhouse, 2000s (8) ERYC (a) derelict, distant view with one sail visible, 2nd May 1949

WYBERTON, tower mill; (1) Jager (a) ruined one-storey stump of tower, 2000s


MIDDLESEX

HOUNSLOW, post mill; (1) Spelthorne Museum {current address?} (a) w/o


NORFOLK

ACLE, Disney’s Mill, tower mill; (1) www.norfolkwindmills.co.uk (a) w/o with four sails

ALBURGH, post mill; (1) www.norfolkwindmills.co.uk (a) w/o

ASLACTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1976

AYLSHAM, tower mill (which one); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970 (b) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

BANHAM, composite mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, as Wailes TEW (b) derelict with stocks

BANHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving roundhouse and post

BAWDESWELL, tower mill; (1) NMA RI PDC2 (a) stump of tower mill,

BEDINGHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

BILLINGFORD, post mill; (1) Bonwick (a) wreckage on ground, October 1859

BILLINGFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) as preserved, 1985 (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) Hills 2 (a) cap under restoration on ground, May 1990 (b) with cap and fantail replaced but no sails, May 1990 (c) cap, fantail and winding gear, May 1990 (d) close-up of fan gearing, May 1990 (d) close-up of poll end, May 1990 (4) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) w/o with two sails (b) w/o with two sails, mid-distance (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1952 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with two sails, 1930 (b) w/o with two sails, as de Little (c) as preserved, 1968 (d) detail of fantail, 1969 (e) as preserved, 1970s (f) as preserved, 1971 (g) as preserved, 1977 (7) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved (8) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1934 (b) w/o, 1997

BIXLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted stump, 1982 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted stump, 1977

BLAKENEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and broken stocks, 1950 (b-c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and broken stocks, 1970 (d) ditto, 1974 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and broken stocks

BURNHAM MARKET, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower (3) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1900 (b) house-converted with replica ogee cap and gallery, 2007

BURNHAM OVERY, tower mill; (1) Hughes (a) as house-converted (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted (b) as house-converted, 1974 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as house-converted (4) Bonwick (a) close-up of cap, sails and fantail of house-converted mill (b) as house-converted, 2006

BURGH ST MARGARET, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, middle
Distance (2) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1937, in background of photo of stump of Arnold’s Mill, Oulton, Suffolk

BURSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1900

CASTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a-c) derelict with cap and sails, 1985 (d) derelict with cap and sails, middle distance, 1985
(2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1955 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with sail frames, c1950 (b) derelict with sail frames, 1971 (c) under repair with sail frames, 1977 (4) album of photographs of English windmills on display at Cranbrook mill, Kent (a) restored with cap but no sails or fan yet (5) HL (a) derelict with four sails

CATFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1925

CAWSTON, White Mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 1939 (also shows Black Mill) (b) stump of tower, 1970 (3) NMA PDC2 (a) stump of tower

CAWSTON, Black Mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with two sails, 1939 (also shows White Mill)

CLEY-NEXT-THE-SEA, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a-c) as house-converted, 1985 (2) MO 2004 (a) as house-converted (3) Hills 2 (a) as house-converted, March 1990 (4) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) as house-converted, 1939 (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) as house-converted (c) as house-converted, 1970 (6) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as house-converted (7) Bonwick (a) as house-converted, 1995

DENTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1890

DENVER, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) upright shaft and wallower, 1985 (b) datestone with part of gallery, 1985 (c-d) mill as preserved, 1985 (e) sack hoist, 1985 (f) looking up at sails and poll end, 1985 (2) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o, 1936 (b) stone-dressing, 1936 (c) miller T E Harris working on auxiliary power plant, 1936 (3) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, mid-distance, June 1925 (4) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, March 1990 (5) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) as preserved, mid-C20 (b-c) as preserved, mid-distance, mid-C20 (d) as preserved (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved, 1968 (b) as preserved, 1970 (c) as preserved, 1973 (7) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved (8) KLL (a-b) millwright John Lawn guiding and securing new stock into position during repairs, 1975 (c) close-up of damaged rendering on tower, also showing part of sail (d-f) new steel stock being hoisted into position (g) view of cap, sails, fan and scaffolding around top of tower (h-i) as preserved, with vintage cars in background (j) new steel stock being hoisted into position up the side of the tower (k) as preserved with sail frames (l) scene from open-air production of “Man of La Mancha”, with preserved mill in background (m) as preserved with two sails, early 1970s: the film “Cloudburst” was being made at the mill and Director Sue Weekes is shown talking to actors Miles Anderson and Renu Setna (n) as preserved, with statuette on radiator of vintage car also visible (o) part of tower surrounded by scaffolding, with finishing touches being put to a newly-fitted window frame (p-q) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower (r-s) surrounded by scaffolding for repairs (t) as preserved, 1979 (u) detail of sail frame (v) view of surrouding countryside seen from cap gallery, with part of same and cap and one sail visible (v) fitting of new cap, showing interior of latter with part of the brakewheel and wallower visible. (9) Watts (W) (a) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft, curb and truck wheels (b) w/o, late C20/early C21 (10) LL (a) as preserved, with sail frames, green paint removed (11) Bonwick (a) miller hanging weight on striking chain, 2000s (b) miller hanging sack on sack hoist chain, 2000s (c) miller checking texture of flour in spout, 2000s (d) miller operating tentering gear, 2000s (e) w/o, 2006 (12) Yorke (a-b) w/o (c) sack hoist (13) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1965

DERSINGHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o

DICKLEBURGH, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance

DISS, Chase’s smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1910

DISS, Victoria Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b) truncated tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted truncated tower

EAST DEREHAM, tower mill; (1) Yorke (a) preserved, as with damaged sails

EAST HARLING, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1973 (b) preserved with new cap and windshaft, 1977

EAST RUDHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, distant view

EAST RUNTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap frame and cap gallery, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap frame and cap gallery

EMNETH, tower mill; (1) Oldham (a) w/o, 1894

ERPINGHAM, smock mill; (1) website www.norfolkmills.co.uk/windmills html (a) w/o, c1890 (also shows watermill)

FELTWELL, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) derelict with cap, 1932

FORNCETT END, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1925

FOULSHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) SD (a) stump of tower, 1903

FOXLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) stump of tower, 1970

GARBOLDISHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) preserved with no sails, 1982 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1953 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o, with men working on mill from cradle (c-d) derelict with two sails, 1970 (e) derelict with two sails, 1971 (f) under repair with two sails, 1973 (g) brakewheel and sack hoist (h) under repair, 1976, with most of body reweatherboarded and painted white (i) under repair, September 1977, showing side not yet reweatherboarded (5) Bonwick (a) restored without sails (b) derelict with two sails and front of body propped, 1972

GAYTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower, 1984 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1973 (3) KLL (a) castellated tower (b) great spur wheel and bevel ring, being examined by owner Mr Hirons; caption says mill is to be restored
GISSING, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with four sails, c1910

GREAT BIRCHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) internal view, 1985 (b-c) curb and rollers, 1985 (c) mill as preserved, 1985 (d) governor, 1985 (e) part of great spur wheel, 1985 (f) great spur wheel and quant, 1985 (g-i) interior views, 1985 (j-k) view of meal floor, 1985 (l) w/o, distant view (m-n) windshaft and brakewheel, 1985 (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) as restored, June 1990 (b) close-up of cap showing vertical boarding and iron-railed gallery, June 1990 (c) close-up of cap showing vertical boarding and finial, June 1990 (d) fantail and gearing, June 1990 (e) pair of stones with crane, June 1990 (4) KLL (a) as restored, 1990, with owners Gina and Roger Wagg in foreground (b) new stock being hoisted into position, seen from inside mill: photo also seems to show a bed- or runner stone leaning against wall (c-d) new steel stock being lifted into position (e-f) view of fantail gears (h) view of restored mill with cap and top of tower cut off, and sails if any obscured by photographer’s finger (5) Watts (W) (a) wa/o, early C21 (6) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1994 (b) view of bin floor with brakewheel and sack hoist, 1999 (c) view of stone floor with brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and two pairs of stones, 1999 (7) www.norfolkwindmills.co.uk (a) derelict with windsahft and brakewheel, c1976

GREAT ELLINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1971

GREAT YARMOUTH, Greengrass Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1870

GREAT YARMOUTH, Papworth’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

GREAT YARMOUTH, High or Southtown Mill, tower mill; (1) Bonwick (a) w/o, c1903 (2) NMA PDC (a) w/o (b) tower in course of demolition 1905; upper part already removed

GREAT YARMOUTH, Green Cap Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA PDC (a) w/o, distant view 1895 (b) w/o apart from missing shutters, 1895 (c) derelict capless tower, apparently a shell and in course of demolition, with tall chimney and ruined buildings beside it, 1898; another tower mill, apparently in w/o, in background, seen in outline (possibly High Mill)

GREAT YARMOUTH, Water’s mill, post mill (same as Greengrass Mill); (1) NMA PDC (a) w/o, distant view 1895

HADDISCOE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict stump of tower, 1967 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict stump of tower

HALES, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (possibly not this mill as too tall?)

HALVERGATE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1977

HARDWICK, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) SD (a) w/o

HARPLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower, late C20/early C20

HEMPNALL, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, 1976

HEMPTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o

HICKLING, Hickling Green, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) tower with temporary cap, June 1990 (b) capless tower, August 1990 (c-f) cap under reconstruction on ground, August 1990 (g) cap being lowered into position by crane, October 1990 (h) windshaft and brakewheel on ground, May 1990 (i) under restoration: top of tower during rebuilding of curb, showing wallower and sack hoist (j) great spur wheel, foot of upright shaft and auxiliary drive, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with cap, 1955 (b) disused with cap, 1973
(3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) disused with cap (4) Watts (W) (a) brakewheel, windshaft, wallower and sack hoist drive (5) As preserved with new cap but no sails, 2006

HINDRINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) house-converted tower with replica cap, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1976 (b-c) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

HINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1982

HOLT, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

HONINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, mid-distance, 1982 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with cap frame, April 1977

HORNING, St Benet’s Abbey, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

HORSFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with windshaft (under St Helena)

INGHAM, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) capless tower, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970

INGLEBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) house-converted tower, 1973

INGLEBOROUGH, West Walton Highway, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) castellated tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDc2 (a) castellated tower

KENNINGHALL, Mill Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with two sails, mid-distance (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1956 (not actually captioned)

KENNINGHALL, Chimney Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 1932 (2) JNIA vol no 3 1998 (a) derelict with four sails

KING'S LYNN, Gaywood, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, middle distance (b) w/o

KING’S LYNN, Gaywood, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) derelict with four sails

LITTLE CRESSINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) under restoration with no cap or sails yet, June 1990 (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) under restoration with no cap or sails yet, 1982 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1971 (4) KLL (a) interior view showing mealbin (5) Bonwick (a) preserved without cap or sails, 1994 (b) waterwheel and sluice gear, 1986

LONG STRATTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1977

LUDHAM, Mill Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted stump, 1973

LUDHAM, How Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted tower

METHWOLD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) stump of tower, 1971

MIDDLETON, Blackborough End, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a-b) disused with four sails, 1928

MULBARTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict base, 1971

MUNDFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with sail frames, 1931 (b) capless tower, 1971(?)

NECTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted stump, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted stump

NORTH CREAKE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970
(2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower

OLD BUCKENHAM, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as restored, 2000s (2) Hills 2 (a) tower with temporary cap, May 1990 (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) derelict with cap and four sails, mid-distance (c) derelict with cap and four sails, tower partly obscured by building (4) NMA (ACSC) (a) tower with temporary cap, 1982 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and four sails, c1950 (b) derelict with cap and four sails, 1966 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1970
(7) Bonwick (a) as restored, 1999

PASTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (DPC) (a) w/o, middle distance (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, March 1990 (b) cap, fan, and hand winding gear, March 1990 (c) wallower and underside of cap frame with rollers, March 1990 (d) brake, brakewheel and wallower, March 1990 (e) pair of French burr stones leaning against wall, March 1990 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a-b) as preserved, 1950 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, c1950 (c) w/o (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved (6) Bonwick (a) close-up of cap, sails and fantail of restored mill (b) w/o, c1890 (7) Bryan (a) preserved with one damaged sail, c1960

POTTER HEIGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) tower with conical roof, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) tower mill with conical roof

RINGSTEAD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted with dummy cap and cross

ROUGHTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970 (b) capless tower, 1977 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower (under Felbrigg)

SAHAM TONEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1971

SALTER’S LODE, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails, as Wailes TEW SALTER’S LODE, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails, as Wailes TEW (2) NMA (FGC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, c1960

SCOLE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) truncated tower, 1970 (b) truncated tower now roofed over, 1976 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) tower standing to full height, capless

SEA PALLING, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

SEDGEFORD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

SHERINGHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (here called Upper Sheringham) (a) w/o

SHOULDHAM THORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) capless tower, 1985 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1977

SOUTH WALSHAM, post mill; (1) Bonwick (a) as reconstructed with sails and ladder yet to be fitted, 2006)

SPROWSTON, Mousehold Heath, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) disused
(b) part of lower body and roundhouse plus fantail and carriage (fan damaged with three blades missing) (2) Wailes (WWG) (a) fantail and ladder (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1925

STALHAM, Cooke’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, as Wailes TEW (2) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1888

STALHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with sail frames (b) house-converted stump of tower (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted stump of tower

STOKE FERRY, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) house-converted tower, 1985 (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1982 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) capless tower, 1969 (c) capless tower, 1977
(4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

STOKESBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) tower with “cap”

SUTTON, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) Hills 2 (a) under restoration with stocks but no sails yet, June 1990 (b) brakewheel, June 1990 (c) upright shaft, great spur wheel and bevel drive to governor, June 1990 (d) stone nut, June 1990 (e) stone floor showing four pairs of stones, June 1990 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) w/o (d) derelict with cap and one sail, 1970 (e) under repair with cap and one sail (f) under repair with cap and one sail, 1977 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with broken stocks and one sail (5) Bonwick (a) derelict with cap and one sail, 1960s (b) preserved with stocks, 2006 (6) Bryan (a) derelict with cap and one sail, c1955

SWAFFHAM, Northpool, smock mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, 1890

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, post mill (open-trestle) (1) NMA RI PDC (a) w/o

TERRINGTON ST CLEMENT, tower mill (which one?); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) stump of tower, 1977

THRIGBY, post mill; (1) Bonwick (a) as reconstructed and restored to working order, 2003

THURLTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1971

TOPCROFT, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1910 (c) derelict with windshaft still on but buck roof and parts of buck framing/weatherboarding gone, c1960 (date wrong?) (d) surviving trestle and ruined roundhouse, 1976

TOTTENHILL, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with two sails (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with two sails, 1949 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with two sails, c1930 (b) surviving trestle with cap from Sporle mill, 1970 (c) windshaft and brakewheel preserved in garden (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving trestle and lower walling of roundhouse (b) windshaft and brakewheel in garden (c) surviving trestle and Sporle mill cap

UPPER HELLESDON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

WACTON, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o

WATLINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) disused with four sails, 1928 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with sail frames
WALPOLE ST PETER, Walpole Highway, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

WELNEY, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails

WEST WINCH, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) house-converted with two sails, 1980 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with no sails, mid-distance (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1970 (b) upright shaft, great spur wheel, stone nuts and quants, 1977 (c) dresser and auxiliary drive (d-g) tower under repair and new cap on ground ready for fitting (h) close-up of new cap on ground (i-v) 14 views showing the various stages of lifting new cap into position by crane (w) with new cap and fan fitted, 1977 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap (5) KLL (a) great spur wheel, bevel ring, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones without furniture (b-d) new cap being lifted into position by crane, 1977 (e) restored cap and fantail, plus top of tower, visible above rooftops (6) Bonwick (a) house-converted with four sails, cap and fantail, 2002

WEYBOURNE, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) as house-converted, with two sails down to stock, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted (b) as house-converted, 1972 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as house-converted (4) Bonwick (a) as house-converted, 1994

WICKLEWOOD, tower mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) as preserved, 1985 (b) w/o, 1912 (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, middle distance, April 1985 (b) close-up of fantail, cap, cap gallery, striking wheel and guide pole, April 1985 (c) as preserved showing spider and striking gear, April 1985 (d) close-up of spider and striking gear, April 1985 (e) brakewheel, with separate brake rim visible, April 1985 (f) grey runner stone leaning against tower wall, April 1985 (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, mid-distance (wrongly captioned Dalham) (4) NMA (ACSC) (a) as preserved, 1981 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1952 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b-c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, April 1977 (d) close-up of brakewheel and stocks, April 1977 (7) LL (a) as preserved, with bunting on sails (8) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1927 (9) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks

WICKLEWOOD, tower mill (2); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted stump of tower, April 1977

WINFARTHING, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o

WITTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (here under Ridlington) (a) w/o

WOODTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o
WORSTEAD, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) house-converted with cap, 1950 (d) house-converted with cap, 1970 (e) millstone on ground, 1971 (2) NMA (RI) PDc2 (a) house-converted with cap

WYMONDHAM, North Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) disused with fan and shutters missing (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) “Windmills”, booklet by SPAB mid-C20 (a) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower)


Drainage Mills

ACLE, Weybridge, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

ACLE, Marsh Farm, tower mill; (1) www.norfolkmills.corn (a) w/o with common sails and tailpole, c1890

ACLE, Charlie Water’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) stump of tower, 1971

ACLE, Stracey Arms, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) fantail, Y-wheel and striking chain guide pole (b) as restored, March 1990 (c) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, August 1990 (d) base of tower showing pump casing and outfall sluice, March 1990 (e) bevel gearing to pump, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved, 1970 (b) as preserved, 1971 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as preserved (4) Bonwick (a) John Lawn working on sail, 1976

ASHBY, Oby, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1971

ASBY, Clippesby, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and stocks

BARTON TURF, Neave’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap

BREYDON NORTH WALL, Lockgate, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with replacement cap, March 1990 (b) scoopwheel, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1977

BUCKENHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) tower with conical roof, 1971

BURGH ST PETER (which mill?); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) foundations, 1978 (2) www.norfolkmills.co.uk (a) w/o with common sails and tailpole, c1920

CHEDGRAVE DETACHED, Six Mile House, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap roof framing, windshaft, brakewheel and tailpole, 1971

CHEDGRAVE MARSHES, Seven Mile House, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (here called “Haddiscoe Marshes”) (a) stump of tower, 1971

CHEDGRAVE MARSHES, Toft Monks, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails, 1971

FLEGGBURGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) as house-converted with no sails and dummy cap, 1971

FRITTON, St Olaves, trestle mill; (1) Hills 2 (a-b) as restored, March 1990 (2) Bonwick (a) as restored, 1980s-2000s

GREAT YARMOUTH, Ashtree Farm, earlier tower mill; (1) Yardy mentions early photograph showing mill with common sails and tailpole

GREAT YARMOUTH, Ashtree Farm, later tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1971 (2) Bonwick (a) after tailwinding, with sails on ground in front of mill (on p14, not actually named as Ashtree Farm but clearly this mill) (b) as restored, 2000s (c) new cap and fantail about to be lifted on by crane, 2006 (3) Yardy (a) with sails blown off after 1953 gales (b) as restored, aerial photo December 2006

HADDISCOE, tower mill (windpump or a corn mill?); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o

HALVERGATE, Stone's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, August 1990 (b) looking up from ground floor at underside of cap frame with windshaft and centring wheels, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (here called Fleet Dyke Mill) (a) derelict with windshaft and cap frame, 1977

HALVERGATE, High's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with replacement cap, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and cap frame, 1977 (3) Bonwick (a) w/o, 1944

HALVERGATE, Six Mile House Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) derelict with windshaft and two sails, March 1990 (b) upright shaft, crown wheel, pit wheel, plus great spur wheel leaning against wall which may have come from a corn mill, March 1990 (c) pitwheel and scoopwheel, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, as Beedell (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1971

HALVERGATE, Howard's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with new cap and fantail, August 1990 (b) scoopwheel, August 1990 (c) scoopwheel boss and bearing, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with two sails, 1977 (3) www.norfolkwindmills.co.uk (a-b) derelict with two sails and side of cap gone to expose brakewheel, c1976

HALVERGATE, Key’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap

HALVERGATE, Mutton's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with new cap and fantail, March 1990 (b) internal scoopwheel seen through arch in tower wall, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) under repair, with windshaft and cap frame roofed over, 1977

HICKLING, Stubbs’ Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and part of cap roof, 1973

HORNING, St Benets Abbey, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) capless tower, March 1990 (2) Bonwick (a) w/o, c1860 (b) capless tower

HORNING, Horning Ferry, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted (2) Bonwick (a) w/o (b) as house-converted, 2007

HORNING, Hobbs’ Mill, trestle mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1971 (2) Bonwick (a) restored with cap and fan but no sails, 1990

HORNING, hollow post mill; (1) Bryan (a) w/o, 1902

HORSEY, Black Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1895

HORSEY, tower mill (present mill); (1) Hills 2 (a) as restored, August 1990 (b) pit wheel, pinion and drive shaft to pump, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, 1970 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) as preserved (4) Bonwick (a) as preserved, 1986 (b) 1912 datestone (5) Bryan (a) disused with sails, c1955

HOVETON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted, 1971

INGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

IRSTEAD, trestle mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o with 2 sails

LANGLEY, Langley Detached, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) house-converted with cap, March 1990

LANGLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1971

LANGLEY, Langley Marshes, Raven Hall, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1971 (NOTE: this is possibly same mill as Langley Detached)

LIMPENHOE, Limpenhoe Marshes, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap frame and windshaft, 1971

LUDHAM, How Hill, Boardman’s Mill, trestle mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1970 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (4) Hills 2 (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, April 1969 (5) Bonwick (a) as restored (b) w/o, 1934 (b) as restored, 2006

LUDHAM, How Hill, Clayrack Mill, hollow-post mill from Ranworth; (1) Bonwick (a) as restored (b) as restored (with part of roof, sails and fantail cut off) (c) w/o, 1999

LUDHAM, North Hathor mill, trestle mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o with four sails

LUDHAM, Turf Fen, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1971 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks (3) Watts (W) (a) as restored (4) Bonwick (a-b) as restored (c) John Lawn and Adrian Bond with newly-made brakewheel, February 1985

LUDHAM, Ludham Bridge, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1971 (b-c) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower

LUDHAM, Ludham Bridge tower mill (waisted); (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (here called Ludham Hall) (a) derelict with four sails, 1934

MARTHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted with cap, 1971

MAUTBY, Mautby Marsh Farm, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a-b) as house converted with cap, sails and fan restored, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, broken stocks and fragments of one sail, 1971

NORDELPH, Betty Mill, smock mill; (1) KLL (a) under demolition with sails and cap roof gone but cap frame, windshaft and tailpole still in place; men standing on roof (cutting from Eastern Daily Press 1/9/1930) (b) under demolition with cap frame and tailpole still in place, windshaft not visible; men standing on roof (cutting from Lynn Advertiser 4/9/1931)

NORTON, Norton Marshes, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) house-converted tower with scoop wheel, August 1990

NORTON SUBCOURSE, Norton Marshes; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) stump with conical roof, 1970

NORTON SUBCOURSE, Norton Staithe: (1) NMA RI PDC (a) tower with conical roof 1970

POTTER HEIGHAM, High's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (DPC) (a) w/o, 1900 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails (b) house-converted with one stock in position, 1971

POTTER HEIGHAM, Eelfleet Dyke, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and fragments of sails, 1971

REEDHAM, Berney Arms, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (2) Hills 2 (a) spare set of shutters stored inside mill, August 1990
(b) close-up of fanstage, striking wheel and guide pole, March 1990 (c) w/o, March 1990 (d) w/o, August 1990 (e) upright shaft, crown wheel, pit wheel, plus cash desk, etc etc, installed by English Heritage, August 1990 (f) external covered scoopwheel and drive shaft, March 1990 (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) as preserved, distant view (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved (b-c) as preserved, 1971 (d) as preserved, 1977 (5) Watts (W) (a) scoop wheel (6) Bonwick (a) w/o, 2007 (6) JNIAS 7 no.1 2001 (a) view of cap, fan, sails and striking gear

REEDHAM, North Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1971 (2) Yardy (a) capless tower, with Cadge’s Mill (before repairs) in background, late C20

REEDHAM, Cadge's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) windshaft and brakewheel on ground, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1971 (shows Polkey’s Mill in background) (3) Bonwick (a) preserved with new cap, 2006 (4) Yardy (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, late C20, in mid-distance in photo of North Mill (b) w/o with two sails, 1936 (c) with temporary cap, stocks and remains of sails, 1985, background feature in photo of Seven Mile House (d) photograph mentioned showing sails being removed, c1941 (e) aerial photograph mentioned showing mill without sails, 1946

REEDHAM, Polkey's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) w/o, 1930s, also showing steam engine building and chimney and part of Cadge's Mill (in working order) (b) preserved with replacement cap and derelict sails, with derelict steam mill and truncated chimney in background, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1971 (b) ditto, in background of photograph of Cadge’s Mill, 1971 (3) Bonwick (a-b) close-up of cap and fantail of restored mill (c) w/o, 2006 (4) Yardy (a) w/o, 2000s (b) w/o, 1936 (c) w/o, early-mid C20: cap, sails and fantail only visible above trees

REEDHAM, Reedham Ferry, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1977

REPPS with BASTWICK, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 1971

RUNHAM, Runham Swim, Perry's Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with replacement cap, March 1990 (b) gear drive and casing for pump, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (here called Mautby, Five Mile House) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1971

RUNHAM, Five Mile House Mill, aka Upper Four Mile Mill, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with replacement cap, March 1990 (b) view of double-framed scoopwheel, March 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (here called Mautby, Runham Swim West) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1971

RUNHAM, Runham Swim North, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (here listed under Mautby) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1971

SEA PALLING, Brograve Level, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) derelict with windshaft and fragments of three sails, August 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (under Waxham) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, broken stocks and fragments of three sails, 1971 (c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and fragments of three sails, 1957

STALHAM, Hunsett, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) as preserved, c1960 (c) as preserved, 1971 (2) Bonwick (a) as preserved, 1999

STARSTON, hollow-post mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) as restored, May 1990 (b) close-up of buck and tail vanes (c) close-up of sail with shutters (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 1977 (c) derelict but complete, August 1973

STOKESBY, Commission Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) capless tower, 1971

STOKESBY, Old Hall Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA RI PDC (a) capless tower, 1971

THURNE, Thurne Dyke, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as restored, March 1990 (b) gearing for rotary pump, March 1990 (c) inlet from drain to pump, March 1990 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved, 1971 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, looking up at fanstage, fan gearing, striking wheel and guide pole (5) Watts (W) (a) casing and gearing for pump (6) Bonwick (a) close-up of spider and striking gear of restored mill (b) Millwright Vincent Pargeter standing on cap gallery of restored mill, 2004 (c) as restored, 2004 (7) JNIAS vol 7 no 1 2001 (a) as preserved

THURNE, St Benet’s Level, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1971 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap and stocks (3) Bonwick (a) as restored, 2000

TUNSTALL Tunstall Bridge, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) derelict tower showing external teeth of curb, June 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1938

TUNSTALL, Tunstall Dyke, smock mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) internal view showing cant posts and bracing, June 1990 (b) derelict stump of smock tower, June 1990 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict stump of smock tower, 1971

TUNSTALL, Tunstall Dyke, tower mill (same as Tunstall Bridge? Check main document); (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1971

UPTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved without sails, 1971

UPTON, Upton Marshes, Palmer’s Mill, hollow-post mill; (1) Bonwick (a) as preserved, 2006

WEST SOMERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved with cap, July 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) disused with cap


NORTHAMPTONSHIRE

ASTWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 5th August 1896

BADBY, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails

BLAKESLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1972

BOZEAT, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1890 (b-c) derelict with four sails (d) derelict and leaning, with four sails

BRAUNSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) castellated tower, c1915 (b) house-converted tower, 1969 (c) house-converted tower, 1970 (2) Yorke (a) house-converted tower

BYFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900

CLIPSTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1904

EASTON-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) capless tower, 1972 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1978 (b) capless of tower

FINEDON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, c1920 (b) house-converted tower, 1970

GREENS NORTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1972

HELLIDON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1979 (b) house-converted tower, 1979, distant view (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with three or four sails, 1953 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with broken stocks, partially-collapsed cap and remains of three sails, 1971 (b-c) ditto, 1972 (4) NMA (FGC) (a) derelict with broken stocks partially-collapsed cap and remains of three sails, early 1970s

KETTERING, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with two sails, 6th August 1897

KETTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) capless tower, 1972

KINGSCLIFFE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900

KINGSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900 (b) house-converted tower (c-d) house-converted tower, 1972

LAMPORT, sunk post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) general view of excavated site (d) crosstree support walls (e) crosstree support walls, 1933 (e) mound seen from above

LITTLE WELDON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 11th November 1896

LONG BUCKBY, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with one sail, c1910

NASEBY, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1911 (b) w/o, c1916

NEWNHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict stump of tower, 1972

RAUNDS, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1890

RUSHDEN, smock mill; (1) Elliott (wrongly entered under Wymington, Bedfordshire) (2) NMA (RI) PDC (1) wrongly listed under Wymington, Beds: (a) w/o, c1910 (b-c) w/o, 1920 (d) house-converted base, 1972 (2) listed under Nothants: (a) w/o, c1920 (b) w/o, 1921 (c) house-converted base, 1971

SCALDWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 12th October 1900 (b) derelict with four sails and partially-collapsed roundhouse, c1930(?)

SILVERSTONE, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a-b) capless tower, 1979 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) capless tower, 1973

SULGRAVE, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1975 (b) capless tower, 1975, distant view (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, 18th October 1895 (b) capless tower, 1972

TANSOR, tower mill; (1) Photograph of the mill disused, but complete except for fan, occurs in Country Homes not Country House magazine as originally stated

WELDON, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) AMD (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1914

WESTON-ON-THE-WELLAND, post mill; (1) cutting from unidentified newspaper in possession of private enthusiast – G Blythman has photocopy (a) derelict with four shortened sails, c1900

WOOTTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) w/o, c1920 (c-d) w/o, 1930s (poor views) (e) derelict with four sails, 1930s (f) house-converted stump, 1969


NORTHUMBERLAND

ACOMB, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) house-converted tower, 1964

CHOLLERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) tower with conical roof, distant view, 1964

GREAT WHITTINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) capless tower, 1964

HARTLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) tower with conical roof, 1964 (b) preserved foundations of tower, 1964

NEWCASTLE, Chimney Mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) disused with sails shutterless and at least one down to stock (b) disused without sails (2) NMA (KMC) (a-b) capless smock tower, 1964

NEWCASTLE, Heaton Park, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) capless tower, 1964

NORTH SHIELDS, Billy Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (KMC) (a) capless tower, 1964


NOTTINGHAMSHIRE

BECKINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1929 (2) PTP (a) w/o, c1920

BESTHORPE, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict with four sails and roof mostly gone, 1920(?) (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) derelict with four sails, 1928 (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with four sails, 1932 (4) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) windshaft, remains of sails and other parts on ground (b-d) derelict with four sails, 1930 (e) pier protruding through roundhouse wall, 1930 (f) roundhouse, a few remains of buck, and crowntree, 1949 (5) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1923 (c) derelict with four sails, 1930 (d-e) derelict with four sails, distant view, 1930 (6) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1928 (7) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

BLIDWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) stump of tower, 1938 (b) derelict with cap, 1930 (2) NMA (JPMC) (a) stump of tower, 1975

BRADMORE, post mill; (1) NMA (NMR) RWC (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, 1930? (b) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, 1900 (more likely date?)

CARLTON-ON-TRENT, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) capless tower, 1930 (3) NMA (JPMC) (a-b) capless tower, 1964 (4) PTP (a-b) capless tower, October 1984

CAUNTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with two sails, cutting from Nottingham Evening Post 1956 (2) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) derelict with two sails, 1932 (3) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1950 (3) NMA (NMR) RWC (a) derelict with two sails, distant view 1950 (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1953 (5) NMA (JPMC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1943 (b) capless tower, 1975 (6) PTP (a) house-converted tower, June 1984

CODDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) capless tower, 1978 (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) capless tower, 1970 (b) w/o, 1928 (3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with three sails, distant view, 1947 (4) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (b) w/o apart from one missing sail, 1941
(5) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) w/o, 1950 (6) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-e) w/o, 1930 (7) NMA (JPMC) (a-b) derelict with three sails, 1943 (8) PTP (a-b) derelict capless tower, September 1984

COLLINGHAM, Tommy Baker's Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict in skeleton condition with four sails, windshaft, brake- and tailwheels but roof gone, 1900 (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) derelict in skeleton condition with four sails etc but roof gone, 1928 (3) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1923 (date possibly wrong as roof still on, see above) (d-g) derelict with four sails, windshaft, brake- and tailwheels but roof gone and body in skeleton condition, 1926 (4) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict in skeleton condition with roof gone but windshaft, brake- and tailwheels and remains of sails

COSTOCK, post mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1930 (c) part of lower buck, roundhouse and ladder of derelict mill, 1930 (d-e) inscriptions on internal beam, 1930 (f) wire machine, 1930 (g) windshaft and brakewheel, 1930 (h-i) quarterbars, main post and crosstrees, 1930 (j) interior view showing millstones, 1930 (k) looking up through roundhouse at quarterbars and crosstrees, 1930 (l) view of broken crosstrees, 1930 (m) governors, 1930 (2) NMA (NMR) RWC (a) derelict with four sails, 1930 (b) close-up of roundhouse and buck, 1930 (c) various bearings taken out of derelict mill, 1930 (d) governors taken out of derelict mill, 1930 (3) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o (artificially coloured) (4) Baker & Wailes (a) post and quarterbars

COTGRAVE, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with one stock and one sail

DUNHAM-ON-TRENT, post mill; (1) PTP (a) w/o, c1900

EAKRING, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) capless tower, 1930 (2) NMA (JPMC) (a) capless tower, 1975 (3) PTP (a) capless tower, June 1984 (wrongly captioned as Caunton)

EAST BRIDGFORD, Stokes’ Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) house-converted tower, 1970 (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) house-converted tower, cutting from Halifax Daily Courier 1965 (3) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) disused with cap and broken cross, 1930 (4) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with windshaft and cross, 1936 (b) w/o with four sails (artificially coloured) (5) NMA (JPMC) (a) house-converted tower, 1977 (6) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928

EAST BRIDGFORD, Kneeton, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) house-converted tower, 1980 (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1930 (3) NMA (JPMC) (a) house-converted tower, 1969 (4) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928

EAST DRAYTON, post mill; (1) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-b) derelict buck on ground, in use as shed, 1923

EAST MARKHAM, Cleveland Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) capless tower, 1975 (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) capless tower, mid-distance, 1970 (3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with windshaft and cross, 1950 (b-c) lag governor, 1950

EAST MARKHAM, Priestgate (same as Cleveland?), tower mill; (1) PTP (a) w/o, c1912

EAST RETFORD, Wilson's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) w/o, 1900 (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o (3) PTP (a) w/o, 1907 (b) w/o, c1930s (?)

EAST RETFORD, Storcroft Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) w/o, 1900 (2) PTP (a) w/o (b) burnt-out tower after fire, c1905

EDWINSTOWE, Sherwood Forest, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o with two sails

EGMANTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) capless tower, 1930

ELSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) capless tower, distant view (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) auxiliary millstones, 1950 (b) bridgetree, 1950 (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1934 (4) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o (5) NMA (JPMC) (a) tower under house conversion, 1978 (6) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, distant view, 1931 (7) PTP (a-b) w/o, pre-1940 (c) capless tower, post-1940 (d) capless tower, June 1978

EVERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) w/o, 1925 (2) NMA (JPMC) (a) bridge trees, 1978 (b-c) derelict with cap roof framing, 1978
(3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a-b) close-up of cap finial (c-e) interior roof framing of cap, 1950 (f) derelict with cap (g) looking up inside tower from ground level at floorbeams, 1950 (4) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) derelict with cap, 1930, also showing chimney and boiler house (b) looking up inside tower through floorbeams, 1930 (c) interior cap roof framing, 1930 (5) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o, 1925 (6) NMA (JPMC) (a) view of stone floor, 1978 (b) stone spindle and underside of bedstone, 1978 (7) Watts (W) (a) derelict with cap roof framing, also showing steam mill and chimney (8) PTP (a) w/o, c1900 (b) w/o, 1923

FARNSFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) roofed-over tower, 1930 (2) PTP (a) stump of tower, c1961

FARNSFIELD, Mansfield Road {confusion with another Notts mill?}, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) w/o, 1930s

GRASSTHORPE, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) partially collapsed tower, 1930

GRINGLEY-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with cap (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) derelict with cap, 1930 (3) NMA (JPMC) (a) derelict with cap roof framing, 1975 (b) derelict with cap roof framing, 1978 (4) PTP (a) tower with cap, c1950(?) (b) derelict with cap roof framing, c1950 (c) tower with cap (d) derelict with cap roof framing, c1965

HARBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1934 (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) capless tower, 1930
HICKLING, tower mill; (1) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) derelict with two sails, 1900

HUCKNALL, Club Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-d) w/o, 1934 (e) millstone, 1930 (3) NMA (NMR) RWC (a) tailpole and talthur, 1930 (b) interior view showing hoppers and filled sacks, 1930? (4) NMA (SMSC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1929 (d) w/o, 1930 (e) w/o, 1930, with party on ladder (f-g) w/o, 1930, distant view (h) w/o, 1930, mid-distance (i) party on ladder, 1930 (j) mill falling forward during demolition, 1930; sails still on (k) wreckage after demolition, 1930 (5) PTP (a) w/o, c1900s (b) w/o, pre-1930 (c) w/o mid-distance, early C20 (d) complete but falling forward during demolition, 1930 (e) wreckage, 1930 (6) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

KELHAM, post mill; (1) Paul Baker & Rex Wailes, “The Windmills of Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire, Part 1: Post Mills”, Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 33 1960-61, p113-128 (a) Wailes clearly had a photograph of this mill, according to the article, but I have so far been unable to trace it.

KEYWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) derelict with no sails, 1947 (b) thrift and part of stone casing, 1947 (c) interior roof framing of cap, 1950 (d) section of shot curb, 1950 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1905

KIMBERLEY, East Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) surviving post, roundhouse and crown tree, mid-distance (b) great spur wheel still inside surviving roundhouse, 1947 (2) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) sur-viving roundhouse, post and crosstrees, 1947 (b) windshaft on ground, 1947 (c) inside roundhouse looking up at crosstrees, post, quarterbars, collar and sheers, 1947 (d) inside roundhouse looking up at crosstrees, post etc and crowntree (e) roundhouse, crowntree and post, 1947

LAMBLEY, Smith’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o, distant view

LAXTON, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) w/o, 1905 (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o (3) NMA (MCC) (a) wreckage of mill with trestle and fan carriage with fan still standing (b) w/o (4) NMA (SMSC) (a-b) w/o, 1900 (5) PTP (a) w/o, 1900-1906 (6) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

LEVERTON, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) w/o, 1905

MANSFIELD, Sherwood Mill {or Abraham’s?}, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) derelict with three sails, c1900

MISSON, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1943 (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) truncated tower, 1950 (b) w/o (3) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1942

MISTERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o, 1900

NEWARK-ON-TRENT, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of at least two sails, 1905 (2) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with stocks and sail fragments (3) NMA (SMSC) (a) wreckage on ground after demolition, 1928 (4) PTP (a) derelict with no sails
NEWARK-ON-TRENT, Farndon, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) ASC (a) capless tower, 1970 (2) NMA (ASC) (a) capless tower (3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) governor, 1951 (4) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) governors and tentering gear, 1930 (b) great spur wheel, 1951 (c) governors and tentering gear, 1951 (d) dresser with governor fitted to it, 1951 (e) governors, 1951 (5) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with cap and cross, 1928

NEWTON, Shelford, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) derelict with two sails, 1928 (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) ruined roundhouse, 1970 (3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a-c) very derelict with one sail, 1951 (d-i) roundhouse, crown tree and some wreckage of body after demolition, 1951 (j-k) view showing part of roundhouse plus wreckage on ground, 1951 (l) roundhouse after demolition, 1951 (m) internal view of roundhouse after demolition showing crosstrees, 1951 (n-p) wreckage on ground, 1951 (q) wreckage, showing what appears to be tail bearing of windshaft, 1951 (r) derelict with one sail, 1946 (s) winch on tailpole, 1946 (s-v) bridging box from demolished mill (w) journal and thrust bearing (x-y) section of quarterbar (z-aa) stone neck bearing (4) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) body in course of being pulled over, 1950 (b) tailwheel, 1950 (c) part of wreckage on ground (d) looking down at ground from roof, showing part of sail of derelict mill, 1950 (e) junction of sail and windshaft, with neck bearing (f) tail bearing of windshaft, 1950 (g) brakewheel, stone nut and quant, 1950 (h) governors, tentering gear and underside of millstone, 1950 (i) truck wheel on roundhouse “curb”, 1950 (j) part of wreckage on ground including windshaft (5) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1930 (c) derelict with two sails, 1950 (d) internal view showing part of millstone, in vertical position, and gear wheel, 1947 (e-f) part of interior framing and brakewheel, 1947 (g) part of brakewheel, dresser or sack hoist drive, and millstone, 1947 (h) interior view showing ladder, part of brakewheel or tailwheel and millstone, 1947 (i) windshaft and tailwheel, 1947 (j) windshaft and part of millstone, 1947 (k) governors and bridgetree, 1947 (l) interior view showing framing and unidentified part of mill structure, 1947 (6) NMA (JPMC) (a-b) derelict roundhouse, 1977 (c) interior of roundhouse with floorbeams, 1977 (7) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1928 (8) PTP (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1929 (c) derelict with one sail, 1936(?) (d) surviving roundhouse, 1978 (8) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict with two sails (b) wedging of stocks in poll end (c) drive from tailwheel to dressing machine

NORTH LEVERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) shoe, 1982 (b) w/o, mid-distance, 1975 (2) NMA (DPC) (a) stone floor, 1983 (3) NMA (JPMC) (a) belt drive, 1975 (b) brake wheel, 1975 (c) cap finial and sail, 1975 (d-e) w/o, 1975 (f-h) stones, 1975 (i) fan gearing, 1975 (j) governor, 1975 (k) mitre gears, 1975 (l) sack hoist, 1975 (m-p) great spur wheel, 1975 (q) upright shaft, 1975 ® w/o, 1943 (4) MO 2004 (a) w/o (wrongly captioned Tuxford) (5) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (6) Hills 2 (a) w/o, May 1991 (b) w/o, August 1991 (7) NMA (SMSC) (a) detail of sails, 1971 (b) w/o (c) w/o, distant view with snow, 1969 (8) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o, 1958 (b) w/o (newspaper cutting from Daily Herald, 1956) (c) w/o, 1947 (cutting from Listener) (d) w/o, 1959 (cutting from Nottingham Evening Post) (e) w/o (cutting from NEP 1958) (f) presentation to miller at mill, 1954 (g) w/o, distant view, 1951 (h-i) w/o, 1951 (j-m) w/o, 1950 (9) NMA (SMSC) RRA (a) w/o, 1940 (10) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) detail of patent sail (b) 1954: exterior view showing two men and a girl posed in doorway on the occasion of a presentation to miller George Foster (11) NMA (NMR) RWC (a) w/o, 1930 (b) interior view showing part of fan gearing, 1930 (c) w/o, 1951 (d-e) w/o, mid-distance, 1951 (f-h) w/o, mid-distance, 1951 (12) NMA (DOC) (a) w/o, 1977 (b) pair of stones, 1977 (c) Bill Heathershaw, miller, at the mill 1977 (13) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o, 1925 (b) w/o, 1990, with one sail being removed for repairs (14) Watts (W) (a) great spur wheel and stones (15) LL (a) w/o, mid-C20 (16) PTP (a) new sails being fitted, c1973 (b) w/o, 1980s/90s (c-d) w/o, c1904 (e) w/o, 1980s (f) w/o, 2004 (17) Industrial Archaeology Vol.12 no.4 Winter 1977 (a) w/o

NORTH MUSKHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1925 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1928 (b) ditto, mid-distance, 1928 (3) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1925 (b) ditto, 1932

NORTH MUSKHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with cap and fanstage, 1928

NORTH WHEATLEY, tower mill; (1) PTP (a-b) w/o with six sails, c1904, mid-distance

NORWELL, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict with cap, part of fan and at least one sail, 1925 (2) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with cap, part of fan and at least one sail, 1920 (3) NMA (JPMC) (a) stump of tower, 1975

NOTTINGHAM, Sneinton, Green's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a-c) capless tower, 1979 (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) get later (4) NMA (SMSC) (a) capless tower, 1977 (b) restored except for sails and fan, 1982 (c) tower with cap and poll end, 1929 (5) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) close-up of cap finial, 1947 (b) tower with cap, 1947 (c) tower with cap, 1947, showing poll end (d) door of mill, 1947 (6) NMA (JPMC) (a) capless tower, 1979 (7) PTP (a-b) capless tower, mid-distance, 1979 (c) w/o, June 1986 (d) w/o, 24th June 1986 (e) w/o, 1986 (f) w/o, distant view, 1986 (g) interior view, 17th July 1986 (h) brakewheel, windshaft and wallower, 17th June 1986 (i) grain cleaner, 17th July 1986 (j) w/o, mid-distance, 1986, partly obscured by trees and other buildings (k) capless tower, April 1973 (l-m) on fire, July 1947 (n) derelict with cap, c1895 (o) tower with cap, 1928 (p) w/o, c1870 (q) floodlit, 1987 (r) w/o, 1989 (s) w/o, 1991 (t) part of gallery and common sail being spread, 1987 (8) Yorke (a-b) w/o

NOTTINGHAM, Oaklands, post mill; (1) PTP (a) w/o, c1870, mid-distance behind Superintendent of the County Lunatic Asylum’s house (b) w/o, c1880

NOTTINGHAM, Radford, post mill; (1) (a-b) ruins of roundhouse wall, 1983

NOTTINGHAM, Carlton, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1928 (2) PTP (a) derelict with cap, c1910

ORSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o

SOUTH CLIFTON, post mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with three sails

SOUTH LEVERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) view of internal machinery, 1930 (2) NMA (SMSC) PB (a-b) fantail reduction gearing, 1950 (c) remains of flour dresser, 1950 (3) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1925 (4) NMA (JPMC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1943

SPALFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with four sails

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD, tower mill; (1) PTP (a) capless tower, 2006

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD, Sutton Junction, tower mill; (1) PTP (a-b) w/o, c1900 (c) w/o, c1900s (d) w/o, 1920s(?) (e) w/o, 1922 (f-h) w/o, 1930s(?)

SUTTON-ON-TRENT, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) capless tower, 1970 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1928 (2) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) w/o (3) NMA (NMR) PBO (a) capless tower, distant view 1935 (4) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o with four sails (5) NMA (KMC) (a) capless tower, 1975 (6) PTP (a) capless tower, mid-distance 1984 (b) capless tower, July 1984 (7) Bryan (a) w/o, 1909
THOROTON, post mill; (1) PTP (a) derelict with four sails, c1900

TUXFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1925 (b) derelict with four sails, 1925 (also shows tower mill) (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1928 (b) ditto, also showing tower mill (c-d) derelict with four sails but roof off, 1933, also shows tower mill (3) NMA (NMR) RWC (a-c) w/o, 1973 (d) w/o, 1923 (also shows tower mill) (e) w/o, 1920 (also shows tower mill) (4) NMA (MCC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1925 (c) w/o, 1930, also shows tower mill (d) w/o (5) JGC (a) w/o: also shows tower mill (6) PTP (a) derelict with four sails (also shows tower mill) (b) w/o, distant view, early C20 (also shows tower mill) (6) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o

TUXFORD, Mill Mount, tower mill; (1) NMA (ASC) (a) finial of cap, following restoration late C20/early C21) (b) derelict with three sails, 1925 (c) derelict with 3 sails (also shows post mill), 1925 (d) complete except for sails, 1990 (2) NMA (SMSC) (a) derelict with four sails, one broken off short, 1928 (b) ditto, also showing post mill (c-d) derelict with no sails, also showing post mill (3) NMA (SMSC) PBC (a) close-up of cap finial, 1950 (b) derelict with cap and cross, 1950 (c) close-up of bull nose striking gear, 1950 (4) NMA (NMR) PBO (a-b) interior cap roof framing, 1930 (c) iron bridge tree and tentering gear, 1930 (d) w/o, 1920 (also shows post mill) (b) w/o, 1923, also shows tower mill (c) w/o, 1923 (5) NMA (MCC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1925 (c) w/o, 1930, also shows post mill (d) w/o (6) NMA (JPMC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1975 (b) stone spindle and underside of bedstone, 1975 (7) JGC (a) w/o (also shows post mill) (8) PTP (a) derelict with four sails (also shows post mill) (b) w/o, early C20, distant view (also shows post mill) (c) w/o, early C20 (d) w/o, c2000 (e) w/o, mid-distance, c2000

TUXFORD, Stone End Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) capless tower, 1978

WARSOP, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) house-converted tower, 1972

WHATTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (JPMC) (a) house-converted tower, 1969 (2) PTP (a-b) capless tower, 1978


OXFORDSHIRE

ARNCOTT, post mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with two sails, 1933 (c) derelict with two sails, 1937 (2) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with two sails and exposed trestle, September 1929

BLACKTHORN, tower mill(1); (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, September 1929

BLACKTHORN, tower mill(2); (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap

CHINNOR, post mill; (1) Chinnor Windmill Society, c/o 22 Cowleaze, Chinnor, Oxon, OX39 4TD - photos are on display at mill (a) w/o, 1895, with common sails and no fantail (b) w/o with patent sails but before fantail fitted

GREAT HASELEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1953 (2) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails (two broken off short), September 1929 (3) Watts (W) (a) derelict with collapsing cap and two sails, pre-1976

HORNTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap

NETTLEBED, smock mill; (1) NMA (SBC) (a) w/o

NORTH LEIGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1929

SOUTH WESTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (SBC) (a) w/o

WHEATLEY, tower mill; (1) MO (a) with new cap, c2004 (2) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o with 2 sails, as Foreman (3) NMA (SBC) (a) wooden windshaft and iron poll end, 1968


SHROPSHIRE

ALBERBURY, Rowton, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1983

ALBRIGHTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983

ASTERLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1983 (2) LL (a) restored with sail frames and fan

BAYSTON, Lyth Hill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1983

CHETWYND, Howle Manor, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1983

DITTON PRIORS, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) stump of tower, 1983

HADNALL, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983

LITTLE SAREDON, Shareshill, tower mill; (1) Watts (W) (a) house-converted tower with dummy cap

MUCH WENLOCK, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) castellated tower, 1983

RODINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) stump of tower, 1982

SHIFNAL, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) ruined base of tower, 1983

TELFORD, Madeley Court, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower, 1983

VENNINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983

WEM, Coton Wood, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) house-converted tower, 1983

WESTON-UNDER-REDCASTLE, Hawkstone, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) derelict with temporary cap, c2004 (2) NMA (ACSC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1983 (2) Watts (W) (a) derelict, rear view showing brakewheel and winding wheel

WROCKWARDINE, Cluddley, tower mill; (1) NMA (ACSC) (a) capless tower


SOMERSET

BRIDGWATER, post mill; (1) WWP (a) part of excavated crosstree, 1971

BROCKLEY, Combe, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-b) ruined tower

CHAPEL ALLERTON, Ashton Mill, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 2005 (3) SSL (a-d) derelict with four sails (4) SCRO (SC) (a-c) as preserved (d-e) w/o, as Watts (f) w/o with 2 shuttered sails (g) as preserved, 1970 (h) becoming derelict, with 4 sails (2 shuttered), as Wailes TEW (5) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (6) “Somerset Countryman” vol 18 1955 p153 (a) derelict with four sails (7) Sedgemoor District Council, “Ashton Windmill: A Brief History and Guide”, 2006 (a) upright shaft and crownwheel (b) initials of Paul Wilkins on beam (c) w/o with four common sails, pre-1900 (d-e) with four common sails, shown at work with belt from portable steam engine to pulley driving stones, 1890s (f) scaffolded for repainting, 2005

CLEVEDON, Kenn, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a) house-converted tower (b) 1821 datestone

CURRY RIVEL, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and sails (c-d) stump of tower

FELTON, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-c) house-converted tower

HIGH HAM, Stembridge tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 2005 (2) SSL (a) derelict with stocks (b-c) derelict with broken stocks (d) derelict with broken stocks, August 1962 (e-l) derelict with broken stocks, October 1969 (m-r) as preserved (3) SCRO (SC) (a-e) as preserved (f-g) derelict with stocks (4) NMA (SBC) (a-b) brakewheel and windshaft, 1969 (5) Watts (W) (a) as preserved (b) winding gear in cap (6) Yorke (a) as preserved

HUTTON, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a) house-converted tower

HUISH EPISCOPI, Pibsbury, tower mill; (1) Victoria County History of Somerset Vol 3 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and sails, as Watts (2) SCRO (SC) (a-e) as Watts and VCH (f-g) part of wall of tower, with fragments of stage, during demolition pre-1914 (date wrong according to Watts)

PORTISHEAD, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-b) house-converted tower

WEARE, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-b) house-converted tower (c) capless tower, apparently before house-conversion

UPHILL, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-c) house-converted tower

WALTON, tower mill; (1) SSL (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with no sails (c) the house-converted tower (d-f) the house-converted tower, distant view (2) SCRO (SC) (a-c) derelict with four sails (b) house-converted tower (c) gearing inside derelict mill: appears to show upright shaft with great spur wheel and a number of bevel wheels below it (d-f) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (g) in course of conversion to house, with tower surrounded by scaffolding (h) capless tower

WATCHFIELD, tower mill; (1) SCRO (a) derelict with cap and stocks
(2) SCRO (SC) (a) derelict with cap and stocks (b-c) house-converted tower (d-e) w/o (f) w/o, mid-distance (on back is penciled “windmill near Huntspill, 1914”)

WEDMORE, Heath House Mill, tower mill; (1) Hazel Hudson, “Wedmore Past”, 1993 (a-b) w/o, c1890 (c) roofed-over tower, early 1900s, in background of photograph showing carts being loaded at Heath House (2) SCRO (SC) (a) w/o (b) part of tower with miller standing nearby (c-h) w/o as Major and Watts

WEST MONKTON, Woodball, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a) stump of tower

WOOLAVINGTON, tower mill; (1) SCRO (SC) (a-d) as preserved (e) windshaft used as post for climbing roses (f-h) derelict with sails, ladder leaning against tower)(i) as preserved (not captioned) (2) SSL (a) disused with sails (photo untraceable at present)

WORLE, Worle Vale, tower mill; (1) SSL (a) w/o (2) Sharon Poole, “Around Weston-super-Mare”, Alan Sutton 1989 (a) w/o, distant view c1910. Sails apparently turning with canvas unfurled (3) Francis A Knight, “The Seaboard of Mendip”, J M Dent 1902 (a) w/o, though with no canvas on sails (partly retouched) (4) SCRO (SC) (a-b) tower incorporated into house, 1973 (c-e) w/o (f) w/o as Knight (g) w/o as Watts and Major and Watts (h) tower as observatory (5) WL (a) w/o, 1907

WORLE, tower mill; (1) SSL (a-b) castellated tower (2) Poole, as Vale Mill (a) tower in use as observatory, c1909 (3) SCRO (SC) (a) house-converted tower (b) house-converted tower, 1973 (4) WL (a) w/o, 1867


STAFFORDSHIRE

BILSTON, tower mill; (1) WALS (a) capless tower, July 1954

BROADHILL, Gnosall, tower mill; (1) SAMS (a-b) derelict capless tower

COPPENHALL, Butterhill Mill, tower mill; (1) SAMS (a) tower with cap frame

COSELEY, tower mill; (1) DALHS (a-b) house-converted tower (2) J S Roper, “History of Coseley”, Coseley Urban District Council 1952 (a) house-converted tower

ENVILLE, tower mill; (1) Kidd.L (here called Checkville, Enville Common) (a-b) derelict with cap, middle distance

ESSINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with four sails (2) Watts (W) (a) surviving roundhouse, post, sheers and crowntree, late C20/early C21

SEDGLEY, Ruiton, tower mill; (1) DALHS (a-e) preserved capless tower (f) derelict with windshaft and stocks, 1950s (2) Trevor Genge, “Sedgley and District in Old Photographs”, Alan Sutton 1995 (a) derelict with windshaft and stocks, 1950s

STAFFORD, tower mill; (1) SAMS (a) tower with conical cap (b) tower with conical cap, c1950 (2) Bryan (a) tower with conical cap, c1955

WALSALL, Highgate, tower mill; (1) Bl.CM (a) capless tower (b) capless tower, May 1967

WOLVERHAMPTON, Goldthorn Mill, tower mill; (1) WALS (a-b) capless tower, c1900

WOLVERHAMPTON, Lower Stafford Street, tower mill; (1) WALS (a) disused with cap and sails, c1900


SUFFOLK

ALDEBURGH, Fort Green, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c-d) as house-converted, 1972 (2) Bryan (a) as house-converted, 1909

ALDEBURGH, Station Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) view of fantail and ladder, 1924 (b) w/o, mid-distance, 1920 (c) w/o, 1924
(d-f) w/o

ALDEBURGH, Thorpe Road, trestle windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

ALDERTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1948 (b) foundations, 1975 (c) w/o, 1900 (d) w/o apart from one sail missing, 1937 (e) fantail gearing, 1936 (f-g) w/o (h) w/o, mid-distance (i) derelict with three sails, 1938

ALDRINGHAM (later at Thorpeness), post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) undergoing dismantling for removal to Thorpeness, with buck roof and roundhouse removed, otherwise complete (second photograph is in windpumps section) (c) w/o with two sails, 1910

BADINGHAM, New Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving lower portion of roundhouse, 1974 (b) w/o

BADWELL ASH, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) converted buck, 1973 (b) view of fan and ladder, 1979 (c-d) derelict with four sails, 1927

BARDWELL, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved without sails, May 1990 (b) fantail on ground, May 1990 (c) new windshaft on ground, May 1990 (d) great spur wheel and curved supporting beam, May 1990
(e) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, May 1990 (f) pair of stones with their furniture, May 1990 (g) lag governor with connecting rods to bridge tree, May 1990 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) part of internal gearing, plus beam dated 1823 (b) brakewheel and wallower, 1979 (c) close-up of exposed brakewheel, 1979 (d) crown wheel, 1979 (e-g) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1978 (h) w/o with two sails, 1985 (i) w/o, 1910 (j) great spur wheel, 1979 (k) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1979 (l-m) derelict with cap, 1971 (n) derelict with cap, 1962 (o) under repair, 1980s: tower restored, fan and fan cradle on ground awaiting fitting (p) w/o with two sails, 1985, mid-distance

BARKING, Tye Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, c1905 (b) derelict with four sails, 1900 (c) roofed-over roundhouse

BARKING, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BARNHAM, tower milll; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1962, (colour view) (b) crown wheel lying at base of tower, 1978 (c-d) w/o, 1925 (d-e) becoming derelict, 1929 (f) disused with shutters removed from sails, 1929
(g-h) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1963 (i) house-converted tower, 1978 (j) disused with shutters removed from sails, 1934 (k) w/o, 1910 (l) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1961 (colour view) (m) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1965 (n) 1821 datestone (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1953 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted tower, 1962

BARROW, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) base after demolition, 1925 (b) falling during demolition, 1925, with windshaft and two sails still on (c) wreckage after demolition, 1925 (d) derelict with two sails (e) derelict with windshaft and two sails (e) w/o (2) International Molinology no 64 July 2002 (a) w/o

BECCLES, Hadingham's Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) in course of demolition: tower still stands with cap frame but sails and windshaft are gone. Part of fanstage is being lowered to ground (b) during demolition, with windshaft being pulled to ground (c-d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance, 1900 (f) w/o, distant view

BEDINGFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) house-converted roundhouse, 1967 (c) w/o, 1890 (view of horse and cart at mill with part of sail and roundhouse visible (d) w/o

BELTON, Black Mill, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with cap, distant view, 1971 (b-d) as preserved, 1938

BENHALL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910 (b) house-converted roundhouse (c) w/o

BLUNDESTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) base of tower (2) NMA (PDC) (a) belt drive from main shaft, 1929 (b) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, 1929 (c) derelict with stocks, 1929 (d) brakewheel and windshaft, 1929 (e) house-converted tower, 1981
(f) w/o, 1900 (g) sack hoist, 1929 (h) scales inside mill, 1929 (i) w/o, middle distance, 1907 (j) derelict with cap and stocks (k) great spur wheel, 1929 (l) disused with cap, 1940s (m) caples tower, 1972 (n) disused with cap, 1934 (o) w/o, mid-distance, partly obscured by trees, c1900

BLYTHBURGH, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict smock tower, 1936 (c) w/o)

BOTESDALE, Lodge Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BOTESDALE, Mill Lane, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BOXFORD, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1875, with annular sail (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with conventional sails, 1901

BOYTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900

BRADFIELD ST GEORGE, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910 (b) derelict with no sails, 1936 (c) derelict with no sails, 1935

BRADWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1880

BRAMFIELD, Waterloo Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) view of exposed brakewheel, wallower and curb, 1934 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and some remains of cap, 1925 (c-d) derelict with four sails, 1920 (e) derelict with four sails, 1920 (f) internal view showing pair of stones and staircase, 1934 (g) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1934

BRAMFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

BREDFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1903

BRETTENHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails (b) w/o with two sails, 1920, mid-distance (c) w/o with two sails, 1930 (d) w/o, mid-distance, 1890 (d) w/o, 1890 (e) w/o, 1900 (f) w/o, 1900

BROCKLEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1908 (b) w/o with two sails, 1927 (c) w/o, 1880

BROME, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1976

BRUNDISH, Buckingham’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

BUNGAY, tower mill; (1) Malster (a-b) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o as Flint, 1910 (b) house-converted tower, 1972 (c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance

BUNGAY, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1890, mid-distance

BURGH, tower mill; (1) Peggy Cole, Charsfield and Surrounding District in Pictures, vol 2, Five Castles Press Ltd 1990s/2000s (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) bearing in cap, 1985 (b) detail of brickwork of tower and window, 1985 (c) w/o, 1903 (d) house-converted tower, 1985 (e) date and inscription on brick, 1985 (f) capless tower, 1972

BURGH CASTLE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

BURY ST EDMUNDS, Kings Road, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) flower bed within remains of base (b) w/o (c) w/o, magazine cutting

BURY ST EDMUNDS, Horringer Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1880

BUXHALL, tower mill; (1) NMA (BRBC) (a) w/o, middle distance, 1909
(2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) auxiliary engine (c) bedstone, 1976 (d) bevel gears and bridge tree, 1976 (e) close-up of cap frame, 1976 (f) close-up of curb, 1976 (g-h) w/o, 1927 (i) join of tower and walkway, 1976 (j) layshaft and pulley, 1976 (k-l) tower with cap frame, 1976 (m-n) tower with cap frame, 1971 (o) tower with cap frame, 1970 (p) looking up at fanstage from ground, 1976 (q) winding gear, 1976

BUXHALL, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) foundations

CAPEL ST MARY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

CHARSFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

CHATTISHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (NMA) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) disused with sail frames, 1925 (d) derelict with no sails, 1934

CHEDISTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

CHELMONDISTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910 (b) w/o, mid-distance, partly obscured by building

CHEVINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1938 (b) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (captioned “Withermarsh Green”)

CLARE, Chilton Street, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, mid-distance, 1971 (b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1920

COCKFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) datestone (b) capless tower, 1925 (c) disused with cap, 1922 (d-e) capless tower, 1977

CODDENHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1905 (partly obscured by building) (b) undergoing dismantling, 1909, with roof, roundhouse and one sail gone (c-d) w/o (e) w/o, distant view

COMBS, Upper Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1931 (b) derelict with four sails, 1929 (c-d) w/o (e) derelict with four sails, 1935 (f) w/o, 1890 (g-h) house-converted roundhouse, 1971 (i) surviving wooden shaft used as gatepost

CORTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1900 (c) capless tower, 1972 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) capless tower, 1969

COWLINGE, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with stocks, 1935 (c) derelict with no sails, 1935 (d) derelict with stocks, 1930 (e) derelict with stocks, 1934

COTTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1900 (b) w/o

CREETING ST MARY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) buck on ground, 1973 (c-d) buck on ground, 1982 (e) interior of buck, 1982

CROWFIELD, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) section of brick base and smock tower, taken when mill scaffolded for repairs, 1982 (b-c) derelict smock tower, 1972 (d) section of internal framing, 1982 (e) external belt drive and section of repaired weatherboarding (f) dismantled millstone and oat crusher in base of mill, 1982 (g) dismantled millstones and other items inside mill (h) detail of curb, 1982 (i) w/o, 1910 (j) roofed-over tower after repairs in 1980s (k) roofed-over tower, 1938 (l) roofed-over tower, 1939 (m) tower scaffolded for repairs, 1984 (n) view from above to ground floor, showing various items of gearing (o) great spur wheel and stone nut (p) great spur wheel, stone nuts and other gearing

DALHAM, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) preserved with no sails (2) Hills 2 (a) preserved with no sails, May 1990 (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (PDC) (a) aerial view of preserved mill, 1972 (b) decayed section of original brakewheel, 1974 (c) detail of curb, 1974 (d) detail of cap frame, 1974 (e) interior view of cap, 1974 (f) window and section of new cladding, c1978 (g) restored but no sails or fan, 1978 (h) crown wheel, 1974 (i-j) crown wheel with layshaft and pulley, 1974 (k) defective cant post, 1974 (l) smock tower under repair with new cant posts being fitted, 1974 (prob.1978) (m-n) as preserved, 1973 (o) as preserved, 1964 (p-q) w/o, 1890, showing vertical boarding (r-t) w/o, 1926 (u-v) restored without sails, distant view 1983 (w) governors, 1974 (x-y) stones on hurst frame, 1974 (z) inscription on timber (aa) windshaft and brakewheel, 1974 (ab) with sails on but scaffolded for repairs, 1960 (ac) in course of re-weatherboarding, 1976 (date wrong) (ad) sack hoist bollard, 1974 (ae) sack scales, 1974 (af) shot curb, 1974 (ag) looking up from ground at spider and striking gear, 1974
(ah) close-up of shutter mechanism, 1974 (ai) as preserved but no sails, 1977 (aj) as preserved, 1968 (ak) as preserved, mid-late C20, mid-distance (al) as preserved, mid-distance, 1972 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, distant view (b) as preserved (6) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved, mid-distance, 1968 (b) as preserved, mid-distance, 1970

DARSHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1920 (b) w/o, 1925 (c) w/o, from newspaper cutting (d-e) disused with sail frames, 1934 (f) disused with no sails, 1937 (g) surviving roundhouse, 1971 (h) w/o

DEBENHAM, Page's Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (DPC) (a) w/o, 1907 (but looks heavily retouched) (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1905, retouched

DEBENHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (SMSC) SW (a) two men at base of tower following storm damage (b) with two sails missing after storm damage (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1938 (b) w/o, 1900 (b) w/o with two sails, 1933 (c) w/o, 1910 (d) w/o, 1926
(e) derelict with two sails, 1962 (f) stump of tower, 1977 (g) derelict with two sails, 1946 (h) w/o, 1925 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1953 (4) Smedley (a) stone lifted prior to dressing

DENNINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with sail frames, 1922

DRINKSTONE, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved, four sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) brakewheel, brake and sack hoist, 1972 (c) brakewheel, windshaft, stone nut and quant (d) with sails decorated for last use, 1979 (e) detail of oil engine, 1974 (f-g) view of fantail (h) view of fantail, 1977 (i) view of fantail and steps, 1970 (j) as preserved, 1979 (k-m) as preserved, late C20 (n) as preserved, 1984 (o) w/o, 1973 (p-q) w/o, 1972 (r) w/o, 1926 (s) governors, 1972 (t) 1689 date (u) as preserved, 1978 (v) w/o, 1938 (w) w/o, 1930 (x) as preserved, late C20 (y) view of roundhouse, 1978 (z) detail of shuttered sail (aa) close-up of sails, 1978 (ab) w/o, 1908 (date wrong as photo shows fan and fan carriage which were not fitted until much later than that) (ac) section of smock tower framework exposed during repairs (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952 (b) derelict with four sails (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) w/o (also shows smock mill) (5) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C20 (6) Smedley (a) w/o

DRINKSTONE, smock mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved without sails or windshaft, May 1990 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1977
(b) with repaired cap, 1980 (c) with repaired cap, 1979 (d-f) derelict with no sails, 1978 (g-j) repairs to cap in progress, 1978 (k) derelict with no sails, 1972 (l) derelict with no sails, 1973 (m) engine-driven with no sails, 1935 (n) engine-driven with no sails, 1935 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with no sails (also shows post mill)

EARL SOHAM, Kent’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) millwrights
standing on brakewheel during dismantling of mill, 1947 (b) during dismantling, with sails and windshaft gone and buck stripped of weatherboarding and some framing, 1947 (c-d) with buck mostly dismantled, 1947 (e) buck in course of dismantling, 1947 (f) dismantling just starting, with one stock still in position, 1947 (g) disused with sail frames, 1934 (g-h) disused with sail frames, 1930 (i) derelict with four sails, 1947 (j) upright shaft and great spur wheel being removed, 1947 (k) surviving roundhouse, 1967

EARL SOHAM, Ashfield Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1932 (b) ditto, 1930 (c) ditto, 1934 (d) ditto, 1938 (e) derelict with four sails

EARL STONHAM, Creeting Little Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, c1895

EDWARDSTONE, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1880 (b) w/o, 1890 (c) w/o, 1910 (d) w/o, 1905

ELMSETT, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1905 (b) w/o, 1900 (c) thumbnail missing (d) derelict with no sails and buck leaning, 1929 (e) house-converted roundhouse, 1934

ERISWELL, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) surviving base

EYE, Cranley Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) surviving roundhouse, 1935 (d) surviving roundhouse, 1974

EYE, Mortimer’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) windshaft, brake-and tailwheels on ground, 1956 (b-e) windshaft and brakewheel on ground, 1956 (f) close-up of brakewheel on ground, 1956 (g) brakewheel and pulley on ground, 1956 (h) view of part of wreckage, 1971 (i) dated main post, 1929 (j) derelict with stocks, 1950 (k) disused with stocks, 1935 (l) derelict with stocks (m) derelict with four sails, 1929 (n) w/o, 1926 (o) remains of tailwheel on ground, 1929 (p) view of roundhouse, 1934 (q) view
of roundhouse and ladder after collapse, 1956 (r) view of main post after collapse, 1956 (s) w/o, 1925 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with stocks, 1952 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) main post and wreckage, 1970 (b) main post, brakewheel and wreckage, 1970

EYKE, post mill; (1) "Eyke," Eyke Millennium Group c2000 (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of one sail. Caption on photo says "My Work Is Done" (2) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with stocks (b) w/o, 1905 (c) roundhouse, 1976 (d) roundhouse interior, 1976

FELIXSTOWE, Walton, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1880, mid-distance (c-e) w/o, 1850

FELIXSTOWE, Walton, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) surviving smock tower with conical roof, 1970 (c) ditto, 1970

FLIXTON, sunk post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-e) foundations, 1990

FORNHAM ST MARTIN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, distant view, also shows smock mill

FORNHAM ST MARTIN, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, distant view, also shows post mill (b) derelict with four sails, 1926 (b) w/o, 1920

FRAMLINGHAM, Button’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) in course of dismantling, 1926: buck roof and one sail gone (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, distant view (d) house-converted roundhouse, 1972

FRAMLINGHAM, Victoria Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with cap, 1930 (b) w/o

FRAMSDEN, post mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) preserved with 2 sails, May 1990 (b) interior view of roundhouse showing brick pier and crosstree, May 1990 (c) sack hoist drive, May 1990 (d) stone, with pockets for balancing weights, leaning against wall, May 1990 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) fan and steps (b) fan and steps, 1967 (c-d) w/o, 1938 (e) disused with sail frames, 1946 (f) preserved with two sails, 1977 (g-h) w/o (i) disused with sail frames, 1967 (date possibly wrong) (j) replacing of stock, 1970 (k) post, quarterbars, collar and sheers (l) w/o, 1930 (m) preserved with two sails, 1967 (n) looking up steps to buck, 1967 (o-p) view of stone floor, 1975 (q-r) great spur wheel, 1975 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) disused with sail frames, 1950 (b) disused with sail frames (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) under repair, 1968: Chris Hullcoop working on one sail (c) repairs almost complete, 1970, with ladders leaning against body (d) view of ladder and fan carriage, 1968 (e) view of fantail taken from top of mill, 1970 (5) LL (a) derelict with four sails

FRAMSDEN, Ashfield Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) surviving roundhouse, 1925 (c) w/o, 1900

FRECKENHAM, smock mill(1); (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with four sails, 1925 (c-d) derelict with four sails, 1935 (e) derelict with four sails, 1934 (f-h) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1967 (i) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1962 (j) w/o (k) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails (l) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, sails and partially collapsed cap (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, most of cap roof gone, 1953 (4) NMA (SBC) (a) trundle brakewheel and wallower, 1960 (b) trundle wallower, 1960

FRECKENHAM, smock mill (2) (Chippenham Road); (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) surviving base, 1975

FRESSINGFIELD, Chippenhall Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1924 (b) main post out of mill and on ground, 1936 (c) w/o, 1920 (d) disused with sail frames, 1934 (e) view of stone floor, 1924

FRESSINGFIELD, Fisher’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1974 (b) surviving roundhouse, 1977

FRISTON, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1976 (b) detail of patent sail, 1956 (c-d) view of fan from top of buck, 1956 (e) fan gears, 1976 (f) fan struts, 1979 (g) w/o with four sails, 1930 (h-i) derelict with two sails, 1971 (j) w/o, 1934 (k) w/o, 1933 (l-s) scaffolded for repairs, 1976 (t-u) restoration of buck almost complete, 1976 (v) with buck restored, 1977 (w) front of buck seen from ground level during repairs, 1976 (x) front of buck scaffolded for repairs, 1976 (y) derelict with two sails, 1968 (z) interior of buck roof, 1938 (aa) jog scry, 1938 (ab) left hand corner of buck during repairs, 1976 (ac-ad) buck scaffolded for repairs, with one stock still in place, 1976 (ae-af) main post, 1938 (ag) main post and quarterbars, 1976 (ah) main post below buck, 1938 (ai) w/o, 1900 (aj) poll end, spider and triangles, 1976 (ak) prick post (al) w/o, 1930 (am) w/o (an) w/o with two sails, 1949 (ao) with buck restored, 1976 (ap) tailwheel, 1938 (aq-ar) right-hand corner post during repairs, 1976 (as-at) sack trolley, 1956 (au) great spur wheel, 1976 (av) fan, steps, part of buck and roundhouse, 1934 (aw) ladder wheels, 1955 (ax) ladder wheels, 1968 (ay) ladder wheels, 1976 (az) view of stone floor, 1938 (aaa) weather studs and neck bearing of windshaft, 1976 (aaa) millstones being removed from mill (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1950 (b) w/o, 1950(?) (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with two sails, 1967 (b) derelict with two sails, 1969

FRITTON, Fritton Marshes, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) close-up of brakewheel and canister of derelict mill, 1976 (b-c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1976 (d) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1971 (e-f) w/o, 1935 (g) w/o, 1937 (h) layshaft with belt pulley in adjacent lean-to, 1976 (i) pit wheel, 1976 (j) w/o (k) pit wheel and spur gear, 1976

FRITTON, St Olaves, Old Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with at least two sails, pre-February 1898 when mill demolished

FRITTON, St Olaves, trestle windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) drive gear to pump, 1970 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1940 (b) restored with sail frames, 1983 (c) w/o, 1937, when painted white
(d) restored with stocks, 1983 (e) derelict with two sails (f) restored without sails, 1976 (g) w/o, 1926 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1969

FRITTON, Fritton Warren, trestle windpump (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1937

FRITTON, Caldecott Mill, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1935

GAZELEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (c-d) house-converted tower (e) derelict with cap, 1938 (f) derelict with cap, 1934

GEDDING, post mill (1); (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with sail frames, 1934 (d) w/o, 1870, with other mill in background (e) derelict with sail frames (f) w/o, 1932 (g-h) derelict with sail frames, 1936

GEDDING, post mill (2); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, in background, other mill in foreground

GEDGRAVE, Chillesford Lodge, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) ruined stump of tower, 1977 (c) under repair with stocks and three sails, men on ladder working on sails, c1956 (d) derelict with four sails, 1938 (e) w/o?, 1942 (f) w/o, 1937 (g) as restored, c1957 (h-i) as restored, 1956 (j) restored with stocks and two sails, 1956 (k-l) as restored, 1957 (m) derelict with four sails, 1946 (n-o) derelict with four sails, 1950 (p) as restored, 1956: part of sail and tower wall visible with unnamed person standing with hand on sail (q) upright shaft and wallower, 1956 (r) base of tower with scoopwheel cover

GISLINGHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 1928 (d) w/o, 1925

GORLESTON, Cliff Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDA) (a) w/o, 1885 (is this a Suffolk mill?)

GOSBECK, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) surviving roundhouse, 1935 (c) w/o, mid-distance

GREAT ASHFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance

GREAT BARTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1910 (c-d) w/o, 1912

GREAT BRADLEY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1930

GREAT BRICETT, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel and windshaft, 1939 (b) upright shaft and crown wheel (c) derelict with no sails, 1953 (d) derelict with no sails, 1949 (e) w/o, 1910 (f) w/o, 1905 (g) great spur wheel, 1939 (h) derelict with no sails (i) derelict with no sails, 1946

GREAT THURLOW, smock mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, May 1990
(b) wallower, upright shaft and friction drive for sackhoist, May 1990 (c) view of stone floor showing framing and one pair of stones, May 1990 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) scaffolded for repair, with cap and fan (3) NMA (PDC) (a) interior cap roof framing and brake wheel, 1982 (b) brakewheel and wallower, 1982 (c) brakewheel and windshaft, 1982 (d) bridgetree and stone nut (d) derelict with no sails (e) w/o, 1919 (f-g) as preserved, 1972 (h) repairs in hand after gale damage, 1976 (date wrong as damage had not been put right when compiler visited the mill in 1977) (i) great spur wheel, 1982 (j) millstones and governor, 1938 (k) millstones and remains of governor, 1982 (l) neck of windshaft, 1982 (m) repairs under way after gale damage, late 1970s (n) derelict with no sails, 1938 (o) stone nut and bridge tree, 1982 (p) stone nut, bridge tree and governor, 1982 (q) wallower and sack hoist bollard, 1982 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved, 1967

GREAT WELNETHAM, Chapel Hill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910

GREAT WELNETHAM, Stanningfield, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel and headstone, 1949 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails (b) derelict with four sails, 1934 (c) derelict with four sails, 1929 (d-e) derelict with four sails, 1938 (f) main post and trestle, 1947 (g) w/o, 1935 (date wrong, see above) (h) derelict with four sails, 1930 (i) remains of roundhouse (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952

GREAT WELNETHAM, Tutelina Mills, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with cap frame, 1970 (c-d) derelict with cap frame, 1976 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with cap frame, 1970

GRUNDISBURGH, post mill; (1) Peter Bishop, "Grundisburgh: The History of a Suffolk Village", Silent Books 1990 (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1926 (c) w/o, 1926, mid-distance (d) house-converted roundhouse, 1971 (e) w/o, mid-distance, 1920 (f) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1970

HADLEIGH, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o with one sail missing, 1905 (c) w/o with four sails

HALESWORTH, Calver’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1935 (c) w/o, 1936 (d) w/o, 1927 (e) w/o, 1928

HARTEST, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-d) remains of roundhouse, 1977 (e-g) derelict with four sails, 1937 (h-i) w/o, 1926 (j) derelict with four sails, 1949 (k) derelict with four sails, 1935 (l) derelict with four sails, 1940 (m) derelict with four sails, 1926 (?see above) (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952 (b) derelict with four sails, mid-distance

HASKETON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o

HAUGHLEY, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1920 (c) w/o, 1900 (d-e) w/o (f) disused with sail frames, 1938 (g) w/o, 1935 (h) tailwheel, 1938

HAVERHILL, tower mill (with annular sail); (1) Malster (a) derelict (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1973 (b-c) w/o, 1933 (d) w/o, 1937 (e-f) derelict, 1937(?) (g-i) w/o

HAVERHILL, Mill Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) tower with cap frame, 1937

HAVERHILL, Castle Hill Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1895

HEPWORTH, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1860

HERRINGFLEET, smock windpump; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) framing of common sail, March 1990 (b) as preserved, March 1990 (c) close-up of tailpole, March 1990 (d) close-up of winch on end of tailpole, also showing scoopwheel casing and part of scoopwheel, March 1990 (e-f) w/o, March 1990 (g) scoopwheel, March 1990 (h) turbine pump, March 1990 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) pitwheel and bevel gear at base of upright shaft, 1975 (b) brakewheel and windshaft, 1975 (c) w/o, mid-distance (d-e) w/o (f-h) w/o, mid-distance, 1976 (i-j) w/o, 1976 (k) w/o with man working on sail, 1975 (l) w/o, 1977 (m) pit wheel with guard rail, 1975 (n) setting common sails, 1976 (o) wallower and tail of windshaft, 1975 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1952 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-d) w/o, 1969 (5) Bonwick (a) marshman Charlie Howlett setting common sails, 1950s (b) as preserved, 2006

HINDERCLAY, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900 (b) w/o, 1925 (c) disused with sail frames, 1930 (d) disused with sail frames, middle distance (e) disused with sail frames, 1925 (f) derelict with four sails, 1925?

HITCHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDA) (a) w/o, 1912 (b) w/o, 1900, mid-distance (c) w/o, 1881 (d) surviving roundhouse (e) surviving roundhouse, 1939

HITCHAM, Cross Green, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, middle distance (b) disused with cap

HOLTON, post mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) close-up of fantail, May 1990 (b) fantail, carriage, ladder and gearing, May 1990 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) as preserved, distant view (3) NMA (PDC) (a) fan gear, 1978 (b) fan, 1971 (c) fan and steps, 1977 (d) fan seen from top of steps, 1978 (e) fan carriage showing rot, 1978 (f-g) as preserved, 1971 (h) preserved, mid-distance, 1930 (i) as preserved, 1978 (j) as preserved, mid- to late C20 (k) as preserved, 1955 (l) as preserved with two sails, 1964 (m) as preserved, 1964 (n) w/o, distant view, 1895 (2) IAR Vol.5 no.1 Winter 1980-81 (a) fan and fan carriage, ladder, winding gear and track

HONINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1936 (b) house-converted roundhouse, 1971

HOPTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

HORHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1880 (b-d) w/o, 1925 (e) w/o (f) view showing piers, fantail and lower part of buck, 1925 (g) w/o, 1920 (h) derelict with four sails, 1931

HOXNE, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1900

HUNDON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1890

HUNTINGFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1925 (b) w/o, 1898, mid-distance (c) remains of roundhouse, 1976 (d-e) remains of roundhouse, 1970 (f-g) remains of buck on ground, 1934 (h) surviving roundhouse, 1934

HUNTINGFIELD, Barrell’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

ILKETSHALL ST LAWRENCE, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1900 (c) capless tower, 1974

IPSWICH, Bramford Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower

IPSWICH, Stoke, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1870

IPSWICH, Lattice Lane, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) disused with sail frames

KEDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1930 (b-c) derelict with four sails, 1934 (d) derelict with four sails, 1935 (e) derelict with four sails, 1937

KELSALE, Skoulding’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) house-converted tower, 1971 (d-e) house-converted tower, 1976

KELSALE, Harvey’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with four sails, 1920

Other Kelsale photos from NMA PDC get later

LAKENHEATH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) remains of tower, 1975 (b) capless tower, 1934

LAKENHEATH, Great Fen Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with broken stocks and one sail (b) remains of base, 1976
(c) derelict with stocks, 1935

LAVENHAM, tower mill(1); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1904 (b) w/o, 1890 (c) w/o, 1870 (d) ruined stump of tower, 1972 (e) w/o, distant view (f-g) w/o, 1870, distant view, also showing other mill (h) w/o, 1900

LAVENHAM, tower mill(2); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1870, distant view, also showing other mill

LAXFIELD, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of smock, 1972 (b-c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance (e) disused with no sails (f) ditto 1938 (g) ditto 1937, mid-distance

LAXFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1905 (c) w/o, 1905, mid-distance (d) derelict with four sails, 1938 (e) ditto, colourised (f) view of stone floor, 1938

LAYHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1890

LEAVENHEATH, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1880 (c) in act of being pulled down, with sails still on, 1920(?) (d) w/o, c1924(?) (e) view of wreckage showing brakewheel, 1925

LEISTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance
(f) during demolition; smock tower only remains, with workmen standing on top (g) w/o, 1910, mid-distance (magazine cutting)

LEISTON, Minsmere Marshes, East Bridge, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1938, showing surrounding land flooded (b) foot of cant post, 1949 (c) brake and anchor (d) brake catch on pistons, 1977 (e) brakewheel, 1977 (f-g) broken cant post, 1976 (h) cap roller, 1976 (i) cap roller, 1976(?) (i) close-up of spider and winding gear of derelict mill (j) combined rollers and centring wheels, 1976 (k-l) connecting rod and crankshaft, 1976 (m) coupling rod, 1976 (n-q) crankshaft, 1977 (r) crankshaft and footstep bearings, 1976 (s) curb on ground after collapse of mill, 1977 (t) curb and pinions, 1977 (u-w) curb and roller (x) pump cylinder on ground after collapse of mill, 1977 (y) view inside derelict mill (z-ae) members of Suffolk Mills Group dismantling remains of mill, 1977 (af) fishing for neck bearing in the dyke, 1977 (ag-am) derelict with four sails, 1976 (an-as) derelict with four sails, 1970 (at) outlet trough, 1977 (au) piston, 1949 (av) piston, 1977 (aw) piston rod and cylinder (ax) preparing to extract windshaft from wreckage, 1977 (ay) pump, 1977 (az) pump cleat, 1977 (aaa) pump gearing (aab) clearing out the pump chamber, 1977 (aac) w/o, 1934 (aad) derelict with four sails and cap, 1949 (aae-aah) derelict with four sails, late C20 (aai) looking up at cap from ground level, 1976 (aaj) close-up of remains of cap, 1970 (aak) remains of fantail on ground, 1977 (aal) clearing up wreckage, 1977 (aam) close-up of sails and striking gear, 1970 (aan) close-up of cross-bracing of framing (aao) striking gear rack and bearing box, 1977 (aap) striking rod, pinion and guide, 1977 (aaq) components from mill in temporary storage at Lower Abbey Farm, 1977 (aar) looking up at underside of cap of derelict mill (aas) looking up at underside of cap and winding gear of derelict mill (aat) underside of cap frame and gear drive to curb (aat) wind engine viewed from derelict mill (aau-aav) winding gear on ground after collapse, 1977 (aaw) winding gear on ground after collapse, 1977 (aax) derelict mill viewed from wind engine (aay) windshaft (aaz) windshaft and brakewheel on ground, 1977 (aaaa-aaag) wreckage on ground at Minsmere (aaah-aaai) view of upper part of tower, cap and sails of derelict mill (aaaj) looking up at sails and cap frame of derelict mill (aaak-aal) front of cap and curb, 1976 (aaam) internal gear wheel (wrongly captioned “front of derelict cap and sails”) (aan-aao) gears in cap (aaap) interior woodwork, 1977 (aaaq) crankshaft and bevel wheels, 1976 (aaar) neck bearing and weatherbeam on ground, 1977 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails, 1970 (e) derelict, 1970: looking up at fanstage and Y-wheel (f) pumps, 1970 (g) connecting rods for pumps, 1970

LEISTON, Minsmere Marshes, Sea Wall Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) sails, windshaft and most of cap roof gone, and body in near-skeleton condition, 1949 (b) very derelict with only cap frame and a few cant posts remaining, 1970 (c) ditto, distant view, 1971 (e) ditto, 1976 (f) ditto, 1976, looking up at curb and remains of cap (g) base and wreckage after collapse, 1977 (h) base with scoop wheel and wreckage after collapse, 1977 (i) remains of cap frame, curb and fan drive on ground after collapse (j) close-up of scoopwheel, 1976 (k) w/o (l) with sails and windshaft blown out of mill and lying wrecked on ground, fan still on (m) disused with no sails (n) base and scoopwheel (under East Bridge mill) (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) very derelict with cap frame and smock in near-skeleton condition, 1970

LEISTON, Minsmere Level Middle Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving portion of brick base, 1976 (b) w/o, 1905 (c-d) w/o, distant view, 1905 (e) remains of scoopwheel, 1976

LITTLE STONHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) remains of tower, 1966 (b) w/o

LITTLE THURLOW, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted with no sails, c1920 (b) house-converted base, 1966 (c) w/o, 1921 (d) w/o

LOUND, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) house-converted tower, 1972 (c) w/o, 1934 (d) w/o, 1926 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted tower, 1969

LOWESTOFT, Church Road, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

MARKET WESTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

MARLESFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) roundhouse, crowntree, post and trestle after collapse, mid-distance (b) derelict with four sails, mid-distance (c) w/o, mid-distance

MENDLESHAM, Kersey’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o, 1915 (b) w/o, mid-distance (c-d) w/o, 1925 (e) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (f) w/o, 1910 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970

MENDLESHAM, Kent’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910

MENDLESHAM, Ling’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1974 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1920

METFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1977 (b-e) stump of tower, 1974 (f) datestone (g) datestone, 1974 (h) tower in course of demolition, 1916 (i) w/o, 1895

METFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1898 (b-c) remains of roundhouse, 1977 (d) roundhouse, 1935

MIDDLETON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o

MILDENHALL, White Top Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1900 (b) very derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1920

MILDENHALL, Middle Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) base during conversion to house, 1970 (b-c) house-converted base, 1976

MONEWDEN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910

MONK SOHAM, composite mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1935 (b) derelict with two sails, 1924 (c) derelict with two sails, 1938

MUTFORD, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, c1905, with part of roof and most of two uppermost sails obscured (2) NMA (PCD) (a-c) w/o, 1900

NEDGING, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) surviving roundhose, 1934

NEWMARKET, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o, 1925

NORTH COVE, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, get later

OCCOLD, smock mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) base converted to house, 1972 (b) ditto, middle distance, 1967 (c) w/o

ORFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, c1900 (b) derelict with four sails, 1910 (c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance (captioned Orford, White Mill – is this a different mill?) (e) w/o, distant view

OTLEY, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1905 (b) w/o, distant view (c) surviving roundhouse, 1972 (d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970

OULTON, Arnold’s Mill, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1976 (b-c) stump of tower, 1978 (d) stump of tower, 1937, with capless tower of St Margaret’s Mill, Burgh St Margaret, Norfolk, in background (e) w/o, c1905

OULTON, Skepper’s Mill, trestle windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving brick pier, 1978

OULTON BROAD, Lady Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (wrongly captioned "Wroxham"; obvious confusion with Wroxham Broad in Norfolk) (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap

PAKENHAM, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) as preserved (shutters missing), May 1990 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) w/o, distant view (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, 1947 (4) NMA (PDC) (a) Amos Clarke adzeing a weatherbeam, 1950 (b) brake lever and catch, 1977 (c) brakewheel and wallower, 1977 (d) crusher, 1968 (d) blades of damaged fan on ground, 1963 (e) newspaper cutting showing sail damage after lightning strike, 1971 (f-g) fantail, 1984 (h) fantail, 1971 (i) fantail drive, 1984 (j) ditto, 1977 (k) fantail gear, 1977 (l) w/o, 1971 (j) w/o, 1925 (k-m) w/o with two sails, 1971 (n) w/o, 1977 (o-p) w/o, 1984 (q) w/o, 1978 (r) w/o, 1978, mid-distance (s-t) w/o, 1938 (u-v) with cap and stocks, 1963 (w) governors, 1968 (x) meal spout, 1968 (y) millstone furniture (z) millstone furniture, 1977 (aa-ab) neck bearing from Buxhall mill, 1950 (ac) new fan blades on ground ready for fitting, 1963 (ad) new sails on ground ready for fitting, 1963 (ae) ditto, 1950 (af) new stock on ground ready for fitting, 1963 (ag) new weatherbeam on ground ready for fitting, 1950 (ah) w/o, 1968 (ai) with two sail frames, 1972 (aj-al) w/o, 1937 (am) w/o, 1972 (an) w/o with two sails, 1934 (ao) sack scales, 1968 (ap) detail of patent sail, 1984 (aq-at) w/o, 1937 (au) w/o, 1980 (av) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1977 (aw) view of stone floor (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o, 1953 (b) w/o (6) “Windmills”, booklet by SPAB mid-C20 (a) w/o (7) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) w/o, 1967 (8) Watts (W) (a) spouts and bins (b) sack trucks and scales (9) Yorke (a) w/o (10) Bryan (a) w/o, c1955

PALGRAVE, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1925 (b-c) w/o with two sails, 1935

PARHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1938 (b-e) w/o (f-g) w/o, 1937 (h) w/o, 1939 (i) main post and crowntree, 1938 (j) main post and trestle, 1938 (k) w/o, 1930 (l) w/o, 1910 (m) w/o, mid-distance, 1935 (n) w/o, 1934 (o) view of stone floor, 1934 (p) view of stone floor, 1938

PEASENHALL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1938 (b) w/o, 1934 (c) w/o, mid-distance, 1938 (d) surviving roundhouse, also showing smock mill tower used as power mill (e) w/o (f) derelict with two sails and most of roof gone (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse (also shows smock mill)

PEASENHALL, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tower used as power mill, also showing surviving roundhouse of post mill (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) tower used as power mill (also shows surviving roundhouse of post mill)

PETTAUGH, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) in course of demolition, 1957: sails, buck roof, windshaft, brakewheel and weatherboarding all gone but fan still on (b) close-up of sail frame (c) external striking gear, 1956 (d) fan carriage (e-f) fantail (g) fantail and steps, 1934 (h-i) w/o, 1929 (j) w/o, mid-distance (k) close-up of shutterless sails (l-m) w/o, 1934 (n) w/o, 1930 (o) great spur wheel and stone nut (p) left-hand stone nut and dismantled brakewheel (q) main post and crowntree (r) main post, 1956 (s) neck bearing of windshaft, 1956 (t-u) disused with sail frames, 1947 (v-w) ditto, 1950 (x-y) ditto, 1957 (z) w/o, mid-distance, 1930 (aa) right hand stone nut (ab) w/o, 1939 (ac-ad) derelict with four sails (ae) tail bearing of windshaft, 1956 (af) w/o, mid-distance (ag) w/o, 1920 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1953 (b) disused with sail frames

PRESTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) foundations, 1975 (b-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1910 (e) w/o, mid-distance (f) disused with cap

PRESTON ST MARY, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tail of windshaft on ground (b) view of site, 1998 (c-f) windshaft on ground, 1998
RATTLESDEN, Hitchcock's Mills, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) detail of cap finial and patent sail, 1935 (b-c) w/o, 1930 (d) w/o, 1934 (e) w/o, 1935 (f) governor, 1976 (g) w/o, 1880 (h-i) w/o, mid-distance, 1880 (j) disused with sail frames, 1940 (k) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1976 (l-m) capless tower, 1976 (n) w-o, mid-distance, 1880 (also shows smock mill) (o) w/o, mid-distance (appears to be Mill Hill)

RATTLESDEN, Hitchcock’s Mills, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) door in wall of power mill that incorporates base of mill, 1973 (b) w/o
(c) w/o, mid-distance, 1880 (also shows tower mill)

RATTLESDEN, Mill Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) disused with sail frames (c) disused with sail frames, mid-distance

REDGRAVE, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) on fire, 1923 (b) w/o, middle distance, 1900 (c) house-converted roundhouse, 1936

REYDON, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1970

RISHANGLES, composite mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o

ROUGHAM GREEN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails and most of roof gone, 1922 (b) ditto 1938, with buck now leaning (c-e) surviving trestle and ruined roundhouse walls, 1972 (f) derelict with four sails (g) the derelict, roofless and collapsing buck, 1930 (h) derelict with four sails, 1890, middle distance seen through trees
RUSHMERE ST ANDREW, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) PHD (a-b) family group at mill, 1905, with lower part of smock tower and part of one sail visible (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, middle distance, 1900 (b) w/o, newspaper cutting (c) w/o (d) w/o, 1925 (e) w/o, 1928 (f) disused with cap, 1935

ST JAMES SOUTH ELMHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (d) surviving roundhouse, 1970

ST MICHAEL SOUTH ELMHAM, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o, 1939 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) part of roundhouse and horse and cart, 1927 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict roundhouse, 1972 (b) ditto, 1974 (c) w/o, 1930, showing fan, ladder, porch and group on ladder (d) w/o, 1920 (e-g) w/o, 1925 (h) interior of derelict roundhouse, 1972 (i) w/o, 1930 (j) w/o (k) derelict with no sails and roof partly gone, May 1949 (l) w/o, 1900 (j) view of stone furniture (k) view of windshaft and exposed brakewheel, 1947

SAXMUNDHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) base of main post, 1975 (b) crosstree in roundhouse, 1975 (c-f) w/o, 1880 (g) w/o, 1896 (h) main post in roundhouse, 1975 (i) surviving roundhouse, 1975 (j) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (k) w/o, mid-distance, 1900 (1) w/o, 1900 (m) w/o, 1907 (n) nameplate, 1972

SAXTEAD GREEN, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) main post and crowntree, May 1990 (b) w/o, mid-distance, May 1990 (c) flour machine, May 1990 (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) scaffolded for reconstruction in 1950s (b) scaffolded for reconstruction, with no weatherboarding on buck (4) NMA (PDC) (a-b) brakewheel and sackhoist drive, 1968 (c) crosstrees and base of mainpost, 1968 (d) flour dresser, 1968 (e) crosstrees and base of mainpost, 1968 (f) fan carriage from Worlingworth mill, 1968 (g) fantail, 1968 (h) fan spokes, fan supports and ladder, during repairs 1971 (i) w/o, 1905 (j) as restored, 1970 (k) derelict with four sails, 1952 (l) as restored, 1972 (m) as restored, 1962 (n) derelict with four sails (o-r) as restored, 1971 (s-u) power-driven stones, 1982 (v) power-driven stones, 1968 (w) power-driven stones, 1978 (x) great spur wheel and wallower, 1962 (y) power-driven stones and other machinery on middle floor of roundhouse (z) view of stone floor, 1968 (aa) Mr and Mrs Sullivan, the wardens, on roof of mill 1971 (ab) w/o, mid-distance, 1933 (ac) derelict with four sails, 1955 (ad) during repairs, 1978, with only one stock on (ae) sack hoist, 1968 (af) two shutters preserved inside mill, 1968 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a-b) disused with four sails, 1950 (6) “Windmills”, booklet by SPAB mid-C20 (a) w/o (7) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) w/o, 1968 (b-d) w/o, 1969 (e-g) w/o, 1970 (h) view of ladder and fan, 1969 (8) Watts (W) (a) as preserved (9) LL (a-b) as preserved (10) Industrial Archaeology vol 12 no 4 Winter 1977 (a) as preserved (11) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) as preserved (12) Mills Archive Trust, promotional brochure 2009 (a) Millwright Jesse Wightman with original rear roof gable and rim of brake- or tailwheel, removed during reconstruction of mill, 1950s

SHADINGFIELD, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1925 (c-d) derelict with cap, 1938

SHADINGFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1900 (b) surviving roundhouse, 1938

SHIMPLING, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) dated brick in base, 1977 (b) derelict with cap and fantail (c) w/o, with tower partly obscured by trees and houses (d-e) derelict with cap and fan, 1931 (f-g) roofed-over base, 1932 (h-i) roofed-over base, 1977

SHOTLEY, (1) NMA (PDC) (a) capless tower, 1931 (b) capless tower, mid-distance, 1910

SIBTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, 1900 (c) w/o, 1921 (d) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse

SNAPE, post mill (which one?); (1) Malster (a) w/o

SNAPE, Hudson’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with no sails, 1933 (b) fantail and trolley (c-f) w/o (g) w/o, 1925 (h) w/o, 1930 (i) w/o, 1905 (j) house-converted roundhouse, 1974 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1969

SNAPE, Markin’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1900

SOMERLEYTON, tower windpump; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1969 (b) stump of tower, 1978 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) stump of tower, 1969

SOTTERLEY, Hulver Street, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) disused with stocks, c1905 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with stocks, 1905

SOUTHWOLD, hollow-post windpump; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o

SOUTHWOLD, Black Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, distant view, 1893, with site of White Mill indicated (c-d) w/o (e) w/o before rebuilding, 1860 (f) w/o, 1891 (g) w/o, 1893, with annular-sailed windpump on tower in background (h) w/o, distant view, also showing Reydon tower windump and the hollow-post mill

SOUTHWOLD, Baggott’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1870

STANSFIELD, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) bolter, 1977 (b) great spur wheel, 1977 (c-d) w/o, 1910 (e-f) capless tower (g) capless tower, 1977

STANSTEAD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving trestle, showing quarterbar/crosstree joint with tie rod, 1973 (b-c) derelict surviving roundhouse, 1973 (d) in good repair but with sails off and lying wrecked on ground in front of mill, 1900 (e) horns of main post, 1973 (f-g) surviving brick piers, 1977 (h) quarterbar, 1973 (i) w/o (j) surviving roundhouse, when complete, 1934

STANTON, Upthorpe, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) Hills 2 (a-b) w/o (c) close-up of sail showing shutters, May 1990 (d) close-up of sails showing shutters and striking gear, May 1990 (e) fantail, carriage, ladder and gearing, May 1990 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with two sails, middle distance (3) NMA (PDC) (a-b) bin floor with sack hoist and brakewheel, 1979 (c) brake lever and catch, 1979 (d) bridge tree, top of main post and great spur wheel, 1979 (e) crosstrees and horns of main post, 1984 (f-g) date on post, 1984 (h) steps and damaged fan, 1966 (i) w/o, 1920 (j-k) derelict with four sails, 1930 (l) w/o, 1905 (m) derelict with four sails, 1925 (n) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1934 (o-p) derelict with two sails, 1966 (q-r) derelict with two sails, 1971 (s-t) derelict with two sails, 1979 (u) post and quarterbars, 1984 (v) w/o with two sails down to stock, 1936 (w) sack scales, 1979 (x) great spur wheel, stone nut and bridge tree (y) ditto, 1984 (z) striking chain wheel, layshaft and pulleys (aa) view of stone floor with tail of windshaft, 1979 (ab) top of post and crowntree, 1984 (ac) top of post and crowntree, showing governors, 1979 (ad) derelict with four sails, 1935? (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o with two sails, 1956 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a-b) derelict with two sails, 1969 (5) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21

STANTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) AKSD (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1925 (e) millstone on site, 1985 (f) part of foundations, 1985 (g) w/o, 1905 (h) w/o, 1920 (i) w/o, 1931 (j) disused with no sails, 1936

STANTON, Barningham Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1890 (b) w/o with two sails (c) house-converted roundhouse, 1971 (d) view of part of buck, roundhouse and one sail, with wreckage of fan on ground

STOKE-BY-CLARE, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, distant view

STOKE-BY-NAYLAND, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse, 1971 (b) ditto, 1971

STONHAM ASPAL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) disused with sail frames, 1909 (b) surviving roundhouse, 1973

STOWMARKET, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance, 1903, partly obscured by cemetery chapel

STOWMARKET, Abbots Hall Museum of East Anglian Life, smock windpump from East Bridge, Minsmere Marshes, Leiston; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) tower under construction, 1979 (b) bevel gears, 1980 (c) brake lever, 1980 (d-e) brakewheel, 1980 (f) brakewheel and front of cap, 1980 (g) camshaft and pump, 1980 (h) new cap on ground, 1980 (i) new cap and fantail assembly being made up in workshop, 1979 (j) new cap frame and curb, 1978 (k) new chainwheel in workshop, 1978 (l) new cylinders in workshop, 1979 (m-o) opening ceremony, 1983 (p) piston rod and crank, 1980 (q) pump at work, 1980 (r-u) w/o, 1980 (v-w) with stocks on but no sails yet, 1979 (x) w/o, 1980s: view of cap, fantail and winding gear (y) w/o, 1980s: close-up of patent sails and striking gear (z) sprattle beam and sheer tree, 1980 (aa-ab) striking the sails, 1980 (ac) tower with windshaft and fantail assembly fitted, 1979 (ad) tower with windshaft and fantail fitted, 1979 (ae) looking inside cylinders, 1980 (af) w/o, 1980: view under sails (ag) wallower (ah) winding the cap (ai-ak) windshaft assembly being made up in workshop (al) cap frame and fan cradle in workshop (am) cap frame and curb in workshop, 1978 (an) ceremonial push on sails (no wind), 1980 (ao) crankshaft and piston rods, 1980 (ap) curb in workshop, 1978 (aq) curb, cap and fantail in workshop, 1978 (ar) curb on ground with brakewheel from Wymondham mill, Leicestershire (as) curb on ground, 1978 (at) with stocks and two sails fitted, 1979 (au) w/o (av-ax) new stocks in course of fitting (ay) foundations at new site, 1980 (date wrong) (az-aaa) looking up into cap, 1980 (aab) upright shaft and brakewheel in workshop (aac) new brake flange just fitted, 1978 (2) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21: close-up of cap, sails and fantail (b) w/o, late C20/early C21

STOWUPLAND, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o

STRADBROKE, Skinner's Mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) disused with sail frames, 1938 (d) w/o, 1920 (e-f) w/o, 1925 (g) rear of buck showing porch and striking gear, 1935

STRADBROKE, Cole’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1938 (b) w/o, 1934 (c-e) w/o (f-g) w/o, 1925 (h) interior of buck, 1938 (i-j) disused with most shutters missing from sails, 1937 (k) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (l) view of stone floor, 1938 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970

STRADBROKE, Battlesea Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

STRATFORD ST ANDREW, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1895 (c) surviving roundhouse, 1971 (d) surviving roundhouse, 1972
(e) steps to roundhouse door, 1972

SUDBURY, Highfield Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1875 (b) w/o, 1900 (c-d) house-converted base, 1973

SUTTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1905, mid-distance and partly obscured by trees (b) w/o, 1870 (c) w/o, 1910

SWEFLING, Girling's Mill, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (b) miller Ernest Girling and an employee at the roundhouse door, 1931
(2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b-c) derelict with two sails, 1934 (d) w/o (also shows High’s Mill) (e-f) w/o, 1920 (g) w/o (h) surviving roundhouse, 1972 (i) house-converted roundhouse, 1979 (j) sack slide, 1975

SWEFLING, High Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (also shows Girling’s Mill) (b) w/o (c) surviving roundhouse, 1934 (d) house-converted roundhouse, 1972

SWILLAND, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance, 1895 (b) w/o, 1938 (c) w/o, 1920 (d) main post, 1938 (e-f) w/o, 1895 (g-h) w/o, 1930 (i) w/o, 1937 (j) derelict with four sails, 1950 (k) surviving roundhouse, 1969 (l) surviving roundhouse, 1972 (m) w/o, 1939 (n) view of steps, 1948

SYLEHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJJC (a) w/o with two sails (b) w/o with two sails, distant view (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brake- and tailwheel, 1947 (b) w/o with two sails, 1958, as de Little (c-e) derelict with two sails, 1974 (f) w/o, 1939 (g) w/o, 1935 (h) governor and tentering gear, 1947 (i) owner Jack Penton inside mill, fantail seen through door, 1946 (j) Jesse Wightman stone-dressing in Syleham mill, 1947 (k) name on door to buck, 1982 (l) name on post, 1982 (m) w/o with two sails, 1947 (n-o) derelict with two sails, 1967 (p) w/o, as Wailes WIE (q) w/o, 1946 (r) scales, 1938 (s-t) derelict with two sails, 1971 (u) stone nut, quant and stones, 1938 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o with two sails, 1953 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with two sails and fantail, 1968 (5) IAR vol 5 no 1 Winter 1980-81 (a) derelict with two sails

THEBERTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of tower, 1971 (b-c) w/o, also showing buck of post mill on ground

THELNETHAM, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) WWP (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) w/o, May 1990 (b) close-up of sail showing shutters, May 1990 (c) underside of cap frame showing tail beam and truck wheels, May 1990 (d) truck wheel showing the channel in which it runs, May 1990 (e) crown wheel and sack hoist drive, May 1990 (f) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower, May 1990 (g) pair of stones with their furniture, May 1990 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) exposed brakewheel, 1977 (b) brakewheel and wallower, 1977 (c) fan cradle, 1977 (d) derelict with two sails, 1949 (e) w/o, 1910 (f-g) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1977 (h) governor, 1977 (i) crown wheel and layshaft, 1977 (j) derelict with two sails and cap (k) sack hoist drive and jockey pulley (l) w/o with two sails, 1924 (m) derelict with two sails, windshaft and brakewheel, 1976 (n) derelict with two sails, 1934 (o-p) derelict with two sails, late C20 (q) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails, 1979 (r) derelict with two sails, 1931 (s) view of stone floor, 1977 (t) stone nut and bridge tree hangers, 1977 (u) top of tower showing exposed windshaft and brake wheel, 1976 (v) exposed windshaft and poll end, 1977 (4) LL (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (5) International Molinology no.64 July 2002 (a) w/o, late C19/early C20

THORNDON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1970 (b-d) w/o with one sail broken off short, 1923 (e) w/o, 1920 (f) w/o, 1923? (g) w/o, 1890, mid-distance (h) surviving roundhouse, 1974 (i) w/o, 1900

THORNHAM MAGNA, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1938 (b) fantail and ladder, 1935 (c) w/o (d) w/o, 1930 (e) w/o, 1938 (f) main post, 1938 (g) w/o, 1920 (h) w/o, mid-distance, 1930 (i-j) w/o, 1935 (k) roundhouse interior, 1928 (l) view of stone floor, 1938 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with stocks, 1952

THORPENESS, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) base of buck surrounded by scaffolding, 1976 (b) buck under repair, 1976 (c) damaged fan carriage on ground, 1976 (d) damaged fan carriage, 1972 (e) date on post, 1978 (f) fantail, 1978 (g) fan carriage e and drive, 1976 (h) fan carriage and fan before fire damage, 1971 (i-j) view of fantail carriage, 1976 (k) w/o, 1930 (l-m) buck surrounded by scaffolding, 1976 (n) as preserved, 1968 (o-p) as preserved, 1971, with damaged sail (q-r) as preserved, 1977 (s) with sails down to stocks during repairs, 1977 (t-u) awaiting fitting of new sails during repairs, 1976 (v-y) as preserved, 1978 (aa) ladder and fantail carriage, 1976 (ab) metal reinforcement at top of main post, 1978 (ac) new fantail carriage, 1977 (ad) with new stocks just fitted, 1977 (ae) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and pump drive, 1976 (af) pump drive in roundhouse, 1978 (ag) w/o, 1925 (ah) during repairs with fan and sails missing, 1976 (ai) under repair with stocks and fan but no sail frames, 1976 (aj-ak) under repair with no sails, 1976 (al) distant view with water tower (am) underside of buck with part of roundhouse roof, 1977 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved (c) as preserved, 1950 (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) preserved but with one damaged sail, 1968 (4) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1955

THURSTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1938 (b) derelict with stocks, 1950 (c) derelict with four sails, 1943 (d) derelict with no sails (e) w/o, 1938 (f) derelict with four sails, 1949

TUDDENHAM ST MARTIN, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) during demolition, with men standing on partially dismantled buck (this looks more like Tunstall mill) (b-c) w/o, 1900 (d) derelict with four sails, 1900?

TRIMLEY ST MARTIN, Big Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1903 (b) surviving roundhouse

TRIMLEY ST MARTIN, Kirton Road, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with two sails and roof missing (c) house-converted roundhouse, 1970 (d) house-converted roundhouse, 1974 (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1970

TUNSTALL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-c) w/o

UBBESTON, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) remains of roundhouse, 1976 (d) surviving roundhouse, 1971

UGGESHALL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1904 (b) w/o, 1900

WALBERSWICK, post mill; (1) Humphrey Phelps, "The Old Photographs Series: Walberswick to Felixstowe", Alan Sutton 1994 (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance

WALBERSWICK, tower windpump; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) preserved with cap and stocks (3) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with remains of cap frame and tailpole, 1977 (b) part of tailpole and tower, 1977 (c) w/o, 1936, with marshman Bob Westcott, as Flint (d) w/o, early-mid C20 (e) derelict with four sails and massive breach in tower from top to bottom from Army gunnery practice (e) w/o, 1937 (f) w/o, 1935 (g) derelict with four sails, 1930 (h) as preserved, 1955 (i-k) salvage team from windshaft, 1977 (l-m) derelict with remains of cap frame and tailpole, 1971 (n) ditto, 1977 (o) clamp at base of tailpole, 1977 (p) wreckage of sails and cap on ground, 1971

WALBERSWICK, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910 (b-c) w/o (d) w/o, distant view

WALDRINGFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o, mid-distance, partly obscured by trees (c) w/o, distant view 1880 (d) disused with sail frames (e) w/o, mid-distance, c1880

WALPOLE, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o before modernization, c1882, with no roundhouse or fantail (b) w/o after modernization, c1910, with roundhouse and fantail (c) w/o after modernization, 1900

WALSHAM LE WILLOWS, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1910, also showing buck of other mill on ground (b) surviving roundhouse, 1970 (c) w/o, mid-distance (d) w/o, 1919, showing buck of other mill on ground (2) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970

WANGFORD, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1905 (b) w/o, 1895, mid-distance (c) w/o, 1915 (d) w/o, 1895 (e) w/o, 1920 (f-p) burning down, 1928 (the photos show the various stages of the fire and collapse)

WANGFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

WATTISFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1887 (b) w/o, mid-distance

WENHASTON, Kitty Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and great spur wheel, 1935 (b-c) brakewheel on ground, 1948 (d) derelict buck without sails, roof, windshaft or brakewheel, 1961 (e) ditto, 1964) (f-i) w/o (j) w/o, 1934 (k) derelict with four sails, 1938, miller standing by rear steps (l) striking chainwheel on ground, 1972

WENHASTON, Blackheath Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict without sails, 1950 (?according to Flint mill demolished c1896) (b) house-converted roundhouse, 1976 (c) w/o, poor quality (d) steps, 1972 (?)

WESTHALL, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) miller Arthur Long standing by fan carriage, 1937 (b-f) derelict with four sails, 1955 (g) derelict with four sails, 1955, mid-distance (h) main drive and sack hoist (i) derelict with four sails, 1934 (j) w/o, 1904 (k) derelict with four sails, 1938 (l) derelict with four sails, 1930 (m) roundhouse, 1972 (n) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1941 (o) tailwheel, 1941

WESTLETON, smock mill; (1) BDE (a) disused without sails, mid-distance (2) NMA (PDC) (a) stump of smock tower, 1972 (b) ditto, 1976 (c-d) w/o, 1899 (e) capless smock tower, 1969 (f) smock tower with cap, 1946 (g) smock tower with cap, 1930 (h) smock tower with cap, 1936
WESTLETON, post mill; (1) BDE (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, wallower, great spur wheel and stone nut, 1954 (b) disused with four sails (c-d) w/o, 1925 (e) millstone on ground, 1976 (f) derelict with four sails, 1961 (g) w/o, 1934 (h) w/o, 1900 (i) w/o (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1953, distant view

WESTLETON, Rouse's Mill, post mill; (1) BDE (a) surviving brick pier (2) NMA (PDC) (a) bench made from post, 1977 (b) part of post, 1977 (c) surviving brick pier, 1974 (d) overgrown foundations, 1976

WETHERDEN, Warren Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, 1880

WETHERINGSETT, Old Mill Green, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o

WETHERINGSETT, Broad Green, post mill(1); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) roundhouse and wreckage on ground after mill blown down, 1881 (b) w/o, 1875

WETHERINGSETT, Broad Green, post mill(2); (1) NMA (PDC) (a) surviving roundhouse with external pulley wheel for steam drive, 1971 (b) w/o, 1900 (c) derelict with four sails (d) main post and quarterbars, 1938 (e-f) w/o (g) derelict with four sails, distant view c1950 (h) surviving roundhouse, 1971 (i) sack hoist, 1958 (j) sack hoist drive, 1948 (k) w/o, 1935 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, distant view (3) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1970

WEYBREAD, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1900 (b) w/o

WHITTON-cum-THURLSTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1880

WICKHAMBROOK, Great Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) EJCC (a) derelict with no sails (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, wallower, great spur wheel and stone nut (b) fan carriage, 1938 (c) w/o, 1925 (d-e) derelict with two sails, 1932 (f) w/o, 1900 (g) derelict buck frame and roundhouse, 1961 (h) surviving roundhouse, post and crowntree, 1966 (i) w/o with two sails, 1926

WICKHAMBROOK, Fuller’s Mill (same as Bullock’s?); (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) derelict with four sails (heavily retouched)

WICKHAMBROOK, Bullock’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, mid-distance (b-c) surviving brick pier, 1964 (d) ditto, 1977

WICKHAM MARKET, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, 1971 (c-d) roundhouse, 1977 (e) roundhouse, 1934 (appears actually to be stump of tower mill roofed over) (f) w/o

WICKHAM SKEITH, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) during demolition, March 1925: tower with at least part of cap (top cut off by photo), no apparent sails, damaged striking chain guide pole, and partly demolished outbuildings (b) w/o, 1900

WITNESHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o
WOODBRIDGE, Buttrum's Mill, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved, 2000s (2) UOK (LB1) (a) derelict with shutterless sails (b) ditto, 1923 (3) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel, 1972 (b) new cap and fantail made up on ground and ready to be fitted (c) new cap being made up on ground, 1953 (d) crownwheel and layshaft (d) new curb being made up on ground, 1982 (e) engine drive (f) fantail, 1972 (g) new fantail ready for fitting on ground, 1954 (h) fan gearing (i) lower gearing of fantail (i) as restored, 1979 (j) as restored, 1979, looking up from ground at sails and poll end (k-l) derelict with four sails, 1950 (m) as preserved, 1968 (n) w/o, 1929 (o) governor (p) hand winding gear under neck of windshaft, 1972 (q) internal striking gear (r) new cap on ground about to be lifted into position by crane, 1982 (s) new cap being lifted into position by crane, 1982 (t) meal bins (u-v) oat and barley crusher (w) original curb, 1982 (x) as preserved, 1970 (y) remaining winding gear (z) sack hoist bollard and rigger (aa) as preserved, 1969 (ab) w/o, wrongly captioned 1985 (ac) view of spider, 1972 (ad-ae) great spur wheel and stone nuts (af-ai) view of stone floor (aj) detail of striking gear (ak) tower with new cap and fantail on ground, 1982? (al) wallower, 1983 (am) winding gear in cap, 1972 (4) NMA (SC) (LBD) (a) as preserved, 1953 (5) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) as preserved, 1967 (b) sails being repaired, January 1970
(6) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21

WOODBRIDGE, Tricker’s Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) belt drive, 1983 (b) cap frame, 1978 (c-d) as house-converted, 1976 (e) w/o, as small detail partly obscured, 1904 (f) w/o (g) derelict with two sails (h) derelict with two sails, 1945 (i) derelict with two sails, 1933 (j) as house-converted, 1978 (k-m) tower with cap frame, 1972 (n) inscription on bin, 1978 (o) sack hoist rigger, 1978 (p) derelict with two sails, 1940 (q) derelict with two sails, 1930 (r) great spur wheel (s) disengaged stone nut, 1978 (t) engaged stone nut, 1978 (u) tentering gear (v) derelict with two sails, 1930, distant view (w) wallower, 1983 (x) wallower and curb, 1983 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, 1953 (4) NMA (RI) PDC2 (a) derelict with cap frame, 1969

WOODBRIDGE, Mill Hill, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict capless (?) tower visible on horizon, c1900

WOOLPIT, Elmer's Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) w/o, 1937 (b-d) fantail, 1937 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1928 (b-d) w/o (e) view of fantail and ladder, 1950 (f-g) view of fantail and ladder, 1950 (h) w/o, 1900 (h-j) w/o (k-l) w/o, 1925 (m) w/o with two sails, 1950 (n-r) w/o, 1930 (s) w/o, 1938, being painted from cradle (t) w/o, 1930, as Wailes TEW (u) w/o, 1938 (v) w/o with two sails, 1937 (w) derelict with two sails (x) derelict with two sails, 1956 (y) derelict with two sails, 1962 (z) partially collapsed buck with wreckage including windshaft and brakewheel in foreground, 1963 (aa) windshaft and brakewheel on ground, 1963 (ab) stones and governor (ac) w/o with two sails (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails (b) w/o with two sails (c) derelict with two sails, 1950

WOOLPIT, Pyke's Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, 1890

WORLINGWORTH, Old Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1870 (b) millstone at site, 1974 (c-d) surviving roundhouse, with New Mill in background

WORLINGWORTH, New Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1940 (b-f) w/o, 1935 (g) w/o, 1920, when painted white (h-i) w/o (j) main post, 1982 (k) main post and crosstrees, 1938 (l) miller Mr Greenwood and son beside ladder (m-n) w/o, 1934 (o) roundhouse, 1974 (p-q) w/o in background, roundhouse of Old Mill in foreground (r) view of stone floor with brakewheel, wallower and great spur wheel, 1938 (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1950 (b) derelict with four sails

WORTHAM, smock mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1930 (d) w/o, 1936 (e) w/o, 1937 (f) w/o, 1938 (2) Smedley (a) w/o

WORTHAM LING, post mill; (1) Malster (a) w/o (2) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1890 (c-d) with sails removed and walkway connecting mill to steam mill building, c1910

WRENTHAM, Fletcher's Mill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a-b) w/o, c1905 (2) NMA (PDC) (a) brakewheel and canister on ground, 1931 (b) wreckage on ground, 1931 (c) w/o (d) surviving piers, 1934 (d) derelict with two sails, 1925 (e) derelict with two sails, 1910 f-g) capless tower, 1964

WRENTHAM, Carter’s Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1925 (b) derelict with four sails, 1930 (c-e) derelict with four sails, 1945 (f-g) derelict with four sails, 1950 (h) derelict with four sails, 1934 (i) derelict with four sails, 1929 (j) w/o, c1926 (k) derelict with four sails (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1953

WRENTHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) w/o, 1895

YAXLEY, Black Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (PDC) (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1970

YOXFORD, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1970


SURREY

ALFOLD, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with one sail (b) looking up at fanstage of derelict mill, showing drive from fan

BANSTEAD, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with two sails, as Farries and Mason

BRIXTON, tower mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a-d) disused with cap and poll end, 1930 (e-f) disused with cap and poll end, 1937 (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) disused with cap (poll end not visible), 1947 (4) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o c1860, on publicity leaflet for Michael Short’s “Windmills of Lambeth” (b-e) derelict with cap (f) as restored, 1978 (g) under restoration, August 1964, with men working on sails
(h) under restoration, August 1964, with men working on sails and cradle-like structure suspended from rear of cap (i) under restoration, with sails and windshaft on but cap roof not yet erected, August 1964 (j-o) as restored (p-r) as restored: close-up of cap and sails (s-v) as restored: close-up of cap and poll end (w) brakewheel (x) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant (y-z) governors and tentering gear (aa-ab) sack hoist (ac-ad) part of tentering gear (or possibly brake lever) (ae-af) part of millstone and stone furniture (ag) view of tentering gear and ancillary machinery (ar) sack hoist chain and bollard (as-av) part of curb and winding gear with truck wheel (aw) part of curb with truck wheel (ax) quant and underside of millstone

CAPEL, Shiremark Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails, before restoration of mid-1930s (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails (3) JGC (a) w/o (lower part obscured by house) (4) NMA (FC) (a-c) disused and becoming derelict, 1931 (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) looking up through interior of mill showing floors, framing, upright shaft, crown wheel and part of wallower (b-c) disused and becoming derelict, mid-distance, before restoration of 1930s (d) internal view showing pair of governors (e-f) derelict with two sails (g) stones, hurst frame, quant, stone nut and part of great spur wheel (h) internal view showing floors, framing, runner stone and part of upright shaft (i) great spur wheel and stone nut (j) disused and becoming derelict, with four sails (k) view of internal gearing (l) Denis Sanders in cap of derelict mill, standing beside brakewheel and windshaft (m) interior view showing part of curb and smock frame (n-o) interior view showing runner stone and hurst frame (p) disused/derelict with four sails, before restoration of 1930s (q-r) derelict with four sails, before restoration of 1930s (s) derelict with three sails (one hanging loose and resting against body), after restoration of 1930s (s-v) disused with four sails (4) Surrey History Centre Woking {mentioned in key?}: envelope mentioned in previous document: (a-b) rotted foot of exposed cant post, 14/3/1959 (c) looking up from ground at poll end, 20/4/1960 (d) looking down from bin floor onto a bedstone through hole in flooring, 2/8/1953 (e) brakewheel, curb and rollers, 14/2/1959 (f-g) winding gear, 7/6/1959 (h) great spur wheel, 14/2/1959

CHARLWOOD, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o, as Farries and Mason (b-c) house—converted base

CHARLWOOD (LOWFIELD HEATH), post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as restored, 2000s (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four mock sails
(b) view of main post (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) brakewheel and sack hoist drive (b) bedstone in breast (c) bridge tree (d) main post and quarterbars (e) tail wheel and auxiliary drive (f-j) derelict with dummy sails (k) view of breast framing (l) lower half of brakewheel seen through lower half of tailwheel (m) under repair, mid-C20, with dummy sails being fitted and scaffolding in front of mill (n) main post, crosstrees and brick pier (o-p) derelict with stumps of stocks, early C20 (q-s) derelict with stocks and one sail (t) sack hoist drive (u) brakewheel (v) neck bearing of windshaft (w) interior view showing framing (x) brakewheel (y) tailwheel

CHIDDINGFOLD, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) surviving base

COULSDON, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, as Farries and Mason (d) disused with four sails (e-f) derelict with four sails (g) derelict with four shortened sails (h) derelict with part of framing of body, post, crowntree and sidegirts only standing, with wreckage and ruined roundhouse walls below

CRANLEIGH, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-e) w/o (several of these views show very well the unusual construction of the fantail support structure, not commented on in Farries, with the bracing going to what looks like a second fanstage positioned right up against the rear gable of the cap) (f) w/o, mid-distance, partly retouched (g) disused with sail frames (one broken off short)

EWHURST, Hurtwood Common, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) as house-converted, with "shuttered" sweeps (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) as house-converted with dummy sails (captioned as unidentified) (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-d) house-converted with dummy sails, as Farries and Mason (e) w/o, as Farries and Mason Ewhurst, as house-converted (with shutters in sails), 1925 (4) Bryan (a) as house-converted (with shutters in sails), 1925

FRIMLEY GREEN, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) as house-converted, distant view, 1930 (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict tower with cap frame and one sail resting across it, as Farries and Mason (b-c) as house-converted (3) Bryan (a) derelict, as Farries and Mason

GUILDFORD, hollow-post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a-b) w/o

HASLEMERE, Grayswood Hill, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with four sails, as Farries and Mason

HORSELL, utility mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTM (a-b) w/o, as Farries and Mason (c-d) unidentified gear wheel

LEIGH, Shellwood, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o, as Farries & Mason

LIMPSFIELD CHART, post mill; (1) NMA (GAC) (a) w/o, 1904 (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) w/o, as Farries and Mason (c) being dismantled, as Farries and Mason (d) derelict with no sails (e) under demolition: wreckage on ground and man standing beside ruined roundhouse

MERSTHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with stocks and two sails, as Farries and Mason (b) derelict with stocks and two sails

MITCHAM, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) disused with two sails, as Farries and Mason (b-e) surviving roundhouse (f-g) millstone buried in ground (h) post and quarterbars (i) brick pier

MUGSWELL, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) surviving roundhouse (c) interior view of roundhouse showing post, quarterbars and vertical post supporting the whole arrangement at the intersection of the crosstrees

NUTFIELD, post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) disused with four sails, as Farries and Mason (b-c) disused with four sails (d) derelict with two sails

OCKLEY, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) ruined base, 1947 (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with four sails, as Farries and Mason (b—d) derelict with four sails, early C20 (e) derelict with four sails, looking up at sails and spider (f-g) derelict with two sails (h) derelict: view of base, stage and lower part of smock (i) surviving base, 2nd August 1953 (j) derelict: view of lower smock tower showing gearing seen through gap in framing (k) brakewheel, 1934 (l) bevel pinion and layshaft (m) great spur wheel and stone nut (n) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1933 (o) view looking up through mill at great spur wheel and stone nut (p) runner stone (q) brakewheel (r) Y-wheel (3) Bryan (a) w/o, mid-distance 1906

OUTWOOD, smock mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1950 (b-c) derelict with two sails, 1936 (also shows post mill) (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with two sails (also shows post mill) (3) SAS (a) derelict with two sails (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with two sails, also showing post mill (b) derelict with two sails, 1950, also showing post mill (5) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with two sails, 1931 (6) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) derelict with two sails (also shows post mill with breast scaffolded) (b) w/o (also shows post mill) (c) part of smock tower, stage and one sail (also shows post mill) (d) w/o (also shows post mill in w/o with two spring and two common sails) (e-f) derelict with two sails (also shows post mill) (g-l) derelict with two sails (m) derelict with two sails, but stage and fan still on (n-p) w/o (o) derelict: spring from sails lying at base of tower (q-r) base of smock showing rotted framing (s) interior view showing framing at base of smock (t-u) interior view showing rotted framing (v) view looking up through gap in framing showing rotted floor joists (w-x) view of stone floor showing flour dresser, machine drive gear and part of one pair of stones (y view of internal flooring (z) flour machine and drive gear (aa) governors and internal framing (ab) brakewheel and wallower (ac) governors and tentering gear (ad) pulley wheel on ground outside mill (7) Bryan (a) w/o, 1906 (also shows post mill)

OUTWOOD, post mill; (1) NMA (HMC) (a-b) w/o, 1936 (c) miller Jupp leaning on tailpole, 1950 (d) rear view of lower body, 1937, with miller Jupp standing by ladder, door open and one sail visible (2) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (b) w/o with two sails (also shows smock mill) (4) NMA (SC) JJD (a) w/o, 1951 (b) w/o, 1965 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) with sail frames, also showing smock mill (b) with sail frames, 1950, also showing smock mill (6) NMA (FC) (a) w/o with two sails, 1931 (b) w/o with two sails (c-d) w/o with four sails (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (8) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o (cutting from Daily Telegraph 13/11/1969) (b) under repair with breast scaffolded (also shows smock mill) (c-d) w/o (also shows smock mill in w/o) (e-g) w/o (also shows smock mill derelict with two sails) (h) w/o with two sails (also shows part of smock tower, stage and one sail of smock mill) (i) w/o with two spring and two common sails (also shows smock mill) (j) internal view showing unidentified iron frame carrying iron pulley (this is possibly smock mill) (k-n) brakewheel, stone nut and quant (o-p) tailwheel, stone nut and quant (q) view of spout floor with main post, governors, bridge tree, bins and spout (r) governors and bridge tree (s) bin and shovel (t) mill bills (u-v) pinion for machine or sack hoist drive (w) view of spout floor showing main post, crosstree and part of tentering gear (x-y) tailwheel (z) post, crosstrees and quarterbar (aa) brakewheel (ab) brakewheel and windshaft (ac) view of spout and side framing (ad-ae) view of side framing (af-ag) w/o but with shutters removed for repairs (ah-aj) mill tools arranged at base of roundhouse wall (ak) view inside roundhouse showing miller (al) miller and family pushing on tailpole (am) miller and his assistant at base of ladder by tailpole (an-ar) new shutters in course of fitting (as) view of spout floor showing governors, bridgetree, main post, underside of bedstone (at-aw) under repair with breast scaffolded (ax-az) w/o (aaa) w/o (postcard) (aab) w/o, looking up at sails and springs (aac) view of spout floor showing post, crowntree, governors, framing, bridgetree and underside of bedstone (aad) brakewheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (9) Bryan (a) w/o, 1906 (also shows post mill)
REIGATE, Blackborough post mill; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) derelict with no sails (c) derelict: close-up of roundhouse and lower buck (d) w/o (e) w/o, distant view

REIGATE, Trumpets Hill, smock mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with one sail, 1950 (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) derelict with one sail (c) derelict with one sail visible (d) derelict with one or no sails (surviving sail possibly hidden by body of mill) (e) derelict with one or no sails (close-up of cap and upper smock) (f-g) derelict with two sails (h) disused with two sails (only one visible) (i) disused (possibly w/o) with four sails, mid-distance (j) demolition: mill in course of falling, with one sail still on (k) derelict with one sail (most of which is cut off by edge of photo); mill appears leaning, or perhaps in course of falling, but it is difficult to be sure) (l) men standing on windshaft and brakewheel after demolition, as Farries and Mason (m-n) great spur wheel (o-q) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft (r) brakewheel (s) brakewheel and windshaft (t) close-up of canister and striking gear of derelict mill, taken from above (u) view looking up at striking gear and canister of derelict mill (v) cap frame and fantail gearing on ground after demolition (w) timbers of fanstage and fantail gearing on ground after demolition

REIGATE, Wray Common, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) house-converted with sails (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) as preserved, 1951 (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o, 1890 (b) as preserved, 1930 (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1952 (5) NMA (FC) (a-c) as house-converted with four sails, 1931 (6) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) w/o (c) disused with frames of two sails warping (d-g) preserved with dummy sails (h) view from cap gallery (i) brakewheel and windshaft (j) brakewheel (7) Bryan (a) w/o, 1893

REIGATE, Reigate Heath, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) as preserved (b) interior of roundhouse chapel (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-b) crowds gathered outside mill for opening of chapel, 1967 (3) NMA (FC) (a) as preserved with dummy fan, 1931 (b-c) as preserved with dummy fan, 1930s (4) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) preserved with no sails: remains of striking gear or dummy fantail on tail (b) preserved with no sails: striking wheel on tail (c) preserved with sails, steps missing from ladder, remains of striking wheel on tail (d) event at mill to celebrate launch of Farries and Mason’s “Windmills of Surrey and London”, 1966, with roundhouse, lower buck, ladder, tailpole and part of one sail visible; personalities shown in photograph include the authors themselves plus publisher Charles Skilton (e) book launch as (d) but showing whole mill (f) interior view of roundhouse chapel showing post and crosstrees (g) mill as preserved (news cutting from Evening News 18/1/1969 (h) preserved with sails, early-mid C20 (news cutting) (i-j) upper part of post with gudgeon and crowntree) (5) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1965

SHIRLEY, tower mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails, 1947-51 (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) as preserved in grounds of John Ruskin School, mid-C20 (b) as preserved, mid-C20, distant view (c) undergoing restoration, mid-C20, with new fan and sail frames, man shown working on one sail (d) derelict, early-mid C20, with one complete and one shortened sail visible (e) derelict, early-mid C20, as Farries & Mason (f-j) as preserved

TADWORTH, post mill(1); (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a-b) derelict with no sails and top wooden section of roundhouse ruinous, 1947 (2) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-d) derelict with no sails, showing much boarding missing from wooden upper storey of roundhouse (b) disused with two sails, as Farries & Mason (c) derelict with two sails, in background with roundhouse of other mill in foreground (d) derelict with two sails and pannier on left side of body, early C20 (e) derelict with two sails (f) derelict with two sails, showing much boarding and framing missing from rear of buck (f-g) preserved with no sails and flagstaff on roof (h) scaffolded for repairs, with no sails and flagstaff on roof (i) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft

TADWORTH, post mill(2); (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) surviving roundhouse, with other mill in background

WANDSWORTH, Wandsworth Common, smock windpump; (1) NMA (SC) MTMC (a) w/o, as Farries & Mason (b-f) preserved tower with conical roof

WIMBLEDON, hollow-post mill; (1) NMA (SC) JJD (a) as preserved, 1951 (2) Watts (W) (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (3) NMA (SC) MTMC (a-e) preserved with shortened sails, C20 (f) preserved with shortened sails, C20 (cutting from Evening Standard 8/3/1971) (g) preserved with shortened sails, before 1893 rebuilding (h) preserved with shortened sails, 1889 (i) preserved, C20: Martin T Mason on stage of mill apparently pulling on sails, with workmen standing nearby (j) preserved, C20: man and boy standing on stage (k-l) preserved, C20: men working on scaffolding during repairs (m) preserved, C20, with scaffolding at rear of mill for repairs (n) preserved, C20: close-up of fantail (o) as preserved, C20: close-up of part of sail


SUSSEX

ALFRISTON, tower mill; (1) SAS (a) the house-converted tower, middle distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o with stocks and two sails, c1905, as Brunnarius (b) house-converted tower, 1976 (3) EL (a) w/o with stocks and two sails, as Brunnarius

ANGMERING, Luck's Mill, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) surviving roundhouse (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving roundhouse, 1976

ANGMERING, Ecclesden, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower, 1976

ANGMERING, windwheel; (1) NMA (FC) (captioned East Preston) (a) disused but complete apart from fantail

APULDRAM, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1976

ARLINGTON, Windover Hill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) foundations, 1976

ARUNDEL, South Marsh Mill, tower mill; (1) HRL (scrapbook) (a) w/o (cutting from West Sussex Gazette 13th November 1975) (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted tower with conical roof, 1976 (3) AM (a-b) w/o (c) as house-converted with conical roof, mid-distance, seen across river (4) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap, c1931

ARUNDEL, Cement Mill, post mill; (1) MAT (FWG Collection) (a) w/o (shows unusual square roof of buck)

ARUNDEL, Cement Mill, tower mill; (1) AM (a) w/o (poor view)

ASHURST, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved section of main post with pintle and 1789 date, 1976

BALDSLOW, smock mill; (1) HRL (a) w/o, 1899 (b) after sails blown off in gale (c-e) sails and other wreckage on ground after the gale damage (f) with sails blown off (photo cuts off top of cap) (g) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted stump of smock, 1976

BARCOMBE, post mill; (1) Guy Blythman, “Lost Windmills of Sussex” (the author 2008) (a) w/o

BARNHAM, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) as engine-driven, with four sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as engine-driven with no sails, 1976 (b) brakewheel, 1976 (c) part of cap frame and centring wheel, 1976 (d) pair of stones without furniture, 1976 (e) great spur wheel, bevel ring and stone nut, 1976 (f) great spur wheel, bevel ring and auxiliary drive, 1976 (3) NMA (FC) (a) as engine-driven, with four sails, 1931

BATTLE, Telham Hill post mill; (1) WSRO (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with no sails,
c.1960, as de Little (b) wreckage after collapse, 1962, as de Little

BATTLE, Kings Head Mill, smock mill; (1) MAT (FGC) (a) distant view (note very clear), apparently in w/o, pre-1873 when mill burnt down; also shows Caldbec Hill Mill (see below)

BATTLE, Caldbec Hill smock mill; (1) HRL (a-b) house-converted with cap and stocks (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a) house-converted with stocks, 1952 (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a) windshaft on ground at Polegate, 1976

BEXHILL, Downs Mill, post mill; (1) HRL (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1935, as Hemming (b) derelict with three sails, as de Little (c) surviving roundhouse and trestle, 1976 (d-e) windshaft on ground, 1976 (f) samson head on ground, 1976 (g) quarterbar, crosstree and part of roundhouse wall, 1976

BEXHILL, Sidley, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) foundations of base and millstone, 1976

BILLINGSHURST, Hammond's Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) surviving base (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) part of wall of ruined base, 1976

BISHOPSTONE, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, as Major and Watts

BOXGROVE, Halnaker tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) during restoration, with new cap and sails on but scaffolding still up (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with two sails, 1952 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) upright shaft on ground, 1976 (b) derelict with cap frame, 1930 (c) as preserved (d-e) as preserved, 1976 (4) NMA (FC) (a-b) derelict with cap frame and part of fanstage visible (c) looking up inside tower at cap frame, centring wheels and windshaft (d-e) under repair, 1930s, with sails and tower surrounded by scaffolding

BREDE, post mill; (1) FWG (MAT) (a-b) in course of demolition 1906, with stocks still on but roundhouse gone and body reduced to skeleton condition; in first photo rope is being attached to mill, in second it is starting to fall forward

BRIGHTON, Hodson’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) under demolition, 1866, as Major and Watts

BRIGHTON, Hanover Mill, post mill; (1) H T Dawes, Windmills and Millers of Brighton, second edition, Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society 2002 (a) w/o, distant view (2) F G S Bramwell, "The Windmills of Brighton", Brighton and Hove Herald 6th and 13th August 1938 (a) w/o, distant view, 1872

BROADWATER, post mill; (1) HRL ("Sussex Mills" folder) (a) w/o, 1850, from "Country Weekly" 7th October 1988 (b) derelict with four sails, from "Country Weekly" 7th October 1988

BURWASH, Rockhill Mill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (captioned "Tottingworth") (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

CHAILEY, South Common, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) ruined base, June 1976

CHAILEY, North Common, smock mill; (1) HRL (a-b) Chailey after storm damage with windshaft, sails etc on ground (2) SAS (a) as preserved, 1930s?, with dummy shutters in sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) as preserved, June 1976

CHIDDINGLY, Golden Cross, post mill; (1) SAS (a-b) surviving roundhouse before conversion to house (2) NMA (SC) (JCD) (a-b) house-converted roundhouse, 2005 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (b) w/o

CHIDDINGLY, Lower Dicker, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) wreckage after collapse, as Batten (b) house-converted roundhouse, 1976

CLAYTON, "Jill" post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o, 2000s (2) UOK (T1) (a) as preserved, also showing tower mill (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-d) as preserved, mid-C20 (two of these views also show “Jack” mill preserved without sails (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with sail frames, c1910 (also shows tower mill) (b-d) as preserved, 1976 (5) NMA (FC) (a) as preserved, 1931 (b) as preserved, 1930s (10) Yorke (a) w/o

CLAYTON, "Jack" tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) as preserved without sails (also showing post mill) (2) SAS (a) as preserved without sails, also showing Duncton roundhouse (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1910 (also showing post mill) (b) as preserved with sail frames, 1976 (c) looking up at cap, sails and fanstage, 1976 (4) NMA (FC) (a) as preserved without sails, 1931

CLAYTON, Duncton post mill; (1) SAS (a) surviving roundhouse (also shows tower mill) (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) roundhouse of Duncton mill with part of the roundhouse of Jack, 1976

CLIMPING, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) house-converted with sails
(b) derelict with cap and stocks (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) truncated smock, 1976 (3) NMA (FC) (a) house-converted with cap and dummy sails, distant view, 1931

CROWBOROUGH, post mill; (1) HRL (a) w/o, May 1878 (from collection of a Mr Tom Humphrey) (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with no sails, as Hemming (b) part of post on ground under ladder of Argos Hill Mill

CROWBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted truncated tower, 1976 (2) NMA (SBC) (a) w/o

CUCKFIELD, Whiteman’s Green, Beech Farm, smock mill; (1) SAS (s) truncated smock tower on square base (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) surviving base, 1976

DALLINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving part of base wall, 1976

DITCHLING, Elphick’s Mill, utility mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

DURRINGTON, High Salvington, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved but with one broken sail, 1952 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved, mid-C20 (b-c) preserved with sails removed for repairs, 1976 (d) as preserved, with shutters in one pair of sails, from early C20 pamphlet (e) interior view showing post and quarterbar, from the above pamphlet (f) as preserved with dummy sails, mid-late C20 (4) NMA (FC) (a-b) as preserved with two sails missing, 1931 (5) Bryan (a-b) as preserved with dummy sails and roundhouse converted to tea room, early C20


EARNLEY, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) derelict with two sails, April 1967 (4) SAS (a) w/o (b-c) w/o, showing chimney of nearby bakehouse (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) under repair, 1976: looking up at cap, part of fanstage and upper part of smock tower showing new boarding and section of exposed framing (6) NMA (SC) LBo.D (a) bolter, 1996 (b) dressing machines on first floor, 1996 (c) roofed-over smock tower, 1996 (d) interior view showing upright shaft and decayed great spur wheel, 1996 (e) interior view showing upright shaft, decayed great spur wheel, some hursting and gearing and wall framing (f) windshaft, winding worm and fan drive gears preserved on ground outside mill, 1996 (g) dismantled millstones on ground floor, 1996 (h) bridgetree and layshaft, 1996 (i) repairs being carried out to smock tower, 1996, showing exposed curb (7) NMA (FC) (a) w/o: looking up at cap, fanstage and fantail, with parts of two sails visible, 1931 (b) w/o, 1931

EASTBOURNE, Ocklynge tower mill; (1) THMAG (a) disused with sails (b) derelict with brakewheel and three sails, 1925 (2) UOK (T1) (a) day before demolition, with windshaft, parts of brakewheel and one stock still in place but another stock with fragments of one sail on the ground (b) rubble and some fragments of walling after demolition (3) EL (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and three sails

EASTBOURNE, Hurst's Mill, tower mill; (1) THMAG (a-b) derelict with no sails (c) derelict with no sails: looking up at cap and fanstage, c1938 (2) HRL (scrapbook) (a) derelict without sails, mid-distance with lower half of tower partly obscured by house, 1938 (b) stump of tower in course of demolition, 1979 (3) SAS (a-b) derelict with no sails (c) derelict with no sails, with ladder visible leaning against tower (d) derelict with no sails; several ladders are positioned against the tower and the mill appears to be in process of repainting, although the photo shows that the roundel around the base has been cleared away

EAST WITTERING, tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) brakewheel and wallower, March 1943 (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (3) FGC (a-c) windshaft lying on ground inside fire-gutted mill

EWHURST, Staple Cross smock mill; (1) HRL (a) derelict with stocks (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, 1950 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, 1912 (b) millers standing outside mill, with one man on bicycle and also showing advertisements on mill base (c-d) derelict with cap and stocks, c1930 (e) derelict with cap and stocks, c1936 (f) under demolition: very derelict and leaning with windshaft, brakewheel and broken stocks, and man on top attaching cable (g) under demolition: smock tower in process of collapsing (h) wreckage on ground with crowd around it

FRAMFIELD, Blackboys post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (b) close-up of spring sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o as Hemming (b) w/o with
stocks as Hemming (c) foundations of brick pier (3) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931

FRISTON, post mill; (1) HRL (a-b) roundhouse, trestle and crowntree after collapse, with wreckage on ground (2) EL (a) w/o (b-d) derelict with four sails

FUNTINGTON, West Ashling, hollow-post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b-c) derelict with stocks, 1976

GUESTLING, smock mill; (1) HRL (a-b) w/o, mid-distance (2) UOK (LB1) (a) lower part of smock during demolition; lower parts of six cant posts only are shown, with everything gone above first floor level transoms; some intermediary framing remains below; millstones stacked inside

HAILSHAM, Hamlin's Mill, smock mill; (1) HRL ("Sussex Mills" folder) (a) w/o (photocopy) (b) w/o, showing lower part of mill with horse and cart, miller and his family, and two men standing on stage (note by these photos says "Prothero Collection Hastings Public Library) (2) EL (a) w/o (b) as HRL (b)

HAILSHAM, Harebeating, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T1) (a) roofed-over roundhouse with post, crowntree and some remains of body framing (b) w/o (3) SAS (a) roundhouse with post, crowntree, ladder, sheers and some remains of body framing (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (retouched) (b) derelict with no sails, as Batten (c) after partial collapse in 1934, with part of spout floor, main post and crowntree still standing, and wreckage and machinery in foreground (d-e) surviving roundhouse and crowntree, 1976

HEATHFIELD, Punnett's Town, saw mill; (1) HRL (a-b) derelict with stocks

HEATHFIELD, Punnett's Town smock mill; (1) HRL (a) disused with no sails (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with no sails (3) Hills 2 (a) restored, May 1990 (4) UOK (T4) (a) derelict with no sails (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) as restored, 1976 (c) as restored, 1976: looking up at sails (d) looking up at cap, sails and fanstage

HEATHFIELD, Sandy Cross, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1900

HELLINGLY, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails

HENFIELD, Old Mill, post mill; (1) WSRO (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (c) w/o (not captioned) (2) album of photographs by H E S Simmons at Mills Archive (a) w/o

HENFIELD, New Mill, post mill; (1) WSRO (a) w/o but with "observatory" added to roof, 1890s (b-c) derelict with two sails and roundhouse gone - marked "photo unknown" (in Booker Collection) (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with no sails or roundhouse, 1947 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with three sails, 1934 (4) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with three sails (only one visible) (b) derelict with three sails


HERSTMONCEUX, Cowbeech, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, as Brunnarius (b) house-converted base, 1976
HERSTMONCEUX, Windmill Hill, post mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section Newsletter January 2004 (a) roof being lifted off mill prior to dismantling of latter for repairs, November 2003 (3) SAS (a) derelict with no sails, 1930s? (4) NMA (SC) EJJC (a) derelict with no sails (5) NMA (SC) MHC (a) w/o, 1897 (6) Sussex Mills Group Newsletter January 2006 (a) restored with sails, December 2005 (7) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with no sails, 1974 (b) derelict with no sails, 1976 (c) sweep governor, 1976 (d) stone floor showing brake- and tailwheels and one pair of stones, 1976 (e) dresser, 1976 (f) w/o, c1890, mid-distance (g) tentering gear and underside of one pair of stones, 1976 (8) Watts (W) roof under repair at workshops of IJP Building Conservation at Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire,

HOOE, smock mill; (1) MAT (a) w/o

HUNSTON, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict base, 1976 (2) NMA (FGC) (a) w/o

ICKLESHAM, Telegraph Hill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) disused without sails

ICKLESHAM, Hog Hill, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) Hills 2 (a) preserved with sails missing, January 1968 (b) preserved with sails missing, June 1967 or January 1968 (c) ladder wheels and drive from fan, January 1968 (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved with shutters, as Hemming (b) as preserved, 1972 (c) looking up at roof fan and drive from same, 1976 (d) as preserved (e) as preserved, 1977

IDEN, post mill; (1) WSRO (a-b) w/o

IFIELD, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1895 (b) main post and other timbers at Crawley Park, 1976 (c) mortice in main post

KEYMER, Oldland post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) as preserved (2) SAS (a-b) preserved but with side of mill damaged, 1935 (c) preserved but with damage visible to breast, 1935 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved but with damage to weatherboarding, as Hemming (c) derelict with two sails, 1976 (d) looking up at sails, springs and poll end, 1976 (5) JGC (a) preserved but with damage to weatherboarding, 1930s (6) NMA (FC) (a-b) preserved but with damage to weatherboarding, 1930s

KINGSTON, Old Duck, smock mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, distant view, snow scene, also showing Southern post mill at Lewes (2) FGC (a) derelict but complete (3) NMA RI PDC (a) lower walling of base with disused swimming pool inside, June 1976 (under “Juggs Road”

KINGSTON, Ashcombe, six-sailed post mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o, mid-distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-d) w/o

LAMBERHURST, smock saw mill; (1) MAT (FGC) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T2) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T4) (a) w/o

LEWES, Smart’s or Shelley's smock mill; (1) HRL ("Sussex Mills" folder) (a) in course of demolition, with top third of smock dismantled apart from cant posts, stones and wreckage on ground in front of mill (cutting from Eastbourne Advertiser 20/4/1988) (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (b) w/o, distant view, with Spital Hill mill in background (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

LEWES, Spital Hill mill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, distant view (Shelley's smock mill in foreground)

LEWES, Southern post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) distant view, snow scene, also showing Old Duck mill at Kingston (2) NMA RI PDC (a) house-converted roundhouse, 1976 (under “Juggs Road”)

LEWES, Malling Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) house-converted roundhouse, 1976

LEWES, Pipe Passage, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted base, 1976

LITTLEHAMPTON, Arun Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) during demolition, with lower part of tower only standing, and wreckage on ground including part of brakewheel (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with windshaft and one sail, 1928 (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, as feature in composite postcard which has been colourised (3) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and remains of two sails, 1931 (b) mid-distance, with windshaft, brakewheel, stocks and remains of sails, fanstage and remains of fan (c) w/o with two sails (d-e) w/o, distant view

LOWER BEEDING, post mill; (1) FGC (a) derelict with four sails

MARK CROSS, tower mill; (1) SAS (a) capless tower as engine-driven (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o (c) house-converted tower, 1976

MAYFIELD, Argos Hill, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21, before removal of sails (2) SAS (a-c) disused but in good repair, 1930s? (3) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-b) as preserved (4) NMA (SC) LBD (a-b) derelict with four sails (5) NMA (RI) PDC (a) disused with sail frames, as Hemming (b-d) as preserved, 1976 (e) fan drive gearing to wheels, 1976

NINFIELD, Thorne Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

NINFIELD, post mill; (1) HRL (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) derelict with two sails, as Hemming

NORTHIAM, High Park Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with no sails, as Hemming (b) surviving brick piers, 1976 (c) millstones in garden path, 1976 (3) Digby (a) roundhouse, post, sheers and crowntree only standing during demolition.

NUTLEY, post mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) UOK (LB1) (a-b) w/o, late C19-early C20) (c) as preserved, early-mid C20, with underpinning (3) SAS (a-b) as preserved in mid-C20, middle distance (4) NMA (SC) NWD (a) w/o, 1890 (5) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with no sails, 1952 (6) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1890 (b) w/o, 1976 (c) detail of sails, 1976 (d) brake- or tailwheel and dresser (or sackhoist) drive, 1979 (e) governors, tentering gear, drive to stone spindle and underside of bedstone, 1979 (f) dresser and drive to same, 1979 (g) preserved mill bills, 1979 (h) “wind detector” in window, 1979 (7) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (8) LL (a) as preserved, late C20/early C21

ORE, Black Mill, smock mill; (1) WSRO (a) with sails and fan gone and cap roof replaced by iron pent roof over windshaft (poll end exposed) (2) HRL (a) derelict with 2 sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

ORE, White Mill, smock mill; (1) HRL (a) w/o, 1899 (b) w/o, as Brunnarius (c-d) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

PAGHAM, Nyetimber, tower mill; (1) SAS (a) derelict with no sails, 1935 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap, 1934 (b) looking up at fanstage of derelict mill, June 1976: cap roof gone and tower smothered in ivy

PATCHAM, Ballard’s Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, as Major and Watts

PATCHAM, Waterhall, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) disused (2) SAS (a-d) w/o apart from missing fan blades (e-f) w/o as above, middle distance (g) w/o as above, distant view (h) w/o apart from missing fan blades, March 1937 (3) NMA (SC) JJD (a) derelict with four sails, 1947 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) as preserved, 1976 (d) looking up at cap, sails, fan and fanstage (5) NMA (FC) (a) disused but in w/o, 1931

PEASMARSH, smock mill; (1) FGC (a) w/o, c1914, with soldiers standing on stage

PLAYDEN, post mill; (1) HRL (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails (3) SAS (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails, as Hemming

POLEGATE, tower mill; (1) SAS (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) as preserved, 1970 (c) as preserved, 1976: looking up at cap, fanstage, sails and striking gear (d) as preserved, 1976 (e) as preserved, 1970, with two sails only (3) EL (a) derelict with four sails, early 1960s (b) cap being removed/fitted by crane, 1987

PULBOROUGH, Nutbourne tower mill; (1) SAS (a) derelict with cap and stocks (b) derelict with cap and stocks, middle distance (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with stocks fallen across top of tower, 1976 (b) inside tower looking up at windshaft, stocks and remains of cap frame, 1976 (3) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1931

RINGMER, Glyndebourne Mill, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved main post, 1976 (b) timbers from mill lying on ground, 1976

RODMELL, post mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with stocks and two sails
ROTTINGDEAN, smock mill; (1) SAS (a) preserved with stocks, 1930s? (biplane on grass in foreground) (b-c) preserved with stocks, 1930s (d-e) preserved with stocks, seen as silhouette at dusk (2) NMA (SC) JJD (a) as preserved, 1947 (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1952 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with cap and stocks, 1910 (b) as preserved, 1960s/70s (5) NMA (FC) (a) disused with stocks (6) Bryan (a) as preserved, c1965

RUSTINGTON, Sea Field, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1900 (2) Sussex Mills Group Newsletter October 2009 (a) w/o but with one sail frame removed

RYE, Barry's Mill, smock mill; (1) HRL (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o, c1895 (4) Bryan (a) w/o, 1912

RYE, replica smock mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) view of January 1968 (2) NMA (SC) EJCC (a-c) with stocks (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) with stocks (b-c) with stocks, 1973 (4) NMA (SBC) (a) with stocks, middle distance (5) Bryan (a) with full sails, c1955

ST LEONARDS, Silverhill Mill, smock mill; (1) HRL (a-b) w/o (c) disused with 4 sails (d-h) derelict with 2 sails (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) NMA (KMGC) SW (a) derelict with sail frames, 1950 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o as Batten

SELSEY, Medmerry tower mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with broken sails, c1930 (b) as preserved, 1970 (c) preserved with stocks, June 1976 (3) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of sails

SHIPLEY, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) w/o (2) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1952 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) new sail being fitted by Holes’, 1976 (c-e) one pair of stones with furniture, 1976 (f) two pairs of stones with furniture, 1976 (g-i) smutter, 1976 (j-k) great spur wheel and stone nut, 1976 (l) governors, 1976 (m) auxiliary drive, 1976 (n) brakewheel, 1979 (o) fan gears, 1979 (p) upright shaft, wallower and sack hoist, 1979 (q) tail of windshaft, 1979 (r) one pair of stones, 1979 (s) dresser, 1979 (t) great spur wheel, stone nut and underside of bedstone, 1979 (3) NMA (FC) (a) disused, 1931 (b) as disused (4) LL (a) w/o, mid-C20
SINGLETON, Weald and Downland Open Air Museum, hollow-post windpump from Westham; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) w/o, 1976 (c) detail of pump and gearing, 1976 (2) Watts (W) (a) w/o (3) Yorke (a) w/o

SOUTHWATER, Cripplegate Mill, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

SULLINGTON, post mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) windshaft on ground, c1936 (b) windshaft on ground, 1976

UDIMORE, post mill; (1) WSRO (a) w/o (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (3) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

WADHURST, Riseden, post mill; (1) SAS (a-b) surviving trestle with parts of roundhouse walls (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) preserved upper section of main post in garden, 1976 (b) main post on ground and ruined walls of roundhouse, 1976

WALBERTON, Short's Mill, smock mill; (1) WSRO (not seen yet)

WALDRON, Cross-in-Hand Old Mill, post mill; (1) SAS (a) surviving roundhouse (also shows New Mill and model mill) (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving roundhouse, with sweepless body of New Mill in background, 1976

WALDRON, Cross-in-Hand New Mill, post mill; (1) HRL (a) w/o (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (lower part of body with fan carriage and lower part of one sail shown only) (3) Wailes (WWG) (a) w/o (4) Hills 2 (a) main post and quarterbars, June 1968 (b) without sails but under restoration, May 1990 (b) ready dressed runner stone, May 1990 (5) SAS (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance, also showing surviving roundhouse of Old Mill in foreground and model windmill in centre (e-f) view of fantail, carriage and ladder (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) w/o with two sails, 1952 (7) NMA (RI) PDC (a-c) w/o (d) close-up of fan, fan carriage and fan drive wheels (e) derelict with two sails and damaged fan, 1974 (f) derelict with no sails (g) close-up of damaged fan, fan carriage and fan drive wheels, 1976 (8) NMA (SBC) (a-b) w/o with two sails (c-g) w/o with two sails, 1960 (h) detail of fantail (i-j) detail of sails (only two in position) (k) corner of mill with one sail visible (l) corner of mill with part of one sail visible (9) NMA (FC) (a) w/o, 1931

WARBLETON, Bodle Street Green, post mill; (1) HRL (a-b) derelict with 4 sails and collapsed roundhouse (2) UOK (T1) (a-c) derelict with four sails and collapsed roundhouse (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) derelict with four sails and open trestle, 1935, as Hemming

WARBLETON, Chapman's Town, smock mill; (1) HRL ("Sussex Mills" folder) (a) the roofed-over base, from "Evening Argus" 10th May 1994 (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base, 1976

WARBLETON, Summerhill, post mill; (1) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o (2) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with one stock (2) NMA (RI) PDC (a) overgrown foundations, 1976

WARTLING, Boreham Street, post mill; (1) WSRO (a) w/o

WASHINGTON, Rock Mill, smock mill; (1) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted, 1976 (2) NMA (FC) (a) as house-converted, 1931 (2) LL (a) w/o

WEST BLATCHINGTON, smock mill; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) SAS (a-d) disused with stocks and two sail frames, 1930s? (3) NMA (SC) LBD (a) as preserved, 1952 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) w/o (b) as preserved, 1970 (c-e) as preserved, 1976 (f) great spur wheel, 1978 (g) wallower and sackhoist, 1978 (h) tentering gear, 1978 (5) NMA (FC) (a-b) disused with stocks and two sail frames, 1930s (6) Watts (W) (a) as preserved

WEST CHILTINGTON, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) house-converted with four sails (2) SAS (a-d) house-converted with four sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as house-converted with two sails, 1976 (4) NMA (FC) (a) house-converted with four sails, 1931 (b) house-converted with four sails, in mid-distance

WESTFIELD, White Mill, post mill; (1) WSRO (a) derelict with two sails (b) derelict with two sails (earlier view, with less deterioration evident)

WEST GRINSTEAD, Jolesfield smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) derelict with four sails (2) SAS (a-c) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) surviving base at original site, 1976 (b) the machinery at Gatwick Manor, 1973 (4) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1931

WESTHAM, Stone Cross, tower mill; (1) HRL (a-b) w/o with 4 sails, c1925 (c) disused with 2 sails, 1966-7 (2) UOK (LB1) (a) w/o, early C20 (3) UOK (T1) (a-b) w/o with two sails (4) Wailes (WWG) (a) w/o (5) SAS (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, 1930s? (c-d) w/o with 2 sails, 1930s?: close-up of cap, sails and fantail (6) NMA (SC) LBD (a) preserved with two sails, 1952 (7) NMA (RI) PDC (a-b) preserved with two sails, 1976 (c) upper part of tower with cap and two sails seen over wall, 1976 (8) EL (a) w/o with two sails, 9th October 1933

WEST HOATHLY, Selsfield Common, smock mill; (1) WSRO (a) derelict with 4 sails

WINCHELSEA, St Leonards' Mill, post mill; (1) HRL (a) derelict with no sails, mid-distance (b) derelict with 4 sails and fan (2) UOK (LB1) (a) close-up of breast, sails and wooden poll end (b) w/o (3) Hills 2 (a) preserved without sails, January 1968 (b) roundhouse, lower buck, ladder and wheels, January 1968 (4) NMA (RI) PDC (a) as preserved with no sails, 1972 (b) ladder and wheels, 1972 (5) NMA (SBC) (a-b) preserved without sails, 1960

WISBOROUGH GREEN, smock mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o (2) NMA (SMSC) BA (a) tailwinded (3) NMA (RI) PDC (a) house-converted base, June 1976

WORTHING, Sea Mill (formerly Isted’s Mill, Cross Street); (1) Frank Gregory Collection, Mills Archive Trust (a) disused with four sails and remains of tailpole fantail, post-1892 (when mill ceased work) (b) disused with four sails and remains of tailpole fantail, post-1892, distant view (c) derelict with remains of tailpole fantail, c1900




WARWICKSHIRE

BAXTERLEY, post mill; (1) WMW (a) w/o (2) NMA (MCC) (a) derelict with stocks and at least one sail, partly recoloured

BERKSWELL, Balsall Common, tower mill; (1) NMA (MCC) (a) w/o

BURTON DASSETT, tower mill; (1) WWP (a) surviving stump (2) Watts (W) (a) surviving stump

BURTON DASSETT, post mill; (1) Kidd.L (a) disused with stocks and one complete sail and fragments of another (2) NMA (FC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and two sails, 1930

CHESTERTON, tower mill; (1) Allen Clarke 1933 (a) as preserved (2) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (3) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, June 1991 (4) NMA (FC) (a-b) preserved with shortened sails, 1930 (5) Watts (W) (a) as preserved (b) compass-arm brakewheel and lantern pinion wallower (6) International Molinology no 73 December 2006 (a) as restored, with volunteers unfurling the canvas on the sails (b) with one sail blown off (7) Industrial Archaeology vol 12 no 4 Winter 1977 (a) as preserved (8) Yorke (a) as preserved

HARBURY, tower mill; (1) WMW (a) w/o, 1900s (2) NMA (FC) (a) disused with cap and stocks, June 1930

KINETON, tower mill; (1) Kidd.L (a) tower with “cap” (2) NMA (FC) (a) tower with “cap”, 1930

NAPTON-ON-THE-HILL, tower mill; (1) NMA (SC) LBD (a) derelict with four sails, 1953 (2) Kidd.L (a) derelict with four sails (3) NMA (FC) (a-b) derelict with four sails

NORTON LINDSEY, tower mill; (1) WWP (a) governors, stone spindle and tentering gear (2) Kidd.L (a) derelict with two sails

NUNEATON, Tuttle Hill, tower mill; (1) UOK (T1) (a) w/o

RATLEY AND UPTON, Edgehill, post mill; (1) WMW (a) in advanced state of decay with roof, breast, sails, windshaft and brakewheel all missing, 1890s (2) Hereford Museum (a) w/o

ROYAL LEAMINGTON SPA, tower mill; (1) Kidd.L (under Leamington Priors) (a) as preserved with four shortened sails

SHREWLEY, tower mill; (1) Kidd.L (a) derelict with cap (also shows post mill, without roof or sails, in background as small feature)

SOUTHAM, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a-b) disused with cap, 1930(?)

TANWORTH-IN-ARDEN, Danzey Green, post mill; (1) Hills 2 (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and stocks, June 1968 (c) close-up of substructure, June 1968 (d) detail of rear framing, June 1968 (e) detail of side framing, June 1968 (2) Kidd.L (a) derelict with stocks and fragments of two sails

TYSOE, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with cap and two sails, 1930 (2) Watts (W) (a) winch in cap for winding mill, late C20/early C21


WILTSHIRE

CHISELDON, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a-b) roofed-over tower with gazebo and weathervane on top, 1930s(?)

IDMISTON, West Gomeldon, tower mill; (1) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and fanstage, 1930 (2) NMA (FGC) (a) derelict with windshaft, cap frame and fanstage, 1970s

WILTON, tower mill; (1) Hills 2 (a) w/o, September 1990 (b) close-up of one common and one patent sail, September 1990 (c) brakewheel and wrought iron spars in cap roof, September 1990 (d) auxiliary drive, September 1990 (e) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and iron cone clutch for sackhoist, September 1990 (f) flour machine, September 1990 (2) NMA (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, September 1928 (3) Watts (W) (a) as restored (4) TL (a) as restored (5) Yorke (a-b) w/o (c) sack hoist (d) brakewheel


YORKSHIRE, EAST RIDING

BAINTON, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) stump of tower, distant view 3.9.1993

BEMPTON, tower mill; (1) David and Susan Neave, “Bridlington: An Introduction to its History and Buildings” (date and publisher?) (a) derelict with four sails (NOTE: This mill occurs in the original edition of this register as Duke’s Mill, Bridlington. It is described in the Neaves’ book as Duke’s Mill, Bempton Lane and a photo of it appears somewhere in my file for the register. Would seem mill should not be listed under Bridlington) (2) ERYC (a) capless tower, 30.9.1993 (b) internal view showing flooring and bedstones, 30.9.1993 (c) capless tower (d) derelict/disused with cap and cross, distant view

BEVERLEY, whiting mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) capless tower

BEVERLEY, Crathorne’s Mill (same as whiting mill?), tower mill; (1) capless tower and burnt out mill buildings, 12th January 1907

BEVERLEY, Beverley Westwood (mill at golf club), tower mill; (1) Beverley Borough Council, “Around Beverley: Now and Then”, Beverley Borough Council 1981 (a) castellated stump, c1902 (2) ERYC (a-c) castellated stump (d) capless tower, standing to full height, c1910 (captioned “Black Mill at the Westwood”) (e) capless tower, c1907 (f) castellated stump, c1914

BEVERLEY, (other surviving mill), tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) castellated tower, 30.9.1993 (b) castellated tower, mid-distance, 30.9.1993

BISHOP BURTON, tower mill (1) ERYC (a) w/o, uncaptioned but classmark is DDEY/1/247 (b) w/o as Gregory

BRIDLINGTON, Lowson’s Mill, tower mill; (1) David Neave, “Port, Resort and Market Town; A History of Bridlington”, Hull Academic Press 2000 (a) w/o, c1890

COTTINGHAM, tower mill; (1) Rachel Walters, “Cottingham Then And Now”, Tempus 2007 (a) w/o with two sails (2) ERYC (a) w/o with two sails

DRIFFIELD, tower mill; (1) “Driffield, The Capital of the Wolds”, Souvenir Guide September 1992 (a) w/o, as Gregory

EASINGTON, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) w/, mid-distance, 1900s?

ELLERKER, tower mill; (1) Malcolm Hall (compiler), The Archive Photograph Series: Below High Hunsley, Chalford Publishing 1998 (a) under demolition with cap roof and sails removed, windshaft and brakewheel still on, and men standing on top of mill (b) windshaft and brakewheel being pulled off top (2) Patricia Jorna (compiler), “Ellerker: 150 Years of Church and Village”, Highgate Publications (Beverley) 1994 (a) close-up of men standing on top during the demolition, cap roof and sails off but windshaft and brakewheel still on (b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (3) ERYC (a) under demolition with sails and cap roof gone, windshaft and brakewheel still on, men standing on top (note says demolished 4th April 1913) (b) under demolition: close-up of top of mill with men standing there and windshaft and brakewheel still on (c) under demolition with windshaft and cross being pulled off top, traction engine in foreground

ELVINGTON, tower windpump; (1) MO 2004 (a) as preserved (2) Hills 2 (a) as preserved, April 2005 (b) as preserved: close-up of windshaft, crank, connecting rod and weathervane (3) NMA (KMC) (a-d) derelict with four sails, 1974

ETTON, tower mill; (1) Gail M White, “Etton: A Village of the East Riding”, Hutton Press 1992 (a) capless tower, c1990

EVERTHORPE, tower mill; (1) Denny H Lincoln, “Distant Days: South Cave/North Cave/Everthorpe/Hotham”, Tallis Press c2000 (a) w/o, 1890 (also shown on back cover)

GILBERDYKE, tower mill; (1) Gilberdyke Local History Group, “Gilberdyke: A Village Story”, GLHG 1989 (a) w/o, rear view, as Gregory (2) ERYC (a-b) w/o

GOOLE, tower mill {which one?}; (1) Hatcher (a) capless tower

HESSLE, whiting mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) w/o (b) edge runner stones and crushing tub, c2004 (2) Hills 2 (a) preserved tower, July 1990 (b) pair of iron-faced edge runner stones on ground outside mill, July 1990 (3) Watts (W) (a) derelict tower with some remains of cap frame, late C20 (4) Hatcher (a) capless tower (5) HCL (a) capless tower, 1967 (6) P Howlett, “Hessle In Old Picture Postcards”, European Library 2001 (a) w/o (7) Ken Elsom, “Memory Lane: The Hessle Collection” (date and publisher?) (a) w/o (b) derelict with five sails (c) derelict with five sails, c1910 (8) ERYC (a) capless tower, 29th July 1933 (b) w/o, c1906 (artificially coloured postcard) (c) derelict with two sails, mid-distance, partly obscured by other buildings (d) view of the whiting works with men working in foreground; behind them the lower part of the tower, stage and part of one sail of the windmill are visible (e) w/o, mid-distance (f) w/o, distant view

HOLLYM, tower mill; (1) East Yorkshire Federation of Women’s Institutes, “East Yorkshire Within Living Memory”, Countryside Books 1998 (a) capless tower

HORNSEA, tower mill (four-sailer); (1) HCL (a) w/o, c1900 (2) Southwell, G L, The Archive Photographs Series: Hornsea, Chalford 1995 (a) w/o, as Gregory (b) derelict with cap (3) ERYC (a) w/o (artificially coloured)

HORNSEA, tower mill (five-sailer); (1) Southwell, as four-sailer (a) w/o, as Gregory

HULL, Stoneferry, whiting mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) capless tower, 1889

HULL, Moor's Oil Mill, tower mill; (1) Gregory (TIWIB) (a) capless tower, mid-distance, c1894

HULL, Holderness Road, tower mill; (1) HCL (a) capless tower 1989 (b) restored with new cap and sails, 1992 (c) w/o, late C19/early C20

HULL, Dansom Lane {not same as Holderness Road, correct original edition of register where necessary}, tower mill; (1) HCL (a) capless tower, 1963

HUTTON CRANSWICK, tower mill; (1) Herbert Johnson, “A Tale of Two Villages: Hutton and Cranswick”, revised edition Hutton Press 2000 (a) w/o, c1905 (b) w/o, mid-distance, c1912 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, mid-distance c1950

KEYINGHAM, Old Mill (is it called this in main document?), tower mill; (1) NMA DPl.C (in Special Collections) (a) roofed-over tower, 1981 (b) governor and dressing machine, 1981 (2) Keyingham Local History Group, “Keyingham And Its People: The Story of a Millennium” (a) roofed-over tower, February 1999 (3) HCL (a) tower scaffolded for repairs 1978 (3) Eileen Rennison, “In Search of the Unusual in East Yorkshire and the Yorkshire Coast”, Hutton Press Ltd 1997 (a) roofed-over tower (b) house-converted tower (is this second mill the East Mill?)

KILHAM, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a-b) house-converted stump of tower

LELLEY, tower mill; (1) Chapman (a) w/o, as Gregory (2) ERYC (a) distant view with cap and cross, 20th August 1933

MUSTON, tower mill; (1) Kenneth Clegg, “A History of Muston” 1995 (a) w/o (as Gregory)

NAFFERTON (which mill is this?), tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) capless tower with advertisement still visible on side, 30.9.1993 (b-c) appears to be a different mill, “hained” with small building built on at side. The photograph was taken 29.9.1993 and captioned “Old Mill Caravan Park Sewerby Road out of Bempton”. It is not the Bempton mill seen previously. The photo shows a capless tower which appears to be an incomplete or derelict house conversion; the top of the tower is overgrown and crumbling.

NEWPORT, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) w/o (b) w/o, c1904

PATRINGTON, Patrington Haven, tower mill; (1) Chapman (a) w/o with two sails

SCALBY, tower mill; (1) Roy Gregory, “East Yorkshire Windmills”, Charles Skilton 1985 (a) w/o

SELBY, tower mill; (1) JGC (a) tower standing to full height with conical roof and weathervane

SKIDBY, tower mill; (1) NMA (DPl.C) (a-b) w/o, 1981 (c) governor, 1981 (d) stone floor, 1981 (2) Hills 2 (a) w/o, July 1990 (b) upright shaft, quant and one pair of stones, July 1990 (2) Watts (W) (a) w/o, late C20/early C21: view looking up at cap, sails and fantail (b) w/o, late C20/early C21 (3) LL (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (4) HCL (a) w/o, late C20 (b) w/o, from cover of “Quarterly Review”, March 1961 (c) with one sail missing, 1962 (d) w/o, 1963 (e) w/o with men working on sails, 1965 (f) w/o, distant view 1966 (g) w/o, 1974 (h) w/o, with sails on but repairs being done to cap, 1976 (i) w/o, 1981 (j) w/o with men working on sails, 1981 (5) ERYC (a) w/o, late C20/early C21 (b-c) w/o, mid-distance 30.9.1993 (d) w/o, mid-distance, partly obscured by trees, 30/9/1993 (e-f) w/o, 30.9.1993 (g) view of stone floor showing two pairs of stones, upright shaft and belt drum at base of latter (h) sails being replaced/removed, from “Country Life” 11.3.1985 (i) w/o, mid-distance 1st July 1933 (j-l) w/o, early C20 (k) w/o, mid-distance, 1960s/70s (l) w/o, mid-distance, 1950s/60s (m) w/o, mid-distance, 1970s (n) w/o, mid-1970s

SKIRLAUGH, post mill; (1) ERYC (a) derelict with one sail, mid-distance, 18th January 1936

SUTTON, tower mill; (1) M Rhodes, “Sutton, Bransholme and Warne, Church and People: A Celebration” (a) w/o, 1999

SWANLAND, tower mill; (1) J & C A Wheeler, “Swanland: Recollections of Village Life”, J & C A Wheeler 1984 (a) disused with two sails, as Gregory (2) HCL (a) as Gregory

THEARNE, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) as Gregory but close-up view

WALKINGTON, tower mill; (1) ERYC (a) disused with cap and cross, 1912 (b) derelict with cap frame, 1964

WAXHOLME, tower mill; (1) Maeve and Ben Chapman (compilers), The Archive Photographs Series: Withernsea, Chalford Publishing Co 1996 (a) capless tower

WETWANG, post mill; (1) Ian and Margaret Summer, “The Yorkshire Wolds In Old Photographs”, Alan Sutton 1994 (a) w/o (2) ERYC (a) w/o, late C19/early C20


YORKSHIRE, NORTH RIDING

ASKHAM BRYAN, tower mill; (1) Hatcher (a) tower with water tank

HIGH HAWSKER, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) working by engine, with sails and fan removed and cap surrounded by gallery (b) Harrison states "photographs show {the mill with} double patent sails, an ogee cap and tall fantail stage", but does not say where the photographs are

HINDERWELL, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) derelict with windshaft, cross and fantail visible

TOLLERTON, tower mill; (1) WWP (a) w/o, 1928 (2) ERYC (a) derelict with three sails, mid-distance, 19th July 1949

WHITBY, Newholm Mill, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) w/o

WHITBY, Union Mill, tower mill; (1) J K Harrison (a) w/o (2) Millnotes no 4 April 1973 (a) w/o

YORK, Holgate Mill, tower mill; (1) NMA (DPl.C) (a) disused without sails, 1981 (b) auxiliary drive gear, 1981 (c) great spur wheel, 1981 (d) view of meal floor, 1981 (2) UOK (LB1) (a-b) derelict with 5 sails (c-d) derelict with 5 sails, mid-distance (e) derelict with 5 sails, distant view (3) Hatcher (a) disused without sails


YORKSHIRE, WEST RIDING

ABERFORD, tower mill; (1) JGC (a-d) derelict with cap, cross and fanstage (two of the photographs are in negative form) (e-f) derelict with cap, cross and fanstage (colourised) (2) TS (a) derelict with cap, cross and fanstage, 1890-1895?

BRAMHAM, tower mill; (1) NWMG Newsletter June 2003 (a) capless tower

BRAYTON, post mill; (1) JGC (a) w/o, c1890

DARRINGTON, tower mill; (1) Wakefield Heritage Vol 2 (a) w/o (b) capless tower (c) great spur wheel and upright shaft, late C20 (2) Pontefract and Castleford Express, 1st December 197? (a) great spur wheel, stone nut quant and other gearing

EAST COWICK, post/composite mill; (1) SHS (a) w/o

LEEDS, Buslingthorpe, tower mill; (1) TS (a) capless tower, before conversion to house and addition of chimneys (b) house-converted tower with chimneys

LEEDS, Potternewton, Sugar Well Hill, tower mill; (1) TS (a-c) house-converted tower with chimney added

LEEDS, Middleton, Windy Hill (here called Woodhouse Hill), tower mill; (1) TS (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and projecting horizontal beams supporting tailpole (b-c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, etc, filed under Hunslet

LITTLE SMEATON, post mill; (1) JGC (a-f) derelict with four sails
(g-i) view of substructure (j) view of lower buck, ladder, tailpole and substructure (NOTE: Some of these views are not captioned and some are in negative form) (k) derelict with four sails, 1929 (captioned Kirk Smeaton)

PONTEFRACT, Nevison, St Thomas’ Mill, tower mill; (1) Wakefield Heritage Vol 2 (a) house-converted tower (b) derelict with cap, stocks and three sails, 1920s (have so far been unable to identify the date of volume 2 of WH or what kind of publication it is/was)

SHELF, tower mill; (1) Local paper (Evening News?) 20th October 1995 (a-b) w/o (2) International Molinology no.71 December 2005 (a) w/o (apart from no canvas on sails)

STAINFORTH, post mill; (1) JGC (a) w/o

WEST COWICK, tower mill; (1) SHS (a) w/o (apparently retouched)



LYTHAM, tower mill; Lytham Library (photographs not mentioned in the main text).
(a-f) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (g) during repairs, 1980s, middle distance: tower scaffolded and covered over at top with canvas, new cap and windshaft on ground with former in process of construction (h-k) as preserved, late C20 (l) scaffolded, late C20, but complete with all four sails (m-n) as preserved, late C20, but with only one sail (others damaged in storm?) (o) as (m-n) close-up of base of tower and lower part of surviving sail (p) preserved, early-mid C20, with dummy sails and cap (q) preserved, late C20: close-up of sails (r) preserved, late C20: looking up from ground at cap, sails and fan (s-x) as preserved with shortened sails, mid-C20 (y) tower scaffolded, with new cap and winding wheel being lowered into position by crane, 1980s (z-aa) base of tower during repairs (ab) newspaper cutting showing mill as preserved, mid-C20, with the late Wilfred Pickles and his wife in foreground (ac) as preserved with shortened sails, c1947, from “Discovering Coastal Lancashire” (ad) windshaft and brakewheel of restored mills (ae) scaffolded, 1980s, with new cap and fan in position but no sails yet (af-ag) view of inside wall of tower (ah) view of underside of cap frame of restored mill with truck wheel and part of brakewheel visible (ai) man working on inside tower wall during repairs (aj) view inside restored mill, looking down ladder, showing showing section of tower wall where it is corbelled out (ak) underside of cap frame of restored mill showing brakewheel (al) view inside restored mill looking down ladderway to floor below (am) view inside base of tower showing men at work repointing wall (an-ao) view inside base of tower showing part of wall and ladderway (ap) as preserved, early C20, with shortened sails (aq) scaffolded for repairs, late C20, with cap etc. visible on ground in background (ar) close-up of new cap under construction on ground, with fantail and windshaft beside it (as) close-up of new cap under construction on ground, with new windshaft and brakewheel arms beside it (at) as preserved, late C20/early C21 (winter scene) (au) w/o, from Evening Gazette 26th August 1989 (av) as preserved, from The Citizen 21st March 1991 (aw) late C20/early C21, following storm damage: close-up of cap, fan and broken portions of sails hanging down (ax) storm damage: close-up of damage to cap boarding (ay) storm damage: close-up of damaged sail lying at base of tower (az) storm damage: close-up of damaged sails lying on ground (aaa) close-up of brakewheel of restored mill (aab) crane removing damaged sails following storm damage (aac) tail of windshaft and spindle of winding wheel in rear of cap of restored mill (aad) storm damage: close-up of cross and damaged cap boarding (aae-aag) storm damage: one sail complete and another broken with a portion hanging down (aah) storm damage: close-up of cross showing damage to buckles holding sails in position (aai) storm damage: close-up of ridge of cap roof and fantail, showing damage to former (aaj) as preserved, from This England Spring 1993 (aak) as preserved, from Lytham St Annes Express 5th March 1992 (aal) cap under reconstruction on ground, with winding gear clearly shown


UNIDENTIFIED MILLS

CAMBRIDGESHIRE
(1) The 12th Mills Research Conference Proceedings, November 1995, has a photograph of three windpumps at Middle Fen Drove, Soham Fen, 1914. All are smock or similar type mills and in w/o. One is in the foreground, the second in the middle distance and the third in the background. I suspect they are mills which have already been mentioned in the text, but which ones?

(2) NMA RI PDC has photo of an unidentified smock mill at Soham with four sails.

(3) NMA RI PDC has a photo of three Wicken Fen-type windpumps in w/o, and under Soham a 6-sailed tower or smock mill (a windpump?) in w/o in the background.

(4) NMA RI PDC has a photo of two smock windpumps in working order, one in the foreground and one in the background, with the caption “Near Chatteris (prob. Doddington) Forty Foot Bank”.

(5) NMA RI PDC has an unidentified tower mill in w/o at Chatteris.

(6) NMA RI PDC also has a photo of a derelict Christchurch tower mill with cap, stocks, and apparently remains of a tailpole, but it is not clear which mill this is exactly.

(7) NMA RI PDC2 has a photo of a capless tower at Linton which may actually be at Hildersham.

(8) NMA RI PDC has a photo of a smock mill in w/o by the waterside at Soham, with the lower half of the mill obscured by other buildings. It is captioned Hunt’s Mill, Waterside.

(9) NMA has the following photos of a smock mill at Soham which is probably either Town Mill or Mann’s: (a) w/o, c1900 (b) w/o, c1920 (c) disused with stocks and two sails, c1925 (d) derelict with cap, 1958.


KENT
In the Mills Archive (Bernard Richard Billings Collection) there are three photographs captioned "Chislet", but actually showing different mills, which I have so far been unable to identify:
(1) A white(?) smock mill in the middle distance, in working order, 1900; (2) A tall white smock mill, probably the same mill as in (1), in working order 1900; (3) A disused smock mill with two sails (possibly Uphill?), 1932. There is also a photograph of a brake wheel supposedly that of Chislet mill and dated 1933, but clearly wrongly captioned as Chislet's cap, windshaft etc had been removed by then. (1) and (2) are possibly Lyminge smock mill.
(2) MA (GAC) has a photo of an unidentified mill in w/o, 1882. It is not possible to see whether it is a smock mill or a tower mill. If a tower mill it is possibly Knockholt.

NMA JWC has an unidentified smock mill, possibly Northbourne Old Mill, which is in w/o apart from 2 derelict sails.


LANCASHIRE
UOK (LB1) has a disused Lancashire tower mill, typical of the Fylde region, short with shutterless sails and no fan but with fanstage still on. The mill is in good repair. It is possibly Singleton.


LINCOLNSHIRE
(1) NMA PDC has a photo of a tower corn mill in w/o captioned “probably Holbeach Fen”.
(2) NMA PDC has a photo of two unidentified tower mills, both in working order in 1934: a short one in the foreground and a taller one in the background. These are possibly Brooks’ and Maw’s at Epworth.
(3) NMA PDC has an unidentified tower mill in w/o, numbered 7838.
(4) NMA PDC has a photo of the wreckage of an unidentified post mill after demolition, 1892, with roundhouse, post, brakewheel and one sail visible.
(5) NMA PDC has photo of an unidentified tower mill in working order at Barrow-upon-Humber.
(6) NMA PDC has an unidentified tower mill in w/o between Dyke and Bourne,
(7) NMA PDC has an unidentified six-sailed tower mill in working order, probably. the one at Spalding, in between South Willingham and Spalding (Little London) mill.
(8) NMA PDC has a photo of an unidentified white tower mill in w/o at “Holland Fen”, c1905.
(9) NMA PDC (Lincs section) has an unidentified tower mill in w/o with 4/6 sails, between Belton Westgate and Old Bolingbroke, also an unidentified t/m w/o 1934 between Blyton and Butterwick
(10) NMA PDC (Lincs section) has an unidentified tower mill stump, 1934
(11) NMA PDC Lincs section has a photo of an unidentified 5-sailed tower mill in w/o located between Carleton le Moorland and Carrington in the collection.
(12) Lincolnshire Mills Group Newsletter Sept 1994 has two “mystery mill” photos, one of a four-sailed tower mill in w/o with double-shuttered sails and one a rear view of an open-trestle post mill, apparently white, with 4 single-sided shuttered sails and the door open with the miller standing on the rear steps facing the camera.
(13) The photo of the unidentified tower mill in the July 1983 Wind- and Watermill Section Newsletter is taken from a print from a collection of negatives loaned to the Museum of Lincolnshire Life by Mr Dennis Oliver of Grantham. The photos were taken by his father between c1900 and 1920. The mill does not have a fantail as stated in the original register but only a fan cradle.


NORFOLK
(1) NMA (DPC) has a photo of an unidentified Norfolk drainage mill in working order.
(2) NMA (GAC) has an unidentified tower mill in w/o, which resembles the one captioned Sporle in the Suffolk Preservation Society's collection at the Suffolk Record Office.
(3) UOK (LB1) has a drainage mill, tower or smock, in w/o with 2 common and 2 shuttered sails.
(4) UOK (LB1) has a hollow-post windpump becoming derelict with damaged fan, one damaged sail, and shutters falling out.
(5) Anthony Bryan, “Francis Frith’s Windmills and Watermills”, has an unidentified Norfolk drainage mill in w/o except for some missing fan blades, c1934
(6) NMA RI PDC has photos of 2 mills at Reedham Ferry but one, a capless tower with a conical roof, looks like Norton Marshes while the other is a stump of a tower mill, partly overgrown, with a conical roof
(7) NMA RI PDC has a photo of a derelict smock mill with cap, captioned Bressingham, but it looks too short to be that mill.
(8) H E S Simmons in his notes states that there is a photo of Toftwood Mill, Dereham, showing a white post mill with four anti-clockwise double-shuttered sails and a two-storey roundhouse.
(9) HESS states that a photo exists by a firm called Bells showing Thrower’s Mill at Dickleburgh, a small black post mill with two-storey roundhouse and wide double-shuttered patent sails. It is not clear whether this is the Dickleburgh mill already mentioned in the text.
(10) HESS mentions a photograph of one of the post mills at Middleton but I have so far been unable to trace it. It shows a white post mill with four double-shuttered sails a six-bladed fantail, a black roundhouse with boarded roof, and a porch at the rear of the body. The side rails of the ladder went right up to the top of the door, the treads finishing short to meet a platform.
(11) NMA RI PDC has photos of the two converted smock windpump bases at Nordelph, but it’s not apparent which is Betty Mill and which is the other. One still has a section of truncated smock and was photographed in 1970 and 1976. The other was photographed in 1976 and is just a base.
(12) HESS states that a Mr Duffield has a photograph of the post mill at Tibenham.
(13) HESS has a photo, dated 15th August 1932, showing the tower mill at Wighton derelict with a cap but no sails or fantail.
(14) NMA RI PDC2 under Norfolk has an unidentified corn or drainage tower mill stump with a conical roof, seen middle distance across field.
(15) Watts (W) has a photo of a scoop wheel from an unidentified drainage mill erected at Repps, presumably at the Morse wind engine collection.
(16) NMA RI PDC has an unidentified windpump in w/o and an unidentified hollow-post windpump with stocks and three sails, captioned “A. Woolford c1930”.
(17) In NMA GAC there is a modern photo of a tower mill stump captioned “South Thorpe”, but there is no evidence of a mill at that location in recent times.
(18) In NMA RI PDC there is a photo of a smock mill in w/o captioned South Lopham; however I think it is really North Lopham, but cannot be sure.
(19) The unidentified tower mill in w/o in Kings Lynn Library, which I stated in the main document might be Wimbotsham, could be West Winch if the photo was taken from a distance and a position where the lower half of the tower was cut off. The photograph is in the newspaper cuttings file and is a photocopy of an original which has not yet been located.


NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
(1) NMA (NMR) RWC has a photo captioned as Tuxford tower mill, which is actually of a much taller one, derelict with four sails and a fantail, which I cannot identify. Its number is 5550-AA043352.

(2) PTP has two photos of a capless tower mill at East Bridgford in 1977 and 1978, seen in the mid-distance; it is not clear if this is Stokes’ or Kneeton.


SOMERSET
The Shove Collection at SCRO has an uncaptioned photo of a tower mill stump supplied by C C Mitchell. It also has a number of negatives, besides those mentioned above, which are too numerous to catalogue here.


SUFFOLK
(1) UOK (LB1) has two unidentified Suffolk post mills, possibly the same mill, in working order. They have a porch at the rear of the buck, a ladder fantail, four double-shuttered patent sails and a roundhouse. There is a horse and cart in the foreground in the first picture.
(2) NMA (PDC) has a photo showing the lower walling of the roundhouse of an unidentified post mill, possibly Blackheath, Wenhaston.
(3) According to HESS a firm called Bells had a photo of Hinderclay tower mill derelict with four sails.
(4) NMA: SMSC (PBC) has an unidentified open-trestle post mill derelict with stocks.
(5) NMA (PDC) has a stump/roundhouse with a flat roof, taken in 1937 and unidentified.


SURREY
NMA (SC) JJD has a photo of an unidentified post mill with no sails, wrongly captioned Trumpets Hill smock mill. It is possible this is actually Blackborough post mill.


SUSSEX
(1) WSRO has a photograph, dated 6th November 1893, of a derelict open-trestle post mill with two common sails and a quite steeply pitched roof, captioned "Black Mill, Slindon". It has a broad strip of lead running down the prick post which is absent in photos of Mark Luxford's Mill. There is no evidence of a mill at Slindon which could be this one, and it is probably the Old Black Mill at Aldingbourne.
(2) A photograph somewhere at the Mills Archive (possibly in the Frank Gregory Collection, although I failed to note its exact provenance and so cannot locate it at present), shows a post mill with spring sails, quite steeply pitched roof, wooden roundhouse and tailpole fantail. At present it resists identification. It could be a Southwick mill as Gregory also has a photo of a mill on an inn sign there which is similar to this one although no fantail is shown. Since portrayals of mills on inn signs aren’t always accurate the evidence is inconclusive. Another possibility is the Broyle Mill at Ringmer.
(3) WSRO has photo of a post mill at Hunston, in working order. It looks very like Ash mill, Kent, especially with its projecting breast beam, but has four shuttered sails whereas Ash ended its working life with two common and two spring. Certainly no such mill ever existed at Hunston to my knowledge.
(4) UOK LB1 has a rear view photo of a post mill in w/o near Warbleton. It is white with 4 double-shuttered patent or spring sails with leading boards, and has a roundhouse and tailpole. There are a weight wheel and weight box on the side of the body. The mill is up a track off road with a house and outbuildings and there is a weatherboarded granary-type structure nearby. Possibilities are Heathfield (Sandy Cross) and Warbleton (Summerhill).
(5) JGC has an unidentified Sussex post mill in w/o with spring sails and a metalled roof and breast. On one pair of sails the leading boards go all the way along the sail, on the other they do not. There are other buildings nearby. Possibilities include Blackboys, Bodle Street Green, one of the Dicker mills, Heathfield (Sandy Cross). Another is Chiddingly (Lower Dicker) but the leading boards don’t quite match with other photos of this mill – could they have been changed at some point? The image also occurs in the FWG Collection at MAT (reference number 09.12).
(6) In the FWG Collection at the MAT (the view appears many times in the collection) is a photo showing a Downland setting with a post mill in the mid-distance with quite steeply pitched roof, single-storey roundhouse, tailpole-mounted fan in skeleton form (ribs only, not blades). 4 shuttered sail frames, pointed breast with “shield” at bottom. The reference number of the photo is 2492, 11.10. There are a number of other views of this mill in the collection; at least one distant and several close-ups, the best of which is 02510 01-13 which shows in a slightly more derelict condition. One of the views is captioned “East Worthing” but I have yet to discover which of the windmills in the area this could refer to. IDENTIFIED AS SEA MILL, WORTHING (ISTED’S MILL MOVED TO A NEW SITE); MILL LAST WORKED 1892 AND DEMOLISHED 1903. SEE ENTRY IN TEXT.


YORKSHIRE
The John Goodchild collection has three views, in negative and print form, of a tower mill which is captioned in one photo as being near Pontefract. Is it Nickey or Dandy Mill? The mill is in the middle distance and is a smallish, whitish tower mill with an ogee cap and shutterless roller reefing sails. Although apparently disused it seems to be in good condition. In the foreground are a woman and a child sitting on the remains of a stone wall; both are dressed in the costume of the late C19/early C20. The view is from a postcard dated c1912.


COUNTY UNKNOWN
(1) The John Goodchild Collection has two views of “a Trent mill”, showing a tall tower mill in working order with an ogee cap, fantail and patent sails standing by a river. It’s not clear if both are of the same mill or what county it’s in. In one of the views a tall chimney is visible beside the mill; if it’s the same mill in both views the chimney is presumably hidden by the mill tower in the other.

(2) NMA FC has a photo of the ruined, overgrown and partially collapsed stump of an unidentified tower mill.

(3) NMA FC has a photo showing the roof and upper two sails (forming an inverted V) of what appears to be a post mill, probably in Surrey, Sussex or Kent, peeping over the top of a hedge in the background of a group photograph.

(4) NMA FC has a glass plate negative of a disused smock mill with four sails, a Kentish-type cap and no stage, which is probably Peasmarsh mill in Sussex but not yet confirmed as such.

(5) NMA SMSC RRA has a photo of an unidentified tall tower mill in w/o: caption says “attribute to 4-sailed mill at TF153551”.


IDENTIFICATIONS
The white six-sailed smock saw mill, represented in the UOK (Templeman Library) collection and listed in the main document, is Little Mill, Bethersden (see section on Kent). The source for this imformation is the Frank Gregory Collection, where the image also appears.


SOURCES YET TO BE CONSULTED
(1) The Templeman Library at the University of Kent has an album of miscellaneous magazine/newspaper cuttings collected by A W Tiffin, also an album, again by Tiffin, contains all the original photos that Coles Finch used in "Watermills and Windmills" plus a number which are identical to those in Coles Finch and Batten.

(2) Photographs of the following mills at the Essex Record Office (Farries Collection) have not yet been looked at:
Tiptree, Thaxted, Terling, Stansted Mountfitchet, Stanford Rivers, Little Saling, White Roding, Walton-on-the-Naze, Aythorpe Roding, Rayleigh, Ramsey, Upminster, Hornchurch, Sible Hedingham (post and tower mill), Great Holland, Hatfield Peverel, Halstead, High Easter, Debden, Great Dunmow, all Colchester mills, Bobbingworth, Broxted, Billericay, Birch, West Mersea, Little Laver, Dagenham (Chadwell Heath), Horndon-on-the-Hill, Bocking, Ingatestone, Great Bardfield, Great Baddow smock mills, Ashdon post and tower mill, Aveley, Finchingfield (all mills), Barling, Manuden, Clavering mills, Burnham-on-Crouch (smock mill), Little Chishill, Mount Bures (both mills), Moreton, South Ockendon, Mountnessing

(3) Sussex Archaeology Society at Lewes has some negatives of individual mills which I have not yet inspected.

(4) The Grundy Art Gallery in Blackpool holds the papers of J Allen Clarke which have many photos among them, (although these could be at the Central Library).

(5) Much remains to be consulted in the SPAB Basement Archive which for the moment is still at their headquarters, 37 Spital Square E1 6DY, and has not yet been transferred to the Mills Archive (15/6/2006).